The Assyrians (people who lived in a region that is known today as Iraq) were perhaps the first to have used lenses to magnify objects, possibly around 1,500 BC. The evidence is a rock crystal discovered by the English archaeologist John Layard in 1850 during the excavation of the ancient city of Nimrud. The crystal was cut and polished into the shape of a lens, however it is not entirely certain that it was used as a magnifying lens and not as jewellery or for some other purpose.

Evidence that lenses were in use during the first century BC can be found in the records of the Roman authors Pliny and Senecio who reported that an engraver at Pompeii used a lens to help him in his work. Other historical evidence reveals that the Arabs were using lenses by the year 600 AD, as were the Vikings around the year 900.

It is difficult to determine when a refracting telescope was first assembled using lenses. The first person to do so with certainty, and thus the person to be credited with its invention, was the English mathematician Leonard Digges who constructed a refracting telescope sometime between 1540 and 1553 to assist with his topographic surveys. Leonard Digges Read More
The Assyrians (people who lived in a region that is known today as Iraq) were perhaps the first to have used lenses to magnify objects, possibly around 1,500 BC. The evidence is a rock crystal discovered by the English archaeologist John Layard in 1850 during the excavation of the ancient city of Nimrud. The crystal was cut and polished into the shape of a lens, however it is not entirely certain that it was used as a magnifying lens and not as jewellery or for some other purpose.

Evidence that lenses were in use during the first century BC can be found in the records of the Roman authors Pliny and Senecio who reported that an engraver at Pompeii used a lens to help him in his work. Other historical evidence reveals that the Arabs were using lenses by the year 600 AD, as were the Vikings around the year 900.

It is difficult to determine when a refracting telescope was first assembled using lenses. The first person to do so with certainty, and thus the person to be credited with its invention, was the English mathematician Leonard Digges who constructed a refracting telescope sometime between 1540 and 1553 to assist with his topographic surveys. Leonard Digges – or perhaps his son, the English astronomer Thomas Digges – was also the first to turn a refractor towards the sky to study celestial objects.

Galileo GallileiThe instrument did not become widely known to the public until 1608 when Hans Lippershey (or Lipperhey), a Dutch optician of German origin, began to make and sell telescopes. Lippershey applied for a patent for what he claimed was his own invention, but was refused on the grounds that the device was already in existence.

The English mathematician Thomas Harriot was the first to study the Moon in detail using an astronomical telescope in 1609, and it is known with certainty that this occurred several months before Galileo Galilei, the famous Italian physicist, did the same. Galilei, however, was the first to have published his observations in a book entitled “The Starry Messenger” (translated from Latin). His book revolutionized our concept of the Universe.

The first refracting telescopes consisted of two lenses separated by some distance within a closed tube. The larger of the two is the objective, or primary lens, and the second is the ocular. The role of the lenses is to concentrate light rays into a single point – the focal point – so as to obtain a sharper magnified image.

Refractor.It is the glass of the lens that allows light to be concentrated. Glass is denser than air, and when light rays pass through it, they are bent from their path in different directions. This phenomenon is known as “refraction”. Lenses, to be effective in a telescope, must be shaped so that all the refracted light rays converge in a single point.

Unfortunately, we now know today that it is impossible to focus light from an object into a single point using only one lens. The phenomenon that prevents this from happening is known as aberration.

There are several types of aberrations, the main ones being chromatic and spherical. All types of aberration cause deformation of the image transmitted by the telescope.

These days, refracting telescopes are made using several lenses that are designed and put together in ways that minimize the problems caused by aberrations.

© 2006 An original idea and a realization of the ASTROLab of Mont-Mégantic National Park

Black and white painting of Hans Lippershey

Hans Lippershey.

ASTROLab of Mont-Mégantic National Park

© Public Domain


Colour painting of Galileo Galilei

Galileo Galilei.

ASTROLab of Mont-Mégantic National Park

© Public Domain


Diagram of how a refracting Telescope works with its parts labeled

Refracting telescope.

Illustration

© 2006 An original idea and a realization of the ASTROLab of Mont-Mégantic National Park


Diagram of a Chromatic Aberration with parts labeled

Chromatic aberration occurs because light rays of different colours are not all bent by the same amount as they pass through a lens. Consequently, it is impossible to concentrate the rays into a single point. Chromatic aberration causes coloured fringes to appear around the image.

ASTROLab of Mont-Mégantic National Park

© ASTROLab/Mont-Mégantic National Park


Diagram of Spherical Aberration with parts labeled

Spherical aberration is due to the shape of the lens. A lens is nothing more than a piece of glass with each surface shaped like a portion of a sphere. Unfortunately, a sphere is not the best shape for concentrating light rays into a single point, but is the easiest shape to make when grinding and polishing glass. Spherical aberration causes images to be blurred.

ASTROLab of Mont-Mégantic National Park

© ASTROLab/Mont-Mégantic National Park


Colour video of Peter Gordon Martin in front of images of space

Peter Gordon Martin explains what aberration is.

Aberration is the phenomenon where, quite simply put, light that one had hoped would come to a very fine focus in a telescope image plane is spread out instead. Even if you build a perfect spherical mirror and take a wide field image, you will find that as you look away from the center of the image, the points of lights that you had hoped to create are no longer round. There are ways around this, of course. The easiest way to correct spherical aberration is to make the mirror a slightly different shape: the shape of a parabola. There are other sources of aberration, but generally speaking, they all represent faults in the image that clever opticians are hoping to correct.

ASTROLab of Mont-Mégantic National Park

© ASTROLab/Mont-Mégantic National Park


Colour video of Jaymie Mark Matthews in front of a telescope

Jaymie Mark Matthews explains what a reflector is.

A reflector is a type of telescope that manipulates the light not with lenses like you’re used to seeing in your cameras, but with mirrors – curved mirrors usually in a parabolic shape – that will bring the light to a focus. There is one large mirror that traps the light – doing what a lens in a refracting telescope will do at the other end of the tube – and brings it to a focus. Then other mirrors direct the light off to an eyepiece (if you want to look to through the telescope), or to a photometer, or a spectrograph, or a charged couple device electronic camera, depending on what you want to do with the light you trapped with your reflecting telescope.

ASTROLab of Mont-Mégantic National Park

© 2006 An original idea and a realization of the ASTROLab of Mont-Mégantic National Park


Learning Objectives

The learner will:
  • identify recent contributions, including Canada’s, to the development of space exploration technologies;
  • describe in detail the function of Canadian technologies involved in exploration of space;
  • draw a solar system with all its components;
  • establish the link between atoms and light using different instruments.

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Les Assyriens (un peuple qui vivait dans une région qui correspond aujourd’hui à l’Iraq) sont peut-être les premiers à avoir utilisé des lentilles pour grossir des objets (vers l’an 1500 avant Jésus-Christ). En 1850, l’archéologue anglais John Layard a en effet découvert un cristal de roche taillé et poli en forme de lentille lors de fouilles dans la ville antique de Nimrud. Cependant, on ne peut être sûr à 100 % que le cristal ait bel et bien servi de lentille et non de bijou, par exemple.

Plus près de nous, au premier siècle de notre ère, les auteurs romains Pline et Sénèque rapportent qu’un graveur de Pompéi utilisait une lentille pour s’aider dans son travail. Vers l’an 600, les Arabes auraient également fait usage de lentilles, de même que les Vikings vers l’an 900.

L’assemblage de lentilles en une lunette d’approche s’est fait de façon certaine entre 1540 et 1553. C’est en effet à cette période que le mathématicien anglais Léonard Digges construit une lunette grossissante pour s’aider dans ses levés topographiques.

Pourtant, l’instrument ne deviendra véritable Pour en lire plus
Les Assyriens (un peuple qui vivait dans une région qui correspond aujourd’hui à l’Iraq) sont peut-être les premiers à avoir utilisé des lentilles pour grossir des objets (vers l’an 1500 avant Jésus-Christ). En 1850, l’archéologue anglais John Layard a en effet découvert un cristal de roche taillé et poli en forme de lentille lors de fouilles dans la ville antique de Nimrud. Cependant, on ne peut être sûr à 100 % que le cristal ait bel et bien servi de lentille et non de bijou, par exemple.

Plus près de nous, au premier siècle de notre ère, les auteurs romains Pline et Sénèque rapportent qu’un graveur de Pompéi utilisait une lentille pour s’aider dans son travail. Vers l’an 600, les Arabes auraient également fait usage de lentilles, de même que les Vikings vers l’an 900.

L’assemblage de lentilles en une lunette d’approche s’est fait de façon certaine entre 1540 et 1553. C’est en effet à cette période que le mathématicien anglais Léonard Digges construit une lunette grossissante pour s’aider dans ses levés topographiques.

Pourtant, l’instrument ne deviendra véritablement connu du public qu’en 1608, au moment où l’opticien hollandais d’origine allemande Hans Lippershey (ou Lipperhey) commence à fabriquer et à vendre des lunettes d’approche. Lippershey demanda un brevet pour « son » invention, mais il lui fut refusé sous prétexte que sa trouvaille était déjà connue.

Le mérite d’avoir tourné pour la première fois une lunette vers les astres du ciel revient à Léonard Digges ou à son fils, l’astronome anglais Thomas Digges, entre 1540 et 1553. On sait également de façon sûre que le mathématicien anglais Thomas Harriot est le premier à avoir observé en détail la Lune avec une lunette astronomique en 1609, plusieurs mois avant que le physicien italien Galileo Galilei (dit Galilée) ne l’ait fait. Toutefois, Galilée est le premier à avoir publié les résultats de ses observations dans son livre intitulé (en français) Le Messager des étoiles. Il révolutionna par la même occasion notre conception de l’Univers.

Les premières lunettes astronomiques se composent de deux lentilles disposées de part et d’autre d’un tube fermé. La plus grande est appelée l’objectif ou lentille primaire, tandis que la seconde est désignée sous le nom d’oculaire. Le rôle des lentilles est de concentrer les rayons lumineux en un point précis, le foyer, de façon à obtenir une image nette, puis à grossir cette image.

On parvient à concentrer la lumière en un point grâce au verre dont sont faites les lentilles. Le verre est en effet un milieu plus dense que l’air. Lorsque des rayons lumineux le traversent, ils sont automatiquement déviés dans différentes directions. On donne à ce phénomène de déviation le nom de « réfraction ». Pour concentrer la lumière, il suffit de tailler les lentilles de façon à ce que la réfraction ait pour résultat d’orienter le trajet de tous les rayons lumineux en un seul point.

Malheureusement, on sait aujourd’hui qu’il est impossible de focaliser la lumière provenant d’un objet en un point unique avec une lentille simple. Ce problème porte le nom d’aberration.

Il existe plusieurs types d’aberrations. Les principaux sont l’aberration chromatique et l’aberration sphérique. Chacun a pour résultat de déformer l’image qu’une lunette transmet.

De nos jours, les lunettes astronomiques sont faites de plusieurs lentilles qui sont conçues et agencées de manière à minimiser les problèmes d’aberration.

© 2006 Une idée originale et une réalisation de L'ASTROLab du Parc national du Mont-Mégantic

Peinture noir et blanc du Hans Lippershey

Hans Lippershey.

ASTROLab du Parc national du Mont-Mégantic

© Domaine public


Peinture couleur du Galileo Galilei

Galileo Galilei.

ASTROLab du Parc national du Mont-Mégantic

© Domaine public


Schéma qui démontre comment une lunette astronomique fonction avec ses parties marqué

Lunette astronomique.

Illustration

© 2006 Une idée originale et une réalisation de L'ASTROLab du Parc national du Mont-Mégantic


Schéma de l’aberration chromatique avec ses parties marqué

L’aberration chromatique se produit parce que les rayons lumineux de différentes couleurs ne sont pas tous déviés de la même façon lorsqu’ils traversent une lentille; par conséquent, il leur est impossible de se concentrer en un seul et même point. Le résultat est une image bordée de franges de couleurs différentes.

ASTROLab du Parc national du Mont-Mégantic

© ASTROLab du Parc national du Mont-Mégantic


Schéma de l’aberration sphérique avec ses parties marqué

L’aberration sphérique est due à la forme même de la lentille. Une lentille n’est en effet rien de moins qu’un morceau de verre dont les surfaces sont des portions de sphère. Or, la surface sphérique n’est pas la meilleure forme pour concentrer des rayons lumineux en un seul point. Elle est cependant souvent utilisée parce que c’est de loin la forme la plus facile à produire lorsque l’on creuse et polit un morceau de verre. L’aberration sphérique a pour résultat de créer des images floues.

ASTROLab du Parc national du Mont-Mégantic

© ASTROLab du Parc national du Mont-Mégantic


Vidéo couleur du Peter Gordon Martin en face des images de l’espace

Peter Gordon Martin explique ce qu’est l’aberration.

De façon simple, l’aberration est un phénomène où la lumière, que l’on souhaitait concentrer en un point précis, est dispersée. Même si vous construisez un miroir parfaitement sphérique et que vous désirez voir une image à grand champ, vous constaterez que plus vous vous éloignez du centre de l’image, plus les points de lumière de l’image que vous désirez créer ne sont plus ronds. Évidemment, il y a des moyens de contourner ce problème : la façon la plus simple est de fabriquer un miroir avec une forme légèrement différente, une forme parabolique. Il y a d’autres sources d’aberration, mais en général, celles-ci sont des défauts dans l’image que d’ingénieux opticiens arrivent à corriger.

ASTROLab du Parc national du Mont-Mégantic

© ASTROLab du Parc national du Mont-Mégantic


Vidéo couleur du Jaymie Mark Matthews en face d'un télescope

Jaymie Mark Matthews explique ce qu’est un réflecteur.

Un réflecteur est un type de télescope qui manipule la lumière sans lentille (tel que l’on a l’habitude de voir dans nos appareils photographiques) mais avec des miroirs; des miroirs courbes de forme habituellement parabolique, qui concentrent la lumière en un point précis, le foyer. Vous avez donc un grand miroir collectant la lumière, comme le font les lentilles d’une lunette astronomique, et qui concentre les rayons lumineux au foyer. Ensuite, d’autres miroirs dirigent la lumière dans un objectif (si vous désirez regarder directement dans le télescope) ou à un photomètre, à un spectrographe ou une caméra CCD, dépendamment de ce que vous voulez faire avec la lumière que vous avez collectée avec votre télescope.

ASTROLab du Parc national du Mont-Mégantic

© 2006 Une idée originale et une réalisation de L'ASTROLab du Parc national du Mont-Mégantic


Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant va :
  • nommer des contributions récentes, y compris celles du Canada, au développement des technologies pour l’exploration spatiale;
  • décrire en détail le rôle que jouent des technologies canadiennes dans l’exploration de l’espace;
  • dessiner un système solaire avec toutes ses composantes;
  • établir le lien entre les atomes et la lumière à l’aide de différents instruments.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons