THE CONSTITUTION AND ABORIGINAL RIGHTS

By Graydon Nicholas

When we talked about the constitution development in 1982, the original words that were promised by the federal government – “the treaty and aboriginal rights of the aboriginal peoples of Canada are hereby recognized and affirmed” – would have made treaty rights superior to legislation. That in fact was the fear that the attorney general of Ontario, Roy McMurtry, had when he wrote a letter to Jean Chretien in 1981 and said, in effect, “Do you realize what you people are proposing? If this clause goes in, the consequences will be that, first of all, Indians can hunt and fish at will anywhere, any time and we can’t do anything about it. The second thing it’s going to do is throw the whole land question in an uproar, because there are so many areas in this country where the land claims question has not been settled that the courts are going to be clogged with litigation and the Indians are going to be winning – and what’s going to happen to our taxpayers?”

Those of us who knew this would happen if treaty and aborig Read More
THE CONSTITUTION AND ABORIGINAL RIGHTS

By Graydon Nicholas

When we talked about the constitution development in 1982, the original words that were promised by the federal government – “the treaty and aboriginal rights of the aboriginal peoples of Canada are hereby recognized and affirmed” – would have made treaty rights superior to legislation. That in fact was the fear that the attorney general of Ontario, Roy McMurtry, had when he wrote a letter to Jean Chretien in 1981 and said, in effect, “Do you realize what you people are proposing? If this clause goes in, the consequences will be that, first of all, Indians can hunt and fish at will anywhere, any time and we can’t do anything about it. The second thing it’s going to do is throw the whole land question in an uproar, because there are so many areas in this country where the land claims question has not been settled that the courts are going to be clogged with litigation and the Indians are going to be winning – and what’s going to happen to our taxpayers?”

Those of us who knew this would happen if treaty and aboriginal rights were entrenched in the Constitution began to speak out, warning that the government wouldn’t allow it. Our advice wasn’t heeded, but later on the government introduced the words “the existing aboriginal and treaty rights are hereby recognized and affirmed.” The word existing, under law, means “what the courts have decided to date.” They were only legitimizing the status quo. It is accepted that federal law can wipe out Indian rights, but it’s not all right for provincial laws to do this. This is why Section 35, in my opinion, is meaningless the way it is now written in the constitution. The word existing would have to be removed altogether. But then you would have the situation which McMurtry correctly pointed out in 1981. That would have been the state of law in Canada.

- Robert M. Leavitt, Maliseet and Micmac: First Nations of the Maritimes.
Fredericton: New Ireland Press, 1995, p. 222

© Robert M. Leavitt. All Rights Reserved.

Learning Objectives

Learners will understand the sections of Canada's Constitution that directly refer to First Nations peoples.

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

LA CONSTITUTION ET LES DROITS AUTOCHTONES

par Graydon Nicholas

Quand il a été question d’un projet de constitution en 1982, le gouvernement fédéral voulait inscrire « le traité et les droits ancestraux des peuples autochtones du Canada sont par la présente reconnus et affirmés », ce qui aurait placé les droits issus de traités au dessus de la loi. C’était en effet ce que craignait le procureur général de l’Ontario, Roy McMurtry, lorsqu’il adressait une lettre à Jean Chrétien en 1981 et lui disait, en effet, « Réalisez-vous ce que vous êtes en train de proposer? Si la clause est inscrite, les conséquences seront, premièrement, que les Amérindiens pourront chasser et pêcher à volonté n’importe où, n’importe quand, et nous ne pourrons rien y faire. En deuxième lieu, la question du territoire déclenchera un véritable tollé, car il y a tellement de régions dans ce pays où la question des revendi Pour en lire plus
LA CONSTITUTION ET LES DROITS AUTOCHTONES

par Graydon Nicholas

Quand il a été question d’un projet de constitution en 1982, le gouvernement fédéral voulait inscrire « le traité et les droits ancestraux des peuples autochtones du Canada sont par la présente reconnus et affirmés », ce qui aurait placé les droits issus de traités au dessus de la loi. C’était en effet ce que craignait le procureur général de l’Ontario, Roy McMurtry, lorsqu’il adressait une lettre à Jean Chrétien en 1981 et lui disait, en effet, « Réalisez-vous ce que vous êtes en train de proposer? Si la clause est inscrite, les conséquences seront, premièrement, que les Amérindiens pourront chasser et pêcher à volonté n’importe où, n’importe quand, et nous ne pourrons rien y faire. En deuxième lieu, la question du territoire déclenchera un véritable tollé, car il y a tellement de régions dans ce pays où la question des revendications territoriales n’a pas été réglée que les tribunaux seront engorgés par les affaires à régler, sans compter que les Amérindiens gagneront vraisemblablement. Qu’arrivera-t-il alors à nos contribuables? »

Ceux d’entre nous qui savaient ce qui allait arriver si les droits ancestraux et issus de traités étaient enchâssés dans la Constitution ont commencé à parler et à dire que le gouvernement ne permettrait pas ça. On n’a pas tenu compte de notre opinion mais, plus tard, le gouvernement à introduit les mots « Les droits existants — ancestraux ou issus de traités — des peuples autochtones du Canada sont reconnus et confirmés ». Le mot existant, conformément aux textes législatifs, signifie « ce que les tribunaux ont décidé à ce jour ». Ils ne faisaient que légitimer le statu quo. Il est acceptable que la loi fédérale puisse abolir les droits des Autochtones, mais ce ne l’est pas que les lois provinciales le fassent. C’est pourquoi l’article 35, à mon avis, est dénué de sens de la façon dont il est maintenant écrit dans la Constitution. Le mot « existant » aurait dû être entièrement supprimé. Mais alors, on se serait retrouvés dans la situation que dénonçait avec raison le procureur général McMurtry en 1981. Cela aurait été l’état de droit au Canada.

- Robert M. Leavitt, Maliseet and Micmac: First Nations of the Maritimes.
Fredericton: New Ireland Press, 1995, p. 222


© Robert M. Leavitt. Tous droits réservés.

Objectifs d'apprentissage

Les apprenants seront en mesure de comprendre l’importance de la formulation dans les documents juridiques.


Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons