THE ROYAL PROCLAMATION OF 1763

By Graydon Nicholas

The Royal Proclamation of 1763 only confirmed the existence of aboriginal rights, or aboriginal title. It was always there. It is important to assert that the Royal Proclamation of 1763 applies to the Maritime provinces because it recognizes three things:

A Land Base: If land was to be given up it had to be given up voluntarily, and people within the nation would determine whether or not they could do it.

Nationhood: It recognizes this by using the words. “nations and tribes with whom we are connected.” These are the words that they used in 1763, and what was the definition of nationhood back then? They recognized that Indians were their allies, and you don’t talk to someone who is just your friend as if he were an ally.

A Trusteeship: As a trustee, the Crown was obligated to handle the affairs of the Indians in a diligent way. With respect to trade, for instance, before anyone could trade with the Indians they had to approach the Crown first and say, “Can we get a licence to trade with the Indians?”

If the courts Read More
THE ROYAL PROCLAMATION OF 1763

By Graydon Nicholas

The Royal Proclamation of 1763 only confirmed the existence of aboriginal rights, or aboriginal title. It was always there. It is important to assert that the Royal Proclamation of 1763 applies to the Maritime provinces because it recognizes three things:

A Land Base: If land was to be given up it had to be given up voluntarily, and people within the nation would determine whether or not they could do it.

Nationhood: It recognizes this by using the words. “nations and tribes with whom we are connected.” These are the words that they used in 1763, and what was the definition of nationhood back then? They recognized that Indians were their allies, and you don’t talk to someone who is just your friend as if he were an ally.

A Trusteeship: As a trustee, the Crown was obligated to handle the affairs of the Indians in a diligent way. With respect to trade, for instance, before anyone could trade with the Indians they had to approach the Crown first and say, “Can we get a licence to trade with the Indians?”

If the courts were ultimately to hold that the Proclamation does apply, then the whole aboriginal title to the Maritimes is resurrected, and no matter what legislation has ever been passed, it was passed contrary to the intent of the Royal Proclamation of 1763.


- Robert M. Leavitt, Maliseet & Micmac: First Nations of the Maritimes.
Fredericton: New Ireland Press, 1995. p. 216.

© Robert M. Leavitt. All Rights Reserved.

Learning Objectives

Learners will undersatnd the interpretation given to the Royal Proclamation of 1763 by a native leader.

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

LA PROCLAMATION ROYALE DE 1763

par Graydon Nicholas


La Proclamation royale de 1763 n’a fait que confirmer l’existence des droits autochtones ou du titre foncier ancestral. Elle était toujours là. Il importe d’affirmer que la Proclamation royale de 1763 s’applique aux provinces Maritimes parce qu’elle reconnaît trois choses :

Un territoire propre aux Amérindiens : Si des terres devaient être cédées, elles devaient l’être de bon gré, et les gens appartenant à la nation pouvaient déterminer s’ils allaient ou non les céder.

Le statut de nation : Ce statut est reconnu par l’emploi des termes « nations et tribus qui sont en relation avec nous ». Ce sont les mots qu’ils ont utilisés en 1763. Et quelle était la définition de statut de nation en ce temps-là? Ils reconnaissaient que les Amérindiens étaient leurs alliés. Vous ne parlez pas à un simple ami comme s’il était un allié.

Un pouvoi Pour en lire plus
LA PROCLAMATION ROYALE DE 1763

par Graydon Nicholas


La Proclamation royale de 1763 n’a fait que confirmer l’existence des droits autochtones ou du titre foncier ancestral. Elle était toujours là. Il importe d’affirmer que la Proclamation royale de 1763 s’applique aux provinces Maritimes parce qu’elle reconnaît trois choses :

Un territoire propre aux Amérindiens : Si des terres devaient être cédées, elles devaient l’être de bon gré, et les gens appartenant à la nation pouvaient déterminer s’ils allaient ou non les céder.

Le statut de nation : Ce statut est reconnu par l’emploi des termes « nations et tribus qui sont en relation avec nous ». Ce sont les mots qu’ils ont utilisés en 1763. Et quelle était la définition de statut de nation en ce temps-là? Ils reconnaissaient que les Amérindiens étaient leurs alliés. Vous ne parlez pas à un simple ami comme s’il était un allié.

Un pouvoir de tutelle : À titre de fiduciaire, la Couronne était obligée d’administrer les affaires des Amérindiens avec diligence. En ce qui concerne la traite, par exemple, avant de pouvoir traiter avec les Amérindiens, il fallait d’abord s’adresser à la Couronne pour obtenir une « licence de traite ».

Si les tribunaux en venaient à déterminer que la proclamation s’applique, tout le titre foncier ancestral pour les Maritimes serait alors rétabli et toutes les mesures législatives adoptées antérieurement l’auraient été contrairement à l’esprit de la Proclamation royale de 1763.


- Robert M. Leavitt, Maliseet & Micmac: First Nations of the Maritimes.
Fredericton: New Ireland Press, 1995. p. 216.


© Robert M. Leavitt. Tous droits réservés.

Objectifs d'apprentissage

Les apprenants seront en mesure de comprendre l’interprétation par un dirigeant autochtone de la Proclamation royale de 1763.


Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons