The eye is the organ that allows us to see. Light enters through the cornea and is projected onto the retina, which consists of cells that are sensitive to electromagnetic radiation. From there, the light signals are converted into electrical impulses that are transmitted to the brain along the optic nerve. Once the brain has received the pulses, it transforms the information into an image.

The human eye is spherical and its internal parts are transparent so that the maximum amount of light can reach the retina.

The cornea surrounds and protects the eye. It is made of transparent gel-like material that helps converge light rays onto the retina. The role of the iris is to control the quantity of light that passes through the cornea, keeping it at a fairly constant level. Too much light can damage the retina, whereas not enough will prevent a person from seeing properly.

Basic anatomy of the eye.The iris is nothing more than a ring of coloured muscles, and it is these muscles that give us our eye colour. Its centre, the pupil, allows just the right amount of light to pass through so that we can see. This is why the pupil contracts when there is too m Read More
The eye is the organ that allows us to see. Light enters through the cornea and is projected onto the retina, which consists of cells that are sensitive to electromagnetic radiation. From there, the light signals are converted into electrical impulses that are transmitted to the brain along the optic nerve. Once the brain has received the pulses, it transforms the information into an image.

The human eye is spherical and its internal parts are transparent so that the maximum amount of light can reach the retina.

The cornea surrounds and protects the eye. It is made of transparent gel-like material that helps converge light rays onto the retina. The role of the iris is to control the quantity of light that passes through the cornea, keeping it at a fairly constant level. Too much light can damage the retina, whereas not enough will prevent a person from seeing properly.

Basic anatomy of the eye.The iris is nothing more than a ring of coloured muscles, and it is these muscles that give us our eye colour. Its centre, the pupil, allows just the right amount of light to pass through so that we can see. This is why the pupil contracts when there is too much light (like when the Sun blinds us) to prevent excess light rays from reaching the retina, and contracts when there is not enough light (like when we walk into a darkened room) to allow in the most light possible.

Immediately behind the iris is the lens. It is a true lens in that it converges light rays passing through the eye onto the retina. The lens of the eye is also flexible and can deform itself to improve the convergence of light.

The retina consists of two types of cells: cones and rods. Cone cells have a very important role to play because they allow us to see in colour. On the other hand, they are not very sensitive to light rays and need a lot of light to work.

The rods are very sensitive to light and enable us to see when it is dark. They are not, however, capable of distinguishing different colours and details, and this causes the poor colour contrast between objects that we observe when the lighting is dim.

In all, hundreds of millions of cells must work together in our eyes and brain in order for us to see. It is thanks to their highly coordinated efforts that you are able to read these words right now!

© 2006 An original idea and a realization of the ASTROLab of Mont-Mégantic National Park

Colour photo of a human eye

The human eye.

ASTROLab of Mont-Mégantic National Park

© 2006 An original idea and a realization of the ASTROLab of Mont-Mégantic National Park


A diagram depicting the location of different parts of the eye

The Parts of the Eye.

ASTROLab of Mont-Mégantic National Park

© ASTROLab/Mont-Mégantic National Park


Many different astronomical instruments have been used throughout the ages. Two stand out as having played particularly important historical roles: the transit and the sextant. Such diverse fields as stellar cartography (mapping), navigation and the determination of time have all progressed significantly thanks to these instruments.

The transit is used to measure the precise moment that a celestial object passes through its highest point in the sky (also know as the meridian). Used since ancient Egyptian time, the modern form of this instrument consists of a telescope that only moves vertically. A dial on one side, graduated from 0 to 90 degrees, is used to measure the inclination of the telescope.

When the celestial object in question passes through the meridian, the observer notes its angle above the horizon at the precise moment of its passing. These two measurements provide the coordinates (the position) of the object in the celestial sphere. A map of the sky can be thus be assembled bit by bit and used to create tables that give the positions of stars, planets, the Moon and so on for the purposes of navigation or determining the exact time.

Jo Read More
Many different astronomical instruments have been used throughout the ages. Two stand out as having played particularly important historical roles: the transit and the sextant. Such diverse fields as stellar cartography (mapping), navigation and the determination of time have all progressed significantly thanks to these instruments.

The transit is used to measure the precise moment that a celestial object passes through its highest point in the sky (also know as the meridian). Used since ancient Egyptian time, the modern form of this instrument consists of a telescope that only moves vertically. A dial on one side, graduated from 0 to 90 degrees, is used to measure the inclination of the telescope.

When the celestial object in question passes through the meridian, the observer notes its angle above the horizon at the precise moment of its passing. These two measurements provide the coordinates (the position) of the object in the celestial sphere. A map of the sky can be thus be assembled bit by bit and used to create tables that give the positions of stars, planets, the Moon and so on for the purposes of navigation or determining the exact time.

John HadleyThe sextant is an instrument that can be used to determine the angle between a celestial object and the horizon. Used in conjunction with the transit tables, it is a simple matter to calculate the latitude of one’s position.

The predecessors of the sextant included the astrolab and the octant, both of which operated on the same principle. The modern version of the sextant was independently invented in the 1730’s by John Hadley in England and Thomas Godfrey in the United States.

© 2006 An original idea and a realization of the ASTROLab of Mont-Mégantic National Park

A colour photo of a transit

A transit.

Thomas B. Greenslade, Jr.

© Thomas B. Greenslade, Jr.


A colour photo of a sextant

A sextant.

ASTROLab of Mont-Mégantic National Park

© Public Domain


Black and white drawing of John Hadley

John Hadley.

ASTROLab of Mont-Mégantic National Park

© Public Domain


Learning Objectives

The learner will:
  • identify recent contributions, including Canada’s, to the development of space exploration technologies;
  • describe in detail the function of Canadian technologies involved in exploration of space;
  • draw a solar system with all its components;
  • establish the link between atoms and light using different instruments.

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

L’œil est l’organe qui nous sert à voir. La lumière y pénètre par la cornée, puis est projetée à l’arrière sur une série de cellules sensibles aux radiations électromagnétiques : la rétine. De là, les signaux lumineux sont convertis en impulsions électriques, lesquelles sont transmises au cerveau par le nerf optique. Une fois les impulsions reçues, le cerveau transforme l’information en image.

L’œil humain est sphérique et ses parties internes sont transparentes de façon à permettre au maximum de lumière d’atteindre la rétine.

La cornée enveloppe et protège l’œil. Elle est composée d’une sorte de gel transparent qui aide à faire converger les rayons lumineux sur la rétine. La quantité de lumière qui traverse la cornée doit être régulée de manière à demeurer plus ou moins la même. Trop de lumière peut endommager la rétine, tandis que pas assez ne permet pas de voir convenablement. Ce rôle régulateur est joué par l’iris.

L’iris n’est rien de moins qu’un anneau de muscles colorés; c’est lui qui donne à nos yeux leur couleur. Son centre, la pupille, laisse passer la quantité Pour en lire plus
L’œil est l’organe qui nous sert à voir. La lumière y pénètre par la cornée, puis est projetée à l’arrière sur une série de cellules sensibles aux radiations électromagnétiques : la rétine. De là, les signaux lumineux sont convertis en impulsions électriques, lesquelles sont transmises au cerveau par le nerf optique. Une fois les impulsions reçues, le cerveau transforme l’information en image.

L’œil humain est sphérique et ses parties internes sont transparentes de façon à permettre au maximum de lumière d’atteindre la rétine.

La cornée enveloppe et protège l’œil. Elle est composée d’une sorte de gel transparent qui aide à faire converger les rayons lumineux sur la rétine. La quantité de lumière qui traverse la cornée doit être régulée de manière à demeurer plus ou moins la même. Trop de lumière peut endommager la rétine, tandis que pas assez ne permet pas de voir convenablement. Ce rôle régulateur est joué par l’iris.

L’iris n’est rien de moins qu’un anneau de muscles colorés; c’est lui qui donne à nos yeux leur couleur. Son centre, la pupille, laisse passer la quantité idéale de lumière dont notre œil a besoin pour voir. Ainsi, s’il y a trop de lumière, la pupille se contracte et empêche l’excès de rayons lumineux d’atteindre la rétine (comme lorsque le Soleil nous éblouit); s’il n’y en a pas assez, elle sera dilatée et cherchera à capter le maximum de lumière (comme lorsque l’on passe d’un endroit ensoleillé à une pièce sombre, par exemple).

Le cristallin se trouve immédiatement derrière l’iris. Véritable lentille, il est flexible et se déforme pour faire converger les rayons lumineux à travers l’œil sur la rétine.

La rétine est constituée de deux sortes de cellules : les cônes et les bâtonnets. Les cônes ont une fonction très importante : ce sont eux qui nous permettent de voir en couleur. En revanche, ils sont peu sensibles aux rayons lumineux et ont besoin de beaucoup de lumière pour répondre.

Les bâtonnets, pour leur part, sont très sensibles à la lumière : ce sont eux qui nous permettent de voir lorsqu’il fait sombre. Toutefois, ils sont incapables de distinguer les couleurs et les détails; c’est d’ailleurs pour ces raisons que les objets nous paraissent moins colorés dans la pénombre.

En résumé, des centaines de millions de cellules œuvrent dans l’œil et le cerveau dans le but unique de nous permettre de voir. C’est leur travail hautement coordonné qui vous permet en ce moment de lire ces lignes.

© 2006 Une idée originale et une réalisation de L'ASTROLab du Parc national du Mont-Mégantic

Photo couleur d'une œil humain

L’œil humain.

ASTROLab du Parc national du Mont-Mégantic

© 2006 Une idée originale et une réalisation de L'ASTROLab du Parc national du Mont-Mégantic


Un schéma qui démontre les parties de l'œil

Les parties de l'œil.

ASTROLab du Parc national du Mont-Mégantic

© ASTROLab du Parc national du Mont-Mégantic


Plusieurs instruments astronomiques ont été utilisés à travers les époques. Deux d’entre eux ont joué un rôle particulièrement important dans l’histoire : le transit et le sextant. Des domaines aussi variés que la cartographie stellaire, la navigation et la détermination de l’heure ont en effet connus des progrès importants grâce à ces instruments.

Le transit sert à mesurer le moment précis où un objet céleste passe par son point le plus élevé dans le ciel (aussi appelé le méridien). Connu des anciens Égyptiens, l’instrument est, dans sa version actuelle, composé d’un télescope qui ne peut bouger que verticalement. Un cadran situé sur le coté (et gradué de 0 à 90 degrés) sert à mesurer l’inclinaison du télescope.

Lorsque l’objet céleste examiné passe par le méridien, l’observateur note son angle d’inclinaison au-dessus de l’horizon ainsi que le moment précis où cela se produit. Ces deux mesures fournissent les coordonnées de l’objet sur la sphère céleste. Petit à petit, on peut ensuite dresser une carte du ciel et établir des tables donnant les positions des étoiles, des planètes, de la Lune, e Pour en lire plus
Plusieurs instruments astronomiques ont été utilisés à travers les époques. Deux d’entre eux ont joué un rôle particulièrement important dans l’histoire : le transit et le sextant. Des domaines aussi variés que la cartographie stellaire, la navigation et la détermination de l’heure ont en effet connus des progrès importants grâce à ces instruments.

Le transit sert à mesurer le moment précis où un objet céleste passe par son point le plus élevé dans le ciel (aussi appelé le méridien). Connu des anciens Égyptiens, l’instrument est, dans sa version actuelle, composé d’un télescope qui ne peut bouger que verticalement. Un cadran situé sur le coté (et gradué de 0 à 90 degrés) sert à mesurer l’inclinaison du télescope.

Lorsque l’objet céleste examiné passe par le méridien, l’observateur note son angle d’inclinaison au-dessus de l’horizon ainsi que le moment précis où cela se produit. Ces deux mesures fournissent les coordonnées de l’objet sur la sphère céleste. Petit à petit, on peut ensuite dresser une carte du ciel et établir des tables donnant les positions des étoiles, des planètes, de la Lune, etc., afin d’aider à la navigation et de connaître l’heure exacte.

Le sextant est un instrument servant à déterminer l’angle d’élévation d’un objet céleste par rapport à l’horizon. Utilisé conjointement avec les tables établies grâce au transit, on peut facilement calculer la latitude du lieu où l’on se trouve.

Le sextant a pour ancêtres l’astrolabe et l’octant, qui avaient la même fonction que lui. La version moderne du sextant fut inventée indépendamment par le Britannique John Hadley et l’Américain Thomas Godfrey dans les années 1730.

© 2006 Une idée originale et une réalisation de L'ASTROLab du Parc national du Mont-Mégantic

Photo couleur d'un transit

Un transit.

Thomas B. Greenslade, Jr.

© Thomas B. Greenslade, Jr.


Photo couleur d'un sextant

Un sextant.

ASTROLab du Parc national du Mont-Mégantic

© Domaine public


Dessin noir et blanc du John Hadley

John Hadley.

ASTROLab du Parc national du Mont-Mégantic

© Domaine public


Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant va :
  • nommer des contributions récentes, y compris celles du Canada, au développement des technologies pour l’exploration spatiale;
  • décrire en détail le rôle que jouent des technologies canadiennes dans l’exploration de l’espace;
  • dessiner un système solaire avec toutes ses composantes;
  • établir le lien entre les atomes et la lumière à l’aide de différents instruments.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons