Another partial solution is to make improvements to the observatories themselves. More ventilation traps can be added along the observatory walls so the air around the telescope is the same temperature as the outside air. Laminar air currents can also be blown across the surface of the mirror to minimize turbulence.

The Earth’s atmosphere consists of layers of air at different temperatures that interact and cause large-scale movements of air masses (referred to as turbulence by scientists). For astronomers, turbulence is detrimental to their work as it disrupts the trajectory of light rays. This causes stars in the sky to twinkle and telescope images to be distorted.

The binary star Zeta Boötis as seen with (at left) and without (at right) the help of adaptive optics.A simple means to minimize the effects of this inconvenient phenomenon is to build astronomical observatories at high elevations so that the telescopes only peer through the upper levels of the terrestrial atmosphere. The images obtained in this manner will be up to ten times better than those obtained at sea level.

Another method, albeit much more radical, is to install telesco Read More
Another partial solution is to make improvements to the observatories themselves. More ventilation traps can be added along the observatory walls so the air around the telescope is the same temperature as the outside air. Laminar air currents can also be blown across the surface of the mirror to minimize turbulence.

The Earth’s atmosphere consists of layers of air at different temperatures that interact and cause large-scale movements of air masses (referred to as turbulence by scientists). For astronomers, turbulence is detrimental to their work as it disrupts the trajectory of light rays. This causes stars in the sky to twinkle and telescope images to be distorted.

The binary star Zeta Boötis as seen with (at left) and without (at right) the help of adaptive optics.A simple means to minimize the effects of this inconvenient phenomenon is to build astronomical observatories at high elevations so that the telescopes only peer through the upper levels of the terrestrial atmosphere. The images obtained in this manner will be up to ten times better than those obtained at sea level.

Another method, albeit much more radical, is to install telescopes in space where the atmosphere no longer has any effect on astronomical observations. It is for this reason that today’s astronomers are launching space telescopes – like Hubble, FUSE and MOST – into orbit.

The first research into resolving the problem of image distortion related to atmospheric turbulence was conducted in 1902 by the German physician Karl Strehl, who proposed a method of evaluating the image quality produced by optical systems.

In 1941, the Soviet mathematician Andrei Nikolaevich Kolmogorov made several breakthroughs into the study of turbulence. His work would later be integrated into atmospheric models used to correct distortions affecting astronomical images.

In 1953, the American astronomer Horace Welcome Babcock invented adaptive optics, a process that corrects image distortions caused by the terrestrial atmosphere. The technique consists of taking a sample of the light received by the telescope and calculating its degree of distortion. Deformable mirrors are then used to redirect the light rays and produce a corrected image. The proposal was promising, but Babcock was not able to construct his system for technical reasons.

In 1957, the American physician Robert B. Leighton of the California Institute of Technology succeeded in reducing atmosphere-induced image distortions using the 1.5-metre telescope at the Mount Wilson Observatory in California. His technique consisted of inclining the telescope’s secondary mirror several times per second. In so doing, he managed to obtain the best images ever recorded of Jupiter and Saturn.

In that same year, the Soviet physicist Vladimir Pavlovich Linnik published an article in which he proposed that an artificial “guide star” could be created by pointing a laser at the sky and targeting its focal point in the upper atmosphere to agitate gas molecules.

If an adaptive optics system uses a natural “guide star”, it must be bright enough compared to the celestial object of interest to provide adequate light for the telescope’s detector. The guide star and the study object must also appear sufficiently close in the sky. It is not always easy to find a star that fulfills these criteria, hence the idea of creating an artificial guide star. Linnik’s proposal was revolutionary, but unfortunately remained unknown to the international scientific community until 1992 when his article was finally translated into English.

In 1970, the American engineer W. Thomas Cathey and his collaborators were the first to experimentally demonstrate an adaptive optics system that operated in real time.

© 2006 An original idea and a realization of the ASTROLab of Mont-Mégantic National Park

Two Black and white photos of the Zeta Boötis

The binary star Zeta Boötis as seen with (at left) and without (at right) the help of adaptive optics.

Bob Tubbs/Nordic Optical Telescope

© Nordic Optical Telescope


Black and white photo of Horace Welcome Babcock

Horace Welcome Babcock.

Mt. Wilson Observatory/UCLA

© Mt. Wilson Observatory/UCLA


Black and white photo of W. Thomas Cathey

W. Thomas Cathey.

W. Thomas Cathey

© W. Thomas Cathey


Three years later, in 1973, another American engineer, John W. Hardy, built the first adaptive optics system intended for astronomy. Originally designed to detect Soviet military satellites, the system used a deformable mirror. Astronomers took advantage of the technique and new adaptive optics systems began to appear.

A guide star produced by a laser.In 1977, the American physicist Andrew Buffington developed the first system to use a segmented mirror. Each of the six segments is controlled by a piston that could adjust the inclination.

In 1981, the American physicist Robert Q. Fugate and his team began to work on a system that would use a laser to generate a guide star – the idea originally proposed by Linnik in 1957. The first tests were performed in 1983 and 1984. Since then, several adaptive optics systems have been equipped with a laser that operates on this principle.

In 1991, the American army been declassifying their confidential work on adaptive optics. Upon accessing the documents, the astronomy community realized that they had already designed and constructed more powerful and less costly systems than those of the military.
Read More
Three years later, in 1973, another American engineer, John W. Hardy, built the first adaptive optics system intended for astronomy. Originally designed to detect Soviet military satellites, the system used a deformable mirror. Astronomers took advantage of the technique and new adaptive optics systems began to appear.

A guide star produced by a laser.In 1977, the American physicist Andrew Buffington developed the first system to use a segmented mirror. Each of the six segments is controlled by a piston that could adjust the inclination.

In 1981, the American physicist Robert Q. Fugate and his team began to work on a system that would use a laser to generate a guide star – the idea originally proposed by Linnik in 1957. The first tests were performed in 1983 and 1984. Since then, several adaptive optics systems have been equipped with a laser that operates on this principle.

In 1991, the American army been declassifying their confidential work on adaptive optics. Upon accessing the documents, the astronomy community realized that they had already designed and constructed more powerful and less costly systems than those of the military.

As of 2005, 18 observatories and 26 large telescopes are equipped with image correction systems. These systems are now considered as standard equipment for big observatories

© 2006 An original idea and a realization of the ASTROLab of Mont-Mégantic National Park

Colour photo of a Laser shooting into the sky from an observatory

Laser used to produce a guide star.

Laurie Hatch/www.lauriehatch.com

© Laurie Hatch/www.lauriehatch.com


Colour image of how a telescope sees the Guide Star

A guide star produced by a laser.

Laird A. Thompson

© Laird A. Thompson


Two colour photos of the Galactic Centre, one blurry and one clear

The galactic centre seen without and with adaptative optics.

Canada-France-Hawaii Telescope

© Canada-France-Hawaii Telescope


Colour video of René Racine in front of images of space

René Racine talks about adaptive optics.

Adaptive optics is now beginning to have an impact in ophthalmology. If you want to study the retina, the image obtained is generally cloudy because there is an aqueous humour [secretion] that messes things up. Adaptive optics systems now exist that allow much more accurate diagnoses of retinas than was possible only a few years ago. In the relatively near future, we may have corrective glasses that are not like the regular plastic ones, but can instead deform to correct for turbulence (in the eye and in the atmosphere). There is no reason that we will not be able to read a newspaper about 50 metres away with such devices. So your eyes will have a much sharper resolution than what you have now because your eye is not perfect and the atmosphere distorts images. It represents an application - a practical use - for space-related technology, but one that comes from astronomy.

ASTROLab of Mont-Mégantic National Park

© 2006 An original idea and a realization of the ASTROLab of Mont-Mégantic National Park


Learning Objectives

The learner will:
  • identify recent contributions, including Canada’s, to the development of space exploration technologies;
  • describe in detail the function of Canadian technologies involved in exploration of space;
  • draw a solar system with all its components;
  • establish the link between atoms and light using different instruments.

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

L’atmosphère terrestre est constituée de couches d’air de différentes températures qui se mélangent les unes aux autres, causant de grands mouvements (les scientifiques disent des « turbulences ») dans les masses d’air. Pour les astronomes, ces turbulences sont néfastes car elles perturbent la trajectoire des rayons lumineux. Ce faisant, elles sont responsables du scintillement des étoiles dans le ciel et de la distorsion des images collectées par les télescopes.

Un moyen simple de minimiser cet inconvénient est de construire les observatoires astronomiques en altitude de façon à ce que les télescopes puissent observer au-dessus de l’atmosphère terrestre. On peut ainsi obtenir des images qui sont jusqu’à dix fois meilleures qu’au niveau de la mer.

Des améliorations peuvent également être apportées aux observatoires eux-mêmes. On ajoute de plus en plus des trappes de ventilation sur les murs des observatoires de façon à ce que l’air dans lequel baigne le télescope soit à la même température que l’air extérieur. Des courants d’air laminaires sont aussi projetés au-dessus du miroir pour limiter le Pour en lire plus
L’atmosphère terrestre est constituée de couches d’air de différentes températures qui se mélangent les unes aux autres, causant de grands mouvements (les scientifiques disent des « turbulences ») dans les masses d’air. Pour les astronomes, ces turbulences sont néfastes car elles perturbent la trajectoire des rayons lumineux. Ce faisant, elles sont responsables du scintillement des étoiles dans le ciel et de la distorsion des images collectées par les télescopes.

Un moyen simple de minimiser cet inconvénient est de construire les observatoires astronomiques en altitude de façon à ce que les télescopes puissent observer au-dessus de l’atmosphère terrestre. On peut ainsi obtenir des images qui sont jusqu’à dix fois meilleures qu’au niveau de la mer.

Des améliorations peuvent également être apportées aux observatoires eux-mêmes. On ajoute de plus en plus des trappes de ventilation sur les murs des observatoires de façon à ce que l’air dans lequel baigne le télescope soit à la même température que l’air extérieur. Des courants d’air laminaires sont aussi projetés au-dessus du miroir pour limiter les turbulences.

Un autre moyen, plus radical, est d’installer les télescopes dans l’espace, là où l’atmosphère ne peut gêner les observations. C’est pourquoi, aujourd’hui, les scientifiques lancent en orbite des satellites astronomiques comme Hubble, FUSE et MOST.

Les chercheurs ont entrepris très tôt de résoudre les problèmes de distorsion d’image dus aux perturbations atmosphériques. Les premiers travaux en ce sens sont réalisés en 1902 par le physicien allemand Karl Strehl, qui propose un moyen d’évaluer la qualité des images produites par les systèmes optiques.

En 1941, le mathématicien soviétique Andrei Nikolaevich Kolmogorov réalise plusieurs percées dans l’étude des turbulences. Ses travaux seront plus tard intégrés à des modèles atmosphériques qui auront pour but de corriger les distorsions affectant les images astronomiques.

En 1953, l’astronome américain Horace Welcome Babcock invente l’optique adaptative, un procédé qui corrige les distorsions d’image dues à l’atmosphère terrestre. La technique consiste à prélever un échantillon de lumière et à calculer son degré de distorsion. Des miroirs déformables sont ensuite utilisés pour redresser les rayons lumineux et produire une image corrigée. Le procédé est prometteur, mais pour des raisons d’ordre technique, Babcock ne sera pas en mesure de construire son système.

En 1957, le physicien américain Robert B. Leighton de l’Institut de technologie de la Californie parvient à réduire les distorsions d’image produites par l’atmosphère avec le télescope de 1,5 mètre de l’Observatoire du Mont Wilson, en Californie. Sa technique consiste à incliner plusieurs fois par seconde le miroir secondaire du télescope. Il obtient ainsi les meilleures images jamais réalisées de Jupiter et Saturne.

Toujours en 1957, le physicien soviétique Vladimir Pavlovich Linnik publie un article dans lequel il propose de diriger un laser vers le ciel et de faire le foyer dans la haute atmosphère de façon à faire réagir les molécules s’y trouvant pour générer une « étoile guide ».

Un système d’optique adaptative a besoin d’une « étoile guide » qui soit suffisamment brillante dans le voisinage de l’astre observé pour alimenter convenablement le senseur de front d’onde du télescope. Or, de telles étoiles ne se trouvent pas partout, d’où l’idée d’en générer une. La solution est révolutionnaire, mais par malheur elle ne sera connue de la communauté scientifique internationale qu’en 1992, au moment où l’on traduit en anglais l’article de Linnik.

En 1970, l’ingénieur américain W. Thomas Cathey et ses collaborateurs sont les premiers à faire la démonstration expérimentale d’un système d’optique adaptative fonctionnant en temps réel.

© 2006 Une idée originale et une réalisation de L'ASTROLab du Parc national du Mont-Mégantic

Deux photos noir et blanc du Zeta Boötis

L'étoile double Zeta Boötis vue sans l'aide (à gauche) et avec l'aide (à droite) de l'optique adaptative.

Bob Tubbs/Télescope optique nordique

© Télescope optique nordique


Photo noir et blanc du Horace Welcome Babcock

Horace Welcome Babcock.

Observatoire du Mont Wilson/UCLA

© Observatoire du Mont Wilson/UCLA


Photo noir et blanc du W. Thomas Cathey

W. Thomas Cathey.

W. Thomas Cathey

© W. Thomas Cathey


Trois ans plus tard, en 1973, un autre ingénieur américain, John W. Hardy, construit le premier système d’optique adaptative destiné à l’astronomie. Initialement conçu pour détecter les satellites militaires soviétiques, le système utilise un miroir déformable. Les astronomes prennent alors conscience des avantages de la technique et de nouveaux systèmes d’optique adaptative commencent à faire leur apparition.

En 1977, le physicien américain Andrew Buffington met au point le premier système utilisant un miroir segmenté. Chacun des six segments est contrôlé par un piston qui ajuste l’inclinaison.

En 1981, le physicien américain Robert Q. Fugate et son équipe commencent à travailler sur un système utilisant un laser pour générer une étoile guide; une idée que Vladimir Pavlovich Linnik avait proposée en 1957. Les premiers tests sont réalisés en 1983 et 1984. Depuis, plusieurs systèmes d’optique adaptative sont dotés de laser fonctionnant sur ce principe.

À partir de 1991, l’armée américaine commence à rendre publics ses travaux en matière d’optique adaptative, travaux jusqu’alors classés comme secrets. L Pour en lire plus
Trois ans plus tard, en 1973, un autre ingénieur américain, John W. Hardy, construit le premier système d’optique adaptative destiné à l’astronomie. Initialement conçu pour détecter les satellites militaires soviétiques, le système utilise un miroir déformable. Les astronomes prennent alors conscience des avantages de la technique et de nouveaux systèmes d’optique adaptative commencent à faire leur apparition.

En 1977, le physicien américain Andrew Buffington met au point le premier système utilisant un miroir segmenté. Chacun des six segments est contrôlé par un piston qui ajuste l’inclinaison.

En 1981, le physicien américain Robert Q. Fugate et son équipe commencent à travailler sur un système utilisant un laser pour générer une étoile guide; une idée que Vladimir Pavlovich Linnik avait proposée en 1957. Les premiers tests sont réalisés en 1983 et 1984. Depuis, plusieurs systèmes d’optique adaptative sont dotés de laser fonctionnant sur ce principe.

À partir de 1991, l’armée américaine commence à rendre publics ses travaux en matière d’optique adaptative, travaux jusqu’alors classés comme secrets. La communauté astronomique constate alors qu’elle réalisait déjà des systèmes plus performants et moins coûteux que les militaires.

En 2005, 18 observatoires astronomiques et 26 grands télescopes sont équipés de systèmes de correction d’image. Aujourd’hui, ces systèmes font partie de l’équipement standard des grands observatoires.

© 2006 Une idée originale et une réalisation de L'ASTROLab du Parc national du Mont-Mégantic

Photo couleur d'un laser tiré vers ciel par un observatoire

Laser utilisé pour produire une étoile guide.

Laurie Hatch/www.lauriehatch.com

© Laurie Hatch/www.lauriehatch.com


Image couleur qui démontre comment un télescope voit l'Étoile guide

Étoile guide produite par un laser.

Laird A. Thompson

© Laird A. Thompson


Deux photos du centre de la galaxie, un floue et un clair

Le centre de la galaxie vu sans et avec optique adaptative.

Télescope Canada-France-Hawaï

© Télescope Canada-France-Hawaï


Vidéo couleur du René Racine avec des images de l’espace en arrière-plan

René Racine parle de l'optique adaptative.

L’optique adaptative commence maintenant à avoir un impact en ophtalmologie. Si vous voulez étudier la rétine, l’image que l’on en voit est généralement embrouillée parce qu’il y a l’humeur aqueuse qui embrouille les choses. Il y a maintenant des systèmes d’optique adaptative qui permettent de faire des diagnostics rétiniens beaucoup plus fins qu’on ne pouvait le faire il y a quelques années. Dans un avenir relativement proche, on pourra avoir des verres correcteurs qui seront non seulement des lunettes comme celles-ci en plastique, mais qui vont pouvoir aussi se déformer pour corriger la turbulence et il n’y a aucune raison, avec des trucs comme ça, que vous ne pourrez pas lire un journal à environ 50 mètres de distance. Même votre œil va avoir une résolution qui va être beaucoup plus fine que celle que vous avez maintenant parce que votre œil n’est pas parfait, parce que l’atmosphère perturbe les images. C’est une application, c’est un usage pratique des technologies astronomiques, mais ça vient de l’astronomie.

ASTROLab du Parc national du Mont-Mégantic

© 2006 Une idée originale et une réalisation de L'ASTROLab du Parc national du Mont-Mégantic


Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant va :
  • nommer des contributions récentes, y compris celles du Canada, au développement des technologies pour l’exploration spatiale;
  • décrire en détail le rôle que jouent des technologies canadiennes dans l’exploration de l’espace;
  • dessiner un système solaire avec toutes ses composantes;
  • établir le lien entre les atomes et la lumière à l’aide de différents instruments.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons