Not everyone is in agreement about the meaning of the Micmac word “Escuminac”. Some think it means “meeting place”, and others, like Étienne Guinard of the Commission de toponymie du Québec (Quebec’s public body for managing place names), say it means “there are small fruits up to here”.

Escuminac is both the name of a municipality and a small river that flows southward into the estuary of the Ristigouche River. The place where the two rivers meet is called Escuminac Bay. The bay has a relatively small size, but about a hundred years ago, it also encompassed the body of water along the Miguasha cliff. This is why Miguasha specimens were once referred to as being “Scaumenac Bay” fossils. From the local place name also came the title of the fossil-rich rock sequence: the Escuminac Formation. The best studied geological section of this rock formation, and one that serves as a reference section, is the cliff outcrop located within the boundaries of the Parc national de Miguasha.

The enormous number of fossilized fish contained in the Escuminac Formation has garnered it worldwide acclaim among paleontologists w Read More
Not everyone is in agreement about the meaning of the Micmac word “Escuminac”. Some think it means “meeting place”, and others, like Étienne Guinard of the Commission de toponymie du Québec (Quebec’s public body for managing place names), say it means “there are small fruits up to here”.

Escuminac is both the name of a municipality and a small river that flows southward into the estuary of the Ristigouche River. The place where the two rivers meet is called Escuminac Bay. The bay has a relatively small size, but about a hundred years ago, it also encompassed the body of water along the Miguasha cliff. This is why Miguasha specimens were once referred to as being “Scaumenac Bay” fossils. From the local place name also came the title of the fossil-rich rock sequence: the Escuminac Formation. The best studied geological section of this rock formation, and one that serves as a reference section, is the cliff outcrop located within the boundaries of the Parc national de Miguasha.

The enormous number of fossilized fish contained in the Escuminac Formation has garnered it worldwide acclaim among paleontologists who specialize in the Devonian Period. The age of this rock formation is quite exceptional in the Gaspé region, and other than extensions of the same formation along the northern shore of the Baie des Chaleurs, no other similar sedimentary deposits of Upper Devonian age are known in the region.

© Miguasha National Park 2007

The Escuminac Formation

The reference section for the Escuminac Formation is the cliff in the Parc national de Miguasha.

Not Available
2006
© Miguasha National Park 2007


The Escuminac Formation in the New-Richmond Region

An outcrop of the Escuminac Formation at Cascapédia-St-Jules in the New Richmond area. It represents the most easterly extension of this famous fossil-rich formation, lying 40 kilometres from Miguasha.

Miguasha National Park
2007
© Miguasha National Park


Learning Objectives

The learner will:
  • identify and classify different types of fossils;
  • explain the stages of fossilization and the best conditions to create and preserve fossils;
  • make assumptions about the evolution of living beings;
  • make assumptions as to the explanation of the disappearance of some species.

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Provenant de la langue micmac, le mot Escuminac ne fait pas l’unanimité au niveau de sa signification. Plusieurs considèrent la signification « lieu de rencontre » comme étant juste, alors que d’autres, tel Étienne Guinard, sur le site WEB de la Commission de toponymie du Québec, penchent plutôt pour la signification "jusqu’ici il y a de petits fruits".

En plus de la municipalité, le terme Escuminac désigne une petite rivière qui coule vers le sud et se jette dans l’estuaire de la rivière Ristigouche. L’endroit où elle se déverse dans la rivière se nomme baie d’Escuminac. Cette dernière couvre une étendue restreinte de nos jours, mais, il y a un siècle, cette baie d’Escuminac semble avoir englobé tout le plan d’eau désigné aujourd’hui sous le nom de baie de Miguasha. C’est pourquoi, pendant un certain temps, les fossiles de Miguasha étaient identifiés comme provenant de Scaumenac Bay. De ce toponyme local fut tiré le nom de la formation fossilifère. La coupe géologique la plus étudiée de la formation, et qui sert de référence, est l’affleurement situé dans le parc national de Miguash Pour en lire plus
Provenant de la langue micmac, le mot Escuminac ne fait pas l’unanimité au niveau de sa signification. Plusieurs considèrent la signification « lieu de rencontre » comme étant juste, alors que d’autres, tel Étienne Guinard, sur le site WEB de la Commission de toponymie du Québec, penchent plutôt pour la signification "jusqu’ici il y a de petits fruits".

En plus de la municipalité, le terme Escuminac désigne une petite rivière qui coule vers le sud et se jette dans l’estuaire de la rivière Ristigouche. L’endroit où elle se déverse dans la rivière se nomme baie d’Escuminac. Cette dernière couvre une étendue restreinte de nos jours, mais, il y a un siècle, cette baie d’Escuminac semble avoir englobé tout le plan d’eau désigné aujourd’hui sous le nom de baie de Miguasha. C’est pourquoi, pendant un certain temps, les fossiles de Miguasha étaient identifiés comme provenant de Scaumenac Bay. De ce toponyme local fut tiré le nom de la formation fossilifère. La coupe géologique la plus étudiée de la formation, et qui sert de référence, est l’affleurement situé dans le parc national de Miguasha.

Compte tenu de l’importance des poissons fossiles qu’elle renferme, la Formation d’Escuminac a acquis une renommée mondiale chez les paléontologues spécialistes du Dévonien. La formation fait figure de cas d’exception en Gaspésie. En effet, outre ses extensions connues et restreintes à la bordure nord de la Baie-des-Chaleurs, l’on ne connaît pas ailleurs en Gaspésie de dépôts sédimentaires du même âge dans le Dévonien supérieur.

© 2007, Parc national de Miguasha

La Formation d’Escuminac

La Formation d’Escuminac à sa coupe de référence, la falaise du parc national de Miguasha.

Non disponible
2006
© 2007, Parc national de Miguasha


La Formation d’Escuminac dans la région de New-Richmond

Affleurement de la Formation d’Escuminac à Cascapédia-St-Jules, région de New Richmond. Il s’agit de l’extension la plus à l’est de la célèbre formation fossilifère, à une quarantaine de kilomètres de Miguasha.

Parc national de Miguasha
2007
© Parc national de Miguasha


Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant va:
  • identifier et classer différents types de fossiles;
  • expliquer les étapes de la fossilisation ainsi que les conditions propices à celle-ci;
  • formuler des hypothèses quant à l’évolution des êtres vivants;
  • formuler des hypothèses quant à l’explication de la disparition de certaines espèces.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons