Section One: Project/Lesson Overview

Grade: 10

Subject: Broad Based Technology

Lesson Title: Design Your Own Natural Science Museum

Lesson Description:. Students will use free software (Google Sketchup) and resources from the “Magnificent Rocks” virtual exhibit to design their own virtual natural history museum.

Time Required: 5 x 60 minute classes

Curriculum Outcomes:
Students will be expected to create alternate representations, such as computer animations and physical models Students will be expected to develop (prototype, fabricate, make) technological solutions to problems Section Two: Project/Lesson Implementation

Equipment/Materials Required:
- Computer Lab
- Google Sketchup
- Internet Access

Lesson Procedures/Teaching Strategies:
Ensure that Google Sketchup is installed on the computers being used for this project. It is available for free at http://sketchup.google.com/intl/en/download/gsu.html Have students find a floor plan to use for their museum. They can acc Read More
Section One: Project/Lesson Overview

Grade: 10

Subject: Broad Based Technology

Lesson Title: Design Your Own Natural Science Museum

Lesson Description:. Students will use free software (Google Sketchup) and resources from the “Magnificent Rocks” virtual exhibit to design their own virtual natural history museum.

Time Required: 5 x 60 minute classes

Curriculum Outcomes:
  • Students will be expected to create alternate representations, such as computer animations and physical models
  • Students will be expected to develop (prototype, fabricate, make) technological solutions to problems
Section Two: Project/Lesson Implementation

Equipment/Materials Required:
- Computer Lab
- Google Sketchup
- Internet Access

Lesson Procedures/Teaching Strategies:
  1. Ensure that Google Sketchup is installed on the computers being used for this project. It is available for free at http://sketchup.google.com/intl/en/download/gsu.html
  2. Have students find a floor plan to use for their museum. They can accomplish this by doing an image search for floor plans. a. The floor plan does not need to be of an actual museum. b. Students should choose a building that is a single level, or choose one floor of a multi-floor building. c. They should choose a floor plan with dimensions written on it.
  3. Alternative: Students can design their own floor plan using Paint, GIMP, or other software.
  4. Once the students have found a floor plan (or designed their own), they will need to import it into Sketchup. a. Click on File->Import and choose your floor plan. b. Attach it to the origin, it should lock into place. c. Do not worry about the scale.
  5. Scale the image. a. Change the camera angle to the top view by clicking on Camera -> Standard Views -> Top b. Find a known dimension on the floor plan. c. Click on the tape measure icon d. Use the tape measure to measure one of the walls. e. Type the actual dimensions from the floor plan. f. You will be given the option to resize the image, select yes.
  6. Create walls a. Use the “Line Tool” to draw all the way around the walls on the floor plan. b. Draw around the inside and the outside of the walls. c. Select the “Push/Pull” tool. d. Pull the walls upward.
  7. Paint the walls and floors a. Use the “Paint Bucket” tool to colour the walls and floors.
  8. Add furniture to the exhibits. a. Choose File ->3D Warehouse -> Get models b. Search for furniture that will match your museum.
  9. Create your exhibits. a. Go to the Magnificent Rocks section from the New Brunswick Museum website, www.nbm-mnb.ca/magnificentrocks b. Assign different geological time periods to different rooms in your museum. c. Save images from the website and import them into your museum the same way you did with the original floor plan. d. Place photos on the walls and into the 3D display cases that you have downloaded. e. Use Paint or other image editing software to create placards with information about the exhibits. Import them into Sketchup and place them with the corresponding photos.
Section Three: Project/Lesson Resources
Supplementary Resources:
www.nbm-mnb.ca/magnificentrocks
http://sketchup.google.com/intl/en/download/gsu.html

Disclaimer: The recommended web-resources included here have been scrutinized for their grade and age appropriateness; however, contents on links on the Internet change continuously. It is advisable that teachers preview all links before recommending them to students.

________________________________________

Section Four: Additional Information

Credits: Trevor Nason, Harrison Trimble High School, Moncton, New Brunswick

© 2013, New Brunswick Museum. All Rights Reserved.

Learning Objectives

Curriculum Outcomes:
  • Students will be expected to create alternate representations, such as computer animations and physical models
  • Students will be expected to develop (prototype, fabricate, make) technological solutions to problems

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Première section : Vue d’ensemble du projet ou de la leçon

Niveau : 10e année

Matière : Technologie générale

Titre de la leçon : Création d’un musée des sciences naturelles

Description de la leçon : Les élèves se serviront de logiciels gratuits (Google Sketchup) et des ressources de l’exposition virtuelle Roches magnifiques pour concevoir leur propre musée virtuel de sciences naturelles.

Temps nécessaire : Cinq périodes de 60 minutes

Résultats d’apprentissage :
Les élèves devront créer d’autres représentations telles que des animations par ordinateur et des maquettes. Les élèves devront élaborer (inventer, faire le modèle, concevoir) des solutions technologiques aux problèmes. Deuxième section : Mise en œuvre du projet ou de la leçon

Équipement et fournitures nécessaires :

- Laboratoire d’informatique
- Google Sketchup
- Accès à Internet

Organisation de la leçon et stratégies d’enseignement :
Google Sketchup doit être installé sur les ordinateurs qui so Pour en lire plus
Première section : Vue d’ensemble du projet ou de la leçon

Niveau : 10e année

Matière : Technologie générale

Titre de la leçon : Création d’un musée des sciences naturelles

Description de la leçon : Les élèves se serviront de logiciels gratuits (Google Sketchup) et des ressources de l’exposition virtuelle Roches magnifiques pour concevoir leur propre musée virtuel de sciences naturelles.

Temps nécessaire : Cinq périodes de 60 minutes

Résultats d’apprentissage :
  • Les élèves devront créer d’autres représentations telles que des animations par ordinateur et des maquettes.
  • Les élèves devront élaborer (inventer, faire le modèle, concevoir) des solutions technologiques aux problèmes.
Deuxième section : Mise en œuvre du projet ou de la leçon

Équipement et fournitures nécessaires :

- Laboratoire d’informatique
- Google Sketchup
- Accès à Internet

Organisation de la leçon et stratégies d’enseignement :
  1. Google Sketchup doit être installé sur les ordinateurs qui sont utilisés pour le projet. Ce logiciel peut être téléchargé gratuitement à http://sketchup.google.com/intl/en/download/gsu.html.
  2. Les élèves doivent trouver un plan d’étage pour leur musée. Pour ce faire, ils peuvent faire une recherche d’image de plan d’étage. a. Il n’est pas nécessaire que le plan d’étage soit celui d’un vrai musée. b. Les élèves doivent choisir un bâtiment d’un étage ou choisir un étage d’un bâtiment en comprenant plusieurs. c. Les dimensions doivent être écrites sur le plan d’étage.
  3. Autre possibilité : Les élèves peuvent concevoir leur propre plan d’étage à l’aide de Paint, GIMP ou d’un autre logiciel.
  4. Après avoir trouvé un plan d’étage (ou conçu le leur), les élèves devront l’importer dans Sketchup. a. Cliquer sur Fichier ->Importer et choisir le plan d’étage. b. L’attacher à l’origine pour qu’il se mette en place.c. Ne pas se préoccuper de l’échelle.
  5. Redimensionnement de l’image. a. Changer l’angle de prise de vue pour « vue du dessus » en cliquant sur Caméra -> Vues standard -> Dessus b. Trouver une dimension connue sur le plan d’étage. c. Cliquer sur l’icône Outil Mètre. d. Mesurer un des murs à l’aide de cet outil. e. Saisir les dimensions réelles du plan d’étage. f. Cliquer sur « oui » pour redimensionner l’image.
  6. Créer les murs. a. À l’aide de l’outil Sélectionner, encercler les murs du plan d’étage. b. Encercler l’intérieur et l’extérieur des murs. c. Cliquer sur l’icône Pousser/Tirer. d. Tirez les murs vers le haut.
  7. Peindre les murs et les planchers. a. À l’aide de l’icône Colorier, peindre les murs et les planchers.
  8. Ajouter des meubles.a. Sélectionner Fichier ->Banque d’images 3D -> Télécharger des modèles b. Trouver des meubles qui conviendront au musée.
  9. Créer des expositions. a. Aller à la section Roches Magnifiques du site web du Musée du Nouveau-Brunswick, www.nbm-mnb.ca/magnificentrocks. b. Attribuer différentes périodes géologiques aux différentes salles du musée. c. Sauvegarder des images du site web et les importer dans le musée de la même manière que pour le plan d’étage original. d. Placer des photos sur les murs et dans les vitrines 3D téléchargées. e. À l’aide de Paint ou d’un autre logiciel de retouche d’images, créer des affiches contenant de l’information sur les expositions. Les importer dans Sketchup et les placer avec les photos correspondantes.
Stratégies d’évaluation suggérées :

Grille

Troisième section : Ressources du projet ou de la leçon

Ressources supplémentaires :

www.nbm-mnb.ca/magnificentrocks
http://sketchup.google.com/intl/en/download/gsu.html

Avertissement : La pertinence des ressources en ligne recommandées dans le présent document a été vérifiée quant à l’âge et au niveau scolaire des élèves. Toutefois, le contenu des ressources en ligne étant susceptible de changer à tout moment, il serait prudent que les enseignants consultent celles-ci avant de les recommander à leurs élèves.
________________________________________
Quatrième section : Renseignements additionnels

Mention de source : Trevor Nason, Harrison Trimble High School, Moncton (Nouveau-Brunswick)

© 2013, Musée du Nouveau-Brunswick. Tous droits réservés.

Objectifs d'apprentissage

Résultats d’apprentissage :
  • Les élèves devront créer d’autres représentations telles que des animations par ordinateur et des maquettes.
  • Les élèves devront élaborer (inventer, faire le modèle, concevoir) des solutions technologiques aux problèmes.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons