Section One: Project/Lesson Overview

Grade: 9

Subject: Social Studies

Lesson Title: Mining in New Brunswick

Lesson Description:. Students will explore the history of various communities and gain an understanding of the social, environmental/geographic and economic impact of the mining industry on New Brunswick and Canada and its relationship to the creation of Canadian identity.

Time Required: 5 x 60 minute classes

Curriculum Outcomes:
demonstrate an understanding of the basic features of Canada’s landscape and climate: identify and locate major landforms of Canada, explain the creation and characteristics of mountains and plains, describe and account for the variation in physical landscape across Canada analyze the effects of selected geographic factors on Canadian identity: describe where Canadians live and explain why communities are established and grow in particular locations, account for the variations in growth of settlements due to physical and human factors Section Two: Project/Lesson Implementation

Equipment/Materials Required: Access Read More
Section One: Project/Lesson Overview

Grade: 9

Subject: Social Studies

Lesson Title: Mining in New Brunswick

Lesson Description:. Students will explore the history of various communities and gain an understanding of the social, environmental/geographic and economic impact of the mining industry on New Brunswick and Canada and its relationship to the creation of Canadian identity.

Time Required: 5 x 60 minute classes

Curriculum Outcomes:
  • demonstrate an understanding of the basic features of Canada’s landscape and climate: identify and locate major landforms of Canada, explain the creation and characteristics of mountains and plains, describe and account for the variation in physical landscape across Canada
  • analyze the effects of selected geographic factors on Canadian identity: describe where Canadians live and explain why communities are established and grow in particular locations, account for the variations in growth of settlements due to physical and human factors
Section Two: Project/Lesson Implementation

Equipment/Materials Required: Access to Magnificent Rocks Learning Object content. Scanner, digital camera, computer, Powerpoint or similar presentation software, projector, screens. Markers, pens, large sheets of paper for map preparation and/or large map of New Brunswick. Storyboards. Access to internet.

Lesson Procedures/ Teaching Strategies:
  1. Discuss the significance of the mining industry to New Brunswick and Canada. Where are current mines? What are the minerals? How are the minerals formed? How are minerals discovered? Who makes the discoveries? Why mine? What are the uses? What are the markets? What is the impact of a mine on a community? What is the impact of a mine on the landscape? How has the mining industry shaped the culture and economy as part of Canadian identity?
  2. Have students explore the Magnificent Rocks virtual exhibition, particularly the Community Connections sections of each geological period to identify NB mines and communities.
  3. Create a map of New Brunswick with historical and contemporary mining communities highlighted on the map. Also highlight the people involved in discovery, development or operations.
  4. Have students choose a community and mine and do further research
  5. Have students prepare a written essay about the history of mining and their chosen community (500-750 words)
  6. Have students prepare an oral presentation using the resources of the Magnificent Rocks virtual exhibition: photos, video, etc. and other supplemental resources. Students may download content for use in presentation software such as Powerpoint.
  7. Have students prepare a project/presentation for the NB Provincial Heritage Fair program based on their chosen community and mine. See Heritage Fair program for more details.
Suggested Assessment Strategies:

Grade will be determined by three assignments:
  1. Written essay on one community and its mining development (500-750 words)
  2. An oral presentation (3-5 minutes) by each student to class
  3. Storyboard project as part of the NB Provincial Heritage Fair program
Section Three: Project/Lesson Resources

Supplementary Resources:
www.nbm-mnb.ca/magnificentrocks
http://www.gnb.ca/0131/HeritageFair/2013/Index-e.asp

Disclaimer: The recommended web-resources included here have been scrutinized for their grade and age appropriateness; however, contents on links on the Internet change continuously. It is advisable that teachers preview all links before recommending them to students.
________________________________________

Section Four: Additional Information

Credits: New Brunswick Museum, Saint John, New Brunswick

© 2013, New Brunswick Museum. All Rights Reserved.

Learning Objectives

Curriculum Outcomes:
  • demonstrate an understanding of the basic features of Canada’s landscape and climate: identify and locate major landforms of Canada, explain the creation and characteristics of mountains and plains, describe and account for the variation in physical landscape across Canada
  • analyze the effects of selected geographic factors on Canadian identity: describe where Canadians live and explain why communities are established and grow in particular locations, account for the variations in growth of settlements due to physical and human factors

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Première section : Vue d’ensemble du projet ou de la leçon

Niveau : 9e année

Matière : Sciences humaines

Titre de la leçon : Les mines au Nouveau-Brunswick

Description de la leçon : Les élèves exploreront l’histoire de diverses communautés pour acquérir une compréhension de l’effet social, environnemental, géographique et économique de l’industrie minière sur le Nouveau-Brunswick et le Canada et de sa relation avec la création de l’identité canadienne.

Temps nécessaire : Cinq périodes de 60 minutes

Résultats d’apprentissage :
Montrer une compréhension des caractéristiques essentielles du paysage et du climat du Canada : identifier et situer les principaux reliefs du Canada, expliquer la création et les caractéristiques des montagnes et des plaines, décrire et expliquer les variations d’un bout à l’autre du Canada. Analyser les effets de certains facteurs géographiques sur l’identité canadienne : décrire où vivent les Canadiens et expliquer pourquoi des communautés s’établissent et se développent à des endroits en p Pour en lire plus
Première section : Vue d’ensemble du projet ou de la leçon

Niveau : 9e année

Matière : Sciences humaines

Titre de la leçon : Les mines au Nouveau-Brunswick

Description de la leçon : Les élèves exploreront l’histoire de diverses communautés pour acquérir une compréhension de l’effet social, environnemental, géographique et économique de l’industrie minière sur le Nouveau-Brunswick et le Canada et de sa relation avec la création de l’identité canadienne.

Temps nécessaire : Cinq périodes de 60 minutes

Résultats d’apprentissage :
  • Montrer une compréhension des caractéristiques essentielles du paysage et du climat du Canada : identifier et situer les principaux reliefs du Canada, expliquer la création et les caractéristiques des montagnes et des plaines, décrire et expliquer les variations d’un bout à l’autre du Canada.
  • Analyser les effets de certains facteurs géographiques sur l’identité canadienne : décrire où vivent les Canadiens et expliquer pourquoi des communautés s’établissent et se développent à des endroits en particulier, en expliquer les variations de croissance dues à des facteurs physiques et humains.
Deuxième section : Mise en œuvre du projet ou de la leçon

Équipement et fournitures nécessaires : Accès au contenu de l’objet d’apprentissage Roches Magnifiques. Numériseur, appareil photo numérique, ordinateur, PowerPoint ou autre logiciel semblable de présentation, projecteur, écrans. Marqueurs, stylos, grandes feuilles de papier pour préparer des cartes et/ou grande carte du Nouveau-Brunswick. Babillard ou tableau. Accès à Internet.

Organisation de la leçon et stratégies d’enseignement :
  1. Discuter de l’importance de l’industrie minière pour le Nouveau-Brunswick et le Canada. Où sont les mines actuelles. Quels sont les minéraux? Comment les minéraux sont-ils formés. Comment sont-ils découverts? Qui fait ces découvertes? Pourquoi extraire du minerai? Quelles sont les utilisations? Quels sont les marchés? Quel est l’effet d’une mine sur une communauté? sur le paysage? Comment l’industrie minière a-t-elle façonné la culture et l’économie qui font partie de l’identité canadienne?
  2. Inviter les élèves à explorer l’exposition virtuelle Roches magnifiques, en particulier les sections Connexions communautaires de chaque période géologique, pour situer les mines et les communautés du Nouveau-Brunswick.
  3. Créer une carte du Nouveau-Brunswick et y mettre en évidence les communautés minières d’hier et d’aujourd’hui. Faire aussi ressortir les personnes qui ont participé à la découverte, au développement ou à l’exploitation.
  4. Demander aux élèves de choisir une communauté et une mine et d’approfondir la recherche sur ce sujet.
  5. Faire rédiger un essai sur l’histoire de la mine et de la communauté qu’ils ont choisie (500-750 mots).
  6. Demander aux élèves de préparer un exposé oral à l’aide des ressources d’apprentissage créées pour l’exposition virtuelle Roches magnifiques (photos, vidéo, etc.) et d’autres ressources. Les élèves peuvent télécharger du contenu qu’ils utiliseront dans un logiciel de présentation tel que PowerPoint.
  7. Faire préparer, par les élèves, un projet ou une présentation, pour le programme de la Fête du patrimoine du Nouveau-Brunswick, portant sur la communauté et la mine qu’ils ont choisies. Voir le programme de la Fête du patrimoine pour les précisions.
Stratégies d’évaluation suggérées :

La note sera déterminée par trois devoirs :
  1. Un essai écrit sur une communauté et son développement minier (500-750 mots)
  2. Un exposé oral (de 3 à 5 minutes) par chaque élève.
  3. Un projet de scénario en images dans le cadre du programme de la Fête du patrimoine du Nouveau-Brunswick.
Troisième section : Ressources du projet ou de la leçon

Ressources supplémentaires :
www.nbm-mnb.ca/magnificentrocks
http://www.gnb.ca/0131/HeritageFair/2013/Index-f.asp

Avertissement : La pertinence des ressources en ligne recommandées dans le présent document a été vérifiée quant à l’âge et au niveau scolaire des élèves. Toutefois, le contenu des ressources en ligne étant susceptible de changer à tout moment, il serait prudent que les enseignants consultent celles-ci avant de les recommander à leurs élèves.

________________________________________

Quatrième section : Renseignements additionnels

Mention de source : Musée du Nouveau-Brunswick, Saint John, Nouveau-Brunswick

© 2013, Musée du Nouveau-Brunswick. Tous droits réservés.

Objectifs d'apprentissage

Résultats d’apprentissage :
  • Montrer une compréhension des caractéristiques essentielles du paysage et du climat du Canada : identifier et situer les principaux reliefs du Canada, expliquer la création et les caractéristiques des montagnes et des plaines, décrire et expliquer les variations d’un bout à l’autre du Canada.
  • Analyser les effets de certains facteurs géographiques sur l’identité canadienne : décrire où vivent les Canadiens et expliquer pourquoi des communautés s’établissent et se développent à des endroits en particulier, en expliquer les variations de croissance dues à des facteurs physiques et humains.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons