Students will see how this 1930s historic artefact demonstrated the ingenuity of Canadian engineers to take common components and combine them into a unique portable heater and aesthetic room element featuring the newest energy source, electricity.

This heater featured twin open coil electric resistance heaters on porcelain tubes, twin light bulbs illuminating chunks of amber glass, and twin fans, self-driven by warm air, for a flickering fire effect. It was seen as a modern fireplace hearth and room heater, compared with an open coal or wood fireplace, with no stacks of wood to be cut or coal scuttles to fill, no smoke, no need to feed the fire, and no chimney.

The designers manufactured this electric hearth in a steel casing, with cast polished bronze front grill, and a large copper heat-reflecting hood for an attractive consumer appliance for town and city residents. Visitors can research and find out how this appliance was marketed 80 years ago -- and how it foretold fireplace inserts that came 50 years later and the closed fireplaces and stoves of the late 1900s, using electricity, natural and propane gas and fuel oils -- and wood and coal as well.
Read More
Students will see how this 1930s historic artefact demonstrated the ingenuity of Canadian engineers to take common components and combine them into a unique portable heater and aesthetic room element featuring the newest energy source, electricity.

This heater featured twin open coil electric resistance heaters on porcelain tubes, twin light bulbs illuminating chunks of amber glass, and twin fans, self-driven by warm air, for a flickering fire effect. It was seen as a modern fireplace hearth and room heater, compared with an open coal or wood fireplace, with no stacks of wood to be cut or coal scuttles to fill, no smoke, no need to feed the fire, and no chimney.

The designers manufactured this electric hearth in a steel casing, with cast polished bronze front grill, and a large copper heat-reflecting hood for an attractive consumer appliance for town and city residents. Visitors can research and find out how this appliance was marketed 80 years ago -- and how it foretold fireplace inserts that came 50 years later and the closed fireplaces and stoves of the late 1900s, using electricity, natural and propane gas and fuel oils -- and wood and coal as well.

Students will realize that the design of such appliances have changed, but the principle of electric heating has remained the same, with manufacturers showing more innovation in the materials used in 20th century electric appliances. Is 100% of its power used when it reaches end-users? Are there losses along the way?

Electrification of city, town and country began in earnest when Niagara Falls was harnessed for generating hydraulic water-flow-based electricity in 1905. It’s still the cleanest, natural and renewable energy source. Students will want to learn more about how electricity spread far and wide over the 20th century -- and came crashing down in the 1998 Great Ice Storm affecting eastern Ontario, southern Quebec and the Maritimes, and the North American northeast Blackout of 2003.

The result was more comfort, convenience, and pleasure than Canadians may have felt with wood and coal sources of heat.
* Research from the archives of the HVACR Heritage Centre Canada (DCSB #2, HD1001H).
* Historical artifact from the HVACR Heritage Centre Canada, T. H. Oliver Collection, Accession No. 2003-084.
* Safety issues with heaters,” www.cityofkingston.ca/residents/.

© 2011, HVACR Heritage Centre Canada. All Rights Reserved.

Simulated bronze fire basket

This simulated bronze fire basket had twin electric, open core heating elements, and chunks of light reflecting amber colored glass. It was a truly creative and entrepreneurial venture by a Canadian manufacturer from the Ottawa valley. Dorlandt Image File [HD1006A], Item No. 14, Jpg No. 180.

G. Leslie Oliver, Mark Dorlandt Photography.
G. Leslie Oliver, Ron Shuker, Nigel Heseltine.
c. 1930
Central Canada, CANADA
HHCC.2003.084
© 2010, HVACR Heritage Centre Canada. All Rights Reserved.


Twin, feather-light aluminum fan blades

Twin, feather-light aluminum fan blades, rotate on pivot bearings. Driven by warm air convection currents they produce a flickering light source.

G. Leslie Oliver, Mark Dorlandt Photography.
Ron Shuker, Nigel Heseltine.
c. 1930
Central Canada, CANADA
HHCC 2003.084
© 2011, HVACR Heritage Centre Canada. All Rights Reserved.


Heat from the 60 watt light bulbs under the fans caused them to spin.

Heat from the 60 watt light bulbs under the fans caused them to spin. The spinning fan blades intermittently blocked some of the light creating a flickering fire-like effect.

G. Leslie Oliver, Mark Dorlandt Photography.
Ron Shuker, Nigel Heseltine.
c. 1930
Central Canada, CANADA
HHCC 2003-084
© 2011, HVACR Heritage Centre Canada. All Rights Reserved.


Twin open wire-wound heaters on porcelain cores

Twin open wire-wound heaters on porcelain cores provided 1,500 watts of electrical heat.

G. Leslie Oliver, Mark Dorlandt Photography.
Ron Shuker, Nigel Heseltine.
c. 1930
Central Canada, CANADA
© 2011, HVACR Heritage Centre Canada. All Rights Reserved.


Learning Objectives

1.) Describe how engineers’ creativity and ingenuity with various materials led to this simulated electric fireplace heater.

2.) Why are some sources of electricity better than others?

3.) Can electricity deliver 100 percent of its generated capacity to end users?

  

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Les étudiants pourront constater comment cet artéfact historique des années 1930 démontre l’ingéniosité des ingénieurs canadiens à prendre des composantes communes et à les combiner afin de créer une chaufferette portative et unique ainsi qu’un élément décoratif dans une pièce mettant à contribution la toute nouvelle source d’énergie : l’électricité.

Cette chaufferette comporte deux résistances électriques nues bobinés sur des tubes en porcelaine, deux ampoules illuminant des morceaux de verre ambré, et deux ventilateurs, mus par air chaud, pour un effet de feu vacillant. Elle était perçue comme un âtre de foyer moderne et une chaufferette, comparée à foyer ouvert au charbon ou au bois, et avec lequel nul besoin de couper des cordes de bois, de remplir de seau à charbon, pas de fumée, nul besoin d’alimenter le feu et pas de cheminée non plus.

Les concepteurs ont fabriqué cet âtre électrique dans un boîtier en acier, avec une grille avant en bronze coulé et poli, ainsi qu’un grand capot thermoréfléchissant en cuivre, afin d’en faire un appareil de consommation attirant pour les résidents des villages et des villes. Le Pour en lire plus
Les étudiants pourront constater comment cet artéfact historique des années 1930 démontre l’ingéniosité des ingénieurs canadiens à prendre des composantes communes et à les combiner afin de créer une chaufferette portative et unique ainsi qu’un élément décoratif dans une pièce mettant à contribution la toute nouvelle source d’énergie : l’électricité.

Cette chaufferette comporte deux résistances électriques nues bobinés sur des tubes en porcelaine, deux ampoules illuminant des morceaux de verre ambré, et deux ventilateurs, mus par air chaud, pour un effet de feu vacillant. Elle était perçue comme un âtre de foyer moderne et une chaufferette, comparée à foyer ouvert au charbon ou au bois, et avec lequel nul besoin de couper des cordes de bois, de remplir de seau à charbon, pas de fumée, nul besoin d’alimenter le feu et pas de cheminée non plus.

Les concepteurs ont fabriqué cet âtre électrique dans un boîtier en acier, avec une grille avant en bronze coulé et poli, ainsi qu’un grand capot thermoréfléchissant en cuivre, afin d’en faire un appareil de consommation attirant pour les résidents des villages et des villes. Les visiteurs peuvent effectuer une recherche et retrouver comment cet appareil fut mis en marché il y a 80 ans – et comment il annonça l’apparition des cheminées encastrables 50 ans plus tard et des poêles et foyers fermés de la fin des années 1900, fonctionnant à l’électricité, au gaz propane et naturel, au combustible liquide, ainsi qu’au bois et au charbon.

Les étudiants réaliseront que la conception de ce genre d’appareils a évolué, mais que le principe du chauffage électrique est demeuré le même, alors que les fabricants ont plutôt fait preuve de plus d’innovation dans les matériaux utilisés dans les appareils électriques du 20e siècle. Est-ce que 100% de sa capacité est utilisée dans les mains du consommateur? Y a-t-il des pertes en cours de route?

L’électrification des villes, des municipalités et du pays débuta avec conviction lorsqu’en 1905 Niagara Falls aménagea une installation permettant de générer de l’électricité à partir du débit de l’eau. Il s’agit toujours de la source d’énergie la plus propre, la plus naturelle et la plus renouvelable. Les étudiants désireront en apprendre encore plus sur la façon dont l’électricité s’est diffusée rapidement et un peu partout tout au long du 20e siècle – ainsi que sur ses plus mauvais jours, par exemple, lors de la crise du verglas de 1998 qui a affecté l’est de l’Ontario, le sud du Québec et les Maritimes, ainsi que lors de la panne majeure de 2003 sur le nord-est de l’Amérique du Nord.

La résultante est : plus de confort, de commodité et de plaisir que ce que les Canadiens ont vécu avec le bois et le charbon comme seules sources de chaleur.
* Recherche des archives du HVACR Heritage Centre Canada (DCSB #2, HD1001H).
* Artefact historique de la HVACR Centre Canada, T. H. Oliver Collection, Accession No. 2003-084.
* Safety issues with heaters,” www.cityofkingston.ca/residents/.

© 2011, HVACR Heritage Centre Canada. Tous droits réservés.

Un simili-brasero en bronze

Ce simili-brasero en bronze est muni de deux éléments chauffants électriques, à élément ouvert avec des morceaux de verre de couleur ambre reflétant la lumière. C'était une initiative commerciale très créative de la part d'un fabricant canadien de la vallée d'Ottawa.

G. Leslie Oliver, Mark Dorlandt Photography.
G. Leslie Oliver, Ron Shuker, Nigel Heseltine.
vers 1930
Centre du Canada, CANADA
HHCC.2003.084
© 2010, HVACR Heritage Centre Canada. Tous droits réservés.


Deux ventilateurs à légères pales en aluminium

Deux ventilateurs à légères pales en aluminium pivotent sur des roulements à billes. Propulsées par des courants de convection d'air chaud, elles produisent une source de lumière vacillante.

G. Leslie Oliver, Mark Dorlandt Photography.
Ron Shuker, Nigel Heseltine.
vers 1930
Centre du Canada, CANADA
HHCC 2003.084
© 2011, HVACR Heritage Centre Canada. Tous droits réservés.


Une paire d’ampoules standard de 60 watts illumine des morceaux de verre ambré simulant la lueur du feu

Une paire d’ampoules standard de 60 watts illumine des morceaux de verre ambré simulant la lueur du feu.

G. Leslie Oliver, Mark Dorlandt Photography.
G. Leslie Oliver, Ron Shuker, Nigel Heseltine.
vers 1930
Centre du Canada, CANADA
HHCC 2003-084
© 2011, HVACR Heritage Centre Canada. Tous droits réservés.


Deux radiateurs ouverts bobinés sur des noyaux de porcelaine

Deux radiateurs ouverts bobinés sur des noyaux de porcelaine fournissaient 1500 watts de chaleur électrique.

G. Leslie Oliver, Mark Dorlandt Photography.
Ron Shuker, Nigel Heseltine.
vers 1930
Centre du Canada, CANADA
© 2011, HVACR Heritage Centre Canada. Tous droits réservés.


Objectifs d'apprentissage

1) Décrire comment la créativité et l’ingéniosité des ingénieurs avec les divers matériaux ont mené à cette chaufferette-foyer électrique simulée.

2) Pourquoi est-ce que certaines sources d’électricité sont meilleures que d’autres?

3) Est-ce que l’électricité distribue 100 pour cent de sa capacité d’énergie aux consommateurs?

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons