One of the negative effects of industrialization on human activity and the environment is the production of excessive light. It may seem strange, but excess light is a form of pollution, particularly at night. The negative effects of light pollution impact many fields of study, including economics, ecology and, of course, astronomy.

Most people do not consider the surplus of artificial light as a form of pollution because it is not permanent; all we must do is collectively turn out our lights to make it disappear. In reality, however, such a solution is unrealistic because our society needs artificial light to function.

Sky over Sherbrooke cityLight pollution is mainly caused by lighting systems that are misdirected, excessive, inefficient or unnecessary. Most light pollution is found in urban settings where artificial light sources are numerous. In these areas, light sources may be partly directed towards the sky, or downward directed light may be reflected upward. Light is then dispersed by layers in the atmosphere and produces a glow that diminishes the darkness of the night sky. In large Canadian cities, more than 95% of stars that can normally be seen wi Read More
One of the negative effects of industrialization on human activity and the environment is the production of excessive light. It may seem strange, but excess light is a form of pollution, particularly at night. The negative effects of light pollution impact many fields of study, including economics, ecology and, of course, astronomy.

Most people do not consider the surplus of artificial light as a form of pollution because it is not permanent; all we must do is collectively turn out our lights to make it disappear. In reality, however, such a solution is unrealistic because our society needs artificial light to function.

Sky over Sherbrooke cityLight pollution is mainly caused by lighting systems that are misdirected, excessive, inefficient or unnecessary. Most light pollution is found in urban settings where artificial light sources are numerous. In these areas, light sources may be partly directed towards the sky, or downward directed light may be reflected upward. Light is then dispersed by layers in the atmosphere and produces a glow that diminishes the darkness of the night sky. In large Canadian cities, more than 95% of stars that can normally be seen with the naked eye are no longer visible

© 2006 An original idea and a realization of the ASTROLab of Mont-Mégantic National Park

Colour composite photo of the Earth at night taken from space

Composite satellite photograph of the Earth at night showing light projected into space.

NASA/NOAA

© NASA/NOAA


Colour photo of Sherbrooke at night showing the glow of the lights in the sky

Glow above the city of Sherbrooke located 100 kilometres from the Mont-Mégantic Observatory.

ASTROLab of Mont-Mégantic National Park

© 2006 An original idea and a realization of the ASTROLab of Mont-Mégantic National Park


The negative effects of light pollution on human activity are numerous. From an economic point of view, for example, the use of excessive lighting or unnecessary lighting constitutes a waste of energy that is costly to both the individual and to industries. In Quebec, the cost of “lighting the sky” is estimated at 45 million dollars per year. On a larger scale, excessive lighting can have an impact on global climate change if the required electricity was generated by burning fossil fuels.

Wildlife and plants are also affected. For example, nighttime lighting can confuse animals that migrate (like moths and migratory birds), can modify predator-prey relationships, and can even alter competitiveness within the same species.

In the case of moths, for example, it was discovered that numerous flowering plants declined in numbers when the flight paths of pollinating moth species were affected by light pollution.
Excessive algae growth

It is even possible for entire ecosystems to be affected. In lakes, for example, zooplankton may stop feeding on algae if nighttime lighting is too strong. The result is excessive algae growth that eventual Read More
The negative effects of light pollution on human activity are numerous. From an economic point of view, for example, the use of excessive lighting or unnecessary lighting constitutes a waste of energy that is costly to both the individual and to industries. In Quebec, the cost of “lighting the sky” is estimated at 45 million dollars per year. On a larger scale, excessive lighting can have an impact on global climate change if the required electricity was generated by burning fossil fuels.

Wildlife and plants are also affected. For example, nighttime lighting can confuse animals that migrate (like moths and migratory birds), can modify predator-prey relationships, and can even alter competitiveness within the same species.

In the case of moths, for example, it was discovered that numerous flowering plants declined in numbers when the flight paths of pollinating moth species were affected by light pollution.
Excessive algae growth

It is even possible for entire ecosystems to be affected. In lakes, for example, zooplankton may stop feeding on algae if nighttime lighting is too strong. The result is excessive algae growth that eventually decomposes and causes an increase in bacterial activity. This leads to oxygen depletion in the lake, and many species of invertebrates and fish then die by asphyxiation.

In astronomy, light pollution is a real and pressing problem. It diminishes the contrast between the dark sky and celestial sources of light, which makes it harder to see the stars. For the amateur astronomer, it is a major problem because access to a truly dark sky is increasingly difficult to find.

The increasing inaccessibility of the starry sky is unfortunate because it has become evident that amateur astronomy plays an important role in the development of scientific interest among young people. In 2003, the British government even acknowledged the link between a reduced interest in the sciences and an increase in light pollution!

For professional astronomers, artificial light is undesirable because it interferes with the collection of data. This is why new observatories are built in isolated regions.

© 2006 An original idea and a realization of the ASTROLab of Mont-Mégantic National Park

Colour photo taken from the air of an Algal Bloom

Algal bloom.

NOAA

© NOAA


Programs to reduce light pollution have been started up by several astronomical centres across Canada, including ASTROLab and the Mont-Mégantic Observatory, the David Dunlap Observatory in Toronto. A number of amateur astronomy associations are also involved in protecting our endangered legacy, the starry night sky.

The focus of light pollution abatement programs is to change the habits of the general population, companies and urban planners so that less artificial light will be wasted or misdirected. The plans typically revolve around three lines of action.

The first consists of using lighting equipment that properly directs light where it is required, and not to the sides or towards the sky. The second is to use efficient lighting sources that produce less light pollution. Low or high pressure sodium vapour lamps are recommended. The third is to use an appropriate level of lighting and to only light when necessary.

Your turn to get involved!

Follow this link to a light pollution activity.
Programs to reduce light pollution have been started up by several astronomical centres across Canada, including ASTROLab and the Mont-Mégantic Observatory, the David Dunlap Observatory in Toronto. A number of amateur astronomy associations are also involved in protecting our endangered legacy, the starry night sky.

The focus of light pollution abatement programs is to change the habits of the general population, companies and urban planners so that less artificial light will be wasted or misdirected. The plans typically revolve around three lines of action.

The first consists of using lighting equipment that properly directs light where it is required, and not to the sides or towards the sky. The second is to use efficient lighting sources that produce less light pollution. Low or high pressure sodium vapour lamps are recommended. The third is to use an appropriate level of lighting and to only light when necessary.

Your turn to get involved!

Follow this link to a light pollution activity.

© 2006 An original idea and a realization of the ASTROLab of Mont-Mégantic National Park

Colour photo of a low pressure Sodium Lamp

Low pressure sodium lamp.

ASTROLab of Mont-Mégantic National Park

© Public Domain


Colour video of Hubert Reeves in front of images of space

Hubert Reeves talks about light pollution.

Light pollution. It’s a fact that year by year, the amount of light emitted by cities around the world – urban lighting – has become excessive. The first effect, and I would say the most dramatic, is that it steals the sky. People no longer see the sky. There are many people out there who have never seen the Milky Way, who have never seen zodiacal light. Sometimes I ask people, “Do you know what zodiacal light is?” Three-quarters of them do not know, they have never even heard the word. It’s part of something that held great significance in the past. It’s contact with the sky. It’s that feeling you get when you go outside on a beautiful starry night, Milky Way and all. That contact was present throughout humanity until only a few decades ago. It is absent now and it must be given back to the people, but this can only happen by continuing the growing battle against light pollution, by explaining why it is not necessary for so much lighting, that it is useless to light up the sky, that it is a waste of energy. Nowadays everyone is looking to reduce energy, yet we still light up the sky. What a complete waste! Another important consideration, that we are only just now realizing, is that light pollution also causes significant disturbances to plant and animal life.

ASTROLab of Mont-Mégantic National Park

© 2006 An original idea and a realization of the ASTROLab of Mont-Mégantic National Park


Learning Objectives

The learner will:
  • identify recent contributions, including Canada’s, to the development of space exploration technologies;
  • describe in detail the function of Canadian technologies involved in exploration of space;
  • draw a solar system with all its components;
  • establish the link between atoms and light using different instruments.

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Un des effets négatifs de l’industrialisation sur l’activité humaine et l’environnement est la production excessive de lumière. Cela peut sembler étrange, mais l’excès de lumière constitue en effet une forme de pollution, particulièrement la nuit. La pollution lumineuse a des impacts négatifs dans une foule de domaines comme l’économie, l’écologie et... l’astronomie.

Pour la majorité d’entre nous, l’excès de lumière artificielle n’est pas toujours considéré comme une forme de pollution car elle n’est pas permanente ; il suffirait en effet d’éteindre collectivement toutes les lumières pour la faire disparaître. Dans la réalité, une telle solution est irréaliste car notre société a besoin de lumière artificielle pour fonctionner.

La pollution lumineuse est principalement causée par des éclairages mal dirigés, excessifs, inefficaces ou non nécessaires. On la rencontre surtout dans les agglomérations urbaines où les éclairages artificiels sont nombreux. Dans de telles zones, la lumière est réfléchie vers le ciel ou dirigée en partie dans sa direction. Elle est alors dispersée par les couches Pour en lire plus
Un des effets négatifs de l’industrialisation sur l’activité humaine et l’environnement est la production excessive de lumière. Cela peut sembler étrange, mais l’excès de lumière constitue en effet une forme de pollution, particulièrement la nuit. La pollution lumineuse a des impacts négatifs dans une foule de domaines comme l’économie, l’écologie et... l’astronomie.

Pour la majorité d’entre nous, l’excès de lumière artificielle n’est pas toujours considéré comme une forme de pollution car elle n’est pas permanente ; il suffirait en effet d’éteindre collectivement toutes les lumières pour la faire disparaître. Dans la réalité, une telle solution est irréaliste car notre société a besoin de lumière artificielle pour fonctionner.

La pollution lumineuse est principalement causée par des éclairages mal dirigés, excessifs, inefficaces ou non nécessaires. On la rencontre surtout dans les agglomérations urbaines où les éclairages artificiels sont nombreux. Dans de telles zones, la lumière est réfléchie vers le ciel ou dirigée en partie dans sa direction. Elle est alors dispersée par les couches de l’atmosphère, ce qui produit une lueur qui rend le ciel moins noir la nuit. Dans les grandes villes canadiennes, plus de 95 % des étoiles visibles à l’œil nu ne sont plus observables.

© 2006 Une idée originale et une réalisation de L'ASTROLab du Parc national du Mont-Mégantic

Collage des photos couleur de la Terre durant la nuit prise de l'espace

Image satellite composite de la Terre la nuit, montrant la lumière artificielle émise vers l’espace.

NASA/NOAA

© NASA/NOAA


Photo couleur du Sherbrooke durant la nuit qui démontre les lumières contre le ciel nocturne

Lueur au-dessus de la ville de Sherbrooke située à 100 kilomètres de l'Observatoire du Mont-Mégantic.

ASTROLab du Parc national du Mont-Mégantic

© 2006 Une idée originale et une réalisation de L'ASTROLab du Parc national du Mont-Mégantic


Les effets négatifs de la pollution lumineuse sont nombreux sur l’activité humaine. Par exemple, économiquement, l’usage d’un éclairage excessif ou inutile constitue un gaspillage d’énergie qui est coûteux autant pour le simple particulier que pour les industries. Dans la province de Québec, on évalue à 45 millions de dollars annuellement les coûts de l’électricité utilisée pour « éclairer le ciel ». De plus, globalement, cet éclairage surabondant peut avoir un impact sur les changements climatiques s’il a été produit à partir d’énergies fossiles.

La faune et la flore sont également touchées. L’éclairage de nuit peut embrouiller les déplacements des animaux comme les oiseaux migrateurs et les papillons de nuit, changer les relations entre les prédateurs et leurs proies, modifier la compétitivité à l’intérieur d’une même espèce, etc.

Dans le cas des papillons de nuit, par exemple, il a été prouvé que de nombreuses plantes à fleurs subissent un déclin lorsque les déplacements des espèces pollinisatrices sont affectés par la pollution lumineuse.

Dans certains cas, ce sont des écos Pour en lire plus
Les effets négatifs de la pollution lumineuse sont nombreux sur l’activité humaine. Par exemple, économiquement, l’usage d’un éclairage excessif ou inutile constitue un gaspillage d’énergie qui est coûteux autant pour le simple particulier que pour les industries. Dans la province de Québec, on évalue à 45 millions de dollars annuellement les coûts de l’électricité utilisée pour « éclairer le ciel ». De plus, globalement, cet éclairage surabondant peut avoir un impact sur les changements climatiques s’il a été produit à partir d’énergies fossiles.

La faune et la flore sont également touchées. L’éclairage de nuit peut embrouiller les déplacements des animaux comme les oiseaux migrateurs et les papillons de nuit, changer les relations entre les prédateurs et leurs proies, modifier la compétitivité à l’intérieur d’une même espèce, etc.

Dans le cas des papillons de nuit, par exemple, il a été prouvé que de nombreuses plantes à fleurs subissent un déclin lorsque les déplacements des espèces pollinisatrices sont affectés par la pollution lumineuse.

Dans certains cas, ce sont des écosystèmes entiers qui peuvent être affectés. Dans les lacs, par exemple, le zooplancton peut cesser de se nourrir d’algues si l’éclairage de nuit est trop prononcé. Il s’en suit donc une prolifération excessive d’algues dont la décomposition éventuelle provoque une activité bactérienne accrue, laquelle finit par appauvrir en oxygène l’eau du lac. De nombreuses espèces d’invertébrés et de poissons meurent alors asphyxiés.

En astronomie, la pollution lumineuse est un réel problème : elle diminue le contraste entre le ciel noir et les astres, ce qui empêche souvent de voir les étoiles. Pour l’astronome amateur, c’est un problème majeur car l’accès à un ciel obscur est de plus en plus difficile.

L’inaccessibilité grandissante au ciel étoilé est malheureuse puisqu’on se rend de plus en plus compte du rôle joué par l’astronomie amateur dans le développement de l’intérêt des jeunes pour les sciences. En 2003, le gouvernement britannique a même reconnu qu’il existait un lien entre le manque d’intérêt pour les sciences et la pollution lumineuse !

Pour les astronomes professionnels, la lumière artificielle est non souhaitable parce qu’elle gène la collecte des données. C’est pour cette raison que les nouveaux observatoires sont aujourd’hui installés dans des régions isolées.

© 2006 Une idée originale et une réalisation de L'ASTROLab du Parc national du Mont-Mégantic

Photo couleur prise au-dessus des algues croissant de façon incontrôlée

Algues croissant de façon incontrôlée.

NOAA

© NOAA


Au Canada, quelques centres astronomiques ont mis sur pied des programmes pour lutter contre la pollution lumineuse. C’est le cas de l’ASTROLab et de l’Observatoire du Mont-Mégantic ainsi que de l’Observatoire David Dunlap de Toronto, par exemple. Plusieurs associations d’astronomes amateurs se sont aussi impliquées dans la protection du ciel étoilé, un patrimoine précieux aujourd’hui menacé.

Les programmes élaborés misent sur un changement des habitudes de la population, des entreprises et des planificateurs urbains de façon à ce que moins de lumière artificielle soit gaspillée et dirigée vers des endroits non désirés. Les plans d’intervention proposent généralement trois types de solution.

La première consiste à utiliser des appareils d’éclairage dont la lumière est dirigée là où elle est requise et non sur les cotés ou vers le ciel. La seconde consiste à utiliser des sources d’éclairage efficaces produisant peu de pollution lumineuse ; on recommande alors l’usage d’ampoules à vapeur de sodium à basse ou haute pression. La troisième consiste à utiliser un niveau d’éclairage convenable e Pour en lire plus
Au Canada, quelques centres astronomiques ont mis sur pied des programmes pour lutter contre la pollution lumineuse. C’est le cas de l’ASTROLab et de l’Observatoire du Mont-Mégantic ainsi que de l’Observatoire David Dunlap de Toronto, par exemple. Plusieurs associations d’astronomes amateurs se sont aussi impliquées dans la protection du ciel étoilé, un patrimoine précieux aujourd’hui menacé.

Les programmes élaborés misent sur un changement des habitudes de la population, des entreprises et des planificateurs urbains de façon à ce que moins de lumière artificielle soit gaspillée et dirigée vers des endroits non désirés. Les plans d’intervention proposent généralement trois types de solution.

La première consiste à utiliser des appareils d’éclairage dont la lumière est dirigée là où elle est requise et non sur les cotés ou vers le ciel. La seconde consiste à utiliser des sources d’éclairage efficaces produisant peu de pollution lumineuse ; on recommande alors l’usage d’ampoules à vapeur de sodium à basse ou haute pression. La troisième consiste à utiliser un niveau d’éclairage convenable et à éclairer seulement quand c’est nécessaire.

Alors, à vous de jouer!

Suivez ce lien pour accéder à l’activité Pollution lumineuse.

© 2006 Une idée originale et une réalisation de L'ASTROLab du Parc national du Mont-Mégantic

Photo couleur d'une ampoule à vapeur de sodium à basse pression.

Ampoule à vapeur de sodium à basse pression.

ASTROLab du Parc national du Mont-Mégantic

© Domaine public


Vidéo couleur du Hubert Reeves en face des images de l’espace

Hubert Reeves parle de ce qu'est la pollution lumineuse.

La pollution lumineuse, c’est le fait qu’aujourd’hui, d’année en année, on voit que la quantité de lumière qui est émise partout dans le monde dans les villes, les éclairages urbains, devient excessive. Premier résultat, je dirais le plus dramatique : ça coupe le ciel, les gens ne voient plus le ciel. Vous avez des quantités de gens qui n’ont jamais vu la Voie lactée, qui n’ont jamais vu la lumière zodiacale. Des fois, je demande aux gens : est-ce que vous savez ce que c’est que la lumière zodiacale? Les trois quarts ne savent même pas, n’ont jamais entendu le mot. C’est quelque chose qui était très présent dans le passé. C’est ce contact avec le ciel, cette espèce d’émotion que vous avez quand vous sortez par une belle nuit étoilée avec la Voie lactée et tout. Ce contact, c’est quelque chose qui était présent dans toute l’humanité, jusqu’à peut-être quelques décennies, qui est absent et qui est quelque chose qu’il faut redonner aux gens. Redonner aux gens la possibilité d’avoir un accès, de voir les étoiles, de voir la Voie lactée. Et ça, ça se fait par cette lutte qui prend de l’importance contre la pollution lumineuse : d’expliquer que c’est pas nécessaire d’éclairer tant que ça, que ça sert à rien d’éclairer le ciel, que c’est un gaspillage d’énergie. De toute façon, maintenant, on cherche à limiter l’énergie. Pourtant on éclaire le ciel : c’est complètement perdu! D’autres éléments importants que l’on trouve, c’est que ça apporte des perturbations importantes à la vie végétale et animale.

ASTROLab du Parc national du Mont-Mégantic

© 2006 Une idée originale et une réalisation de L'ASTROLab du Parc national du Mont-Mégantic


Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant va :
  • nommer des contributions récentes, y compris celles du Canada, au développement des technologies pour l'exploration spatiale;
  • décrire en détail le rôle que jouent des technologies canadiennes dans l'exploration de l'espace;
  • dessiner un système solaire avec toutes ses composantes;
  • établir le lien entre les atomes et la lumière à l’aide de différents instruments.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons