The Dominion Observatory was founded in 1905 in Ottawa, Ontario. The impetus for Canada’s first government observatory came from the Geological Survey of Canada, which had a pressing need for a service that could supply precise temporal and spatial coordinates for its mapping and topographic surveys. In those days, only observatories were capable of providing such a service.

William Frederick King, Chief Astronomer for the Department of the Interior, played a key role in setting up the new observatory. He became its first Director and equipped it with a 35-centimetre telescope, the largest ever installed in Canada.

The first mandate of the observatory was to determine and distribute the exact time to the rest of the country. King confided this task to Robert Meldrum Stewart, the astronomer who went on to become Director from 1923 to 1946. In those days, it was necessary to monitor the path of reference stars on a regular basis in order to precisely determine the time. More specifically, it was necessary to know the exact moment when certain stars passed their highest point in the sky (the meridian); these were known as “transit times”.
Read More
The Dominion Observatory was founded in 1905 in Ottawa, Ontario. The impetus for Canada’s first government observatory came from the Geological Survey of Canada, which had a pressing need for a service that could supply precise temporal and spatial coordinates for its mapping and topographic surveys. In those days, only observatories were capable of providing such a service.

William Frederick King, Chief Astronomer for the Department of the Interior, played a key role in setting up the new observatory. He became its first Director and equipped it with a 35-centimetre telescope, the largest ever installed in Canada.

The first mandate of the observatory was to determine and distribute the exact time to the rest of the country. King confided this task to Robert Meldrum Stewart, the astronomer who went on to become Director from 1923 to 1946. In those days, it was necessary to monitor the path of reference stars on a regular basis in order to precisely determine the time. More specifically, it was necessary to know the exact moment when certain stars passed their highest point in the sky (the meridian); these were known as “transit times”.

Due to the conscientious observation of transit times for many stars, and to the acquisition of a high precision clock in 1929, Stewart gradually established a network of clocks throughout Ottawa’s federal government buildings. A signal from the observatory’s clock was electronically transmitted to the buildings; in this way, about 700 clocks in Ottawa were able to display precise time by 1930. After 1941, this time service was extended to the entire country and the Dominion Observatory became the official supplier of time for Canada.

In order to fulfill its second mandate – to provide spatial coordinates for the country – the Dominion Observatory set out to determine the precise position of 3,162 stars in the sky. This was accomplished by recording 28,000 astronomical observations from 1911 to 1923. A new project was launched in 1923, and the positions of another 1,368 stars were measured until 1950.

The first speaking clock of the Dominion Observatory.These data – combined with the knowledge of exact time – allowed longitude, latitude and elevation to be calculated with precision for many points across Canada.

As part of its responsibility to the Geological Survey of Canada, the Dominion Observatory was also entrusted with a third mandate: to collect seismic, gravimetric and magnetic geophysical data.

Among the noteworthy events that marked the history of the Dominion Observatory were the apparent discovery of “Planet X” in 1928, the determination of the solar rotation as a function of latitude in the 1930’s, and the discovery of numerous meteor impact sites in Canada.

Scientific institutions in Canada were reorganized in 1970 and the responsibilities of the Dominion Observatory were transferred to the National Research Council of Canada (NRC). The observatory ceased its activities and the building became the headquarters for the NRC. In 1974, the telescope was moved to the Helen Sawyer Hogg Observatory of the Canadian Museum of Science and Technology where it remains to this day.

© 2006 An original idea and a realization of the ASTROLab of Mont-Mégantic National Park

Black and white photo of the Dominion Observatory

The Dominion Observatory

Pierre Lachaîne

© Pierre Lachaîne


Black and white photo of the first speaking clock of the Dominion Observatory

The first speaking clock of the Dominion Observatory.

Canadian Science and Technology Museum/Dominion Observatory

© Canadian Science and Technology Museum/Dominion Observatory


The Mont-Mégantic Observatory was opened in 1978 near Sherbrooke, Quebec. It was created to promote university-level astronomy education in Quebec, to provide qualified astronomers with state of the art research equipment, and to promote astronomy among French Canadian citizens.

The telescope is equipped with a 1.6-metre mirror that weights one metric ton; the entire structure weighs 24 tonnes. The Mont-Mégantic Observatory houses the largest telescope in eastern North America, and the fourth largest in Canada after those of the David Dunlap Observatory in Toronto (1.88 metres), the Dominion Astrophysical Observatory in Victoria (1.83 metres), and the Rothney Astrophysical Observatory (1.8 metres). Although not the biggest, the state of the art instruments attached to the Mont-Mégantic telescope make it the most powerful telescope in Canada.

The Mont-Mégantic Observatory.The project to construct a large observatory in Quebec was launched in 1971 by professors Gilles Beaudet and George Michaud of the University of Montreal. Laval University in Quebec City joined the venture in 1974 and a partnership agreement was signed in 1975. The federal and provincial gove Read More
The Mont-Mégantic Observatory was opened in 1978 near Sherbrooke, Quebec. It was created to promote university-level astronomy education in Quebec, to provide qualified astronomers with state of the art research equipment, and to promote astronomy among French Canadian citizens.

The telescope is equipped with a 1.6-metre mirror that weights one metric ton; the entire structure weighs 24 tonnes. The Mont-Mégantic Observatory houses the largest telescope in eastern North America, and the fourth largest in Canada after those of the David Dunlap Observatory in Toronto (1.88 metres), the Dominion Astrophysical Observatory in Victoria (1.83 metres), and the Rothney Astrophysical Observatory (1.8 metres). Although not the biggest, the state of the art instruments attached to the Mont-Mégantic telescope make it the most powerful telescope in Canada.

The Mont-Mégantic Observatory.The project to construct a large observatory in Quebec was launched in 1971 by professors Gilles Beaudet and George Michaud of the University of Montreal. Laval University in Quebec City joined the venture in 1974 and a partnership agreement was signed in 1975. The federal and provincial governments approved the project in 1976, and construction started the same year. The service building was completed in 1977, and the observatory several months later in 1978.

René Racine joined the project in 1973 and became Director in 1976, the same year he left the University of Toronto to work at the University of Montreal. He remained Director until 1997 when he retired, with the exception of a short period from 1980 to 1984 when he took on the role of Director at the Canada-France-Hawaii Observatory.



The 1.6-metre telescope of the Mont-Mégantic Observatory.The observatory was involved in many research projects over the years, the most important of which concerned the relationship between galaxy dynamics and their abundance of chemical elements, the interactions between luminous stars and the interstellar medium, and the polarimetry of young stellar objects.

A dynamic instrument program also accounts for a large part of Mégantic’s productivity. In 1982, Jean-René Roy, along with Yvon Georgelin and Jacques Boulesteix, designed a new Fabry-Perot interferometer for the observatory, and other pieces of equipment followed.

In 1991, for example, the observatory became the first in Canada to use an infrared camera. Named MONICA (for MONtreal Infrared Camera), it was designed by Daniel Nadeau and René Doyon of the University of Montreal. The site at Mont-Mégantic is particularly favourable for infrared astronomy because interference radiation levels are very low during the long cold nights in winter (sometimes even lower than the levels at Mauna Kea in Hawaii).

In 1996, the Mont-Mégantic ASTROLab, an astronomy activity centre, opened its doors to the general public. The centre hosts interactive displays, a high definition movie, multimedia presentations and access to two public observatories during open house astronomy evenings. Visitors can also tour the observatory and its 1.6-metre telescope during the day.

In 1999, a major 3-year renovation program was started. First, the dome of the 1.6-metre telescope was repaired and equipped with a ventilation system. Then, in 2000, the observatory was linked to universities by fibre optics. A year later, the telescope controls became fully computerized and a new bonnet (the interface that allows instruments to be coupled to the telescope) was installed. Following this, a number of new state of the art instruments were also added to the telescope.

Asteroid 4843 is named in honour of the observatory.

© 2006 An original idea and a realization of the ASTROLab of Mont-Mégantic National Park

Colour photo of the Mont-Mégantic Observatory

Mont-Mégantic Observatory.

Sébastien Giguère

© ASTROLab/Mont-Mégantic National Park


Colour photo of the Mont-Mégantic Observatory in the winter

The Mont-Mégantic Observatory.

Sébastien Giguère

© ASTROLab/Mont-Mégantic National Park


Colour photo of a telescope

The 1.6-metre telescope of the Mont-Mégantic Observatory.

Sébastien Giguère

© ASTROLab/Mont-Mégantic National Park


Colour photo of the ASTROLab of the Mont-Mégantic National Park with northern lights

The ASTROLab of the Mont-Mégantic National Park.

Sébastien Giguère

© ASTROLab/Mont-Mégantic National Park


Colour photo of the Mont-Mégantic Observatory at night

The Mont-Mégantic Observatory.

Sébastien Giguère

© ASTROLab/Mont-Mégantic National Park


Learning Objectives

The learner will:
  • identify recent contributions, including Canada’s, to the development of space exploration technologies;
  • describe in detail the function of Canadian technologies involved in exploration of space;
  • draw a solar system with all its components;
  • establish the link between atoms and light using different instruments.

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

L’Observatoire fédéral ouvre ses portes en 1905 à Ottawa, en Ontario. Sa création est due à la Commission géologique du Canada qui avait alors un besoin pressant de disposer d’un service capable de fournir des coordonnées temporelles et spatiales précises pour ses levés cartographiques et topographiques. À l’époque, seul un observatoire astronomique peut fournir ce genre de service.

Le chef de la Division d’astronomie du ministère de l’Intérieur, l’astronome William Frederick King, joue un rôle clé dans la mise sur pied du nouvel observatoire. Il en devient le premier directeur et l’équipe d’une lunette astronomique de 35 centimètres, la plus grande jamais installée au Canada.

La première partie du mandat de l’observatoire est de fournir des coordonnées temporelles au pays, c’est-à-dire l’heure exacte. King confie cette tâche à l’astronome Robert Meldrum Stewart, qui deviendra lui-même directeur de l’observatoire de 1923 à 1946. Pour déterminer l’heure exacte, il faut observer sur une base régulière le transit d’étoiles de référence, c’est-à-dire le moment précis o Pour en lire plus
L’Observatoire fédéral ouvre ses portes en 1905 à Ottawa, en Ontario. Sa création est due à la Commission géologique du Canada qui avait alors un besoin pressant de disposer d’un service capable de fournir des coordonnées temporelles et spatiales précises pour ses levés cartographiques et topographiques. À l’époque, seul un observatoire astronomique peut fournir ce genre de service.

Le chef de la Division d’astronomie du ministère de l’Intérieur, l’astronome William Frederick King, joue un rôle clé dans la mise sur pied du nouvel observatoire. Il en devient le premier directeur et l’équipe d’une lunette astronomique de 35 centimètres, la plus grande jamais installée au Canada.

La première partie du mandat de l’observatoire est de fournir des coordonnées temporelles au pays, c’est-à-dire l’heure exacte. King confie cette tâche à l’astronome Robert Meldrum Stewart, qui deviendra lui-même directeur de l’observatoire de 1923 à 1946. Pour déterminer l’heure exacte, il faut observer sur une base régulière le transit d’étoiles de référence, c’est-à-dire le moment précis où certaines étoiles passent par leur point le plus élevé dans le ciel, appelé aussi le méridien.

Grâce aux observations du transit de plusieurs étoiles, d’abord, puis à l’acquisition en 1929 d’une horloge de haute précision, Stewart met graduellement en place un réseau d’horloges dans les édifices du gouvernement canadien, à Ottawa. Le signal de l’horloge de l’observatoire est transmis électriquement aux édifices de la ville et, en 1930, environ 700 horloges d’Ottawa obtiennent ainsi l’heure exacte. À partir de 1941, le service de l’heure est étendu à tout le pays et l’Observatoire fédéral devient le fournisseur de l’heure officielle au Canada.

Afin de remplir la seconde partie de son mandat, qui est de fournir des coordonnées spatiales au pays, l’Observatoire fédéral travaille à déterminer les positions précises de 3162 étoiles dans le ciel. Le tout nécessite quelque 28 000 observations astronomiques qui s’échelonnent de 1911 à 1923. De 1923 à 1950, un nouveau programme d’observation est lancé et les positions de 1368 autres étoiles sont mesurées.

Toutes ces données, combinées à la connaissance de l’heure exacte au pays, permettront d’établir avec précision la longitude, la latitude et l’altitude de plusieurs points au Canada.

Comme l’Observatoire fédéral dépend de la Commission géologique du Canada, un troisième mandat lui est également confié lors de sa création, soit la collecte de données géophysiques de nature sismique, gravimétrique et magnétique.

Parmi les évènements qui ont marqué l’histoire de l’Observatoire fédéral, notons la découverte apparente de la « Planète X » en 1928, la détermination de la rotation du Soleil en fonction de la latitude dans les années 1930 et la découverte de nombreux impacts météoritiques au Canada.

En 1970, les institutions scientifiques du Canada sont réorganisées et la responsabilité de l’Observatoire fédéral est confiée au Conseil national de recherches du Canada. L’observatoire cesse alors d’être actif et devient le siège des bureaux du Conseil national de recherches. En 1974, la lunette est déménagée à l’Observatoire Helen Sawyer Hogg du Musée canadien des sciences et de la technologie, où elle se trouve toujours aujourd’hui.

© 2006 Une idée originale et une réalisation de L'ASTROLab du Parc national du Mont-Mégantic

Photo noir et blanc de l’Observatoire Fédéral

L’Observatoire fédéral.

Pierre Lachaîne

© Pierre Lachaîne


Photo noir et blanc de la première horloge parlante de l'Observatoire fédéral

La première horloge parlante de l'Observatoire Fédéral.

Musée des sciences et de la technologie du Canada/Observatoire fédéral

© Musée des sciences et de la technologie du Canada/Observatoire fédéral


L’Observatoire du Mont-Mégantic, situé près de Sherbrooke, au Québec, est mis en service en 1978. Sa création a pour but de promouvoir l’enseignement de l’astronomie universitaire au Québec, de fournir aux astronomes qualifiés des instruments de recherche de pointe et de favoriser l’épanouissement de l’astronomie dans la culture francophone.

Le télescope est doté d’un miroir de 1,6 mètre de diamètre pesant une tonne ; le poids total de la structure est de 24 tonnes. Après le télescope de l’Observatoire David Dunlap de Toronto (1,88 mètre), celui de l’Observatoire fédéral d’astrophysique de Victoria (1,83 mètre) et celui de l’Observatoire d’astrophysique Rothney de Calgary (1,8 mètre), c’est le quatrième plus grand télescope au Canada et le plus grand de la côte Est nord-américaine. Ses instruments de pointe en font le télescope le plus puissant au Canada.

Le projet d’un grand observatoire québécois est lancé en 1971 par les professeurs Gilles Beaudet et George Michaud de l’Université de Montréal. L’Université Laval se joint à l’entreprise en 1974 et une entente est Pour en lire plus
L’Observatoire du Mont-Mégantic, situé près de Sherbrooke, au Québec, est mis en service en 1978. Sa création a pour but de promouvoir l’enseignement de l’astronomie universitaire au Québec, de fournir aux astronomes qualifiés des instruments de recherche de pointe et de favoriser l’épanouissement de l’astronomie dans la culture francophone.

Le télescope est doté d’un miroir de 1,6 mètre de diamètre pesant une tonne ; le poids total de la structure est de 24 tonnes. Après le télescope de l’Observatoire David Dunlap de Toronto (1,88 mètre), celui de l’Observatoire fédéral d’astrophysique de Victoria (1,83 mètre) et celui de l’Observatoire d’astrophysique Rothney de Calgary (1,8 mètre), c’est le quatrième plus grand télescope au Canada et le plus grand de la côte Est nord-américaine. Ses instruments de pointe en font le télescope le plus puissant au Canada.

Le projet d’un grand observatoire québécois est lancé en 1971 par les professeurs Gilles Beaudet et George Michaud de l’Université de Montréal. L’Université Laval se joint à l’entreprise en 1974 et une entente est signée entre les deux partenaires en 1975. Le projet est approuvé par les gouvernements fédéral et provincial en 1976 et la construction débute la même année. Le bâtiment de service est complété en 1977 et l’observatoire est finalisé quelques mois plus tard, en 1978.

René Racine s’associe au projet du nouvel observatoire dès 1973 et en devient le directeur en 1976, année où il quitte l’Université de Toronto pour joindre celle de Montréal. Il reste directeur jusqu’en 1997, année de sa retraite, sauf pour la période allant de 1980 à 1984, où il est directeur de l’Observatoire Canada-France-Hawaï.

Au fil des années, l’observatoire s’implique dans plusieurs projets de recherche. Les plus importants concernent l’étude des relations entre la dynamique des galaxies et l’abondance des éléments chimiques qu’on y retrouve, l’étude des interactions entre les étoiles lumineuses et le milieu interstellaire et l’étude d’objets stellaires jeunes par polarimétrie.

Le programme d’instrumentation occupe également une large part de la productivité de Mégantic. En 1982, Jean-René Roy conçoit, avec Yvon Georgelin et Jacques Boulesteix, un nouvel interféromètre Fabry-Perot pour l’observatoire. D’autres appareils suivront par la suite.

En 1991, par exemple, l’observatoire est le premier au Canada à disposer d’une caméra infrarouge. Il s’agit de MONICA (pour MONtréal Infrared Camera), une caméra conçue par Daniel Nadeau et René Doyon de l’Université de Montréal. Le site du Mont-Mégantic est particulièrement favorable à l’astronomie infrarouge car, lors des longues nuits froides d’hiver, le niveau de radiation parasite y est très bas (parfois même plus bas que sur le Mauna Kea, à Hawaï).

En 1996, un centre d’activité en astronomie pour le grand public ouvre ses portes : c’est l’ASTROLab du parc national du Mont-Mégantic. Le centre est l’hôte d’expositions interactives, d’un film haute définition, de présentations multimédias et offre aussi l’accès à deux observatoires publics utilisés lors des soirées d’astronomie. De jour, les visiteurs peuvent aussi visiter l’observatoire et son télescope de 1,6 mètre.

En 1999, un important programme de rénovation de trois ans débute. La coupole du télescope de 1,6 mètre est d’abord réparée et équipée d’un système de ventilation. En 2000, l’observatoire est relié par fibres optiques au réseau des universités. En 2001, le contrôle du télescope est entièrement opéré par ordinateur et une nouvelle bonnette (interface permettant de coupler des instruments à un télescope) est installée. À partir de la même période, toute une série de nouveaux instruments de pointe sont installés sur le télescope.

L’astéroïde no 4843 porte le nom de Mégantic en l’honneur de l’observatoire.

© 2006 Une idée originale et une réalisation de L'ASTROLab du Parc national du Mont-Mégantic

Photo couleur de l'Observatoire du Mont-Mégantic

Observatoire du Mont-Mégantic.

Sébastien Giguère

© ASTROLab du Parc national du Mont-Mégantic


Photo couleur de l'Observatoire du Mont-Mégantic durant l'hiver

L'Observatoire du Mont-Mégantic.

Sébastien Giguère

© ASTROLab du Parc national du Mont-Mégantic


Photo couleur d’un telescope

Le télescope de 1,6 mètre de l'Observatoire du Mont-Mégantic.

Sébastien Giguère

© ASTROLab du Parc national du Mont-Mégantic


Photo couleur de l’ASTROLab du Parc national du Mont-Mégantic avec aurores boréales

L’ASTROLab du Parc national du Mont-Mégantic.

Sébastien Giguère

© ASTROLab du Parc national du Mont-Mégantic


Photo couleur de l'Observatoire du Mont-Mégantic durant la nuit

L'Observatoire du Mont-Mégantic.

Sébastien Giguère

© ASTROLab du Parc national du Mont-Mégantic


Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant va :
  • nommer des contributions récentes, y compris celles du Canada, au développement des technologies pour l’exploration spatiale;
  • décrire en détail le rôle que jouent des technologies canadiennes dans l’exploration de l’espace;
  • dessiner un système solaire avec toutes ses composantes;
  • établir le lien entre les atomes et la lumière à l’aide de différents instruments.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons