Geology and topographical maps of New Brunswick illustrating rock formations and rock types

There is a lot to see on a map of New Brunswick geology. Over the last billion years fragments of continents have collided with the edge of ancient North America creating a complex geologic landscape. Ancient oceans, volcanic islands, mountains, rivers, swamps and glaciers have all left their geological imprint. A satellite image of New Brunswick clearly shows the underlying geological structure.

New Brunswick Museum
New Brunswick Museum

© 2012, New Brunswick Museum. All Rights Reserved.


Colour image illustrating geologic time with colour bands

The geologic time scale is a tool used to understand events that occurred during Earth history and the relationships between them. It has developed over more than a century as a system of names that help geologists relate the formation of rocks to time, and it organizes Earth’s geologic history based largely on events in the evolution of the planet and life.

New Brunswick Museum
New Brunswick Museum

© 2012, New Brunswick Museum. All Rights Reserved.


Colour image of gray rock with light gray circles

Stromatolite: Archaeozoon acadiense Matthew, Precambrian, Green Head, Saint John, New Brunswick, Collector: W. Murdoch, 1890. Stromatolite collected by William Murdoch. The structures built by successive mats of cyanobacteria and layers of sediment are easily seen. These stromatolites were built as ‘cabbage-shaped’ mounds in the shallow ocean.

Collector: W. Murdoch, 1890
New Brunswick Museum
1890
Saint John, New Brunswick, CANADA
Image width 124 cm
NBMG 3200
© 2012, New Brunswick Museum. All Rights Reserved.


Colour image of fossilized animal with hard shell stripes

Trilobite: Solenopleura acadica Whiteaves, Cambrian, Porter Brook, New Brunswick, Collector: G.F. Matthew, c. 1880. Trilobites were part of an ‘Explosion of Life’ in the Middle Cambrian Period. During this time most of the major groups of animals that now exist first appeared.

Collector: G.F. Matthew
New Brunswick Museum
c. 1880
Trilobite length 2.5 cm
NBMG 6041
© 2012, New Brunswick Museum. All Rights Reserved.


Colour image of gray rock with semi-circular bands of lighter gray

Folded Ore Zone: pyrite, galena, sphalerite and chalcopyrite, Ordovician, Brunswick Mines, New Brunswick, Collector: D. Bachinski. Typical "ore" from Brunswick No. 12 includes layers of pyrite and galena-sphalerite with small amounts of chalcopyrite.

Collector: D. Bachinski
New Brunswick Museum

Slab length 66 cm
NBME 1185
© 2012, New Brunswick Museum. All Rights Reserved.


Colour image of rock with brown fossilized shell

Brachiopod: Ancillotoechia Havlicek, Silurian, Central Greenwich, New Brunswick, Collector: R.A. Porter, c. 1970. Brachiopod fossils can be common in the Silurian rocks and have a fossil record back to the Cambrian Period. Brachiopods still exist today although most people are unfamiliar with them. They resemble clams in having two shells or valves that surround the body.

Collector: R.A. Porter
New Brunswick Museum
c. 1970
Central Greenwich, New Brunswick, CANADA
Specimen width 1.5 cm
NBMG 9081
© 2012, New Brunswick Museum. All Rights Reserved.


Colour image of fossilized fish tooth

Fish: Protodus jexi Woodward, Devonian, Campbellton, New Brunswick, Collector: R.F. Miller, 2001. The shark known as Protodus jexi is known only from fossil teeth. The tooth shape is triangular, with a shallow groove down the side.

Collector: R.F. Miller
New Brunswick Museum
2001
Campbellton, New Brunswick, CANADA
Image width 7 mm
NBMG 11983
© 2012, New Brunswick Museum. All Rights Reserved.


Colour image of black rock with high level of sheen

Albertite, Lower Carboniferous, Albert Mines, New Brunswick, Collector: unknown.

Collector: Unknown
New Brunswick Museum

Albert Mines, New Brunswick, CANADA
Specimen width 14 cm
NBME 1133
© 2012, New Brunswick Museum. All Rights Reserved.


Colour image of fossilized horizontal fern

Plant: Eusphenopteris (Gothan) Simson-Scharold, Upper Carboniferous, Clifton, New Brunswick, Collector: R.F. Miller and J. McGovern, 1997. The Clifton Formation has produced a rich assemblage of plants typical of the Upper Carboniferous Period.

Collectors: J. McGovern and R.F. Miller
New Brunswick Museum
1997
Image width 5.5 cm
NBMG 10254
© 2012, New Brunswick Museum. All Rights Reserved.


Colour photograph of red rock with vertical striping

photograph: View of the Honeycomb Point Formation, Honeycomb Point, St. Martins, New Brunswick, 2005. The Triassic age Honeycomb Point Formation is alluvial fan sequence composed of two rock types, conglomerate sandstone that coarsens upward to pebbly sandstone.

New Brunswick Museum
New Brunswick Museum
2005
Quaco, New Brunswick, CANADA
© 2012, New Brunswick Museum. All Rights Reserved.


Colour image of fossilized plant

Plant: Araucarioxylon, Cretaceous, Vinegar Hill, New Brunswick, Collector: Atlantic Silica Inc. Araucarioxylon, related to the modern monkey-puzzle tree, is New Brunswick’s only Cretaceous age macrofossil. Microfossil spores have been found here as well. The sand and gravel may still yield new fossil discoveries.

Collector: Atlantic Silica Inc.
New Brunswick Museum

Vinegar Hill, New Brunswick, CANADA
Specimen width 28 cm
NBMG 14481
© 2012, New Brunswick Museum. All Rights Reserved.


Colour image of skeletal head and tusks

American mastodon: Mammut americanum (Kerr), Neogene, Hillsborough, New Brunswick, Collector: C. Osman, 1936. Mastodons once roamed the boreal forests of North America. The last of their kind became extinct about 10,000 years ago. Only a few mastodon fossils have been found in the Maritimes. In 1936 the ‘Hillsborough Mastodon’ was found in eastern New Brunswick. This animal likely lived more than 75,000 years ago during the last interglacial, the time between ice ages.

Collector: C. Osman
New Brunswick Museum
1936
Hillsborough, New Brunswick, CANADA
Reconstruction
© 2012, New Brunswick Museum. All Rights Reserved.


Dr. Randall Miller discusses the St. Martins Sea Caves

Dr. Randall Miller Research Curator, Geology and Palaeontology New Brunswick Museum

The sea caves at St. Martins are formed in the Triassic Honeycomb Point Formation. These rocks are about 250 million years old. They’re overlain by the bouldery conglomerate of the Quaco Formation. Both these sediments were laid down in rivers and alluvial fans into a rift valley that was part of the opening of the Atlantic Ocean.

New Brunswick Museum
New Brunswick Museum
2012
St. Martins, New Brunswick, CANADA
© 2013, New Brunswick Museum. All Rights Reserved.


Learning Objectives

Curriculum Outcomes:
  • Understand the origin and diversity of rocks.
  • Identify and explain the origin of selected local landforms.

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Cartes géologiques et topographiques du Nouveau-Brunswick illustrant des formations rocheuses et des types de roches

Les cartes de la géologie du Nouveau-Brunswick sont des mines d’information. Au cours du dernier milliard d’années, des fragments de continents ont heurté le bord de l’ancienne Amérique du Nord, ce qui a créé un paysage géologique complexe. Les océans, les îles volcaniques, les montagnes, les cours d’eau, les marais et les glaciers anciens ont tous laissé leur empreinte géologique. Une image-satellite du Nouveau-Brunswick montre clairement la structure géologique sous-jacente.

Musée du Nouveau-Brunswick
Musée du Nouveau-Brunswick

© 2012, Musée du Nouveau-Brunswick. Tous droits réservés.


Image couleur représentant les temps géologiques à l’aide de bandes colorées

L’échelle de temps géologique est un instrument utilisé pour comprendre les événements qui se sont produits dans l’histoire de la Terre et leurs relations réciproques. Plus d’un siècle après sa création, elle est aujourd’hui un système de noms qui aide les géologues à situer la formation des roches dans le temps et qui organise l’histoire géologique de la Terre essentiellement sur la base des événements qui ont jalonné l’évolution de la planète et de la vie.

Musée du Nouveau-Brunswick
Musée du Nouveau-Brunswick

© 2012, Musée du Nouveau-Brunswick. Tous droits réservés.


Image couleur de roche grise avec cercles gris clair

Stromatolite : Archaeozoon acadiense Matthew, Précambrien, Green Head, Saint John, Nouveau-Brunswick, Collecteur : W. Murdoch, 1890. Cette plaque de stromatolites a été recueillie en 1890 par William Murdoch et présentée la même année à la Société d’histoire naturelle du Nouveau-Brunswick. Les structures de stromatolites sont formées par des cyanobactéries. Il s’agit des structures fossiles les plus courantes dans les roches du Précambrien.

Collecteur : W. Murdoch, 1890
Musée du Nouveau-Brunswick
1890
Saint John, Nouveau-Brunswick, CANADA
Largeur du spécimen : 124 cm
NBMG 3200
© 2012, Musée du Nouveau-Brunswick. Tous droits réservés.


Image couleur d'animal fossilisé avec stries de coquille

Trilobite : Solenopleura acadica Whiteaves, Cambrien, Porter Brook, Nouveau-Brunswick, Collecteur : G.F. Matthew, v. 1880. Les trilobites ont participé à « l’explosion de la vie » qui s’est produite au Cambrien moyen. La plupart des grands groupes d’animaux qui existent aujourd’hui ont fait leur apparition à cette époque.

Collecteur : G.F. Matthew
Musée du Nouveau-Brunswick
vers 1880
Longueur du trilobite : 2,5 cm
NBMG 6041
© 2012, Musée du Nouveau-Brunswick. Tous droits réservés.


Image couleur de roche grise avec bandes semi-circulaires gris clair

Zone minéralisée plissée : pyrite, galène, sphalérite et chalcopyrite, Ordovicien, Brunswick Mines, Nouveau-Brunswick, Collecteur : D. Bachinski. Le « minerai » typique de Brunswick no 12 comprend des couches de pyrite et de galène-sphalérite avec de petites quantités de chalcopyrite.

Collecteur : D. Bachinski
Musée du Nouveau-Brunswick

Longueur de la plaque : 66 cm
NBME 1185
© 2012, Musée du Nouveau-Brunswick. Tous droits réservés.


Image couleur de roche avec coquillage fossilisé de couleur brune

Brachiopode : Ancillotoechia Havlicek, Silurien, Central Greenwich, Nouveau-Brunswick, Collecteur : R.A. Porter, v. 1970. Les fossiles de brachiopodes peuvent être abondants dans les roches du Silurien et se rencontrent jusqu’au Cambrien. Les brachiopodes existent encore aujourd’hui, même s’ils ne sont pas très connus. Ils ressemblent aux palourdes; leur organisme est entouré de deux coquilles ou valves.

Collecteur : R.A. Porter
Musée du Nouveau-Brunswick
vers 1970
Nouveau-Brunswick, CANADA
Largeur du spécimen : 1,5 cm
NBMG 9081
© 2012, Musée du Nouveau-Brunswick. Tous droits réservés.


Image couleur de dent de poisson fossilisée

Poisson : Protodus jexi Woodward, Dévonien, Campbellton, Nouveau-Brunswick, Collecteur : R.F. Miller, 2001. On ne connaît le requin Protodus jexi que grâce à des dents fossiles. La dent a une forme triangulaire, avec un sillon superficiel sur le côté.

Collecteur : R.F. Miller
Musée du Nouveau-Brunswick
2001
Campbellton, Nouveau-Brunswick, CANADA
Largeur de l’image : 7 mm
NBMG 11983
© 2012, Musée du Nouveau-Brunswick. Tous droits réservés.


Image couleur de roche noire très irisée

Albertite, Carbonifère inférieur, Albert Mines, Nouveau-Brunswick, Collecteur : Inconnu

Collecteur : Inconnu
Musée du Nouveau-Brunswick

Albert Mines, Nouveau-Brunswick, CANADA
Longueur du spécimen : 14 cm
NBME 1133
© 2012, Musée du Nouveau-Brunswick. Tous droits réservés.


Image couleur de fougère horizontale fossilisée

Plante : Eusphenopteris (Gothan) Simson-Scharold, Carbonifère supérieur Clifton, Nouveau-Brunswick, Collecteurs : R.F. Miller et J. McGovern, 1997. La formation de Clifton a produit un riche assemblage de plantes typiques du Carbonifère supérieur.

Collecteurs : R.F. Miller et J. McGovern
Musée du Nouveau-Brunswick
1997
Largeur de l’image : 5,5 cm
NBMG 10254
© 2012, Musée du Nouveau-Brunswick. Tous droits réservés.


Photographie couleur de roche rouge avec rayures verticales

photographie : Vue de la formation de Honeycomb Point, Honeycomb Point, St. Martins, Nouveau-Brunswick, 2005. La formation de Honeycomb Point (Trias) est une suite de cônes alluviaux composée de deux types de roches : du conglomérat interlité avec du grès dont la granocroissance vers le haut passe au grès caillouteux.

Musée du Nouveau-Brunswick
Musée du Nouveau-Brunswick
2005
Quaco, Nouveau-Brunswick, CANADA
© 2012, Musée du Nouveau-Brunswick. Tous droits réservés.


Image couleur de plante fossilisée

Plante : Araucarioxylon, Crétacé, Vinegar Hill, Nouveau-Brunswick, Collecteur : Atlantic Silica Inc. Au Nouveau-Brunswick, Araucarioxylon, parent de l’actuel désespoir des singes, est le seul macrofossile du Crétacé. On a trouvé également des microfossiles de spores. Le sable et le gravier pourraient encore livrer de nouveaux fossiles.

Collecteur : Atlantic Silica Inc.
Musée du Nouveau-Brunswick

Vinegar Hill, Nouveau-Brunswick, CANADA
Largeur du spécimen : 28 cm
NBMG 14481
© 2012, Musée du Nouveau-Brunswick. Tous droits réservés.


Image couleur d’un crâne et de défenses

Mastodonte d’Amérique : Mammut americanum (Kerr), Néogène, Hillsborough, Nouveau-Brunswick, Collecteur : C. Osman, 1936. Les mastodontes parcouraient jadis les forêts boréales de l’Amérique du Nord. Ils se sont éteints il y a une dizaine de milliers d’années. On n’en a trouvé que quelques fossiles dans les Maritimes. En 1936, le « mastodonte de Hillsborough » a été découvert dans l’est du Nouveau-Brunswick. Cet animal a probablement vécu il y a plus de 75 000 ans, au dernier interglaciaire.

Collecteur : C. Osman
Musée du Nouveau-Brunswick
1936
Hillsborough, Nouveau-Brunswick, CANADA
reconstitution
© 2012, Musée du Nouveau-Brunswick. Tous droits réservés.


Randall Miller, Ph. D. discute le grottes marine de St. Martins

Randall Miller, Ph. D. Conservateur de recherche – Géologie et paléontologie Musée du Nouveau-Brunswick

Les grottes marines de St. Martins se trouvent dans la formation triasique de Honeycomb Point. Ces roches ont environ 250 millions d’années. Elles sont recouvertes par le conglomérat à galets de la formation de Quaco. Ces deux sédiments se sont déposés dans des cours d’eau et des cônes alluviaux dans un fossé d’effondrement associé à la formation de l’océan Atlantique.

Musée du Nouveau-Brunswick
Musée du Nouveau-Brunswick
2012
St. Martins, Nouveau-Brunswick, CANADA
© 2013, Musée du Nouveau-Brunswick. Tous droits réservés.


Objectifs d'apprentissage

Résultats d’apprentissage :
  • Comprendre l’origine et la diversité des roches.
  • Déterminer et expliquer l’origine de reliefs régionaux en particulier.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons