In 1861, the Scottish physicist James Clerk Maxwell created the first colour photograph. He made the photo by first placing a black and white photographic plate behind a plate of red glass. He then repeated the procedure with a green plate, and then blue. He projected the three “negatives” on a screen using glass plates in the corresponding colours and thus obtained a colour image.

Today, we call Maxwell’s red, green and blue glass plates “filters”. A filter allows some colours to be blocked, which emphasizes the remaining colours that pass through. By carefully choosing filters, it is possible to reveal details that would otherwise be difficult to see.

In 1878, Frederick Charles Luther Wratten of England founded one of the first companies to supply photographic material. In 1909, he developed a system of number-coded colour filters that quickly became the standard in the photography industry. The Eastman-Kodak Company bought Wratten’s company in 1912 and continued to use his filter system.

Colour filters used by James Clerk Maxwell in 1861.After acquiring Wratten’s company, Eastman-Kodak began to manufactu Read More
In 1861, the Scottish physicist James Clerk Maxwell created the first colour photograph. He made the photo by first placing a black and white photographic plate behind a plate of red glass. He then repeated the procedure with a green plate, and then blue. He projected the three “negatives” on a screen using glass plates in the corresponding colours and thus obtained a colour image.

Today, we call Maxwell’s red, green and blue glass plates “filters”. A filter allows some colours to be blocked, which emphasizes the remaining colours that pass through. By carefully choosing filters, it is possible to reveal details that would otherwise be difficult to see.

In 1878, Frederick Charles Luther Wratten of England founded one of the first companies to supply photographic material. In 1909, he developed a system of number-coded colour filters that quickly became the standard in the photography industry. The Eastman-Kodak Company bought Wratten’s company in 1912 and continued to use his filter system.

Colour filters used by James Clerk Maxwell in 1861.After acquiring Wratten’s company, Eastman-Kodak began to manufacture filters specifically designed for astronomy work. The company continues to make them today and, surprisingly, still uses Wratten’s original numbering system. The market is shared by other companies – like Lumicon, Meade and Orion – who also design filters for professional and amateur astronomers.

Some filters are designed to block out the artificial light of fluorescent and incandescent lighting; this serves to increase the contrast of many celestial objects. Other filters are adapted to only transmit the light produced by specific chemical elements that are abundant in stars and nebulas, such as hydrogen and oxygen. The resulting photographs are superb, showing rich colour details.

© 2006 An original idea and a realization of the ASTROLab of Mont-Mégantic National Park

Black and white photo of James Clerk Maxwell

James Clerk Maxwell.

ASTROLab of Mont-Mégantic National Park

© Public Domain


Colour photo of colour filters

Colour filters used by James Clerk Maxwell in 1861.

Peter Stubbs

© 2006 An original idea and a realization of the ASTROLab of Mont-Mégantic National Park


Colour photo of ultraviolet Filters

Ultraviolet filters used by NASA.

NASA/JPL/Caltech

© NASA/JPL/Caltech


Colour video of Marie-Maude de Denus-Baillargeon in front of images of space

Marie-Maude de Denus-Baillargeon explains what an optic filter is.

An optical filter is something that allows only some part of the light to pass through, thus giving us only the information we need. Everyday examples of optical filters would be anti-glare glasses, or even sunglasses. These represent optical filters because they affect the way the light arrives at the detector, which in this case is your eye.

ASTROLab of Mont-Mégantic National Park

© 2006 An original idea and a realization of the ASTROLab of Mont-Mégantic National Park


Learning Objectives

The learner will:
  • identify recent contributions, including Canada’s, to the development of space exploration technologies;
  • describe in detail the function of Canadian technologies involved in exploration of space;
  • draw a solar system with all its components;
  • establish the link between atoms and light using different instruments.

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

En 1861, le physicien écossais James Clerk Maxwell réalise la première photographie en couleurs. Il prend sa photo en plaçant une plaque photographique noir et blanc derrière une plaque de verre de couleur rouge. Il répète ensuite la procédure avec une autre plaque de verre verte, puis une bleue. En projetant alors sur un écran les trois « négatifs » à travers les plaques de verre de couleurs correspondantes, Maxwell obtient une image en couleurs.

Aujourd’hui, on appellerait les plaques de verre de couleur rouge, verte et bleue utilisées par Maxwell des « filtres ». Un filtre permet de bloquer certaines couleurs; les couleurs qui parviennent à le traverser se trouvent donc mises en valeur. On peut ainsi, à l’aide d’un choix judicieux, sélectionner un filtre qui révèle certains détails qui pourraient autrement être difficiles à voir.

En 1878, le Britannique Frederick Charles Luther Wratten fonde une des premières compagnies à fournir du matériel photographique. En 1909, il développe un système de filtres de couleur codifié par des nombres qui devient vite un standard dans le milieu de la photographie. La compagnie East Pour en lire plus
En 1861, le physicien écossais James Clerk Maxwell réalise la première photographie en couleurs. Il prend sa photo en plaçant une plaque photographique noir et blanc derrière une plaque de verre de couleur rouge. Il répète ensuite la procédure avec une autre plaque de verre verte, puis une bleue. En projetant alors sur un écran les trois « négatifs » à travers les plaques de verre de couleurs correspondantes, Maxwell obtient une image en couleurs.

Aujourd’hui, on appellerait les plaques de verre de couleur rouge, verte et bleue utilisées par Maxwell des « filtres ». Un filtre permet de bloquer certaines couleurs; les couleurs qui parviennent à le traverser se trouvent donc mises en valeur. On peut ainsi, à l’aide d’un choix judicieux, sélectionner un filtre qui révèle certains détails qui pourraient autrement être difficiles à voir.

En 1878, le Britannique Frederick Charles Luther Wratten fonde une des premières compagnies à fournir du matériel photographique. En 1909, il développe un système de filtres de couleur codifié par des nombres qui devient vite un standard dans le milieu de la photographie. La compagnie Eastman-Kodak achète sa compagnie en 1912 et continue à utiliser son système de filtres.

Peu après l’acquisition de la compagnie de Wratten, Eastman-Kodak commence à créer des filtres spécifiquement pour l’astronomie. Elle le fait toujours aujourd’hui et, fait étonnant, elle utilise toujours le système de numérotation de Wratten. De nos jours, d’autres compagnies, comme Lumicon, Meade et Orion, conçoivent également des filtres pour les astronomes, autant professionnels qu’amateurs.

Certains filtres sont conçus pour bloquer la lumière artificielle produite par les éclairages fluorescents et incandescents, ce qui permet d’augmenter le contraste de plusieurs objets célestes. D’autres sont adaptés pour transmettre la lumière produite par les éléments chimiques abondants dans les étoiles et les nébuleuses, tels que l’hydrogène et l’oxygène; on peut ainsi réaliser de superbes photographies couleur riches en détails.

© 2006 Une idée originale et une réalisation de L'ASTROLab du Parc national du Mont-Mégantic

Photo noir et blanc du James Clerk Maxwell

James Clerk Maxwell.

ASTROLab du Parc national du Mont-Mégantic

© Domaine public


Photo couleur du filtres de couleur

Filtres de couleur utilisés par James Clerk Maxwell en 1861.

Peter Stubbs

© 2006 Une idée originale et une réalisation de L'ASTROLab du Parc national du Mont-Mégantic


Photo couleurs du filtres à ultraviolet

Filtres à ultraviolet utilisés par la NASA.

NASA/JPL/Caltech

© NASA/JPL/Caltech


Vidéo couleur du Marie-Maude de Denus-Baillargeon en face des images de l’espace

Marie-Maude de Denus-Baillargeon explique ce qu'est un filtre optique.

Un filtre optique, c’est quelque chose qui permet de ne laisser passer qu’une seule partie de la lumière, qui va nous donner seulement quelques informations dont on a besoin. Un exemple très facile de filtre optique ce serait, par exemple, les anti-reflets que l’on a sur les lunettes ou même des lunettes fumées : ça correspond à un filtre optique parce que ça affecte la façon dont la lumière parvient à un détecteur, qui est, dans ce cas-là, vos yeux.

ASTROLab du Parc national du Mont-Mégantic

© 2006 Une idée originale et une réalisation de L'ASTROLab du Parc national du Mont-Mégantic


Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant va :
  • nommer des contributions récentes, y compris celles du Canada, au développement des technologies pour l’exploration spatiale;
  • décrire en détail le rôle que jouent des technologies canadiennes dans l’exploration de l’espace;
  • dessiner un système solaire avec toutes ses composantes;
  • établir le lien entre les atomes et la lumière à l’aide de différents instruments.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons