All material, when hot, will emit light. Everyday examples abound: the stove element in the kitchen, the metal filament in a lightbulb, and even the Sun.

By the end of the 1800’s, scientists were observing this phenomenon in their laboratories but could not explain it. Despite this lack of understanding, they nonetheless knew how to separate the light emitted by a gas into a spectrum that was diagnostic of the chemical elements contained in the gas. In 1859, the German physicist Gustav Robert Kirchhoff called this type of spectrum an “emission spectrum”.

Many researchers attempted to explain how matter could generate an emission spectrum but without success. It was only in 1900 that the German physicist Max Planck would provide part of the answer.

Planck noted that it was impossible to solve the problem using existing principles of physics and proceeded to develop a revolutionary theory that marked nothing less than the beginning of modern physics.

In his theory, Planck maintained that light could only be emitted as small packets of energy that he named “quanta” (later known as “photons”). This p Read More
All material, when hot, will emit light. Everyday examples abound: the stove element in the kitchen, the metal filament in a lightbulb, and even the Sun.

By the end of the 1800’s, scientists were observing this phenomenon in their laboratories but could not explain it. Despite this lack of understanding, they nonetheless knew how to separate the light emitted by a gas into a spectrum that was diagnostic of the chemical elements contained in the gas. In 1859, the German physicist Gustav Robert Kirchhoff called this type of spectrum an “emission spectrum”.

Many researchers attempted to explain how matter could generate an emission spectrum but without success. It was only in 1900 that the German physicist Max Planck would provide part of the answer.

Planck noted that it was impossible to solve the problem using existing principles of physics and proceeded to develop a revolutionary theory that marked nothing less than the beginning of modern physics.

In his theory, Planck maintained that light could only be emitted as small packets of energy that he named “quanta” (later known as “photons”). This proposal ran contrary to all contemporary knowledge about light at that time.

In fact, light was considered to be a continuous form of energy that propagated as an electromagnetic wave and not – as Planck proposed – as a form of discontinous energy in the form of particles, like photons.

© 2006 An original idea and a realization of the ASTROLab of Mont-Mégantic National Park

Black and white photo of Max Planck

Max Planck.

ASTROLab of Mont-Mégantic National Park

© Public Domain


The debate finally came to a head – and to a resolution – when the German physicist Albert Einstein entered the scene in 1905. Einstein not only supported Planck’s idea, he went one step further: he proposed that light behaved as a particle (a photon) but also retained its wave character and must therefore be considered as both a particle and a wave.

Furthermore, Einstein established that the energy of a photon is related to the wavelength of the radiation. He concluded that waves with long wavelengths, like red light, transport small amounts of energy, whereas those with short wavelengths, like violet light, transport more energy.

In 1913, the Danish physicist Niels Henrik David Bohr integrated the advances of Planck and Einstein into his new model of the atom to explain how matter could emit light in the form of particles. According to Bohr, the atom consists of negatively charged electrons that orbit around a positively charged nucleus. The model further specified that electrons orbit the nucleus at well defined distances from the nucleus.

An electron orbiting near the nucleus has relatively little energy because it is held in Read More
The debate finally came to a head – and to a resolution – when the German physicist Albert Einstein entered the scene in 1905. Einstein not only supported Planck’s idea, he went one step further: he proposed that light behaved as a particle (a photon) but also retained its wave character and must therefore be considered as both a particle and a wave.

Furthermore, Einstein established that the energy of a photon is related to the wavelength of the radiation. He concluded that waves with long wavelengths, like red light, transport small amounts of energy, whereas those with short wavelengths, like violet light, transport more energy.

In 1913, the Danish physicist Niels Henrik David Bohr integrated the advances of Planck and Einstein into his new model of the atom to explain how matter could emit light in the form of particles. According to Bohr, the atom consists of negatively charged electrons that orbit around a positively charged nucleus. The model further specified that electrons orbit the nucleus at well defined distances from the nucleus.

An electron orbiting near the nucleus has relatively little energy because it is held in its orbital by the strong attractive force exerted by the nucleus. Energy must be added to this electron for it to “jump” to a higher orbital, and the further away it jumps, the more energy it would need. An electron in a starting position that is farther from the nucleus already has more energy because it must compensate for the great distance that separates it from the nucleus. Less energy would thus be needed to make this electron jump to a higher level compared to an electron that started closer to the nucleus.

According to Bohr, when a material is heated, some of the electrons in orbitals near the nucleus will absorb enough energy to allow them to jump to new orbital levels at great distance from the nucleus. The electrons, however, will eventually return to their original orbitals; when they do so, they must release enough energy so that their energy content again matches the energy level of the original orbital.

Bohr proposed that the electron will rid itself of its excess energy in the form of little “energy packets” (now known as photons) like those described by Planck and Einstein. In other words, the electron gives off light.

Given the basic principle that the atomic nucleus of each chemical element has a positive charge different from that of any other element, its electron orbitals must also have distinctive energy contents since the electrons must balance the charge of the nucleus. The energy given off by an electron when dropping from a distant orbital to a closer orbital will thus be a photon with a characterisitc amount of energy and a corresponding wavelength in the emission spectrum.

© 2006 An original idea and a realization of the ASTROLab of Mont-Mégantic National Park

Black and white photo of Albert Einstein

Albert Einstein.

ASTROLab of Mont-Mégantic National Park

© Public Domain


Black and white photo of Niels Henrick David Bohr

Niels Henrick David Bohr.

The Niels Bohr Archive, Copenhagen

© The Niels Bohr Archive, Copenhagen


Diagram of the Emission spectra of hydrogen, a black rectangle with one blue line and a red line

If the atoms of a given element have a combination of possible orbital jumps that is different from the combinations possible for the atoms of other elements, then every element will display its own unique emission spectrum. The following diagram shows the emission spectra for various elements. Notice how the emission lines are diagnostic, much like a bar code or a fingerprint.

ASTROLab of Mont-Mégantic National Park

© 2006 An original idea and a realization of the ASTROLab of Mont-Mégantic National Park


Diagram of the emission spectra of iron. with clusters of blue, green, yellow and red lines

If the atoms of a given element have a combination of possible orbital jumps that is different from the combinations possible for the atoms of other elements, then every element will display its own unique emission spectrum. The following diagram shows the emission spectra for various elements. Notice how the emission lines are diagnostic, much like a bar code or a fingerprint.

ASTROLab of Mont-Mégantic National Park

© 2006 An original idea and a realization of the ASTROLab of Mont-Mégantic National Park


Learning Objectives

The learner will:
  • identify recent contributions, including Canada’s, to the development of space exploration technologies;
  • describe in detail the function of Canadian technologies involved in exploration of space;
  • draw a solar system with all its components;
  • establish the link between atoms and light using different instruments.

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Tout matériau, lorsqu’il est chaud, a tendance à émettre de la lumière. On peut facilement s’en rendre compte de nos jours avec l’élément d’une cuisinière, le filament de métal d’une ampoule électrique ou le Soleil, par exemple.

À la fin des années 1800, les scientifiques observent également le phénomène en chauffant des substances dans leurs laboratoires, mais ignorent comment l’expliquer. Ils savent néanmoins décomposer la lumière émise par un gaz en un spectre dont les raies sont caractéristiques des éléments chimiques qu’il contient. En 1859, le physicien allemand Gustav Robert Kirchhoff baptise d’ailleurs ce type de spectre, « spectre d’émission ».

Plusieurs chercheurs vont tenter d’expliquer comment de la matière peut générer un spectre d’émission mais sans succès. C’est en 1900 que le physicien allemand Max Planck va fournir une partie de la réponse.

Planck constate d’abord qu’en utilisant la physique de l’époque, il est impossible de venir à bout du problème. Il élabore alors une théorie révolutionnaire qui va marquer rien de moins que le d Pour en lire plus
Tout matériau, lorsqu’il est chaud, a tendance à émettre de la lumière. On peut facilement s’en rendre compte de nos jours avec l’élément d’une cuisinière, le filament de métal d’une ampoule électrique ou le Soleil, par exemple.

À la fin des années 1800, les scientifiques observent également le phénomène en chauffant des substances dans leurs laboratoires, mais ignorent comment l’expliquer. Ils savent néanmoins décomposer la lumière émise par un gaz en un spectre dont les raies sont caractéristiques des éléments chimiques qu’il contient. En 1859, le physicien allemand Gustav Robert Kirchhoff baptise d’ailleurs ce type de spectre, « spectre d’émission ».

Plusieurs chercheurs vont tenter d’expliquer comment de la matière peut générer un spectre d’émission mais sans succès. C’est en 1900 que le physicien allemand Max Planck va fournir une partie de la réponse.

Planck constate d’abord qu’en utilisant la physique de l’époque, il est impossible de venir à bout du problème. Il élabore alors une théorie révolutionnaire qui va marquer rien de moins que le début de la physique moderne et la fin de la physique qui l’a jusqu’alors précédée.

Dans sa théorie, Planck affirme que la lumière ne peut être émise que par petits paquets d’énergie qu’il nomme « quanta » et qu’on rebaptisera un peu plus tard « photons ». Une telle proposition est contraire à tout ce que l’on sait de la lumière à l’époque.

En effet, la lumière est alors considérée comme une forme d’énergie continue qui se propage sous l’apparence d’une onde électromagnétique et non comme une forme d’énergie discontinue, tel que le suppose l’existence des photons qui sont des particules.

© 2006 Une idée originale et une réalisation de L'ASTROLab du Parc national du Mont-Mégantic

Photo noir et blanc du Max Planck

Max Planck.

ASTROLab du Parc national du Mont-Mégantic

© Domaine public


Entre alors en scène le physicien allemand Albert Einstein, en 1905. Non seulement donne-t-il raison à Planck, mais il va plus loin : il propose qu’en plus de se comporter à l’occasion comme une particule (un photon), la lumière garde un caractère ondulatoire et qu’il faut véritablement la considérer à la fois comme une particule et comme une onde.

De plus, Einstein établit que l’énergie d’un photon est reliée à la longueur d’onde de sa radiation. Ainsi, selon lui, les ondes ayant de grandes longueurs d’onde (comme la lumière rouge) transportent peu d’énergie, tandis que celles qui ont de courtes longueurs d’onde (comme la lumière violette) véhiculent plus d’énergie.

En 1913, le physicien danois Niels Henrik David Bohr intègre les avancées de Planck et Einstein à son nouveau modèle de l’atome et explique comment la matière peut émettre de la lumière sous forme de particules. Selon Bohr, l’atome est fait d’électrons chargés négativement qui orbitent autour d’un noyau chargé positivement. Cependant, les orbitales des électrons sont situées à des distances bien spécifiques du noy Pour en lire plus
Entre alors en scène le physicien allemand Albert Einstein, en 1905. Non seulement donne-t-il raison à Planck, mais il va plus loin : il propose qu’en plus de se comporter à l’occasion comme une particule (un photon), la lumière garde un caractère ondulatoire et qu’il faut véritablement la considérer à la fois comme une particule et comme une onde.

De plus, Einstein établit que l’énergie d’un photon est reliée à la longueur d’onde de sa radiation. Ainsi, selon lui, les ondes ayant de grandes longueurs d’onde (comme la lumière rouge) transportent peu d’énergie, tandis que celles qui ont de courtes longueurs d’onde (comme la lumière violette) véhiculent plus d’énergie.

En 1913, le physicien danois Niels Henrik David Bohr intègre les avancées de Planck et Einstein à son nouveau modèle de l’atome et explique comment la matière peut émettre de la lumière sous forme de particules. Selon Bohr, l’atome est fait d’électrons chargés négativement qui orbitent autour d’un noyau chargé positivement. Cependant, les orbitales des électrons sont situées à des distances bien spécifiques du noyau.

L’électron se trouvant sur une orbite proche du noyau a relativement peu d’énergie; il est en effet solidement retenu par le noyau positif qui l’attire. On devra donc lui fournir beaucoup d’énergie pour le faire passer à une orbitale supérieure. L’électron qui occupe une position éloignée a quant à lui beaucoup d’énergie, car pour demeurer en orbite, il doit compenser pour la grande distance le séparant du noyau qui cherche à exercer sur lui sa force d’attraction. On devra donc lui fournir peu d’énergie pour le faire passer à une orbitale supérieure.

D’après Bohr, lorsqu’un corps est chauffé, certains de ses électrons absorbent de l’énergie et ont tendance à passer rapidement d’une orbitale rapprochée à une orbitale plus éloignée du noyau atomique. Chaque électron revient ensuite de lui-même à son orbitale d’origine, située proche du noyau, en réduisant son contenu en énergie de façon à le faire correspondre exactement à celui de son orbitale d’origine.

Bohr propose que c’est sous la forme de petits « paquets d’énergie » tels que décrits par Planck et Einstein, c’est-à-dire sous la forme de photons et donc de lumière, qu’un électron se débarrasse de son surplus d’énergie.

Comme chaque élément chimique possède un noyau atomique de charge positive distincte, les orbitales de ses électrons ont par conséquent toutes des contenus énergiques différents. En passant d’une orbitale éloignée à une orbitale plus rapprochée, l’électron d’un élément chimique donné émet un photon qui lui est caractéristique et dont l’énergie correspond à la longueur d’onde de la lumière observée dans son spectre d’émission.

© 2006 Une idée originale et une réalisation de L'ASTROLab du Parc national du Mont-Mégantic

Photo noir et blanc du Albert Einstein

Albert Einstein.

ASTROLab du Parc national du Mont-Mégantic

© Domaine public


Photo noir et blanc du Niels Henrick David Bohr

Niels Henrick David Bohr.

Archives Niels Bohr, Copenhague

© Archives Niels Bohr, Copenhague


Schéma du spectre d'émission de l'hydrogène, avec une ligne bleu et une ligne rouge

Compte tenu du fait que plusieurs sauts d'orbitales sont possibles au sein d'un atome, chaque élément chimique possède son propre spectre de raies d'émission qui lui est unique. La figure suivante montre le spectre d'émission de quelques éléments chimiques. Il est facile de constater que tous ont des raies d'émission qui leurs sont caractéristiques, comme un code-barres ou une empreinte digitale.

ASTROLab du Parc national du Mont-Mégantic

© 2006 Une idée originale et une réalisation de L'ASTROLab du Parc national du Mont-Mégantic


Schéma du spectre d'émission du fer, avec des grappes de lignes bleues, vertes, jaunes et rouges.

Compte tenu du fait que plusieurs sauts d'orbitales sont possibles au sein d'un atome, chaque élément chimique possède son propre spectre de raies d'émission qui lui est unique. La figure suivante montre le spectre d'émission de quelques éléments chimiques. Il est facile de constater que tous ont des raies d'émission qui leurs sont caractéristiques, comme un code-barres ou une empreinte digitale.

ASTROLab du Parc national du Mont-Mégantic

© 2006 Une idée originale et une réalisation de L'ASTROLab du Parc national du Mont-Mégantic


Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant va :
  • nommer des contributions récentes, y compris celles du Canada, au développement des technologies pour l'exploration spatiale;
  • décrire en détail le rôle que jouent des technologies canadiennes dans l'exploration de l'espace;
  • dessiner un système solaire avec toutes ses composantes;
  • établir le lien entre les atomes et la lumière à l’aide de différents instruments.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons