Buildings tell stories, so do landscapes. In Gatineau Park, just north of Canada’s Capital, both landscape and architecture tell a very Canadian story of preservation, contemplation and the place of nature in our national identity.

The large 361-square-kilometre park — only 15 minutes from Parliament Hill — is home to the former estate and grounds of Canada’s 10th prime minister, William Lyon Mackenzie King. Thanks to King’s foresight, a beautiful segment of the Gatineau Hills was preserved as a park in 1938. King’s collection of rescued architectural fragments, installed in this natural setting, have also created a sort of spiritual oasis within the park.

With more than 21 years in office, Mackenzie King was the longest-serving prime minister in Canadian history. Leading the country through the Second World War, King was prime minister at a time when the country was undergoing great change. Though King strove to improve Canada’s role in the changing world state, he was also mindful of future generations. Through his efforts, he helped establish a peaceful postwar Canada that preserved its past.

King addr Read More
Buildings tell stories, so do landscapes. In Gatineau Park, just north of Canada’s Capital, both landscape and architecture tell a very Canadian story of preservation, contemplation and the place of nature in our national identity.

The large 361-square-kilometre park — only 15 minutes from Parliament Hill — is home to the former estate and grounds of Canada’s 10th prime minister, William Lyon Mackenzie King. Thanks to King’s foresight, a beautiful segment of the Gatineau Hills was preserved as a park in 1938. King’s collection of rescued architectural fragments, installed in this natural setting, have also created a sort of spiritual oasis within the park.

With more than 21 years in office, Mackenzie King was the longest-serving prime minister in Canadian history. Leading the country through the Second World War, King was prime minister at a time when the country was undergoing great change. Though King strove to improve Canada’s role in the changing world state, he was also mindful of future generations. Through his efforts, he helped establish a peaceful postwar Canada that preserved its past.

King addressed his aspirations for Ottawa in a 1923 speech to Parliament. “We may not come to have the largest, the wealthiest, or the most cosmopolitan Capital in the world, but I believe that with Ottawa’s natural and picturesque setting, given stately proportions, and a little careful planning, we can have the most beautiful Capital in the world…[and] those who follow in future years will come to recognize it as an expression in some degree of the soul of Canada.”

One of the most beautiful landscapes in the region is the Gatineau Hills, where Mackenzie King created a working farm, several summer cottages for himself and visitors, beautiful French- and English-style gardens, and a permanent home to which he eventually retired in 1948. Upon his death two years later, he bequeathed his property to the people of Canada, adding to a vibrant and accessible public park that entertains more than a million visitors each year.

One small corner of Mackenzie King’s estate was devoted to architectural fragments salvaged from buildings under repair or demolition. Named the “Abbey Ruins,” these garden features were created from the fire-ravaged Canadian Parliament Buildings, from the blitzkrieg-era British Parliament Buildings, and from various grand homes around Ottawa that were undergoing renovations and reconstruction.

Originally, King wanted to create a private chapel from the collected stones. When he realized he didn’t have quite enough material, he re-imagined the collection into “ruins” resembling a gothic abbey, a Greek temple and other time-tumbled structures. The partial buildings, beautiful in their own right, are designed to complement and frame the surrounding Canadian landscape.

King insured that not only were the stones preserved, but that they also integrated with the Canadian Shield landscape of the region. Much of King’s estate honours the landscape — which is significant to Aboriginal peoples, European settlers and park users today — by creating viewpoints and contemplative grottoes. It is easy to visit the Abbey Ruins and imagine Mackenzie King sitting among the stones, gaining insight into the weighty problems that the country faced.

Today, park visitors use the ruins as a photo opportunity. Many happy faces on Flickr and Facebook feature the ruins in the background, an ongoing part of Canada’s visual story. Because of King’s vision, Gatineau Park remains a cultural and environmental legacy that Canadians enjoy year-round.

© National Capital Commission. All Rights Reserved.

Photo of King statue, 2002

A statue of Canada’s longest-serving prime minister, William Lyon Mackenzie King, stands in front of the Parliament Buildings in Ottawa, only 15 minutes away from King’s beloved home in the Gatineau Hills. This statue was created by Raoul Hunter.

Statue: Raoul Hunter
Photo: National Capital Commission

© National Capital Commission. All Rights Reserved.


Photo of Rt. Hon. William Lyon Mackenzie King and his dog "Pat", 1924-1948

Mackenzie King aimed to create a peaceful oasis from the tumult of Ottawa politics. Using reclaimed stones from various demolished or damaged buildings, he assembled the Abbey Ruins on his estate, now part of Gatineau Park.

Library and Archives Canada
c. 1924-1948
C-024304
© Library and Archives Canada. All Rights Reserved.


Abbey Ruins, keyhole shot, 2008

The Abbey Ruins in Gatineau Park provide visitors with interesting and surprising viewpoints, many of which frame the landscape surrounding the ruins.

National Capital Commission
c. 2008
© National Capital Commission. All Rights Reserved.


William Lyon Mackenzie King is an important figure in Canadian history. Research and write a short paper on his accomplishments. His life is well documented through his diaries (now part of Library and Archives Canada). How does his private estate reflect his private life?
William Lyon Mackenzie King is an important figure in Canadian history. Research and write a short paper on his accomplishments. His life is well documented through his diaries (now part of Library and Archives Canada). How does his private estate reflect his private life?

© National Capital Commission. All Rights Reserved.

How are parks created? In a small team, research a park in your area. Who is responsible for maintaining the park? How do people use the park? Does the park preserve any natural area or historical landmark? Is there an area in your community that you think should be a park? Suggest a new park in your area or neighbourhood. What events or activities would take place there?
How are parks created? In a small team, research a park in your area. Who is responsible for maintaining the park? How do people use the park? Does the park preserve any natural area or historical landmark? Is there an area in your community that you think should be a park? Suggest a new park in your area or neighbourhood. What events or activities would take place there?

© National Capital Commission. All Rights Reserved.

King reassembled old stones to create a new park feature, the Abbey Ruins. These structures provide seating for weary visitors, climbing structures for adventurous kids and tranquil backgrounds for people taking photographs. Try making a maquette or model for a park near you. Gather materials that would otherwise go into your recycling bin. Select a suitable area for your structure. Identify what purpose your structure will serve. Draw a design for your structure, then re-create a small model of it using your recycled materials.
King reassembled old stones to create a new park feature, the Abbey Ruins. These structures provide seating for weary visitors, climbing structures for adventurous kids and tranquil backgrounds for people taking photographs. Try making a maquette or model for a park near you. Gather materials that would otherwise go into your recycling bin. Select a suitable area for your structure. Identify what purpose your structure will serve. Draw a design for your structure, then re-create a small model of it using your recycled materials.

© National Capital Commission. All Rights Reserved.

The Abbey Ruins provide photographers with many interesting viewpoints and vistas. Look at Asset 3. The photographer has chosen to shoot one scene framed by the architectural keyhole feature in the foreground. Using a large piece of paper, cut out a decorative “window.” Your window can be modern, or a more historical one (such as the one in the Abbey Ruins photo). Using drawing media, provide detail around the hole, such as stones, curtains and so on. Using a second piece of paper, draw a scene that will be seen through your keyhole window.
The Abbey Ruins provide photographers with many interesting viewpoints and vistas. Look at Asset 3. The photographer has chosen to shoot one scene framed by the architectural keyhole feature in the foreground. Using a large piece of paper, cut out a decorative “window.” Your window can be modern, or a more historical one (such as the one in the Abbey Ruins photo). Using drawing media, provide detail around the hole, such as stones, curtains and so on. Using a second piece of paper, draw a scene that will be seen through your keyhole window.

© National Capital Commission. All Rights Reserved.

Learning Objectives

The learner will:
  • find out more about the life of Canada’s 10th prime minister;
  • explore how a park is created;
  • re-create Mackenzie King’s process in making the Abbey Ruins by making their own park structure out of found materials;
  • examine aspects of framing as a visual strategy.

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Les édifices racontent des histoires, les paysages aussi. Dans le parc de la Gatineau, au nord de la capitale du Canada, le paysage et l’architecture racontent une histoire de préservation et de contemplation qui révèle aussi l’importance de la nature dans notre identité nationale.

Cet immense parc de 361 kilomètres carrés — situé à seulement 15 minutes de la colline du Parlement — est le site du domaine et des terres ayant appartenu au 10e premier ministre du Canada, William Lyon Mackenzie King. Grâce à la vision de Mackenzie King, non seulement a-t-on préservé une large portion des collines de la Gatineau pour en faire un parc en 1938, mais sa collection de fragments architecturaux installée dans ce site naturel a aussi créé une sorte d’oasis spirituelle dans le parc de la Gatineau.

Après plus de 21 années au pouvoir, Mackenzie King est devenu le premier ministre canadien ayant été le plus longtemps en poste. Il a dirigé le Canada durant la Deuxième Guerre mondiale, période durant laquelle le pays a vécu de grands changements. Même s’il s’efforçait de mieux positionner le Canada sur l’échiquier mondial, Macken Pour en lire plus
Les édifices racontent des histoires, les paysages aussi. Dans le parc de la Gatineau, au nord de la capitale du Canada, le paysage et l’architecture racontent une histoire de préservation et de contemplation qui révèle aussi l’importance de la nature dans notre identité nationale.

Cet immense parc de 361 kilomètres carrés — situé à seulement 15 minutes de la colline du Parlement — est le site du domaine et des terres ayant appartenu au 10e premier ministre du Canada, William Lyon Mackenzie King. Grâce à la vision de Mackenzie King, non seulement a-t-on préservé une large portion des collines de la Gatineau pour en faire un parc en 1938, mais sa collection de fragments architecturaux installée dans ce site naturel a aussi créé une sorte d’oasis spirituelle dans le parc de la Gatineau.

Après plus de 21 années au pouvoir, Mackenzie King est devenu le premier ministre canadien ayant été le plus longtemps en poste. Il a dirigé le Canada durant la Deuxième Guerre mondiale, période durant laquelle le pays a vécu de grands changements. Même s’il s’efforçait de mieux positionner le Canada sur l’échiquier mondial, Mackenzie King se préoccupait aussi des prochaines générations. Ces efforts ont permis de créer un Canada d’après-guerre pacifique qui a su préserver son passé.

Mackenzie King a exprimé ses aspirations pour Ottawa dans un discours au Parlement en 1923 : « Notre capitale n’est peut-être pas la plus grande, la plus riche ni la plus cosmopolite du monde, mais je crois qu’avec la majesté du cadre naturel et pittoresque d’Ottawa et un peu de planification consciencieuse, nous pouvons créer la plus belle capitale du monde… [et] ceux qui suivront dans les années qui viennent reconnaîtront en elle une certaine expression de l’âme du Canada. » [trad.]

Les collines de la Gatineau sont l’un des plus beaux paysages de la région. C’est là que Mackenzie King a fait construire des bâtiments de ferme et plusieurs chalets d’été pour lui et ses invités, de magnifiques jardins à la française et à l’anglaise et une résidence permanente où il s’est retiré en 1948. À son décès, deux ans plus tard, il a légué sa propriété au peuple canadien; elle fait maintenant partie d’un parc public accessible et plein de vie dont profitent plus d’un million de personnes chaque année.

Une parcelle du domaine de Mackenzie King a été réservée aux fragments architecturaux prélevés à même des édifices en réparation ou voués à la démolition. Les « ruines de l’Abbaye » aménagées dans les jardins ont été créées à partir de vestiges des édifices incendiés du Parlement du Canada, des édifices du Parlement britannique de l’époque de la guerre éclair, et de diverses grandes demeures des environs d’Ottawa que l’on rénovait ou reconstruisait.

À l’origine, Mackenzie King voulait se servir des pierres recueillies pour construire une chapelle privée. Quand il s’est rendu compte qu’il ne disposait pas des matériaux nécessaires, il a fait de sa collection des ruines semblables à celles d’une abbaye gothique, d’un temple grec et d’autres structures érodées par le temps. Ces édifices incomplets, beaux en soi, sont conçus pour compléter et encadrer le paysage environnant.

Non seulement Mackenzie King a-t-il veillé à ce que les pierres soient conservées, il a aussi vu à ce qu’elles s’intègrent au paysage du Bouclier canadien de la région. La majeure partie du domaine de Mackenzie King rend hommage au paysage — qui est important pour les peuples autochtones, les colons européens et, de nos jours, les usagers du parc de la Gatineau — en créant des points d’observation et des grottes de recueillement. En visitant les ruines, on peut facilement imaginer Mackenzie King assis parmi les pierres, réfléchissant aux lourds problèmes du pays.

Aujourd’hui, les ruines servent de décor aux photographes amateurs en visite dans le Parc. De nombreuses photos de visages souriants affichées sur Flickr et Facebook ont été prises devant les ruines, lesquelles font maintenant partie de l’histoire visuelle du Canada. Grâce à la vision de Mackenzie King, le parc de la Gatineau demeure un héritage culturel et environnemental dont les Canadiens et Canadiennes profitent toute l’année.

© Commission de la capitale nationale. Tous droits réservés.

Photo de la statue de Mackenzie King, 2002

La statue de William Lyon Mackenzie King, premier ministre canadien ayant été le plus longtemps au pouvoir, se dresse devant les édifices du Parlement, à Ottawa, à seulement 15 minutes de route de sa résidence bien aimée des collines de la Gatineau. Il s’agit d’une œuvre de Raoul Hunter.

Œuvre : Raoul Hunter
Photo : Commission de la capitale nationale

© Commission de la capitale nationale. Tous droits réservés.


Photo de Mackenzie King parmi les ruines avec son chien "Pat", 1924-1948

Mackenzie King voulait créer une oasis de paix loin du tumulte de la vie politique d’Ottawa. En se servant de pierres récupérées de différents édifices endommagés ou démolis, il a assemblé les ruines de l’Abbaye sur son domaine, lequel fait maintenant partie du parc de la Gatineau.

Bibliothèque et archives du Canada
vers 1924-1948
C-024304
© Bibliothèque et archives du Canada. Tous droits réservés.


Les ruines de l’Abbaye, photo par le trou de la serrure, 2008

Les ruines de l’Abbaye, dans le parc de la Gatineau, procurent aux visiteurs et visiteuses des points de vue intéressants et surprenants, dont plusieurs encadrent le paysage entourant les ruines.

Commission de la capitale nationale
vers 2008
© Commission de la capitale nationale. Tous droits réservés.


William Lyon Mackenzie King est un important personnage de l’histoire du Canada. Faites une recherche et rédigez un court texte qui traite de ses réalisations. Sa vie est bien documentée dans ses (qui font maintenant partie de la collection de Bibliothèque et archives du Canada). En quoi son domaine était-il le reflet de sa vie privée?
William Lyon Mackenzie King est un important personnage de l’histoire du Canada. Faites une recherche et rédigez un court texte qui traite de ses réalisations. Sa vie est bien documentée dans ses (qui font maintenant partie de la collection de Bibliothèque et archives du Canada). En quoi son domaine était-il le reflet de sa vie privée?

© Commission de la capitale nationale. Tous droits réservés.

Comment crée-t-on les parcs? En petits groupes, cherchez un parc de votre région. Qui est responsable de son entretien? Qu’en font les usagers? Le parc protège-t-il des aires naturelles ou des lieux d’intérêt historique? Y a-t-il une zone de votre collectivité qui, selon vous, devrait être un parc? Proposez un nouveau parc pour votre région ou votre quartier. Quelles activités pourraient y avoir lieu?
Comment crée-t-on les parcs? En petits groupes, cherchez un parc de votre région. Qui est responsable de son entretien? Qu’en font les usagers? Le parc protège-t-il des aires naturelles ou des lieux d’intérêt historique? Y a-t-il une zone de votre collectivité qui, selon vous, devrait être un parc? Proposez un nouveau parc pour votre région ou votre quartier. Quelles activités pourraient y avoir lieu?

© Commission de la capitale nationale. Tous droits réservés.

Mackenzie King a rassemblé de vieilles pierres pour créer un nouvel attrait du Parc, les ruines de l’Abbaye. Ces structures permettent aux promeneuses et promeneurs fatigués de s’asseoir et aux enfants aventureux de grimper; elles fournissent aussi aux photographes un arrière-plan paisible. Essayez de fabriquer une maquette ou un modèle pour un parc près de chez vous. Rassemblez des matériaux qui se retrouveraient au recyclage. Choisissez un endroit qui convient à votre structure. Définissez à quoi elle servira. Dessinez le concept de votre sculpture, puis recréez-la en fabriquant une petite maquette à l’aide de matériaux recyclés.
Mackenzie King a rassemblé de vieilles pierres pour créer un nouvel attrait du Parc, les ruines de l’Abbaye. Ces structures permettent aux promeneuses et promeneurs fatigués de s’asseoir et aux enfants aventureux de grimper; elles fournissent aussi aux photographes un arrière-plan paisible. Essayez de fabriquer une maquette ou un modèle pour un parc près de chez vous. Rassemblez des matériaux qui se retrouveraient au recyclage. Choisissez un endroit qui convient à votre structure. Définissez à quoi elle servira. Dessinez le concept de votre sculpture, puis recréez-la en fabriquant une petite maquette à l’aide de matériaux recyclés.

© Commission de la capitale nationale. Tous droits réservés.

Les ruines de l’Abbaye offrent aux photographes de nombreux points de vue et cadres intéressants. Regardez le 3e élément. Le photographe a choisi d’encadrer son cliché avec le « trou de serrure » architectural au premier plan. Dans une grande feuille de papier, découpez une « fenêtre » décorative. Votre fenêtre peut être moderne ou plus historique (comme celle que l’on voit sur la photo des ruines de l’Abbaye). Dessinez des pierres, des rideaux ou d’autres motifs autour du trou. Sur une autre feuille de papier, dessinez la scène que l’on verra à travers votre fenêtre « trou de serrure ».
Les ruines de l’Abbaye offrent aux photographes de nombreux points de vue et cadres intéressants. Regardez le 3e élément. Le photographe a choisi d’encadrer son cliché avec le « trou de serrure » architectural au premier plan. Dans une grande feuille de papier, découpez une « fenêtre » décorative. Votre fenêtre peut être moderne ou plus historique (comme celle que l’on voit sur la photo des ruines de l’Abbaye). Dessinez des pierres, des rideaux ou d’autres motifs autour du trou. Sur une autre feuille de papier, dessinez la scène que l’on verra à travers votre fenêtre « trou de serrure ».

© Commission de la capitale nationale. Tous droits réservés.

Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant va :
  • en apprendre davantage sur la vie du 10e premier ministre du Canada;
  • découvrir comment on crée un parc;
  • recréer le processus que Mackenzie King a utilisé pour aménager les ruines de l’Abbaye en fabriquant la structure d’un parc à partir de matériaux trouvés;
  • examiner les aspects de la stratégie visuelle de l’encadrement.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons