HER MAJESTY THE QUEEN v. PETER PAUL

New Brunswick Court of Queen’s Bench, Trial Division
Judicial District of Bathurst

Heard March 1, 1997
Judgment: October 28, 1997

Appeal by the Crown from acquittal of the accused, Peter Paul, on charges involving the unlawful cutting of timber on Crown lands without the Minister's authority. Peter Paul, a Micmac Indian, was charged with an offence under section 67 of the Crown Lands and Forests Act. Section 67 prohibited the cutting down, removal or possession of Crown timber from Crown lands, unless authorized by the Minister. At trial, the judge reviewed treaties between the English and the Aboriginal people of Nova Scotia and concluded that Peter Paul had a broad treaty right relating to trade and had the right to harvest nature's bounty and sell it. Peter Paul was acquitted on the basis that he was not acting unlawfully.

HELD: Appeal dismissed. New Brunswick's Aboriginal people had a treaty protected right to cut trees on all Crown lands. The Act did not apply to them. The 1725-26 treaties did not give Aboriginal people of present New Brunswick the unrestrict Read More
HER MAJESTY THE QUEEN v. PETER PAUL

New Brunswick Court of Queen’s Bench, Trial Division
Judicial District of Bathurst

Heard March 1, 1997
Judgment: October 28, 1997

Appeal by the Crown from acquittal of the accused, Peter Paul, on charges involving the unlawful cutting of timber on Crown lands without the Minister's authority. Peter Paul, a Micmac Indian, was charged with an offence under section 67 of the Crown Lands and Forests Act. Section 67 prohibited the cutting down, removal or possession of Crown timber from Crown lands, unless authorized by the Minister. At trial, the judge reviewed treaties between the English and the Aboriginal people of Nova Scotia and concluded that Peter Paul had a broad treaty right relating to trade and had the right to harvest nature's bounty and sell it. Peter Paul was acquitted on the basis that he was not acting unlawfully.

HELD: Appeal dismissed. New Brunswick's Aboriginal people had a treaty protected right to cut trees on all Crown lands. The Act did not apply to them. The 1725-26 treaties did not give Aboriginal people of present New Brunswick the unrestricted right to cut trees under the treaty aegis of trade as found by the trial judge. Rather, their right arose as an appurtenance to their land rights under Dummer's Treaty of 1725-26. Under the 1763 Royal Proclamation, lands that had not been ceded or surrendered were reserved for the Aboriginal people, and Aboriginal title remained as agreed to at Dummer's treaty. Nothing overt had happened from 1763 to the present to change the parties relationship regarding land rights. They had treaty land rights similar to a usufructuary right. These rights were not restricted to personal use, but were rights of beneficial ownership and possession. Crown lands, including trees on Crown lands, were not exclusively reserved for them, but their rights to them were protected by treaty. The Crown had jurisdiction and dominion over all land and could enact laws affecting Aboriginal Treaty rights. However, governments had to accept that Dummer's Treaty protected Aboriginal land and recognized Aboriginal people's primacy when enacting legislation.


http://www.apcfnc.ca/court.asp?ID=131&type=Archived



© Atlantic Policy Congress of First Nations Chiefs. All Rights Reserved.

Learning Objectives

Learners will understand the circumstances surrounding the New Brunswick Court of Queen's Bench case concerning Peter Paul.

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

SA MAJESTÉ LA REINE c. PETER PAUL

Cour du Banc de la Reine du Nouveau-Brunswick
Division de première instance
Circonscription judiciaire de Bathurst

Entendu : le 1er mars 1997.
Jugement : le 28 octobre 1997.

Pourvoi en appel par la Couronne contre l’acquittement de l’intimé, Peter Paul, qui avait été accusé d’avoir coupé du bois illégalement sur les terres de la Couronne sans avoir obtenu l’autorisation du ministre. Peter Paul, un Indien micmac, était accusé d’infraction à l’article 67 de la Loi sur les terres et forêts de la Couronne. L’article 67 interdit de couper le bois, de l’enlever des terres de la Couronne ou d’être en possession de bois qui provient des terres de la Couronne sans avoir obtenu l’autorisation du ministre. Après avoir examiné divers traités intervenus entre les Anglais et les Indiens de la Nouvelle-Écosse, le juge a conclu que le défendeur jouissait d’un vaste droit issu de traités en mati&egrav Pour en lire plus
SA MAJESTÉ LA REINE c. PETER PAUL

Cour du Banc de la Reine du Nouveau-Brunswick
Division de première instance
Circonscription judiciaire de Bathurst

Entendu : le 1er mars 1997.
Jugement : le 28 octobre 1997.

Pourvoi en appel par la Couronne contre l’acquittement de l’intimé, Peter Paul, qui avait été accusé d’avoir coupé du bois illégalement sur les terres de la Couronne sans avoir obtenu l’autorisation du ministre. Peter Paul, un Indien micmac, était accusé d’infraction à l’article 67 de la Loi sur les terres et forêts de la Couronne. L’article 67 interdit de couper le bois, de l’enlever des terres de la Couronne ou d’être en possession de bois qui provient des terres de la Couronne sans avoir obtenu l’autorisation du ministre. Après avoir examiné divers traités intervenus entre les Anglais et les Indiens de la Nouvelle-Écosse, le juge a conclu que le défendeur jouissait d’un vaste droit issu de traités en matière de commerce, et du droit de récolter et de vendre les fruits de la terre. Peter Paul a été acquitté parce qu’il n’avait pas agit illégalement.

JUGEMENT : Appel rejeté. Les Indiens du Nouveau-Brunswick avaient un droit issu de traités de couper des arbres sur toutes les terres de la Couronne. La Loi ne s’applique pas à eux. Les traités de 1725-1726 ne donnaient pas aux Indiens vivant actuellement au Nouveau-Brunswick le droit absolu de couper des arbres en vertu du traité concernant le commerce comme le considérait le juge. Leur droit provient plutôt de l’appartenance de leurs terres en vertu du traité de Dummer de 1725-1726. En vertu de la Proclamation royale de 1763, les terres qui n’ont pas été cédées ou achetées étaient réservées aux Indiens et le titre de possession demeure comme convenu dans le traité de Dummer. Il n'y a eu aucun changement depuis 1763 dans la nature de l'intérêt que les Indiens avaient sur les terres cédées par le traité. Le genre de tenure dont jouissaient les Indiens était semblable à un droit usufructuaire. Ces droits n’étaient pas restreints à l’appartenance et à la possession. Les terres de la Couronne, y compris les arbres sur les terres de la Couronne, n’étaient pas exclusivement réservées pour eux, mais leurs droits concernant ces terres étaient protégés par les traités. La Couronne avait pouvoir et autorité sur toutes les terres et pouvait adopter des lois touchant les droits issus des traités avec les Indiens. Toutefois, les gouvernements devaient accepter que le traité de Dummer protégeait les terres des Indiens et reconnaissait la suprématie des Indiens au moment d’adopter des lois.


http://www.apcfnc.ca/court.asp?ID=131&type=Archived




© Atlantic Policy Congress of First Nations Chiefs. Tous droits réservés.

Objectifs d'apprentissage

Les apprenants seront en mesure de comprendre les circonstances entourant l’affaire Peter Paul devant la Cour du banc de la Reine du Nouveau-Brunswick.


Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons