In 1960 the government of Louis-J. Robichaud set up a commission of inquiry into higher education in response to demands from French-language institutions of higher learning in New Brunswick. The commission's recommendations were favourable to the Acadian community.

The commission recognized that New Brunswick had a large enough French-speaking population to justify the founding of a modern university.

On June 19, 1963, the Université de Moncton was established on the foundations of existing French universities, which agreed to dissolve their university charters and become colleges affiliated with the new university. Some of those institutions were the Université Saint-Joseph in Memramcook, the Université Sacré-Coeur in Bathurst, with which Collège Jésus-Marie in Shippagan was affiliated, and the Université Saint-Louis in Edmundston, with which Collège Maillet in St. Basile was affiliated.

The role of the new university would be crucial to the survival and development of the Acadian language and culture in the Maritimes.



In 1960 the government of Louis-J. Robichaud set up a commission of inquiry into higher education in response to demands from French-language institutions of higher learning in New Brunswick. The commission's recommendations were favourable to the Acadian community.

The commission recognized that New Brunswick had a large enough French-speaking population to justify the founding of a modern university.

On June 19, 1963, the Université de Moncton was established on the foundations of existing French universities, which agreed to dissolve their university charters and become colleges affiliated with the new university. Some of those institutions were the Université Saint-Joseph in Memramcook, the Université Sacré-Coeur in Bathurst, with which Collège Jésus-Marie in Shippagan was affiliated, and the Université Saint-Louis in Edmundston, with which Collège Maillet in St. Basile was affiliated.

The role of the new university would be crucial to the survival and development of the Acadian language and culture in the Maritimes.


© 2006, Heritage Branch Province of New Brunswick. All Rights Reserved.

Learning Objectives

Learners will understand the importance of the creation of the University of Moncton to the aspirations of Acadians.

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Le gouvernement de Louis-J. Robichaud institue en 1960 une commission d'enquête sur l'enseignement supérieur, répondant ainsi aux demandes des établissements d'enseignement supérieur de langue française du Nouveau-Brunswick. Les recommandations de cette commission seront favorables à la communauté acadienne.

En effet, la commission reconnaît que le nombre de francophones au Nouveau-Brunswick est suffisamment élevé pour justifier l'établissement d'une université moderne.

Le 19 juin 1963, l'Université de Moncton est donc créée à partir des institutions universitaires de langue française existantes qui acceptent de dissoudre leur charte universitaire pour devenir des collèges affiliés à la nouvelle université. Parmi ces institutions figurent l'Université Saint-Joseph de Memramcook, l'Université Sacré-Coeur de Bathurst, à laquelle est affilié le Collège Jésus-Marie de Shippagan, et l'Université Saint-Louis d'Edmundston, à laquel Pour en lire plus


Le gouvernement de Louis-J. Robichaud institue en 1960 une commission d'enquête sur l'enseignement supérieur, répondant ainsi aux demandes des établissements d'enseignement supérieur de langue française du Nouveau-Brunswick. Les recommandations de cette commission seront favorables à la communauté acadienne.

En effet, la commission reconnaît que le nombre de francophones au Nouveau-Brunswick est suffisamment élevé pour justifier l'établissement d'une université moderne.

Le 19 juin 1963, l'Université de Moncton est donc créée à partir des institutions universitaires de langue française existantes qui acceptent de dissoudre leur charte universitaire pour devenir des collèges affiliés à la nouvelle université. Parmi ces institutions figurent l'Université Saint-Joseph de Memramcook, l'Université Sacré-Coeur de Bathurst, à laquelle est affilié le Collège Jésus-Marie de Shippagan, et l'Université Saint-Louis d'Edmundston, à laquelle est affilié le Collège Maillet de Saint-Basile.

Le rôle de la nouvelle université sera déterminant dans la survie et l'épanouissement de la langue et de la culture des Acadiens des provinces Maritimes.


© 2006, Direction du patrimoine, Province du Nouveau-Brunswick. Tous droits réservés.

Objectifs d'apprentissage

Les apprenants seront en mesure de comprendre l’importance de l’établissement de l’Université de Moncton en ce qui a trait aux aspirations des Acadiens.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons