BREAKING THE ICE: The Black Experience in Professional Hockey

by Cecil Harris

Canadian racism was of a gentler strain than that of the American South. O’Ree remembered not having as many career options or as much freedom of movement in Canada as a white man had. But Canadian racism was not overt, not thrust directly in his face, as it was in the U.S. Never was a choice of restaurant or hotel made for him until he arrived in Georgia. Never did he have to ride in the back of the bus, with other darker-skinned athletes, until he arrived in Georgia. A week into his visit, he and his black dormitory roommates sought refreshments at a drugstore after attending Sunday service at an all-black Baptist church. They saw no WHITES ONLY sign and occupied seats at the lunch counter, which infuriated a group of white male customers. A strong gust of racial insults drove O’Ree and his mates out of the drugstore…

Although O’Ree had been used to Canadian bigotry, that certainly didn’t make it tolerable. Back on the rink, his ears burned from shouts of maudit negre (“damned nigger”) from spectators at his Read More
BREAKING THE ICE: The Black Experience in Professional Hockey

by Cecil Harris

Canadian racism was of a gentler strain than that of the American South. O’Ree remembered not having as many career options or as much freedom of movement in Canada as a white man had. But Canadian racism was not overt, not thrust directly in his face, as it was in the U.S. Never was a choice of restaurant or hotel made for him until he arrived in Georgia. Never did he have to ride in the back of the bus, with other darker-skinned athletes, until he arrived in Georgia. A week into his visit, he and his black dormitory roommates sought refreshments at a drugstore after attending Sunday service at an all-black Baptist church. They saw no WHITES ONLY sign and occupied seats at the lunch counter, which infuriated a group of white male customers. A strong gust of racial insults drove O’Ree and his mates out of the drugstore…

Although O’Ree had been used to Canadian bigotry, that certainly didn’t make it tolerable. Back on the rink, his ears burned from shouts of maudit negre (“damned nigger”) from spectators at his games. Difficult as it was to tune out the ugliness and stupidity, he did so to keep alive his NHL dream. But whenever an opposing player struck him with an elbow, a fist, a knee or a stick, he struck back. Playing with one eye would not turn him into a pacifist. But whenever a spectator spat on him or doused him with a beer, he suppressed the inner urge to climb over the boards and beat someone senseless. Instead, he kept his eye on the prize. He believed himself on the cusp of an NHL career, and nothing would get in his way.

The Boston Bruins entered into a working agreement with the Quebec Aces [where O’Ree was playing at the time], beginning in the 1957-5 season, which meant an Aces player could be promoted to the major-league team at any time…O’Ree did not have an eye test to worry about, and the Bruins were unaware of his handicap. Though he impressed Bruins general manager Lynn Patrick and Coach Milt Schmidt with his speed and athleticism, he bagan the 1957-58 season back in Quebec. Competition was fierce for a job on one of the NHL’s six franchises…The number of NHL teams has increased fivefold since then…

The Bruins, beset by injuries at the forward position, needed a winger for a weekend home-and-home series against Montreal. So without fanfare, without public attention even remotely comparable to Jackie Robinson’s debut as the first black in Major League Baseball eleven years earlier, the Bruin’s promoted O’Ree from Quebec. He would don the black sweater with No. 22 on the back and skate in Boston’s lineup on Saturday, January 18, 1958.

“The Montreal Forum was different and special that night,” said O’Ree, who had played a minor league game there two weeks before. “The lights were brighter and the ice was whiter. The fans seemed more elegant, and nobody called me any names.”

Leaving skate marks on the ice in an NHL game for the first time was, for O’Ree, the culmination of a childhood dream. Taking the ice as a black man in the NHL was a moment of historic significance. Yet his major-league debut generated few headlines…In the U.S. many newspapers ran a United Press International one-paragraph brief on his debut that began, “The Boston Bruins, with a Negro, Billy O’Ree, in the lineup for the first time in a National Hockey League history….”

“Nobody made a big deal about the game at all,” O’Ree said. “Not at The Forum, not on our team, not in the press. Nobody called me ‘the Jackie Robinson of hockey.’ But to me I was. I knew I had done something that no black man had ever done before. You bet, I was proud of it.”


- Cecil Harris, Breaking the Ice: The Black Experience in Professional Hockey, Toronto: Insomniac Press, 2003, pp. 83-85.


© 2003, Insomniac Press. All Rights Reserved.

Learning Objectives

Learners will understand the circumstances surrounding the introduction of Willie O'Ree as the first black player in the National Hockey League.

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

ROMPRE LA GLACE : Les noirs au hockey professionnel

par Cecil Harris

Le racisme au Canada n’était pas aussi perceptible que dans le sud des États-Unis. Willie O’Ree se souvient ne pas avoir eu autant de possibilités de carrière ou de liberté de mouvement que les blancs au Canada. Mais le racisme au Canada n’était pas aussi manifeste et évident qu’aux États-Unis. Jamais on avait choisi dans quel restaurant ou hôtel il devait aller et jamais il n’avait eu à s’asseoir en arrière dans l’autobus, avec d’autres athlètes à la peau foncée, jusqu’à ce qu’il arrive en Géorgie. Une semaine après son arrivée, lui et ses compagnons de dortoir noirs sont allés se chercher des rafraîchissements dans un drugstore après être allés au service dominical d’une église baptiste pour les noirs. Aucune affiche n’indiquait qu’il s’agissait d’un endroit pour BLANCS SEULEMENT. Ils se sont donc assis au comptoir, ce q Pour en lire plus
ROMPRE LA GLACE : Les noirs au hockey professionnel

par Cecil Harris

Le racisme au Canada n’était pas aussi perceptible que dans le sud des États-Unis. Willie O’Ree se souvient ne pas avoir eu autant de possibilités de carrière ou de liberté de mouvement que les blancs au Canada. Mais le racisme au Canada n’était pas aussi manifeste et évident qu’aux États-Unis. Jamais on avait choisi dans quel restaurant ou hôtel il devait aller et jamais il n’avait eu à s’asseoir en arrière dans l’autobus, avec d’autres athlètes à la peau foncée, jusqu’à ce qu’il arrive en Géorgie. Une semaine après son arrivée, lui et ses compagnons de dortoir noirs sont allés se chercher des rafraîchissements dans un drugstore après être allés au service dominical d’une église baptiste pour les noirs. Aucune affiche n’indiquait qu’il s’agissait d’un endroit pour BLANCS SEULEMENT. Ils se sont donc assis au comptoir, ce qui a rendu furieux un groupe de clients masculins blancs. Une rafale d’insultes raciales a fait fuir Willie O’Ree et ses camarades…

Même si Willie O’Ree était habitué au sectarisme canadien, il a trouvé cela intolérable. De retour sur la glace, des spectateurs scandaient « maudit nègre ». Même s’il était difficile de faire la sourde oreille à la laideur et à la stupidité de tels commentaires, il les a endurés dans l’espoir de jouer un jour dans la LNH. Quand un joueur de l’autre équipe le frappait avec le coude, le genou ou le bâton, il lui rendait le coup. Son handicap visuel ne faisait pas de lui un pacifiste pour autant. Quand un spectateur lui crachait au visage ou lui tirait de la bière, il se retenait de monter dans la foule et d’assommer quelqu’un. Il se concentrait plutôt sur son objectif d’atteindre la LNH, ce qu’il croirait en voie de se réaliser, et rien ne l’en empêcherait.

Les Bruins de Boston ont conclu un accord avec les As de Québec [l’équipe de Willie O'Ree à l’époque] pour que, à partir de la saison 1957 1958, tout joueur des As puisse à tout moment être promu dans la LNH. Willie O’Ree n’avait pas à s’en faire étant donné qu’il n’avait pas à passer d’examen visuel et que les Bruins n’étaient pas au courant de son handicap. Il impressionnait le directeur général des Bruins, Lynn Patrick, ainsi que l’entraîneur, Milt Schmidt, par sa vitesse et sa constitution athlétique, mais il a tout de même commencé la saison 1957-1958 à Québec. La concurrence était féroce pour obtenir un poste au sein d’une des six franchises de la LNH. Le nombre d’équipes dans la ligne nationale a depuis quintuplé.

Les Bruins, dont un des joueurs d’avant était blessé, avaient besoin d’un ailier pour une fin de semaine de deux matchs, un à Montréal et un à Boston, contre les Canadiens. Donc, sans tapage publicitaire, ni l’attention du public comme cela avait été le cas pour les débuts de Jackie Robinson dans les ligues majeures de Baseball onze ans plus tôt, les Bruins ont fait venir Willie O’Ree de Québec. Il portait le chandail noir n° 22 et il a fait partie de l’alignement des Bruins le samedi 18 janvier 1958.

« Le Forum de Montréal était différent et spécial ce soir-là, a déclaré Willie O’Ree, qui avait joué là deux semaines auparavant dans la ligne mineure. La lumière était plus vive et la glace était plus blanche. Les amateurs avaient l’air plus élégant et personne ne m’a injurié. »

Pour Willie O’Ree, laisser pour la première fois des marques de patin sur la glace pendant une partie de la LNH était le point culminant d’un rêve d’enfant. Qu’un homme de race noire joue un match dans la LNH était un événement d’importance historique. Malgré tout, ses débuts dans la ligue majeure ont suscité peu d’attention médiatique. Aux États-Unis, de nombreux journaux ont publié un court article d’un paragraphe de la United Press International qui commençait comme suit : « Pour une première fois dans l’histoire, un noir, Willie O’Ree, revêt l’uniforme d’une équipe la Ligue nationale de hockey, les Bruins de Boston. »

« Personne en a fait un plat, a affirmé Willie O’Ree. Personne au Forum, personne de notre équipe, personne dans la presse. Personne ne m’a surnommé « le Jackie Robinson du hockey ». Mais pour moi, je l’étais. Je savais que j’avais réalisé quelque chose qu’aucun autre homme de race noire avait fait. Et vous pouvez être sûr que j’en étais très fier. »



- Cecil Harris, Breaking the Ice: The Black Experience in Professional Hockey, Toronto: Insomniac Press, 2003, p. 83-85.


© 2003, Insomniac Press. Tous droits réservés.

Objectifs d'apprentissage

Les apprenants connaîtront les circonstances entourant l’expérience de Willie O’Ree à titre de premier joueur de race noire dans la Ligue nationale de hockey.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons