Walking along Wellington Street in Canada’s Capital is like taking a trip through the country’s law-making process. Along the length of this short street, visitors pass by the House of Commons, the Senate and the Supreme Court of Canada. And, if visitors veer off the path just a little, they will find themselves having tea with five women who changed the rights of Canadians forever.

A hundred years ago, Canadian women did not have the right to own their own house, to vote as they saw fit, to aspire to many professions. And they did not have the right to be appointed as a member of the Canadian Senate.

In 1928, the Famous Five — as Alberta’s Irene Parlby, Louise McKinney, Nellie McClung, Emily Murphy and Henrietta Muir Edwards are better known — fought to be recognized as “persons.” At that time in Canada, women could not legally be appointed to the Senate. The Famous Five decided to fight this law, and took their case all the way to the Supreme Court. They were denied the right, but they were not deterred. Their next stop was Britain’s Privy Council, which overruled the Supreme Court decision.

Between Read More
Walking along Wellington Street in Canada’s Capital is like taking a trip through the country’s law-making process. Along the length of this short street, visitors pass by the House of Commons, the Senate and the Supreme Court of Canada. And, if visitors veer off the path just a little, they will find themselves having tea with five women who changed the rights of Canadians forever.

A hundred years ago, Canadian women did not have the right to own their own house, to vote as they saw fit, to aspire to many professions. And they did not have the right to be appointed as a member of the Canadian Senate.

In 1928, the Famous Five — as Alberta’s Irene Parlby, Louise McKinney, Nellie McClung, Emily Murphy and Henrietta Muir Edwards are better known — fought to be recognized as “persons.” At that time in Canada, women could not legally be appointed to the Senate. The Famous Five decided to fight this law, and took their case all the way to the Supreme Court. They were denied the right, but they were not deterred. Their next stop was Britain’s Privy Council, which overruled the Supreme Court decision.

Between the First World War and Second World War, Canadian women won many rights, including the right to vote, hold office, own property and sit as a senator. In subsequent years, more legislation was extended to protect the rights and freedoms of other Canadians, such as people of Aboriginal descent, people with disabilities and new Canadians.

Civic engagement — when ordinary citizens participate in democratic change, such as getting involved in protests, petitions or peace marches; writing letters to their members of Parliament; or challenging a law in court — is a cornerstone of Canadian democracy. The struggles and achievements of the Famous Five and other pioneers in social engagement have affected Canadians across the country, and continue to inspire citizens to exercise their hard-won rights.

On the very grounds where the Famous Five won their historic victory, a monument commemorating their success can be seen and enjoyed by all. Created in 2000, by Alberta artist Barbara Paterson, the Women Are Persons! cast bronze monument is one of the few on Parliament Hill that honour “ordinary” citizens.

The action is frozen in a moment of victory — the women raise cups of tea in celebration and hold a newspaper of the day, boldly declaring that “Women are Persons!” The artist chose this scene deliberately: 100 years ago, Canadian women campaigned for “suffrage,” as the right to vote is sometimes called. As part of their effective organizing strategy, suffragettes held “pink teas,” parties deliberately festooned with doilies and pink decorations, a setting distasteful to men, where women could plan action to further women’s rights.


In a tip of the hat to both the past and the future, Paterson included an empty chair in her sculpture, inviting visitors to celebrate the Famous Fiver’s victory for all Canadians.

© National Capital Commission. All Rights Reserved.

Photo of Women Are Persons!, Peace Tower in background, 2005

The monument celebrates the Famous Five’s victory, just a short distance from the Parliament Buildings.

National Capital Commission
c. 2005
© National Capital Commission. All Rights Reserved.


Photo of Nellie McClung holding newspaper, 2007

Newspapers of the day declared that “Women are Persons!” in the wake of the Privy Council decision in favour of the Famous Five.

National Capital Commission

© National Capital Commission. All Rights Reserved.


Women Are Persons!

The Famous Five are shown celebrating their victory with cups of tea. An empty chair invites visitors to join the party.

National Capital Commission

© National Capital Commission. All Rights Reserved.


Since 1928, many women have served in the Canadian Senate. Choose one and write a short paper about her life, her achievements and her contributions to Canada.
Since 1928, many women have served in the Canadian Senate. Choose one and write a short paper about her life, her achievements and her contributions to Canada.

© National Capital Commission. All Rights Reserved.

Newspapers have to capture the heart of a story in a few short words. Often, a person other than the writer of the main story composes the headline. Look at a national newspaper, either in print or online. How do headlines encourage people to read further? How can people across the country understand the headline? Would a headline about the same story get a different treatment from a local newspaper? Compare two newspapers, one national, one local. Select a story but don’t include the headline. Exchange stories with a classmate. Write a headline for the story.
Newspapers have to capture the heart of a story in a few short words. Often, a person other than the writer of the main story composes the headline. Look at a national newspaper, either in print or online. How do headlines encourage people to read further? How can people across the country understand the headline? Would a headline about the same story get a different treatment from a local newspaper? Compare two newspapers, one national, one local. Select a story but don’t include the headline. Exchange stories with a classmate. Write a headline for the story.

© National Capital Commission. All Rights Reserved.

Who are the people making a difference in your community? How have they changed things for the better? Look up the term “civic engagement.” What does it mean? In small groups, select someone from your community, past or present, who has made a positive difference. Design a monument to celebrate his or her successes. In Barbara Paterson’s sculpture, the empty chair invites visitor participation. Can your monument do the same? Propose this monument to the rest of your class.

Extend the activity! Two copies of Paterson’s bronze sculpture were cast: one is on Parliament Hill, the other is in Calgary, Alberta. Does your monument have a provincial or national angle? Could it be located in Canada’s Capital? If appropriate, suggest an Ottawa location for a copy of your monument.
Who are the people making a difference in your community? How have they changed things for the better? Look up the term “civic engagement.” What does it mean? In small groups, select someone from your community, past or present, who has made a positive difference. Design a monument to celebrate his or her successes. In Barbara Paterson’s sculpture, the empty chair invites visitor participation. Can your monument do the same? Propose this monument to the rest of your class.

Extend the activity! Two copies of Paterson’s bronze sculpture were cast: one is on Parliament Hill, the other is in Calgary, Alberta. Does your monument have a provincial or national angle? Could it be located in Canada’s Capital? If appropriate, suggest an Ottawa location for a copy of your monument.

© National Capital Commission. All Rights Reserved.

Learning Objectives

The learner will:
  • appreciate the contribution women have made to Canadian society;
  • use effective text to write a persuasive headline;
  • celebrate those engaged in local community–building.

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Marcher le long de la rue Wellington dans la capitale du Canada, c’est comme parcourir le processus législatif du pays. Le long de ce court tronçon de rue, les gens passent devant la Chambre des communes, le Sénat et la Cour suprême du Canada. Et s’ils s’écartent un peu du chemin, ils se retrouveront à prendre le thé avec cinq femmes qui ont fait évoluer les droits des Canadiens — et surtout des Canadiennes! — à tout jamais.

Il y a 100 ans, les Canadiennes n’avaient pas le droit d’être propriétaire de leur maison, de voter ni d’aspirer à exercer nombre de professions. Elles n’avaient pas non plus le droit de siéger au Sénat du Canada.

En 1928, les Célèbres cinq — nom sous lequel sont mieux connues les Albertaines Irene Parlby, Louise McKinney, Nellie McClung, Emily Murphy et Henrietta Muir Edwards — se sont battues pour être reconnues en tant que « personnes ». À cette époque, au Canada, les femmes ne pouvaient être légalement nommées au Sénat. Les Célèbres cinq ont décidé de contester cette loi et ont porté leur cause jusqu’à la Cour suprême. Ce droit leur a été refusé, ce q Pour en lire plus
Marcher le long de la rue Wellington dans la capitale du Canada, c’est comme parcourir le processus législatif du pays. Le long de ce court tronçon de rue, les gens passent devant la Chambre des communes, le Sénat et la Cour suprême du Canada. Et s’ils s’écartent un peu du chemin, ils se retrouveront à prendre le thé avec cinq femmes qui ont fait évoluer les droits des Canadiens — et surtout des Canadiennes! — à tout jamais.

Il y a 100 ans, les Canadiennes n’avaient pas le droit d’être propriétaire de leur maison, de voter ni d’aspirer à exercer nombre de professions. Elles n’avaient pas non plus le droit de siéger au Sénat du Canada.

En 1928, les Célèbres cinq — nom sous lequel sont mieux connues les Albertaines Irene Parlby, Louise McKinney, Nellie McClung, Emily Murphy et Henrietta Muir Edwards — se sont battues pour être reconnues en tant que « personnes ». À cette époque, au Canada, les femmes ne pouvaient être légalement nommées au Sénat. Les Célèbres cinq ont décidé de contester cette loi et ont porté leur cause jusqu’à la Cour suprême. Ce droit leur a été refusé, ce qui ne les a pas découragées. Elles ont ensuite amené leur cause devant le Conseil privé britannique, qui a cassé la décision de la Cour suprême.

Entre les deux guerres mondiales, les Canadiennes ont acquis de nombreux droits, y compris celui de voter, d’occuper un poste, d’être propriétaire et de siéger au Sénat. Dans les années qui ont suivi, davantage de lois ont été modifiées de façon à protéger les droits et les libertés d’autres Canadiens et Canadiennes, comme les personnes de descendance autochtone, les personnes handicapées et les néo-Canadiens.

L’engagement civique — quand des citoyens et citoyennes ordinaires prennent part au changement démocratique en manifestant, en signant des pétitions, en marchant pour la paix, en écrivant des lettres à leur député ou en contestant une loi devant les tribunaux — est la pierre d’angle de la démocratie canadienne. Les luttes et les réalisations des Célèbres cinq et d’autres pionniers et pionnières de l’engagement social ont touché les gens du Canada d’un bout à l’autre du pays et continuent d’inciter les citoyens et citoyennes à exercer leurs droits durement gagnés.

À l’endroit même où les Célèbres cinq ont remporté leur victoire historique, on peut voir et admirer un monument commémorant leur réussite. Créé en 2000 par l’artiste albertaine Barbara Paterson, Les femmes sont des personnes!, un monument en bronze coulé, est l’un des quelques monuments de la colline du Parlement qui honorent des citoyens et citoyennes « ordinaires ».

L’action est figée au moment de la victoire — les femmes lèvent leur tasse de thé à leur réussite et tiennent un journal où la manchette du jour titre « Les femmes sont des personnes! ». L’artiste a délibérément choisi cette scène : il y a 100 ans, les Canadiennes ont milité pour obtenir le droit de vote, ou droit de suffrage comme on disait parfois. Un des éléments de l’efficace stratégie d’organisation des suffragettes consistait à inviter les gens à un « thé rose », une petite fête organisée dans un endroit méticuleusement tapissé de napperons et de décorations roses — déplaisant à souhait pour ces messieurs —, où les dames pouvaient planifier leur plan d’attaque pour faire progresser les droits des femmes.

En hommage aux personnes qui ont lutté et qui lutteront pour leurs droits, Barbara Paterson a ajouté une chaise vide à sa sculpture, invitant ainsi les gens en visite à fêter la victoire des Célèbres cinq, qui était aussi celle de tous les Canadiens et Canadiennes.

© Commission de la capitale nationale. Tous droits réservés.

Photo de la sculpture Les femmes sont des personnes! avec la tour de la Paix à l’arrière-plan, 2005

Le monument souligne la victoire des Célèbres cinq, à quelques pas des édifices du Parlement.

La commission de la capitale nationale
vers 2005
© Commission de la capitale nationale. Tous droits réservés.


Photo de Nellie McClung qui tient un journal, 2007

La manchette du jour titrait « Les femmes sont des personnes! » à la suite de la décision favorable du Conseil privé à la requête des Célèbres cinq.

Commission de la capitale nationale

© Commission de la capitale nationale. Tous droits réservés.


Les femmes sont des personnes!

On voit les Célèbres cinq qui fêtent leur victoire autour d’une tasse de thé. Une chaise vide invite les visiteurs et visiteuses à se joindre à elles.

Commission de la capitale nationale

© Commission de la capitale nationale. Tous droits réservés.


Depuis 1928, de nombreuses femmes ont siégé au Sénat du Canada. Choisissez-en une et rédigez un court texte sur sa vie, ses réalisations et sur ce qu’elle a apporté au Canada.
Depuis 1928, de nombreuses femmes ont siégé au Sénat du Canada. Choisissez-en une et rédigez un court texte sur sa vie, ses réalisations et sur ce qu’elle a apporté au Canada.

© Commission de la capitale nationale. Tous droits réservés.

Les journaux doivent saisir l’essence d’une histoire en quelques mots. Souvent, une autre personne que l’auteur ou l’auteure de l’article rédige la manchette. Regardez un journal national dans sa version imprimée ou électronique. En quoi la manchette incite-t-elle les gens à lire l’article? La manchette du même article serait-elle différente dans un journal local? Comparez deux journaux, l’un national, l’autre local. Choisissez un article, mais omettez son titre. Échangez votre article avec celui d’un ou d’une autre élève. Donnez un titre à l’article.
Les journaux doivent saisir l’essence d’une histoire en quelques mots. Souvent, une autre personne que l’auteur ou l’auteure de l’article rédige la manchette. Regardez un journal national dans sa version imprimée ou électronique. En quoi la manchette incite-t-elle les gens à lire l’article? La manchette du même article serait-elle différente dans un journal local? Comparez deux journaux, l’un national, l’autre local. Choisissez un article, mais omettez son titre. Échangez votre article avec celui d’un ou d’une autre élève. Donnez un titre à l’article.

© Commission de la capitale nationale. Tous droits réservés.

Qui sont les personnes qui ont une influence marquante sur votre collectivité? Comment ont-elles changé les choses pour le mieux? Cherchez l’expression « engagement civique ». Que signifie-t-elle? En petits groupes, choisissez une personne qui a vécu ou qui vit dans votre collectivité et dont l’influence a été positive. Concevez un monument commémorant ses réalisations. La chaise vide de la sculpture de Barbara Paterson invite les gens à participer. Votre monument peut-il en faire de même? Proposez ce monument à votre classe.

Élargissez l’activité! On a coulé deux exemplaires de la sculpture de bronze de Barbara Paterson : l’une est installée sur la colline du Parlement, l’autre se trouve à Calgary, en Alberta. Votre monument a-t-il un caractère provincial ou national? Pourrait-on l’installer dans la capitale du Canada? Si tel est le cas, suggérez un endroit où l’on pourrait installer votre monument à Ottawa.
Qui sont les personnes qui ont une influence marquante sur votre collectivité? Comment ont-elles changé les choses pour le mieux? Cherchez l’expression « engagement civique ». Que signifie-t-elle? En petits groupes, choisissez une personne qui a vécu ou qui vit dans votre collectivité et dont l’influence a été positive. Concevez un monument commémorant ses réalisations. La chaise vide de la sculpture de Barbara Paterson invite les gens à participer. Votre monument peut-il en faire de même? Proposez ce monument à votre classe.

Élargissez l’activité! On a coulé deux exemplaires de la sculpture de bronze de Barbara Paterson : l’une est installée sur la colline du Parlement, l’autre se trouve à Calgary, en Alberta. Votre monument a-t-il un caractère provincial ou national? Pourrait-on l’installer dans la capitale du Canada? Si tel est le cas, suggérez un endroit où l’on pourrait installer votre monument à Ottawa.

© Commission de la capitale nationale. Tous droits réservés.

Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant va :
  • apprécier l’apport des femmes à la société canadienne;
  • se servir d’un texte efficace pour écrire une manchette convaincante;
  • souligner le travail de ceux et celles qui participent au développement de la conscience communautaire dans leur collectivité.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons