A digital camera records images using a photosensitive cell called a charge-couple device (CCD). A CCD is a thin layer of silicon divided into a multitude of small squares known as “picture elements”, usually referred to in the shortened form of “pixels”. Each pixel is separated from the next by thin insulators.

To take a photo, the CCD is exposed to light: the same principle as taking a photo using a photographic film or plate. When light strikes a pixel, however, the silicon produces an electric charge, and the greater the amount of light, the greater the charge. When the exposure is finished, the camera’s microprocessor reads the charge on the pixels, row by row, and transforms the information into a digital image.

Astronomers are interested in CCD cameras for their excellent sensitivity. For example, a CCD will detect up to 80 photons (light particles) out of every 100, whereas a photographic plate or the human eye will detect only one. Exposing a CCD for two minutes can therefore reveal more details than is possible during a one-hour exposure using a conventional photographic plate.

Other than photography, CCDs ar Read More
A digital camera records images using a photosensitive cell called a charge-couple device (CCD). A CCD is a thin layer of silicon divided into a multitude of small squares known as “picture elements”, usually referred to in the shortened form of “pixels”. Each pixel is separated from the next by thin insulators.

To take a photo, the CCD is exposed to light: the same principle as taking a photo using a photographic film or plate. When light strikes a pixel, however, the silicon produces an electric charge, and the greater the amount of light, the greater the charge. When the exposure is finished, the camera’s microprocessor reads the charge on the pixels, row by row, and transforms the information into a digital image.

Astronomers are interested in CCD cameras for their excellent sensitivity. For example, a CCD will detect up to 80 photons (light particles) out of every 100, whereas a photographic plate or the human eye will detect only one. Exposing a CCD for two minutes can therefore reveal more details than is possible during a one-hour exposure using a conventional photographic plate.

Other than photography, CCDs are used in photocopiers, facsimile (fax) machines, scanners and barcode readers.

In 1969, two researchers at Bell Laboratories – the Americans Willard Boyle and George Smith – designed the basic structure of a CCD and defined its operating principles. Several months later, they developed the first video camera to function with a CCD.

In 1973, the American company Fairchild Imaging developed their first commercial CCD. Consisting of 100 x 100 pixels, it was used in 1974 to produce the first astronomical photo ever taken by a digital camera. It consisted of an image of the Moon captured using a 20-centimetre telescope.

In 1976, Fairchild Imaging sold the first commercial CCD camera: the Fairchild MV-101.

In 1979, CCD cameras made their way into professional astronomy. The Kitt Peak National Observatory (USA) mounted a 320 x 512 pixel digital camera on their 1-metre telescope and quickly demonstrated the superiority of CCDs over photographic plates.

In 1983, the use of CCD cameras became much more widespread among professional observatories. For the first time ever, it was possible to study celestial objects thousands of time paler than anything recorded on even the most sensitive photographic plates, putting a whole new face on the Universe.

Today, digital cameras are an integral part of the standard equipment in a professional observatory. The largest, MegaCam (mounted on the 3.6-m Canada-France-Hawaii Telescope in 2006) uses a mosaic of 40 CCDs for a total of 340 million pixels.

© 2006 An original idea and a realization of the ASTROLab of Mont-Mégantic National Park

Colour photo of someone holding a charge-coupled device in their hand

Charge-coupled device or CCD.

NASA

© NASA


Black and white photo of Willard Boyle and George Smith experimenting with a TV and camera

Willard Boyle and George Smith.

Lucent Technologies Inc.

© Lucent Technologies Inc.


Colour image of the moon

The first astronomical image taken by a CCD camera.

ASTROLab of Mont-Mégantic National Park

© Public Domain


Colour photo of a CCD Camera on a table

A CCD camera used at the Mont-Mégantic Observatory.

Mont-Mégantic Observatory

© Mont-Mégantic Observatory


Learning Objectives

The learner will:
  • identify recent contributions, including Canada’s, to the development of space exploration technologies;
  • describe in detail the function of Canadian technologies involved in exploration of space;
  • draw a solar system with all its components;
  • establish the link between atoms and light using different instruments.

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Les caméras numériques enregistrent des images à l’aide de cellules photosensibles appelées « dispositif à transfert de charge » ou CCD (pour Charge Couple Device, en anglais). Un CCD n’est rien d’autre qu’une mince couche de silicium divisée en une multitude de petits carrés appelés « éléments d’image » ou pixels (pour picture element, en anglais). Sur un CCD, chaque pixel est séparé par de fins isolants.

Pour prendre une image, il suffit d’exposer le CCD à la lumière, comme on le ferait avec une pellicule ou une plaque photographique. Lorsque de la lumière frappe un pixel, le silicium produit une charge électrique : plus il y a de lumière, plus la charge est grande. À la fin de la pose, le microprocesseur de la caméra lit la charge de chacun des pixels, ligne par ligne, et transforme le tout en image numérique.

L’intérêt des CCD pour les astronomes tient à leur grande sensibilité : sur 100 photons (ou particules de lumière) par exemple, un CCD parvient à en détecter jusqu’à 80 alors qu’une plaque pho Pour en lire plus
Les caméras numériques enregistrent des images à l’aide de cellules photosensibles appelées « dispositif à transfert de charge » ou CCD (pour Charge Couple Device, en anglais). Un CCD n’est rien d’autre qu’une mince couche de silicium divisée en une multitude de petits carrés appelés « éléments d’image » ou pixels (pour picture element, en anglais). Sur un CCD, chaque pixel est séparé par de fins isolants.

Pour prendre une image, il suffit d’exposer le CCD à la lumière, comme on le ferait avec une pellicule ou une plaque photographique. Lorsque de la lumière frappe un pixel, le silicium produit une charge électrique : plus il y a de lumière, plus la charge est grande. À la fin de la pose, le microprocesseur de la caméra lit la charge de chacun des pixels, ligne par ligne, et transforme le tout en image numérique.

L’intérêt des CCD pour les astronomes tient à leur grande sensibilité : sur 100 photons (ou particules de lumière) par exemple, un CCD parvient à en détecter jusqu’à 80 alors qu’une plaque photographique ou un œil humain n’en décèle qu’un seul. Ainsi, exposer un CCD pendant deux minutes permet de révéler des détails qui n’apparaîtraient qu’au bout d’une heure d’exposition avec une plaque photographique.

Outre pour la photographie, les CCD sont entre autres utilisés dans les photocopieurs, les machines à fac-similés (ou fax), les digitaliseurs et les lecteurs de codes barres.

C’est en 1969 que deux chercheurs des Laboratoires Bell, les Américains Willard Boyle et George Smith, dessinent la structure de base d’un CCD et définissent ses principes d’opération. Quelques mois plus tard, ils mettent au point la première caméra vidéo au monde fonctionnant avec un CCD.

En 1973, la compagnie américaine Fairchild Imaging met au point le premier CCD commercial. Composé d’une matrice de 100 x 100 pixels, il est utilisé en 1974 pour produire la première image astronomique prise par une caméra numérique. Il s’agit d’une image de la Lune captée par un télescope de 20 centimètres.

En 1976, Fairchild Imaging met en vente la première caméra CCD commerciale : c’est la Fairchild MV-101.

En 1979, les caméras CCD font leur entrée en astronomie professionnelle. L’Observatoire national de Kitt Peak, aux États-Unis, emploie alors une caméra numérique de 320 x 512 pixels sur son télescope de un mètre. La supériorité des CCD sur les plaques photographiques est alors vite démontrée.

En 1983, l’usage des caméras CCD se répand largement dans les observatoires astronomiques professionnels. Des objets célestes des milliers de fois plus pâles que ceux apparaissant sur les plaques photographiques les plus sensibles sont alors étudiés pour la première fois : l’Univers révèle alors un nouveau visage.

Aujourd’hui, les caméras numériques font partie intégrante de l’équipement standard de tout observatoire professionnel. La plus grande, MegaCam (en 2006, au télescope de 3,6 m Canada-France-Hawaï), utilise une mosaïque de 40 CCD, pour un total de 340 millions de pixels.

© 2006 Une idée originale et une réalisation de L'ASTROLab du Parc national du Mont-Mégantic

Photo couleur du quelqu’un avec un dispositif à transfert de charge ou CCD dans leur main

Dispositif à transfert de charge ou CCD.

NASA

© NASA


Photo noir et blanc du Willard Boyle et George Smith en experiment avec un téléviseur et caméra

Willard Boyle et George Smith.

Lucent Technologies Inc.

© Lucent Technologies Inc.


Image couleur de la lune

La première image astronomique prise par une caméra CCD.

ASTROLab du Parc national du Mont-Mégantic

© Domaine public


Photo couleur du Caméra CCD sur une table

Caméra CCD utilisée à l'Observatoire du Mont-Mégantic.

Observatoire du Mont-Mégantic

© Observatoire du Mont-Mégantic


Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant va :
  • nommer des contributions récentes, y compris celles du Canada, au développement des technologies pour l’exploration spatiale;
  • décrire en détail le rôle que jouent des technologies canadiennes dans l’exploration de l’espace;
  • dessiner un système solaire avec toutes ses composantes;
  • établir le lien entre les atomes et la lumière à l’aide de différents instruments.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons