Stand of European common reeds in the fall

The European common reed was introduced to Quebec around 1916. Enormous stands of this invasive plant rapidly took over vast territories, threatening the survival of native plants and reducing wildlife numbers and biodiversity in these wetland habitats.

Philippe Manning
2012-11-20
© 2013, Biophare. All Rights Reserved.


There are nearly 80 species of fish in Lake Saint-Pierre. The main species targeted for sport fishing are Walleye, Largemouth Bass, Northern Pike and Yellow Perch. However, a five-year moratorium on Yellow Perch has been in place since 2012 in Lake Saint-Pierre. This strict measure was necessary to protect this species from extirpation. It is hoped that Yellow Perch stocks will recover over the five-year period, but efforts will have to be made to improve water quality, which has declined significantly in recent years. Low water levels, climate change, agricultural practices that rely on heavy fertilizer use, sedimentation from the erosion of deforested shorelines, outdated water purification plants, and the introduction of invasive exotic species that compete with Yellow Perch for resources have all contributed to the steep decline in Yellow Perch stocks observed in Lake Saint-Pierre.

Once abundant in the Lake Saint-Pierre region, Yellow Perch stocks have declined dramatically due to a variety of factors, from habitat degradation to the introduction of the Round Goby, an invasive exotic species that competes with juvenile Yellow Perch for food. The Round Goby, which is Read More
There are nearly 80 species of fish in Lake Saint-Pierre. The main species targeted for sport fishing are Walleye, Largemouth Bass, Northern Pike and Yellow Perch. However, a five-year moratorium on Yellow Perch has been in place since 2012 in Lake Saint-Pierre. This strict measure was necessary to protect this species from extirpation. It is hoped that Yellow Perch stocks will recover over the five-year period, but efforts will have to be made to improve water quality, which has declined significantly in recent years. Low water levels, climate change, agricultural practices that rely on heavy fertilizer use, sedimentation from the erosion of deforested shorelines, outdated water purification plants, and the introduction of invasive exotic species that compete with Yellow Perch for resources have all contributed to the steep decline in Yellow Perch stocks observed in Lake Saint-Pierre.

Once abundant in the Lake Saint-Pierre region, Yellow Perch stocks have declined dramatically due to a variety of factors, from habitat degradation to the introduction of the Round Goby, an invasive exotic species that competes with juvenile Yellow Perch for food. The Round Goby, which is native to the Black Sea, was transported to Lake Saint-Pierre in ocean vessel ballast water. In 2012, a five-year moratorium was placed on Yellow Perch fishing in the archipelago, the lake and its main tributaries to protect the remaining stocks. Major changes will need to be implemented in various agricultural and industrial activities to improve water quality and restore Yellow Perch stocks to their former abundance in Lake Saint-Pierre.

© 2013, Biophare. All Rights Reserved.

White and yellow buoy indicating the speed limit in the Chenal de Île du Moine.

In the narrower channels, buoys are placed as a clear indication for boaters to slow down. This helps prevent shoreline erosion by reducing the effects of boat wakes.

Francine Ouellet
2012-08-04
© 2013, Biophare. All Rights Reserved.


A woman and a man ride a personal watercraft along a channel.

To protect the shorelines of the islands, boats need to slow down and avoid making large waves. Waves erode the soil along the shore, which is then swept downstream by the current. Islands gradually shrink as their upstream shoreline wears away. Erosion can be caused by currents and moving ice, but is intensified by navigation, deforestation and other human activities. Trees, shrubs, and aquatic plants help retain soil and reduce the impact of waves on the shoreline.

Mario Cloutier
2012-08-04
© 2013, Biophare. All Rights Reserved.


 Eroded shoreline of a channel

In the narrower channels, signs of shoreline erosion are omnipresent. This clearly demonstrates why boats need to slow down.

Mario Cloutier
2012-08-04
© 2013, Biophare. All Rights Reserved.


Two pleasure boats leaving large waves.

During weekends in July and August, the St. Lawrence and the channels of the Lake Saint-Pierre archipelago swarm with boats of all kinds. Such large numbers of boats further weaken the shorelines.

Mario Cloutier
2012-08-04
© 2013, Biophare. All Rights Reserved.


An imposing commercial vessel crosses paths with a pleasure boat on the St. Lawrence.

The shorelines of the islands along the St. Lawrence Seaway are the most affected by erosion. To remedy this, the shipping industry implemented a voluntary speed reduction in sensitive sections of the river in the year 2000.

Mario Cloutier
2012-08-04
© 2013, Biophare. All Rights Reserved.


Notice indicating a risk of explosions near Chenal Landroche.

Until 2000, the Department of National Defence used Lake Saint-Pierre as a firing range. Numerous shells still lie in the sediments south of the St. Lawrence Seaway, making this section of the lake unsafe for navigation. Specialists are working to remove the shells in order to prevent serious accidents that could result from an explosion.

Philippe Manning
2012-08-27
© 2013, Biophare. All Rights Reserved.


Soybean field near the Yamaska

Many rivers, such as the Yamaska, suffer heavy agricultural pollution. Large quantities of sediments loaded with pesticides and fertilizers from the vast fields of corn and soy cultivated in this region run off into the tributaries of Lake Saint-Pierre. Agricultural practices will have to change significantly in the near future to improve water quality in these rivers and prevent Lake Saint-Pierre from filling with sediments and disappearing.

Philippe Manning
2012-09-14
© 2013, Biophare. All Rights Reserved.


Learning Objectives

Educational objectives

  1. Assess the impact of human activities on the environment.
  2. Be able to suggest practices to ensure sustainable development.

Curricular connections

Connections will be established between the virtual exhibit The Human Side of Lake Saint-Pierre and the contents of educational programs: rational resource use for an equitable distribution of wealth; awareness of interdependence between the environment and human activity; citizenship and community life; knowledge related to the organization of a society in its territory.

Learning outcomes

Each team will be able to identify at least two consequences of a type of human activity on the environment.
A class discussion will allow students to draw up an overview of all activities practised in the region.
As a group, the class will propose environmentally respectful ways to practise these activities.

Measures taken to create a lesson plan based on the collection of learning objects

In teams, students will note the information they learn while consulting the sections on various types of human activities practised in the region.

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Colonie de phragmite commun à l'automne

Le phragmite commun a été introduit au Québec vers l'année 1916. Cette plante exotique a rapidement envahi les milieux humides en formant des colonies sur de vastes étendues. Cette occupation du territoire par le phragmite menace la survie des autres plantes ce qui entraîne une réduction du nombre et de la diversité des espèces animales vivant dans ces habitats.

Philippe Manning
2012 11 20
© 2013, Biophare. Tous droits réservés.


Au lac Saint-Pierre, on retrouve près de 80 espèces de poissons. Les principales espèces de poissons recherchées par les nombreux pêcheurs sont le doré, l’achigan, le brochet et la perchaude. Par contre, depuis 2012, il est interdit de pêcher la perchaude au lac Saint-Pierre, et ce, pour une durée de cinq ans. On a dû adopter cette mesure sévère pour empêcher que cette espèce de poisson ne disparaisse. On espère que la population va augmenter d’ici cinq ans, mais il faudra par contre améliorer la qualité de l’eau qui s’est fortement dégradée ces dernières années. La baisse du niveau de l’eau, le réchauffement climatique, les pratiques agricoles utilisant beaucoup de fertilisants, les apports de sédiments provenant de l’érosion des berges dénudées, les usines d’épuration d’eau désuètes, l’introduction d’espèces exotiques envahissantes utilisant les mêmes ressources semblent être autant de facteurs ayant contribué à la baisse inquiétante de la population de perchaudes au lac Saint-Pierre.

Autrefois abondante dans la région du lac Saint-Pierre, la perchaude a connu une baisse de population dramatique probablement Pour en lire plus
Au lac Saint-Pierre, on retrouve près de 80 espèces de poissons. Les principales espèces de poissons recherchées par les nombreux pêcheurs sont le doré, l’achigan, le brochet et la perchaude. Par contre, depuis 2012, il est interdit de pêcher la perchaude au lac Saint-Pierre, et ce, pour une durée de cinq ans. On a dû adopter cette mesure sévère pour empêcher que cette espèce de poisson ne disparaisse. On espère que la population va augmenter d’ici cinq ans, mais il faudra par contre améliorer la qualité de l’eau qui s’est fortement dégradée ces dernières années. La baisse du niveau de l’eau, le réchauffement climatique, les pratiques agricoles utilisant beaucoup de fertilisants, les apports de sédiments provenant de l’érosion des berges dénudées, les usines d’épuration d’eau désuètes, l’introduction d’espèces exotiques envahissantes utilisant les mêmes ressources semblent être autant de facteurs ayant contribué à la baisse inquiétante de la population de perchaudes au lac Saint-Pierre.

Autrefois abondante dans la région du lac Saint-Pierre, la perchaude a connu une baisse de population dramatique probablement à cause de multiples facteurs tels que la dégradation de l’habitat et l’introduction du gobie à taches noires, une espèce exotique envahissante utilisant la même nourriture que les jeunes perchaudes. Cette espèce de poisson provient de la mer Noire. Elle a fait son entrée au lac Saint-Pierre en étant transportée par les eaux de ballast des navires transocéaniques. Afin d’assurer la pérennité de la perchaude au lac Saint-Pierre, on a dû, en 2012, se résoudre à interdire la pêche à la perchaude pendant cinq ans dans l’archipel, le lac et ses principaux tributaires. Il faudra cependant apporter des changements importants dans la pratique de différentes activités dans les secteurs agricole et industriel pour améliorer la qualité de l’eau afin que le stock de perchaudes atteigne le même niveau d’abondance qu’autrefois au lac Saint-Pierre.

© 2013, Biophare. Tous droits réservés.

Bouée blanche et jaune indiquant la limite de vitesse dans le chenal de l'Île du Moine

Dans les chenaux plus étroits, des bouées indiquent clairement aux plaisanciers de réduire la vitesse de leur embarcation pour diminuer les vagues qui occasionnent l'érosion des berges.

Francine Ouellet
2012 08 04
© 2013, Biophare. Tous droits réservés.


Une femme et un homme se déplaçant en motomarine sur un chenal.

Pour protéger les berges des îles, on ralentit les bateaux car les grosses vagues arrachent le sol et l'entraînent avec le courant vers l'aval. Le retrait des berges en amont semble faire reculer les îles. L'érosion est causée par le mouvement des glaces et le courant, mais elle est accentuée par les activités humaines : la navigation et le déboisement. Les arbustes, les arbres et les plantes aquatiques retiennent la terre et réduisent l'impact des vagues sur les rives.

Mario Cloutier
2012 08 04
© 2013, Biophare. Tous droits réservés.


Berge ayant subi l'érosion en bordure d'un chenal.

En navigant dans les chenaux plus étroits, on constate un peu partout l'érosion marquée des berges. La nécessité de naviguer plus lentement s'y fait encore davantage sentir.

Mario Cloutier
2012 08 04
© 2013, Biophare. Tous droits réservés.


Deux bateaux de plaisance créant de fortes vagues.

Durant les fins de semaine des mois de juillet et août, un nombre impressionnant d'embarcations circulent sur le fleuve Saint-Laurent et dans les chenaux de l'archipel du lac Saint-Pierre. Cette affluence contribue à fragiliser les berges.

Mario Cloutier
2012 08 04
© 2013, Biophare. Tous droits réservés.


Navire commercial de taille imposante croisant un bateau de plaisance sur le fleuve Saint-Laurent.

Les zones les plus touchées par l'érosion sont les berges des îles bordant le chenal de navigation. C'est pour cette raison qu'en 2000 les pilotes du Saint-Laurent se sont imposé une mesure volontaire de ralentissement dans les tronçons sensibles du fleuve.

Mario Cloutier
2012 08 04
© 2013, Biophare. Tous droits réservés.


Affiche indiquant un danger d'explosion près du Chenal Landroche.

Jusqu'en 2000, la Défense nationale a utilisé le lac Saint-Pierre comme champ de tir. Des obus se trouvent ainsi dans les sédiments au sud du chenal de navigation empêchant l'accès en toute sécurité à cette section du lac. Des spécialistes travaillent en ce moment au retrait de ces obus pour éviter que des accidents graves dus aux explosions ne surviennent.

Philippe Manning
2012 08 27
© 2013, Biophare. Tous droits réservés.


Champ de soya près de la rivière Yamaska

Plusieurs rivières, dont la Yamaska, subissent une forte pression agricole. En effet, une quantité importante de sédiments chargés de pesticides et d'engrais, provenant des vastes champs de maïs et de soya, se retrouvent dans les affluents du lac Saint-Pierre. Dans un avenir rapproché, il sera essentiel d'adopter des changements majeurs dans la pratique de l'agriculture afin d'améliorer la qualité de l'eau de ces rivières pour éviter que le lac Saint-Pierre se remplisse et disparaisse.

Philippe Manning
2012 09 14
© 2013, Biophare. Tous droits réservés.


Objectifs d'apprentissage

Objectifs pédagogiques

  1. Évaluer les conséquences des actions humaines sur son milieu.
  2. Être capable de proposer des pratiques dans une perspective de développement durable.

Liens pédagogiques


Ils seront établis entre le contenu de l’exposition virtuelle L’humain au coeur du lac Saint-Pierre et les différents contenus des programmes de formation : l’utilisation responsable des ressources pour un partage équitable des richesses; la reconnaissance de l’interdépendance entre l’environnement et l’activité humaine; vivre ensemble et la citoyenneté; les connaissances liées à l’organisation d’une société sur son territoire.

Résultats pédagogiques

Chaque équipe sera en mesure d’identifier un minimum de deux conséquences de la pratique d’un type d’activité humaine sur l’environnement.
La mise en commun, en classe, permettra de dresser un portrait global de ce qui se passe sur le territoire pour l’ensemble des activités.
Proposer collectivement la façon de pratiquer les activités en respectant l’environnement.

Mesures prises pour créer le plan de cours à partir de la collection d’objets d’apprentissage

Les élèves notent en équipe les informations recueillies en consultant les sections traitant de la pratique de différentes activités sur le territoire.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons