Matter can emit light, but the opposite is also true: matter can absorb light. In astronomy, this phenomenon is often observed when white light, no matter what its source (the surface of the Sun or another star, for example) passes through a thin cloud of gas or dust.

William Hyde Wollaston.In this case, instead of seeing a continuous spectrum from red to violet, astronomers will observe a spectrum in which several rays of colour are missing and dark lines take their place.

It was around 1802 that the British chemist William Hyde Wollaston noticed for the first time that the spectrum from the Sun displays just this type of effect. The solar spectrum is discontinuous with numerous dark lines occuring among the coloured bands. At the time, Wollaston did not understand why this is so.

In 1814, the German optician Josef von Fraunhofer also noticed these same dark lines in the spectrum of sunlight. Although he also failed to understand their significance, he nonetheless measured and documented the positions of 324 lines.

It was only in 1859 that the German physicist Gustav Robert Kirchhoff understood that Fraunhofer’s dark lines corresp Read More
Matter can emit light, but the opposite is also true: matter can absorb light. In astronomy, this phenomenon is often observed when white light, no matter what its source (the surface of the Sun or another star, for example) passes through a thin cloud of gas or dust.

William Hyde Wollaston.In this case, instead of seeing a continuous spectrum from red to violet, astronomers will observe a spectrum in which several rays of colour are missing and dark lines take their place.

It was around 1802 that the British chemist William Hyde Wollaston noticed for the first time that the spectrum from the Sun displays just this type of effect. The solar spectrum is discontinuous with numerous dark lines occuring among the coloured bands. At the time, Wollaston did not understand why this is so.

In 1814, the German optician Josef von Fraunhofer also noticed these same dark lines in the spectrum of sunlight. Although he also failed to understand their significance, he nonetheless measured and documented the positions of 324 lines.

It was only in 1859 that the German physicist Gustav Robert Kirchhoff understood that Fraunhofer’s dark lines corresponded exactly to the bright lines emitted by certain known elements. According to him, the dark lines represented specific chemical elements that are present within the Sun’s atmosphere but are absorbing certain spectral rays emitted by the Sun’s surface.

Kirchhoff named this type of spectrum an “absorption spectrum”. Unfortunately, he did not understand at the time how matter could absorb spectral rays.

In 1860, the Italian astronomer Giovanni Battista Donati had the idea of attaching a spectroscope to his telescope. He studied the spectrum of fifteen or so stars and published his results in 1863. He was followed in 1862 by the amateur British astronomer William Huggins, the American astronomer Lewis Morris Rutherfurd, and the Italian astronomer Angelo Secchi, all of whom independantly worked on the Sun, the planets, the Moon and the stars.

These researchers began a scientific revolution by being the first to extract information from the light emitted by stars. They were quickly followed by other astronomers, and the study of emission spectra became the main field of study in astronomy. Despite considerable progress, the explanation of how light could be absorbed by matter still eluded the scientists of the time.

The Danish physicist Niels Henrik David Bohr finally provided the answer in 1913. Bohr developed a new model of the atom consisting of negatively charged electrons that occupy specific orbitals around a positive nucleus.

According to Bohr, the farther the electron orbital is positioned from the nucleus, the higher its energy content in order to compensate for the great distance to the nucleus and its attractive force.

When a cool material is heated, some of the electrons will jump from low energy orbitals near the nucleus to more distant and higher energy orbitals. To do this, each electron must increase its energy content to exactly match the energy level of the new orbital it will occupy.
Max Planck and Albert Einstein.

Bohr proposed that electrons absorb this extra energy in the form of “energy packets” as described by Planck and Einstein.

The same type of phenomenon occurs in space when the light emitted from the surface of a star (like the Sun) shines through the cooler gases in the atmosphere surrounding it. The atmosphere absorbs part of the white light emitted from the star, which produces a colour spectrum marked by dark lines (absorption lines) that are characteristic of the elements present in the gas.

The study of a star’s spectrum thus gives us information about the chemical composition of its atmosphere.

© 2006 An original idea and a realization of the ASTROLab of Mont-Mégantic National Park

Painting of William Hyde Wollaston

William Hyde Wollaston.

The Royal Society/www.royalsoc.ac.uk/

©The Royal Society/www.royalsoc.ac.uk/


Black and white photo of Niels Henrick David Bohr

Niels Henrick David Bohr.

ASTROLab of Mont-Mégantic National Park

© Public Domain


Black and white photo of Max Planck and Albert Einstein

Max Planck and Albert Einstein.

ASTROLab of Mont-Mégantic National Park

© Public Domain


Learning Objectives

The learner will:
  • identify recent contributions, including Canada’s, to the development of space exploration technologies;
  • describe in detail the function of Canadian technologies involved in exploration of space;
  • draw a solar system with all its components;
  • establish the link between atoms and light using different instruments.

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

La matière peut émettre de la lumière. Le contraire est également vrai : la matière peut absorber de la lumière. En astronomie, c’est souvent le cas lorsque de la lumière blanche, peu importe sa source (ce peut être la surface du Soleil ou d’une étoile quelconque), traverse un mince nuage de gaz ou de poussière.

Ainsi, au lieu de voir un spectre continu allant du rouge au violet, les astronomes observent un spectre auquel il manque plusieurs raies de couleur, des raies sombres prenant leurs places.

C’est vers 1802 que le chimiste britannique William Hyde Wollaston remarque pour la première fois que le Soleil est dans cette situation. Le spectre solaire est, en effet, discontinu et de nombreuses raies noires entrecoupent l’étalement de ses couleurs. Wollaston ignore cependant pourquoi il en est ainsi.

En 1814, l’opticien allemand Josef von Fraunhofer remarque aussi les mêmes raies noires dans le spectre de la lumière solaire. Ignorant leur signification, il se met quand même à mesurer leurs positions et en catalogue 324.

Ce n’est qu’en 1859 que le physicien allemand Gustav Robert Kirchhoff compren Pour en lire plus
La matière peut émettre de la lumière. Le contraire est également vrai : la matière peut absorber de la lumière. En astronomie, c’est souvent le cas lorsque de la lumière blanche, peu importe sa source (ce peut être la surface du Soleil ou d’une étoile quelconque), traverse un mince nuage de gaz ou de poussière.

Ainsi, au lieu de voir un spectre continu allant du rouge au violet, les astronomes observent un spectre auquel il manque plusieurs raies de couleur, des raies sombres prenant leurs places.

C’est vers 1802 que le chimiste britannique William Hyde Wollaston remarque pour la première fois que le Soleil est dans cette situation. Le spectre solaire est, en effet, discontinu et de nombreuses raies noires entrecoupent l’étalement de ses couleurs. Wollaston ignore cependant pourquoi il en est ainsi.

En 1814, l’opticien allemand Josef von Fraunhofer remarque aussi les mêmes raies noires dans le spectre de la lumière solaire. Ignorant leur signification, il se met quand même à mesurer leurs positions et en catalogue 324.

Ce n’est qu’en 1859 que le physicien allemand Gustav Robert Kirchhoff comprend que les raies noires de Fraunhofer correspondent exactement à des raies brillantes émises par certains éléments chimiques. Selon lui, les raies noires sont dues à des éléments chimiques spécifiques qui, présents dans l’atmosphère du Soleil, absorbent certaines raies spectrales émises depuis sa surface.

Kirchhoff appelle ce genre de spectre un « spectre d’absorption ». Malheureusement, il ne comprend pas comment la matière peut absorber de telles raies spectrales.

En 1860, l’astronome italien Giovanni Battista Donati a l’idée de coupler un spectroscope à son télescope. Il étudie les spectres d’une quinzaine d’étoiles et publie ses résultats en 1863. Il est suivi en 1862 par l’astronome amateur britannique William Huggins, l’astronome américain Lewis Morris Rutherfurd et l’astronome italien Angelo Secchi qui travaillent indépendamment sur le Soleil, les planètes, la Lune et les étoiles.

Ces chercheurs sont les premiers à extraire de l’information à partir de la lumière émise depuis des étoiles, ce qui constitue une révolution en soi. Ils sont rapidement suivis par d’autres astronomes et l’étude des spectres d’émission devient la branche d’étude principale de l’astronomie. Malgré ces progrès, l’explication de l’absorption de lumière par la matière est toujours manquante.

La réponse nous parvient en 1913 du physicien danois Niels Henrik David Bohr. Bohr crée un nouveau modèle atomique dans lequel l’atome est fait d’électrons négatifs qui occupent des orbitales bien spécifiques autour d’un noyau positif.

Selon lui, au fur et à mesure qu’un électron occupe des orbitales de plus en plus éloignées du noyau, son contenu en énergie devient de plus en plus élevé car, pour demeurer en orbite, il doit compenser pour la distance de plus en plus grande le séparant du noyau qui l’attire.

Ainsi, lorsqu’un corps froid est chauffé, certains de ses électrons ont tendance à passer d’une orbitale rapprochée du noyau (et peu énergétique) à une orbitale plus éloignée (et plus énergétique). Pour y arriver, chaque électron doit augmenter son contenu en énergie de façon à le faire correspondre exactement à celui de l’orbitale qu’il va occuper.

Bohr propose que c’est sous la forme de petits « paquets d’énergie » tels que décrits par Planck et Einstein, c’est-à-dire sous la forme de photons et donc de particules de lumière, qu’un électron absorbe son surplus d’énergie.

Une telle situation se rencontre dans l’espace lorsque la lumière émise depuis la surface d’une étoile (comme le Soleil) traverse les gaz de l’atmosphère plus froide qui la surplombe. L’atmosphère absorbe en effet une partie de la lumière blanche émise depuis l’étoile, ce qui produit un spectre de couleurs marqué de raies noires ou d’absorption, qui sont caractéristiques des éléments chimiques présents dans les gaz.

L’étude du spectre d’une étoile nous renseigne donc sur la composition chimique de son atmosphère.

© 2006 Une idée originale et une réalisation de L'ASTROLab du Parc national du Mont-Mégantic

Peinture du William Hyde Wollaston

William Hyde Wollaston.

La Société Royale/www.royalsoc.ac.uk/

©La Société Royale/www.royalsoc.ac.uk/


Photo noir et blanc du Niels Henrick David Bohr

Niels Henrick David Bohr.

ASTROLab du Parc national du Mont-Mégantic

© Domaine public


Photo noir et blanc du Max Planck en compagnie d'Albert Einstein

Max Planck en compagnie d'Albert Einstein.

ASTROLab du Parc national du Mont-Mégantic

© Domaine public


Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant va :
  • nommer des contributions récentes, y compris celles du Canada, au développement des technologies pour l'exploration spatiale;
  • décrire en détail le rôle que jouent des technologies canadiennes dans l'exploration de l'espace;
  • dessiner un système solaire avec toutes ses composantes;
  • établir le lien entre les atomes et la lumière à l’aide de différents instruments.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons