JAMES MATTHEW SIMON v. THE QUEEN (1985)


This 1985 case concerns Matthew Simon, a Micmac of the Shubenacadie, Nova Scotia, band, who had been stopped by the RCMP on a public road adjacent to the reserve. He was charged with being in possession of a shotgun and shell during closed hunting season, in violation of the provincial Lands and Forest Act. Simon argued that the terms of the Treaty of 1752 entitled him to “Free Liberty of hunting and fishing.” The province argued that no treaty rights existed because, among other reasons, the treaty had been terminated by subsequent hostilities, and in any case all Nova Scotia treaties had been “superseded by law.” Furthermore, unless Simon could trace his own ancestry to the signers of the treaty, he could not prove that it applied to him. (Note: The treaty referred to “Delegates of the said Tribe, for themselves and their said Tribe their heirs and the heirs of their heirs forever.”)

The Supreme Court acquitted Simon. The justices’ decision has been interpreted by Micmacs as confirming that the Treaty of 1752 is valid, that it recognizes and protects M Read More
JAMES MATTHEW SIMON v. THE QUEEN (1985)


This 1985 case concerns Matthew Simon, a Micmac of the Shubenacadie, Nova Scotia, band, who had been stopped by the RCMP on a public road adjacent to the reserve. He was charged with being in possession of a shotgun and shell during closed hunting season, in violation of the provincial Lands and Forest Act. Simon argued that the terms of the Treaty of 1752 entitled him to “Free Liberty of hunting and fishing.” The province argued that no treaty rights existed because, among other reasons, the treaty had been terminated by subsequent hostilities, and in any case all Nova Scotia treaties had been “superseded by law.” Furthermore, unless Simon could trace his own ancestry to the signers of the treaty, he could not prove that it applied to him. (Note: The treaty referred to “Delegates of the said Tribe, for themselves and their said Tribe their heirs and the heirs of their heirs forever.”)

The Supreme Court acquitted Simon. The justices’ decision has been interpreted by Micmacs as confirming that the Treaty of 1752 is valid, that it recognizes and protects Micmac hunting rights, and that there is no evidence that hostilities terminated it. In addition, the Supreme Court said, a present-day Indian would only have to establish a significant connection with those who signed the original Treaty – proof of descendancy cannot be required. In rendering its decision, the court held that the Treaty protects hunting rights at least on reserve lands. As a result, Simon had the right to transport guns and ammunition safely to those areas, and his possession of firearms was not in violation to the provincial law. On the assumption that Nova Scotia game laws no longer apply to Micmacs, the Union of Nova Scotia Indians has issued a set of guidelines to govern Micmac hunting in the province.

- Robert M. Leavitt, Maliseet & Micmac: First Nations of the Maritimes. Fredericton: New Ireland Press, 1995, p. 235

© Robert M. Leavitt. All Rights Reserved.

Learning Objectives

Learners will understand the circumstances surrounding the 1985 Supreme Court of Canada case concerning Mi'qmaq James Matthew Simon.

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

JAMES MATTHEW SIMON c. LA REINE (1985)


Cette cause entendue en 1985 concerne Matthew Simon, un Amérindien mi’kmaq de la bande Shubenacadie, en Nouvelle-Écosse, qui a été arrêté par la GRC sur une route publique contigüe à la réserve. Il a été accusé de possession d’une carabine et de cartouches en dehors de la saison de chasse en violation de la Lands and Forest Act de la Nouvelle-Écosse. M. Simon a allégué que le texte du Traité de 1752 lui accordait la « liberté de chasser et de pêcher ». La province a allégué qu’aucun droit issu de traités ne subsistait parce que, entre autre raison, le traité avait pris fin et avait été rendu inapplicable à cause des hostilités subséquentes et, en tout état de cause, tous les traités de la Nouvelle-Écosse avaient été supprimés par voie législative. En outre, à moins que M. Simon ne puisse établir son lien de descendance avec les signata Pour en lire plus
JAMES MATTHEW SIMON c. LA REINE (1985)


Cette cause entendue en 1985 concerne Matthew Simon, un Amérindien mi’kmaq de la bande Shubenacadie, en Nouvelle-Écosse, qui a été arrêté par la GRC sur une route publique contigüe à la réserve. Il a été accusé de possession d’une carabine et de cartouches en dehors de la saison de chasse en violation de la Lands and Forest Act de la Nouvelle-Écosse. M. Simon a allégué que le texte du Traité de 1752 lui accordait la « liberté de chasser et de pêcher ». La province a allégué qu’aucun droit issu de traités ne subsistait parce que, entre autre raison, le traité avait pris fin et avait été rendu inapplicable à cause des hostilités subséquentes et, en tout état de cause, tous les traités de la Nouvelle-Écosse avaient été supprimés par voie législative. En outre, à moins que M. Simon ne puisse établir son lien de descendance avec les signataires du traité, il ne pouvait pas prouver que le traité s’appliquait à lui. (Remarque : le traité invoque les « Membres et envoyés de la susdite Tribu pour eux mêmes et leurs héritiers et les Héritiers de leurs Héritiers à Jamais ».

La Cour suprême a acquitté M. Simon. La décision des juges a été interprétée par les Mi’Kmaq comme étant une confirmation de la validité du Traité de 1752, qui reconnaît et protège les droits de chasse des Mi’kmaq, et elle affirmait qu’il n’y a pas de preuve que les hostilités aient mi fin à ce traité. En outre, la Cour suprême a déclaré qu’un Amérindien contemporain n’aurait qu’à établir un lien de descendance significatif avec les bandes qui ont signé le traité original, une preuve de descendance ne pouvant être requise. En rendant sa décision, la cour déterminait que le traité protège les droits de chasse au moins sur les réserves. En conséquence, M. Simon avait le droit de transporter un fusil et des munitions en toute sécurité dans ces zones, et sa possession d’une arme à feu ne constituait pas une infraction à la loi provinciale. Tenant pour acquis que les lois se rapportant à la chasse ne s’appliquaient plus aux Mi’Kmaq, l’Union des Indiens de la Nouvelle-Écosse a émis des lignes directrices pour régir la chasse par les Mi’Kmaq dans la province.

- Robert M. Leavitt, Maliseet & Micmac: First Nations of the Maritimes. Fredericton : New Ireland Press, 1995, p. 235


© Robert M. Leavitt. Tous droits réservés.

Objectifs d'apprentissage

Les apprenants seront en mesure de comprendre les circonstances entourant l’affaire James Matthew Simon devant la Cour suprême du Canada.


Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons