JOSHUA BERNARD v HER MAJESTY THE QUEEN

COURT OF APPEAL OF NEW BRUNSWICK

Heard September 16, 2002
Judgment August 28, 2003

THE COURT
Leave to appeal is granted. The appeal is allowed, the conviction is set aside and an acquittal is entered. A stay suspending the effect of the judgment for a period of one year from the date of these reasons is granted.

SUMMARY
On April 13, 2000, Joshua Bernard was convicted of unlawful possession of timber taken from Crown lands. Mr. Bernard is of Mi’kmaq descent and a registered status Indian living on the Eel Ground reserve, located on the banks of the Northwest Miramichi River.

The central issue raised on this appeal is whether members of the Miramichi Mi’kmaq community have the right to harvest and sell timber, growing on Crown lands, within the Sevogle area of the Northwest Miramichi watershed. This right is said to flow from two tributaries: the Miramichi Treaty of 1761 and aboriginal title. The Provincial Court Judge rejected both defences. The Summary Conviction Appeal Court Judge could find no basis on which to disturb those findings. Mr. Bernard appeal Read More

JOSHUA BERNARD v HER MAJESTY THE QUEEN

COURT OF APPEAL OF NEW BRUNSWICK

Heard September 16, 2002
Judgment August 28, 2003

THE COURT
Leave to appeal is granted. The appeal is allowed, the conviction is set aside and an acquittal is entered. A stay suspending the effect of the judgment for a period of one year from the date of these reasons is granted.

SUMMARY
On April 13, 2000, Joshua Bernard was convicted of unlawful possession of timber taken from Crown lands. Mr. Bernard is of Mi’kmaq descent and a registered status Indian living on the Eel Ground reserve, located on the banks of the Northwest Miramichi River.

The central issue raised on this appeal is whether members of the Miramichi Mi’kmaq community have the right to harvest and sell timber, growing on Crown lands, within the Sevogle area of the Northwest Miramichi watershed. This right is said to flow from two tributaries: the Miramichi Treaty of 1761 and aboriginal title. The Provincial Court Judge rejected both defences. The Summary Conviction Appeal Court Judge could find no basis on which to disturb those findings. Mr. Bernard appealed to the Court of Appeal.

Justices Daigle and Robertson hold that Mr. Bernard possesses a treaty right to harvest and sell trees growing on Crown lands traditionally occupied by the Miramichi Mi’kmaq. In their opinion, the treaty right is not restricted to natural resources that were traditionally traded at the time the 1761 treaty was signed, as found by the trial judge. Justices Daigle and Robertson are also of the view that the treaty right was not extinguished by pre-confederation provincial legislation and that the present legislation constitutes an unjustified infringement of the appellant’s treaty right. Justice Deschênes is of the contrary view. He holds that there is no basis on which to interfere with the trial judge’s finding that there is no treaty right to trade in logs taken from Crown lands. More particularly, he holds that the type of commercial activity being carried on by Mr. Bernard was not protected by the treaty, nor was such activity contemplated by the signatories nor did it constitute a logical evolution of the treaty right. Accordingly, Justice Deschênes found it unnecessary to address the issues of extinguishment, infringement and justification.

With respect to the defence of aboriginal title, all three justices agree that neither Belcher’s Proclamation of 1762 nor the Royal Proclamation of 1763 can be regarded as an independent source of aboriginal title. With respect to the claim of aboriginal title, based on exclusive occupation, Justices Daigle and Robertson hold that the trial judge did not apply the correct legal principles. Justice Daigle concludes that the evidence supports a finding that the Miramichi Mi’kmaq had exclusive occupation of the "Northwest Miramichi watershed" at the time of sovereignty. Justice Daigle also concludes their aboriginal title was not extinguished; that it was infringed and that the Crown failed to justify the infringement. Justice Robertson, however, refrains from answering the question whether the evidence is sufficient to support a finding of aboriginal title to the lands in question. In his view, it is unnecessary to address that issue given his finding with respect to the treaty defence and because of other enumerated concerns over the validity of deciding aboriginal title cases within the context of summary conviction proceedings. Justice Deschênes is of the view that the trial judge’s decision on the question of aboriginal title is owed deference pursuant to the provisions of the Criminal Code. He is also of the view that there is no basis on which the Court of Appeal is entitled to interfere with the trial judge’s findings of fact on the issue of exclusive occupancy; findings that were upheld by the summary conviction appeal judge.

In summary, the majority of the Court of Appeal allowed the appeal and set aside the conviction on the basis that the accused had established a treaty right that had not been extinguished, but which had been infringed without justification on the part of the Crown. In addition, the Court stayed the effect of their judgment for a period of one year from the date of the decision. DAIGLE, J.A.

http://www.apcfnc.ca/court.asp?ID=121&type=Archived


Atlantic Policy Congress of First Nations Chiefs. All Rights Reserved.

Learning Objectives

Learners will understand the circumstances surrounding the New Brunswick Court of Appeal case concerning Joshua Bernard.

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

COUR D’APPEL DU NOUVEAU-BRUNSWICK

R. c. Bernard

Appel entendu :
le 16 septembre 2002

Jugement rendu :
le 28 août 2003


LA COUR

L’autorisation d’appel est accordée. L’appel est accueilli, la déclaration de culpabilité est annulée et un acquittement est inscrit. Est accordé un sursis à la prise d’effet du jugement pour une période d’un an à partir de la date des présents motifs.


RÉSUMÉ

Le 13 avril 2000, Joshua Bernard a été déclaré coupable de possession illégale de bois provenant des terres de la Couronne. De descendance mi’kmaq, il est un Indien inscrit qui vit dans la réserve d’Eel Ground située sur les rives de la Northwest Miramichi.

La question centrale qui est soulevée dans le présent appel est celle-ci : Les membres de la collectivité mi’kmaq de la Miramichi ont-il le droit de récolter et de vendre du bois provenant Pour en lire plus

COUR D’APPEL DU NOUVEAU-BRUNSWICK

R. c. Bernard

Appel entendu :
le 16 septembre 2002

Jugement rendu :
le 28 août 2003


LA COUR

L’autorisation d’appel est accordée. L’appel est accueilli, la déclaration de culpabilité est annulée et un acquittement est inscrit. Est accordé un sursis à la prise d’effet du jugement pour une période d’un an à partir de la date des présents motifs.


RÉSUMÉ

Le 13 avril 2000, Joshua Bernard a été déclaré coupable de possession illégale de bois provenant des terres de la Couronne. De descendance mi’kmaq, il est un Indien inscrit qui vit dans la réserve d’Eel Ground située sur les rives de la Northwest Miramichi.

La question centrale qui est soulevée dans le présent appel est celle-ci : Les membres de la collectivité mi’kmaq de la Miramichi ont-il le droit de récolter et de vendre du bois provenant des terres de la Couronne dans la région de Sevogle du bassin hydrographique de la Northwest Miramichi ? Ce droit, prétend-on, a deux origines : le Traité de Miramichi de 1761 et un titre aborigène. Le juge de la Cour provinciale a rejeté les deux moyens de défense invoqués. Quant au juge d’appel en matière de poursuites sommaires, il a estimé ne pas être fondé à modifier ces conclusions. M. Bernard a interjeté appel à la Cour d’appel.

Les juges Daigle et Robertson ont statué que M. Bernard est titulaire du droit issu de traité de récolter et de vendre des arbres provenant des terres de la Couronne occupées traditionnellement par les Mi’kmaq de la Miramichi. Selon eux, le droit issu de traité ne se limite pas aux ressources naturelles qui faisaient traditionnellement l’objet d’un commerce au moment de la signature du traité de 1761, comme a conclu le juge du procès. Ils estiment également que la législation provinciale préconfédérative n’a pas éteint le droit issu de traité et que la loi actuelle constitue une atteinte injustifiée au droit issu de traité de l’appelant. Le juge Deschênes est d’avis contraire. Aucun fondement, statue-t-il, ne permet de modifier la conclusion du juge du procès selon laquelle le droit issu de traité de faire le commerce des grumes provenant des terres de la Couronne n’existe pas. Il statue, en particulier, que le traité ne protégeait pas le type d’activité commerciale que M. Bernard exerçait, que les signataires n’ont pas envisagé cette activité, laquelle ne constitue pas non plus une évolution logique du droit issu de traité. Il a conclu aussi qu’il s’avérait inutile d’examiner les questions de l’extinction, de l’atteinte et de la justification.

En ce qui concerne l’argument de détenir un titre aborigène sur les terres, les trois juges conviennent que ni la Proclamation de Belcher de 1762 ni la Proclamation royale de 1763 n’a conféré aux Indiens un titre sur les lieux de coupe du bois. À propos du titre aborigène, en se fondant sur l’occupation exclusive, les juges Daigle et Robertson soutiennent que le juge n’avait pas appliqué les principes juridiques appropriés. Le juge Daigle conclut que d’après les éléments de preuve, les Indiens micmac de Miramichi avait le droit d’occupation exclusive des terres dans la région du bassin hydrographique de la Northwest Miramichi au moment de la souveraineté. Le juge Daigle conclut également que leur titre aborigène n’avait pas été aboli, mais qu’il avait été atteint et que la Couronne n’avait pas justifié l’atteinte de ce droit. Le juge Robertson, toutefois, n’a pas répondu à la question visant à déterminer si les éléments de preuve appuient le titre aborigène sur les terres en question. À son avis, il est inutile de répondre à la question en raison de sa conclusion concernant le traité et vu les autres préoccupations concernant la validité d’un jugement sur des affaires ayant trait au titre aborigène dans le contexte de poursuites sommaires. Le juge Deschênes est d’avis que la décision du juge concernant la question du titre aborigène est soumise aux dispositions du Code criminel. Il est aussi d’avis que la Cour d’appel n’a pas l’autorité de contredire la décision du juge concernant l’occupation exclusive, une décision qui a été confirmée par le juge d’appel en matière de poursuites sommaires.
Bref, la majorité des juges de la Court d’appel a accueilli l’appel et annulé la déclaration de culpabilité parce que l’intimé avait établi un droit issu d’un traité qui n’avait pas été aboli, mais qui avait été atteint sans justification de la part de la Couronne. De plus, la Court d’appel a accordé un sursis à la prise d’effet du jugement pour une période d’un an à partir de la date des présents motifs. DAIGLE, J.A.

http://www.apcfnc.ca/court.asp?ID=121&type=Archived



Atlantic Policy Congress of First Nations Chiefs. Tous droits réservés.

Objectifs d'apprentissage

Les apprenants seront en mesure de comprendre les circonstances entourant l’affaire Joshua Bernard devant la Cour d’appel du Nouveau-Brunswick.


Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons