In 1669, the Danish physicist Rasmus Bartholin was the first to publish an article on the splitting of light rays by Icelandic spar, a very pure form of the mineral calcite (calcium carbonate). Without knowing it, he had discovered polarization – a very important property of light. Unfortunately, without the benefit of a theory that could adequately explain the nature and behaviour of light, Bartholin was unable to deduce the origins of the phenomenon.

Christiaan HuygensIn 1678, the Danish physicist and astronomer Christiaan Huygens also observed the splitting of light by Icelandic spar calcite. He presented an explanation in 1690 that was based on the presence of “ether” – a hypothetical substance that filled space – but it was quickly disputed.

It would be 11 more years until Thomas Young, a British physicist, would put forth a coherent light theory in which he suggested that light consists of waves that travel at great speed.

Using this theory, physicists quickly understood that when a natural light source emits light, it generates a myriad of waves that oscillate in planes oriented in many different directions (see Read More
In 1669, the Danish physicist Rasmus Bartholin was the first to publish an article on the splitting of light rays by Icelandic spar, a very pure form of the mineral calcite (calcium carbonate). Without knowing it, he had discovered polarization – a very important property of light. Unfortunately, without the benefit of a theory that could adequately explain the nature and behaviour of light, Bartholin was unable to deduce the origins of the phenomenon.

Christiaan HuygensIn 1678, the Danish physicist and astronomer Christiaan Huygens also observed the splitting of light by Icelandic spar calcite. He presented an explanation in 1690 that was based on the presence of “ether” – a hypothetical substance that filled space – but it was quickly disputed.

It would be 11 more years until Thomas Young, a British physicist, would put forth a coherent light theory in which he suggested that light consists of waves that travel at great speed.

Using this theory, physicists quickly understood that when a natural light source emits light, it generates a myriad of waves that oscillate in planes oriented in many different directions (see illustration). Consequently, if we project light onto a screen pierced with numerous parallel slits, only the light waves with the same orientation as the slits will be able to pass through. The light emerging on the other side will consist of waves that are all oriented the same way. This is known as polarized light.

In 1809, the French mathematician Étienne-Louis Malus took his turn at deducing the riddle of Icelandic spar and came to realize that only two pathways exist in its mineral structure along which light may pass. Each pathway allows only waves with a specific polarization to pass through, resulting in the splitting of light and a doubling of images viewed through the mineral crystal.

Only two years later, in 1811, the French astronomer Dominique François Jean Arago invented the polariscope, an instrument that can determine whether or not light is polarized. Among other things, he discovered that lunar light is polarized. In 1841, he invented the polarimeter – a polariscope in front of which a glass slide or pile of glass slides can be inclined to determine the proportion of polarized light. It is this instrument that is mainly used by astronomers today.

© 2006 An original idea and a realization of the ASTROLab of Mont-Mégantic National Park

Colour photo of Iceland spar

Iceland spar

University of Naples

© University of Naples


Colour painting of Christiaan Huygens

Christiaan Huygens.

Unknown

© Public Domain


Diagram of Polarization with labels explaining the steps

Polarization.

ASTROLab of Mont-Mégantic National Park

© ASTROLab/Mont-Mégantic National Park


Black and white drawing of Étienne-Louis Malus

Étienne-Louis Malus.

Unknown

© Public Domain


Colour photo of a Polarimeter

Polarimeter built by Dominique François Jean Arago.

Doutor Paulo Jorge Lopes de Moura/Museum of Physics of the University of Coimbra, Portugal

© Museum of Physics of the University of Coimbra


The study of planet surfaces using polarimetry was significantly advanced by the French astronomer Bernard Ferdinand Lyot. Working since 1920 at the Meudon Observatory near Paris, he submitted a doctoral thesis in 1929 on the polarization of light reflected from the surface of several planets. Among his hypotheses was the suggestion that Mars experienced gigantic sandstorms – a prediction that would be confirmed by the Viking 1 probe in 1976.

Lyot died in 1952, but the astronomer Audouin-Charles Dollfus continued his worked at Meudon. Dollfuss was the first to determine that the surface of Mars consists of iron oxides. Today, Lyot and Dollfus are considered as the pioneers of planetary polarimetry.

Research into stellar polarimetry can trace its roots back to 1908 when George Ellery Hale discovered that the first light emitted by a sunspot is polarized in a linear and circular manner. In 1922, he revealed the polarized nature of the solar spectrum emitted by the Sun’s surface away from sunspots. In 1946, the American astronomer Horace W. Babcock used polarimetry to identify, for the first time, a star other than the Sun that produces a magnetic fi Read More
The study of planet surfaces using polarimetry was significantly advanced by the French astronomer Bernard Ferdinand Lyot. Working since 1920 at the Meudon Observatory near Paris, he submitted a doctoral thesis in 1929 on the polarization of light reflected from the surface of several planets. Among his hypotheses was the suggestion that Mars experienced gigantic sandstorms – a prediction that would be confirmed by the Viking 1 probe in 1976.

Lyot died in 1952, but the astronomer Audouin-Charles Dollfus continued his worked at Meudon. Dollfuss was the first to determine that the surface of Mars consists of iron oxides. Today, Lyot and Dollfus are considered as the pioneers of planetary polarimetry.

Research into stellar polarimetry can trace its roots back to 1908 when George Ellery Hale discovered that the first light emitted by a sunspot is polarized in a linear and circular manner. In 1922, he revealed the polarized nature of the solar spectrum emitted by the Sun’s surface away from sunspots. In 1946, the American astronomer Horace W. Babcock used polarimetry to identify, for the first time, a star other than the Sun that produces a magnetic field (the star was 78 Virginis).

In 1949, the American astronomers John Scoville Hall and William Albert Hiltner independently discovered that 1--3% of the light emitted by many stars is polarized. In addition, a map of polarized light across the sky revealed large-scale structures of our galaxy. At the time, the phenomenon and pattern of widespread polarization could not be explained.

The answer was not long in coming, however. In 1950, the American astronomers Jesse Leonard Greenstein and Leverett Davis Jr. proposed that polarization of interstellar light is due to the presence of dust particles that are naturally aligned with the magnetic field of the galaxy. The two researchers even developed models that used polarimetric data to detect interstellar magnetic fields produced by individual stars.

Today, polarimeters are used to detect magnetic fields and to study the atmosphere of the Sun and other stars, the surface and atmosphere of planets, the interstellar medium, and nebulas.

© 2006 An original idea and a realization of the ASTROLab of Mont-Mégantic National Park

Black and white photo of George Ellery Hale

George Ellery Hale.

Mt. Wilson Observatory/UCLA

© Mt. Wilson Observatory/UCLA


Black and white photo of John Scoville Hall

John Scoville Hall.

Lowell Observatory Archives

© Lowell Observatory Archives


Learning Objectives

The learner will:
  • identify recent contributions, including Canada’s, to the development of space exploration technologies;
  • describe in detail the function of Canadian technologies involved in exploration of space;
  • draw a solar system with all its components;
  • establish the link between atoms and light using different instruments.

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

En 1669, le physicien danois Rasmus Bartholin est le premier à publier un article sur le dédoublement des rayons lumineux par les cristaux de calcite d’Islande (un type de carbonate de calcium très pur). Sans le savoir, il vient de mettre en évidence une propriété importante de la lumière : la polarisation. Malheureusement, n’ayant pas à sa disposition une théorie adéquate sur la lumière, il ne sera pas en mesure d’expliquer le phénomène.

En 1678, le physicien et astronome danois Christiaan Huygens observe à son tour le dédoublement de la lumière par la calcite d’Islande. Il propose une explication au phénomène en 1690 (en faisant appel à « l’éther », cette substance hypothétique sensée remplir l’espace), mais celle-ci est vite contestée.

Il faudra attendre encore 111 ans pour qu’une théorie cohérente de la lumière soit mise au point. Conçue en 1801 par le physicien britannique Thomas Young, celle-ci suggère que la lumière est faite d’ondes se propageant à grande vitesse.

Les physiciens comprennent alors rapidement que lorsqu’une source de lumière naturelle émet un faisceau lumineux, Pour en lire plus
En 1669, le physicien danois Rasmus Bartholin est le premier à publier un article sur le dédoublement des rayons lumineux par les cristaux de calcite d’Islande (un type de carbonate de calcium très pur). Sans le savoir, il vient de mettre en évidence une propriété importante de la lumière : la polarisation. Malheureusement, n’ayant pas à sa disposition une théorie adéquate sur la lumière, il ne sera pas en mesure d’expliquer le phénomène.

En 1678, le physicien et astronome danois Christiaan Huygens observe à son tour le dédoublement de la lumière par la calcite d’Islande. Il propose une explication au phénomène en 1690 (en faisant appel à « l’éther », cette substance hypothétique sensée remplir l’espace), mais celle-ci est vite contestée.

Il faudra attendre encore 111 ans pour qu’une théorie cohérente de la lumière soit mise au point. Conçue en 1801 par le physicien britannique Thomas Young, celle-ci suggère que la lumière est faite d’ondes se propageant à grande vitesse.

Les physiciens comprennent alors rapidement que lorsqu’une source de lumière naturelle émet un faisceau lumineux, elle émet en fait une myriade d’ondes qui oscillent dans des plans orientés de différentes façons (voir illustration). Par conséquent, si on projette de la lumière sur un écran percé de plusieurs fentes parallèles, seules les ondes ayant la même orientation que les fentes pourront les traverser. En bout de ligne, on obtient donc une lumière dont les ondes sont toutes orientées de la même façon, c’est-à-dire une lumière polarisée.

En 1809, le mathématicien français Étienne-Louis Malus se penche à son tour sur le problème de la calcite d’Islande et comprend qu’il existe seulement deux chemins dans sa structure pouvant laisser passer la lumière : le premier permet aux ondes ayant une certaine polarisation de passer, tandis que le second permet à la lumière ayant une autre polarisation de passer; le résultat est donc un dédoublement de la lumière.

À peine deux ans plus tard, en 1811, l’astronome français Dominique François Jean Arago invente le polariscope, un instrument qui permet de savoir si une lumière est polarisée ou non. Il découvre alors que la lumière lunaire est polarisée. En 1841, il invente le polarimètre, un polariscope devant lequel on a placé une lamelle de verre ou une pile de lamelles de verre inclinables devant l’instrument de façon à mesurer la proportion de lumière qui est polarisée; c’est cet instrument qui est principalement utilisé par les astronomes aujourd’hui.

© 2006 Une idée originale et une réalisation de L'ASTROLab du Parc national du Mont-Mégantic

Photo couleur du Calcite d'Islande

Calcite d'Islande.

Université de Naples

© Université de Naples


Peinture couleur du Christiaan Huygens

Christiaan Huygens.

Inconnu

© Domaine public


Schéma du Polarisation avec les étapes marqué

Polarisation.

ASTROLab du Parc national du Mont-Mégantic

© ASTROLab du Parc national du Mont-Mégantic


Dessin noir et blanc du Étienne-Louis Malus

Étienne-Louis Malus.

Inconnu

© Domaine public


Photo couleur d'un polarimeter

Polarimètre construit par Dominique François Jean Arago.

Doutor Paulo Jorge Lopes de Moura/Musée de physique de l'Université de Coimbra, Portugal

© Musée de physique de l'Université de Coimbra


L’étude de la surface des planètes par polarimétrie fait ses réels débuts avec l’astronome français Bernard Ferdinand Lyot. Travaillant depuis 1920 à l’Observatoire de Meudon, près de Paris, il soumet en 1929 une thèse de doctorat sur la polarisation de la lumière réfléchie par les surfaces de quelques planètes. Il suggère entres autres que la planète Mars est sujette à de gigantesques tempêtes de sable, prévision qui sera confirmée par la sonde Viking 1 en 1976.

Lyot meurt en 1952 mais ses travaux seront poursuivis à Meudon par l’astronome Audouin-Charles Dollfus. Dollfus sera le premier à déterminer que la surface de la planète rouge est composée d’oxyde de fer. Aujourd’hui, Lyot et Dollfus sont tous deux considérés comme les pionniers de la polarimétrie planétaire.

La recherche en polarimétrie stellaire fait quant à elle ses débuts en 1908. George Ellery Hale découvre alors que la lumière émise par les taches solaires est polarisée de façon linéaire et circulaire. En 1922, il met en évidence la polarisation du spectre solaire en dehors des taches solaires. En 1946, l’astronome américain Horace W. Babcock repère, gr Pour en lire plus
L’étude de la surface des planètes par polarimétrie fait ses réels débuts avec l’astronome français Bernard Ferdinand Lyot. Travaillant depuis 1920 à l’Observatoire de Meudon, près de Paris, il soumet en 1929 une thèse de doctorat sur la polarisation de la lumière réfléchie par les surfaces de quelques planètes. Il suggère entres autres que la planète Mars est sujette à de gigantesques tempêtes de sable, prévision qui sera confirmée par la sonde Viking 1 en 1976.

Lyot meurt en 1952 mais ses travaux seront poursuivis à Meudon par l’astronome Audouin-Charles Dollfus. Dollfus sera le premier à déterminer que la surface de la planète rouge est composée d’oxyde de fer. Aujourd’hui, Lyot et Dollfus sont tous deux considérés comme les pionniers de la polarimétrie planétaire.

La recherche en polarimétrie stellaire fait quant à elle ses débuts en 1908. George Ellery Hale découvre alors que la lumière émise par les taches solaires est polarisée de façon linéaire et circulaire. En 1922, il met en évidence la polarisation du spectre solaire en dehors des taches solaires. En 1946, l’astronome américain Horace W. Babcock repère, grâce à la polarimétrie, la première étoile (autre que le Soleil) produisant un champ magnétique; il s’agit de 78 Virginis.

En 1949, les astronomes américains John Scoville Hall et William Albert Hiltner découvrent indépendamment que 1 à 3 % de la lumière émise par plusieurs étoiles est polarisée. Une carte de la distribution de la polarisation à travers le ciel montre même des structures à grande échelle dans notre galaxie. On ignore cependant à cette époque comment expliquer un tel phénomène.

La réponse ne tardera pas. En 1950, les astronomes américains Jesse Leonard Greenstein et Leverett Davis Jr. proposent que la polarisation de la lumière interstellaire est due à des grains de poussière qui se sont naturellement alignés avec le champ magnétique de la galaxie. Les deux chercheurs iront même jusqu’à mettre au point des modèles qui permettent d’utiliser les données polarimétriques pour détecter les champs magnétiques interstellaires.

Aujourd’hui, les polarimètres sont utilisés dans l’étude de l’atmosphère du Soleil et des étoiles, du sol et de l’atmosphère des planètes, du milieu interstellaire et des nébuleuses diffuses, ainsi que dans la détection des champs magnétiques.

© 2006 Une idée originale et une réalisation de L'ASTROLab du Parc national du Mont-Mégantic

Photo noir et blanc du George Ellery Hale

George Ellery Hale.

Observatoire du Mont Wilson/UCLA

© Observatoire du Mont Wilson/UCLA


Photo noir et blanc du John Scoville Hall

John Scoville Hall.

Archives de l'Observatoire Lowell

© Archives de l'Observatoire Lowell


Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant va :
  • nommer des contributions récentes, y compris celles du Canada, au développement des technologies pour l’exploration spatiale;
  • décrire en détail le rôle que jouent des technologies canadiennes dans l’exploration de l’espace;
  • dessiner un système solaire avec toutes ses composantes;
  • établir le lien entre les atomes et la lumière à l’aide de différents instruments.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons