Canada has a long tradition of responding to international need, and the National War Memorial commemorates the sacrifice that many Canadians have made in times of armed conflict. Remembering and honouring these sacrifices unites Canadians from coast to coast to coast.

The National War Memorial is instantly recognizable: 22 bronze figures marching through a giant granite arch, it is featured on Canadian $10 bills and on some 25-cent coins. Every Remembrance Day, the governor general and the prime minister lay wreaths at its base. This ceremony connects Canadians at more than 6,000 local war memorials across the country, and reflects our many smaller and more personal acts of remembrance.

The monument stands in the centre of Confederation Square, a short distance from the Parliament Buildings, in the very hub of downtown Ottawa. The square is a central public gathering place, where many ceremonies and celebrations occur. Originally, the Gatineau Hills were considered for the location of the National War Memorial. However, then-prime minister Mackenzie King wanted it to be in the heart of Canada’s Capital, where everyone could see and access it. Confeder Read More
Canada has a long tradition of responding to international need, and the National War Memorial commemorates the sacrifice that many Canadians have made in times of armed conflict. Remembering and honouring these sacrifices unites Canadians from coast to coast to coast.

The National War Memorial is instantly recognizable: 22 bronze figures marching through a giant granite arch, it is featured on Canadian $10 bills and on some 25-cent coins. Every Remembrance Day, the governor general and the prime minister lay wreaths at its base. This ceremony connects Canadians at more than 6,000 local war memorials across the country, and reflects our many smaller and more personal acts of remembrance.

The monument stands in the centre of Confederation Square, a short distance from the Parliament Buildings, in the very hub of downtown Ottawa. The square is a central public gathering place, where many ceremonies and celebrations occur. Originally, the Gatineau Hills were considered for the location of the National War Memorial. However, then-prime minister Mackenzie King wanted it to be in the heart of Canada’s Capital, where everyone could see and access it. Confederation Square was created to receive the memorial.

The sculptural ensemble is entitled The Response. The memorial was created in the wake of the First World War, during which time Canada responded to Great Britain’s call for aid. Artist Vernon March did not live to see the memorial’s completion. After his death in 1930, his family completed his complex sculptural plan, and attended the opening ceremonies in the spring of 1939, a few short months before Canada would once again march to war at Britain’s request.

All branches of the service are represented, from infantrymen pulling a large cannon, to airmen and seamen. Other figures are given equal importance, however: the nurses who cared for war’s casualties, and the expert foresters who cut wood for railways and cleared terrain for airfields. Perched at the apex of the arch itself, two winged figures symbolizing peace and liberty reign over all.

The First World War was a turning point in Canadian relations with Great Britain and the world. Following the war, during the 1919 Treaty of Versailles negotiations, Prime Minister Robert Borden insisted that Canada have the right to its own seat at the table, and to sign the treaty independent of Great Britain.

Originally honouring those who had served in the First World War, the National War Memorial was rededicated in 1981 to commemorate the response of all Canadians who have served our country in times of conflict and peace.

The National War Memorial is close to many other buildings and monuments in the Capital that commemorate Canada’s role in war and peace, including the Peace Tower (and the Memorial Chamber), the National Aboriginal Veterans Monument, and Reconciliation: the Peacekeeping Monument.

Next to the National War Memorial is the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier. The Unknown Soldier fell at Vimy Ridge during the First World War and was buried in France near the battle site. The anonymity of the fallen soldier is important; he symbolizes all Canadians — past, present and future — who have given, or will give, their lives in military service.

In 2000, the soldier’s body was flown to Canada on a Canadian Forces plane with an honour guard, a group of veterans, a chaplain and two youth representatives. The body lay in state for three days and was then interred in Confederation Square’s upper plaza. The sarcophagus is made from Quebec granite, and features bronze relief sculptures of a sword, helmet and leaves, the same as those found on the altar at the Canadian National Vimy Memorial in Vimy, France. The Tomb of the Unknown Soldier is depicted on a 2008 commemorative 25-cent piece.

© National Capital Commission. All Rights Reserved.

Photo of National War Memorial, 1939

The National War Memorial was dedicated on May 21, 1939, by His Majesty King George VI. The artist who created the memorial, Vernon March, died before its completion, and the work was finished by his family, pictured here.

Unknown
Library and Archives Canada
c. 1939
C-6545
© Library and Archives Canada. All Rights Reserved.


Photo of the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier, 2006

The Tomb of the Unknown Soldier is covered in poppies, following Remembrance Day ceremonies in 2006. It has become tradition to leave poppies on the tomb, immediately after the ceremony.

Reproduced with the permission of Veterans Affairs Canada
2006
© Veterans Affairs Canada, 2010.


“It can hardly be expected that we shall put 400,000 or 500,000 men in the field and willingly accept the position of having no more voice and receiving no more consideration than if we were toy automata.”
— Sir Robert Borden, January 4, 1916

Brigadier-General Alexander Ross, a battalion commander at Vimy Ridge, watched the Canadian troops move out: ”It was Canada from the Atlantic to the Pacific on parade. I thought then...that in those few minutes I witnessed the birth of a nation.”

Consider these two quotes. What was the importance of Vimy Ridge, not just to the war effort, but also to Canada as a nation? The last living Canadian veteran of the First World War has now passed away, taking away all living memory of that war. What is the value in studying a war that happened almost 100 years ago? Write a short paper about the importance, for young Canadians, of remembering the First World War, and particularly Vimy Ridge.
It can hardly be expected that we shall put 400,000 or 500,000 men in the field and willingly accept the position of having no more voice and receiving no more consideration than if we were toy automata.”
— Sir Robert Borden, January 4, 1916

Brigadier-General Alexander Ross, a battalion commander at Vimy Ridge, watched the Canadian troops move out: ”It was Canada from the Atlantic to the Pacific on parade. I thought then...that in those few minutes I witnessed the birth of a nation.”

Consider these two quotes. What was the importance of Vimy Ridge, not just to the war effort, but also to Canada as a nation? The last living Canadian veteran of the First World War has now passed away, taking away all living memory of that war. What is the value in studying a war that happened almost 100 years ago? Write a short paper about the importance, for young Canadians, of remembering the First World War, and particularly Vimy Ridge.

© National Capital Commission. All Rights Reserved.

When the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier was unveiled in 2000, Veterans Affairs Canada created a poster for the event. Imagine that it’s 1939, and you must create a poster for the unveiling of the National War Memorial. Over 100,000 people came to that ceremony on May 21, 1939, and the King of England, George VI, addressed the crowd.
When the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier was unveiled in 2000, Veterans Affairs Canada created a poster for the event. Imagine that it’s 1939, and you must create a poster for the unveiling of the National War Memorial. Over 100,000 people came to that ceremony on May 21, 1939, and the King of England, George VI, addressed the crowd.

© National Capital Commission. All Rights Reserved.

Remembering acts of heroism and sacrifice are important to individuals, communities, cities and nations. Divide into groups and research an individual, group or particular event that has directly affected your community. Once your group has selected the person or topic, design an appropriate memorial. Submit a plan for the memorial, including the best location for it — consider national or local — and how you propose to unveil it (e.g. What kind of ceremony will there be? What special guests or speakers will unveil the memorial?).
Remembering acts of heroism and sacrifice are important to individuals, communities, cities and nations. Divide into groups and research an individual, group or particular event that has directly affected your community. Once your group has selected the person or topic, design an appropriate memorial. Submit a plan for the memorial, including the best location for it — consider national or local — and how you propose to unveil it (e.g. What kind of ceremony will there be? What special guests or speakers will unveil the memorial?).

© National Capital Commission. All Rights Reserved.

Monuments are just one way we commemorate important individuals and events. Name five more ways. List examples of these sorts of commemorations. What are the pros and cons of commemorating in these ways? Collect examples of these commemorations and analyze their strengths and weaknesses. Make a classroom display of the commemorations. Extend the activity by creating “pitch” teams, small groups that “sell” the idea of the commemoration to a panel of judges, who will select the most effective pitch.
Monuments are just one way we commemorate important individuals and events. Name five more ways. List examples of these sorts of commemorations. What are the pros and cons of commemorating in these ways? Collect examples of these commemorations and analyze their strengths and weaknesses. Make a classroom display of the commemorations. Extend the activity by creating “pitch” teams, small groups that “sell” the idea of the commemoration to a panel of judges, who will select the most effective pitch.

© National Capital Commission. All Rights Reserved.

The “central square” is an important feature of most communities, whether villages or large cities. Where is the “meeting place” in your community? What are its important features and how is it used? Research Confederation Square in Canada’s Capital. When was it designed? What important events have happened there? Compare it to your community’s “central square.” What features are the same? Which are different? As a class, make a list on the board about your community’s city square. What improvements would you suggest for your square?

Extend the activity! In small groups, propose plans for an “improved” Confederation Square. What additions should be made, and why? Should anything be removed or relocated? Draw out your revised plans, using online maps and resources as a starting point.
The “central square” is an important feature of most communities, whether villages or large cities. Where is the “meeting place” in your community? What are its important features and how is it used? Research Confederation Square in Canada’s Capital. When was it designed? What important events have happened there? Compare it to your community’s “central square.” What features are the same? Which are different? As a class, make a list on the board about your community’s city square. What improvements would you suggest for your square?

Extend the activity! In small groups, propose plans for an “improved” Confederation Square. What additions should be made, and why? Should anything be removed or relocated? Draw out your revised plans, using online maps and resources as a starting point.

© National Capital Commission. All Rights Reserved.

Learning Objectives

The learner will:
  • learn more about the act of commemoration;
  • discover the importance of the First World War and the Battle of Vimy Ridge to Canada’s nationhood;
  • identify times and places in their own lives where the act of remembrance is valued;
  • create a piece of persuasive media to attract visitors to an event

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Le Canada a une longue tradition de réponse à l’appel des autres nations du monde, et le Monument commémoratif de guerre du Canada rappelle le sacrifice que de nombreux Canadiens et Canadiennes ont fait en temps de conflit armé. Le souvenir de ce sacrifice et l’hommage rendu unissent notre peuple d’un bout à l’autre du pays.

On reconnaît tout de suite le Monument commémoratif de guerre du Canada : 22 personnages en bronze défilent sous un arc géant en granit; cette scène figure sur le billet de 10 dollars canadiens et sur certaines pièces de 25 cents. Chaque année, le jour du Souvenir, le gouverneur général et le premier ministre déposent des couronnes de fleurs au pied du monument. Cette cérémonie rassemble les Canadiens et Canadiennes autour du monument commémoratif de guerre dans plus de 6 000 localités du pays; elle témoigne aussi de nos petits gestes, aussi nombreux que personnels, qui rappellent ce souvenir.

Le monument se dresse au centre de la place de la Confédération, près des édifices du Parlement, au cœur du centre-ville d’Ottawa. Cette place est un lieu de rassemblement public central où se tiennent de nombreuses fê Pour en lire plus
Le Canada a une longue tradition de réponse à l’appel des autres nations du monde, et le Monument commémoratif de guerre du Canada rappelle le sacrifice que de nombreux Canadiens et Canadiennes ont fait en temps de conflit armé. Le souvenir de ce sacrifice et l’hommage rendu unissent notre peuple d’un bout à l’autre du pays.

On reconnaît tout de suite le Monument commémoratif de guerre du Canada : 22 personnages en bronze défilent sous un arc géant en granit; cette scène figure sur le billet de 10 dollars canadiens et sur certaines pièces de 25 cents. Chaque année, le jour du Souvenir, le gouverneur général et le premier ministre déposent des couronnes de fleurs au pied du monument. Cette cérémonie rassemble les Canadiens et Canadiennes autour du monument commémoratif de guerre dans plus de 6 000 localités du pays; elle témoigne aussi de nos petits gestes, aussi nombreux que personnels, qui rappellent ce souvenir.

Le monument se dresse au centre de la place de la Confédération, près des édifices du Parlement, au cœur du centre-ville d’Ottawa. Cette place est un lieu de rassemblement public central où se tiennent de nombreuses fêtes et cérémonies. On avait d’abord envisagé d’ériger le Monument commémoratif de guerre du Canada dans les collines de la Gatineau. Toutefois, le premier ministre de l’époque, Mackenzie King, voulait qu’il soit au cœur de la capitale du Canada, où tout le monde pourrait le voir et y avoir accès. La place de la Confédération a été aménagée pour y accueillir le monument.

L’ensemble sculptural s’intitule La Réponse. Le monument a été créé dans la foulée de la Première Guerre mondiale, période durant laquelle le Canada a répondu à l’appel à l’aide de la Grande-Bretagne. L’artiste Vernon March est décédé avant d’avoir vu son œuvre achevée. Après son décès, en 1930, sa famille a terminé le plan complexe de la sculpture de l’artiste et a assisté aux cérémonies d’inauguration au printemps de 1939, à peine quelques mois avant que le Canada prenne une fois de plus les armes à la demande des Britanniques.

Toutes les branches de l’armée sont représentées, des hommes de l’infanterie tirant un gros canon, aux aviateurs, en passant par les marins. On donne toutefois une importance égale à d’autres personnages : les infirmières qui ont pris soin des blessés de guerre et les experts forestiers qui ont coupé le bois nécessaire à la construction de voies ferrées et qui ont déboisé pour aménager des terrains d’aviation. Perchés au sommet de l’arc, deux personnages ailés symbolisent le règne de la paix et de la liberté.

La Première Guerre mondiale a été un point tournant dans les relations entre le Canada, la Grande-Bretagne et le reste du monde. Après la guerre, durant les négociations du Traité de Versailles de 1919, le premier ministre Robert Borden a insisté pour que le Canada ait son propre siège à la table et le droit de signer le traité indépendamment de la Grande-Bretagne.

Conçu à l’origine pour rendre hommage à ceux et celles qui avaient servi durant la Première Guerre mondiale, le Monument commémoratif de guerre du Canada a été de nouveau inauguré officiellement en 1981 pour commémorer la réponse de tous les Canadiens et Canadiennes qui ont servi leur pays en temps de conflit et de paix.

Le Monument commémoratif de guerre du Canada est situé près de nombreux autres édifices et monuments de la capitale qui rappellent le rôle du Canada en temps de guerre et de paix, notamment la tour de la Paix (et la Chapelle du Souvenir), le Monument aux anciens combattants autochtones, et Réconciliation, Monument au maintien de la paix.

À côté du Monument commémoratif de guerre du Canada se trouve la Tombe du soldat inconnu. Le soldat inconnu est mort au combat à la crête de Vimy durant la Première Guerre mondiale et il a été inhumé en France près du champ de bataille. L’anonymat du soldat décédé est important; il symbolise tous les Canadiens et Canadiennes qui ont perdu ou perdront la vie pendant leur service militaire.

En 2000, le corps du soldat a été rapatrié au Canada à bord d’un avion des Forces canadiennes. Il était accompagné d’un garde d’honneur, d’un groupe d’anciens combattants, d’un aumônier et de deux représentants de la jeunesse.
Le corps a reposé en chapelle ardente pendant trois jours, puis il a été inhumé dans l’aire supérieure de la place de la Confédération. Le sarcophage est en granit du Québec et il est décoré d’une épée, d’un casque et de feuilles en reliefs de bronze sculptés, comme ceux qui se trouvaient sur l’autel au Monument commémoratif du Canada à Vimy, en France. La Tombe du soldat inconnu apparaît sur une pièce commémorative de 25 cents frappée en 2008.

© Commission de la capitale nationale. Tous droits réservés.

Photo du Monument commémoratif de guerre du Canada, 1939

Le Monument commémoratif de guerre du Canada a été inauguré officiellement le 21 mai 1939 par Sa Majesté le roi George VI. Vernon March, l’artiste qui a créé le monument, est décédé avant de l’avoir terminé; les travaux ont été achevés par sa famille, dont voici la photo.

Inconnu
Bibliothèque et archives du Canada
vers 1939
C-6545
© Bibliothèque et archives du Canada. Tous droits réservés.


Photo de la Tombe du soldat inconnu, 2006

La Tombe du soldat inconnu est recouverte de coquelicots après la cérémonie du jour du Souvenir de 2006. La tradition veut que l’on dépose son coquelicot sur la tombe tout de suite après la cérémonie.

Photo reproduite avec la permission des Anciens Combattants Canada
2006
© Anciens Combattants Canada, 2010.


« On peut difficilement s’attendre à ce que l’on mette 400 000 ou 500 000 hommes sur le terrain et à ce que l’on accepte de bon cœur de ne plus pouvoir s’exprimer et de ne pas recevoir plus de considération que des jouets robots. »
— Sir Robert Borden, le 4 janvier 1916

Le brigadier-général Alexander Ross, commandant d’un bataillon à la crête de Vimy, regardait les troupes canadiennes se porter au combat : « Le Canada de l’Atlantique au Pacifique défilait. Je me suis dit qu’au cours de ces quelques minutes, je venais d’être témoin de la naissance d’une nation. »

Réfléchissez à ces deux citations. Quelle a été l’importance de la crête de Vimy, pas seulement pour l’effort de guerre, mais aussi pour le Canada en tant que nation? Le dernier vétéran de la Première Guerre mondiale est décédé tout récemment, emportant avec lui le vif souvenir de cette guerre. Pourquoi est-il important d’étudier une guerre qui remonte à près de 100 ans? Rédigez un court texte sur l’importanc Pour en lire plus
« On peut difficilement s’attendre à ce que l’on mette 400 000 ou 500 000 hommes sur le terrain et à ce que l’on accepte de bon cœur de ne plus pouvoir s’exprimer et de ne pas recevoir plus de considération que des jouets robots. »
— Sir Robert Borden, le 4 janvier 1916

Le brigadier-général Alexander Ross, commandant d’un bataillon à la crête de Vimy, regardait les troupes canadiennes se porter au combat : « Le Canada de l’Atlantique au Pacifique défilait. Je me suis dit qu’au cours de ces quelques minutes, je venais d’être témoin de la naissance d’une nation. »

Réfléchissez à ces deux citations. Quelle a été l’importance de la crête de Vimy, pas seulement pour l’effort de guerre, mais aussi pour le Canada en tant que nation? Le dernier vétéran de la Première Guerre mondiale est décédé tout récemment, emportant avec lui le vif souvenir de cette guerre. Pourquoi est-il important d’étudier une guerre qui remonte à près de 100 ans? Rédigez un court texte sur l’importance, pour les jeunes du Canada, de se souvenir de la Première Guerre mondiale, en particulier de la crête de Vimy.

© Commission de la capitale nationale. Tous droits réservés.

Quand la Tombe du soldat inconnu a été dévoilée en 2000, Anciens Combattants Canada a créé une affiche pour l’occasion. Imaginez que nous sommes en 1939 et que vous devez créer une affiche pour le dévoilement du Monument commémoratif de guerre du Canada. Plus de 100 000 personnes ont assisté à cette cérémonie le 21 mai 1939, et le roi d’Angleterre, George VI, s’est adressé à la foule.
Quand la Tombe du soldat inconnu a été dévoilée en 2000, Anciens Combattants Canada a créé une affiche pour l’occasion. Imaginez que nous sommes en 1939 et que vous devez créer une affiche pour le dévoilement du Monument commémoratif de guerre du Canada. Plus de 100 000 personnes ont assisté à cette cérémonie le 21 mai 1939, et le roi d’Angleterre, George VI, s’est adressé à la foule.

© Commission de la capitale nationale. Tous droits réservés.

Se souvenir des actes d’héroïsme et du sacrifice est important pour les gens, les collectivités, les villes et les pays. Formez des groupes et cherchez une personne, un groupe ou un évènement particulier qui a touché directement votre collectivité. Quand votre groupe aura choisi une personne ou un sujet, concevez un monument qui convient. Soumettez le plan du monument en précisant le meilleur endroit où l’ériger, de votre localité ou ailleurs au pays, et ce que vous proposez pour son dévoilement (p. ex. : Quel genre de cérémonie sera organisée? Qui seront les invités importants ou les intervenants qui dévoileront le monument?).
Se souvenir des actes d’héroïsme et du sacrifice est important pour les gens, les collectivités, les villes et les pays. Formez des groupes et cherchez une personne, un groupe ou un évènement particulier qui a touché directement votre collectivité. Quand votre groupe aura choisi une personne ou un sujet, concevez un monument qui convient. Soumettez le plan du monument en précisant le meilleur endroit où l’ériger, de votre localité ou ailleurs au pays, et ce que vous proposez pour son dévoilement (p. ex. : Quel genre de cérémonie sera organisée? Qui seront les invités importants ou les intervenants qui dévoileront le monument?).

© Commission de la capitale nationale. Tous droits réservés.

Les monuments ne sont qu’une façon de nous rappeler le souvenir de gens et d’évènements importants. Nommez-en cinq autres et donnez une liste d’exemples. Quels sont les pour et les contre de ces façons de commémorer? Recueillez des exemples et analysez leurs forces et leurs faiblesses. Exposez-les dans votre classe. Élargissez l’activité en formant des équipes de présentation, de petits groupes qui « vendent » l’idée de la commémoration à un jury qui choisira la présentation la plus efficace.
Les monuments ne sont qu’une façon de nous rappeler le souvenir de gens et d’évènements importants. Nommez-en cinq autres et donnez une liste d’exemples. Quels sont les pour et les contre de ces façons de commémorer? Recueillez des exemples et analysez leurs forces et leurs faiblesses. Exposez-les dans votre classe. Élargissez l’activité en formant des équipes de présentation, de petits groupes qui « vendent » l’idée de la commémoration à un jury qui choisira la présentation la plus efficace.

© Commission de la capitale nationale. Tous droits réservés.

La « place centrale » est un endroit important dans la plupart des collectivités, et ce, dans les villages comme dans les grandes villes. Où se trouve le « lieu de rencontre » de votre collectivité? Quelles en sont caractéristiques importantes et à quoi sert-il? Cherchez la place de la Confédération de la capitale du Canada. Quand a-t-elle été aménagée? Quels évènements importants ont eu lieu à cet endroit? Comparez-la à la « place centrale » de votre collectivité. Qu’ont en commun ces deux places? En quoi sont-elles différentes? En classe, écrivez au tableau ce qui caractérise la place centrale de votre collectivité. Quelles améliorations proposeriez-vous d’y apporter?

Élargissez l’activité! En petits groupes, proposez des plans pour améliorer la place de la Confédération. Que devrait-on y ajouter et pourquoi? Y a-t-il des choses qu’on devrait enlever ou déplacer? Dessinez vos plans remaniés en vous servant de cartes et de ressources en ligne pour point de départ.
La « place centrale » est un endroit important dans la plupart des collectivités, et ce, dans les villages comme dans les grandes villes. Où se trouve le « lieu de rencontre » de votre collectivité? Quelles en sont caractéristiques importantes et à quoi sert-il? Cherchez la place de la Confédération de la capitale du Canada. Quand a-t-elle été aménagée? Quels évènements importants ont eu lieu à cet endroit? Comparez-la à la « place centrale » de votre collectivité. Qu’ont en commun ces deux places? En quoi sont-elles différentes? En classe, écrivez au tableau ce qui caractérise la place centrale de votre collectivité. Quelles améliorations proposeriez-vous d’y apporter?

Élargissez l’activité! En petits groupes, proposez des plans pour améliorer la place de la Confédération. Que devrait-on y ajouter et pourquoi? Y a-t-il des choses qu’on devrait enlever ou déplacer? Dessinez vos plans remaniés en vous servant de cartes et de ressources en ligne pour point de départ.

© Commission de la capitale nationale. Tous droits réservés.

Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant va :
  • en apprendre davantage sur le geste de commémoration;
  • découvrir l’importance de la Première Guerre mondiale et de la bataille de la crête de Vimy dans le statut de nation du Canada;
  • identifier des endroits ou des moments de leur vie où l’acte de commémoration est important;
  • créer un outil médiatique convaincant pour attirer les gens à une activité.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons