Pierre-Amand Landry

Pierre-Amand Landry (1846-1916) was one of the first generation of students to enroll at College Saint-Joseph in Memramcook, NB, in 1864. He began his political career in 1870, succeeding his father, Amand Landry, as MLA for Westmorland riding. After a defeat in 1874, he was re-elected in 1878 and sat until 1883. He decided to try to establish a certain degree of equality between the English- and French-speaking residents of the province. Landry was not only the first Acadian lawyer and first Acadian judge, he was also the first Acadian to become a provincial cabinet minister, when he was given the public works portfolio, which he held from 1878 to 1882.

Landry entered the federal political scene in 1883. As Conservative MP for Kent, he continued to plead the cause of the Acadians in the House of Commons until 1890. In 1916 he became the only Acadian to be knighted by the British Crown.

Pascal Poirier

Pascal Poirier, who was born in Shediac, NB, in 1852 and died in Ottawa, Ontario, in 1933, was one of Acadia's great intellectuals. A lawyer, civil servant, writer and senator, he was known for his Read More

Pierre-Amand Landry

Pierre-Amand Landry (1846-1916) was one of the first generation of students to enroll at College Saint-Joseph in Memramcook, NB, in 1864. He began his political career in 1870, succeeding his father, Amand Landry, as MLA for Westmorland riding. After a defeat in 1874, he was re-elected in 1878 and sat until 1883. He decided to try to establish a certain degree of equality between the English- and French-speaking residents of the province. Landry was not only the first Acadian lawyer and first Acadian judge, he was also the first Acadian to become a provincial cabinet minister, when he was given the public works portfolio, which he held from 1878 to 1882.

Landry entered the federal political scene in 1883. As Conservative MP for Kent, he continued to plead the cause of the Acadians in the House of Commons until 1890. In 1916 he became the only Acadian to be knighted by the British Crown.

Pascal Poirier

Pascal Poirier, who was born in Shediac, NB, in 1852 and died in Ottawa, Ontario, in 1933, was one of Acadia's great intellectuals. A lawyer, civil servant, writer and senator, he was known for his outstanding intelligence, patriotism and strong personality.

Poirier received a classical education at College Saint-Joseph in Memramcook. He was greatly influenced by the founder and principal of the college, Father Camille Lefebvre. In 1872 Father LeFabvre recommended Poirier to Prime Minister John A. Macdonald, who wished to appoint an Acadian to the federal civil service. In 1885, at the age of 33, Poirier became the first Acadian senator. He held that position until his death in 1933.

Poirier took part in all the Acadian struggles. He was one of the main organizers of the first Acadian national convention, which was held in Memramcook in 1881, and he fought until 1912 to have the first Acadian bishop appointed.

Louis J. Robichaud

On June 27, 1960, an Acadian lawyer, Louis-J. Robichaud, became premier of New Brunswick. Robichaud's electoral platform, driven by the concept of "equal opportunity for all," included many social reforms, and that is what led him to victory. Robichaud thus became the first Acadian premier of the province. He held the position until 1970.

Shortly after acceding to power, Robichaud set up a royal commission of inquiry into higher education. The Deutsch Commission recommended the creation of the Université de Moncton, which opened in 1963. In 1969 the Robichaud government passed the Official Languages Act, making New Brunswick the only officially bilingual province in Canada. In practice, this meant that French-speaking citizens were now legally entitled to deal with the courts and the provincial government in their mother tongue.


© 2006, Heritage Branch Province of New Brunswick. All Rights Reserved.

Learning Objectives

Learners will understand the roles played by Pierre-Armand Landry, Pascal Poirier and Louis J. Robichaud in the promotion of Acadian rights.

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Pierre-Amand Landry

Membre de la première génération d'étudiants à s'inscrire au Collège Saint-Joseph de Memramcook au Nouveau-Brunswick en 1864, Pierre-Amand Landry (1846-1916) a amorcé sa carrière politique en 1870. Il a succédé alors à son père, Amand Landry, en tant que député provincial de la circonscription de Westmorland. Après une défaite en 1874, il a été réélu en 1878 et a siégé jusqu'en 1883. Il s'est donné le mandat d'établir une certaine égalité entre les anglophones et les francophones de la province. Premier avocat et premier juge acadien, Pierre-Amand Landry a aussi été le premier Acadien à accéder à un ministère, celui des Travaux publics, qu'il a dirigé de 1878 à 1882.

En 1883, Pierre-Amand Landry a fait ses débuts sur la scène politique fédérale. En tant que député conservateur du comté de Kent à la Chambre des communes, Pour en lire plus

Pierre-Amand Landry

Membre de la première génération d'étudiants à s'inscrire au Collège Saint-Joseph de Memramcook au Nouveau-Brunswick en 1864, Pierre-Amand Landry (1846-1916) a amorcé sa carrière politique en 1870. Il a succédé alors à son père, Amand Landry, en tant que député provincial de la circonscription de Westmorland. Après une défaite en 1874, il a été réélu en 1878 et a siégé jusqu'en 1883. Il s'est donné le mandat d'établir une certaine égalité entre les anglophones et les francophones de la province. Premier avocat et premier juge acadien, Pierre-Amand Landry a aussi été le premier Acadien à accéder à un ministère, celui des Travaux publics, qu'il a dirigé de 1878 à 1882.

En 1883, Pierre-Amand Landry a fait ses débuts sur la scène politique fédérale. En tant que député conservateur du comté de Kent à la Chambre des communes, il a continué de plaider la cause des Acadiens jusqu'en 1890. Il est le seul Acadien à avoir été fait chevalier par la Couronne britannique, en 1916.

Pascal Poirier

Pascal Poirier est né à Shédiac au Nouveau-Brunswick en 1852 et est mort en 1933 à Ottawa en Ontario. M. Poirier a été un grand intellectuel acadien. Avocat, fonctionnaire, écrivain et sénateur, il s'est distingué par son intelligence, son patriotisme et sa forte personnalité.

Pascal Poirier a fait des études classiques au Collège Saint-Joseph de Memramcook. Il a grandement été influencé par le fondateur et directeur de l'établissement, le père Camille Lefebvre. En 1872, le père Lefebvre a recommandé Pascal Poirier au premier ministre John A. Macdonald, qui souhaitait nommer un Acadien à un poste de la fonction publique fédérale. En 1885, à l'âge de trente-trois ans, Pascal Poirier est devenu le premier sénateur acadien. Il a occupé cette fonction jusqu'à sa mort en 1933.

Pascal Poirier a été de toutes les luttes acadiennes. Il a notamment été l'un des principaux organisateurs de la première Convention nationale des Acadiens, qui s'est déroulé à Memramcook en 1881, et il s'est battu jusqu'en 1912 pour la nomination d'un premier évêque acadien.

Louis J. Robichaud

Le 27 juin 1960, le Nouveau-Brunswick a élu premier ministre l'avocat acadien Louis J. Robichaud. Le programme électoral de Robichaud, animé par la notion de « chances égales pour tous », prévoyait de nombreuses réformes sociales et c'est ce qui lui a permis de remporter la victoire. Robichaud est devenu ainsi le premier Acadien à être élu premier ministre du Nouveau-Brunswick. Il a occupé cette fonction jusqu'en 1970.

Très peu de temps après son arrivée au pouvoir, Louis J. Robichaud a ordonné la création d'une Commission royale d'enquête sur l'enseignement supérieur. La commission Deutsch a recommandé la création de l'Université de Moncton, qui a ouvert ses portes en 1963. En 1969, le gouvernement Robichaud a fait adopter la Loi sur les langues officielles, faisant du Nouveau-Brunswick la seule province officiellement bilingue du Canada. En pratique, cette loi signifie que les francophones ont maintenant le droit d'obtenir des services dans leur langue maternelle devant les tribunaux et dans l'administration publique provinciale.


© 2006, Direction du patrimoine, Province du Nouveau-Brunswick. Tous droits réservés.

Objectifs d'apprentissage

Les apprenants seront en mesure de comprendre le rôle qu’ont joué Pierre Amand Landry, Pascal Poirier et Louis J. Robichaud dans la promotion des droits des Acadiens.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons