In April 1865, an immense ice jam between Trois-Rivières and Québec raised water levels by more than five metres. The archipelago was almost completely submerged; nothing but water could be seen. This disastrous flood resulted in about 30 deaths, including 19 on Île de Grâce. Fifteen of the eighteen homes on the island were destroyed. A few years later, almost all of the homes on this island had been rebuilt.
In April 1865, an immense ice jam between Trois-Rivières and Québec raised water levels by more than five metres. The archipelago was almost completely submerged; nothing but water could be seen. This disastrous flood resulted in about 30 deaths, including 19 on Île de Grâce. Fifteen of the eighteen homes on the island were destroyed. A few years later, almost all of the homes on this island had been rebuilt.

© 2013, Biophare. All Rights Reserved.

White and grey cabin on stilts during a spring flood

To avoid damage from spring floods, cabins built near the channels are raised on stilts.

Philippe Manning
2008-05-02
© 2013, Biophare. All Rights Reserved.


Cabin on stilts on Île Plate

The cabins on Île Plate are perched atop very high stilts to avoid damage during the spring floods, since this island is very flat.

Mario Cloutier
2012-08-04
© 2013, Biophare. All Rights Reserved.


Old two-story building on Île d'Embarras

Animals were kept in this building. During spring floods, they would be brought up onto the second floor.

Philippe Manning

© 2013, Biophare. All Rights Reserved.


On the western end of Île de Grâce stand a farmhouse and its outbuildings, which were once home to Henri Letendre. Considered the last of the islanders, he spent most of his life in the home where he grew up. Many people once lived year-round on this island, and there was even a little school where Henri’s mother and aunts taught the local children. In 1947, some 50 families called the island home. The islanders would beat paths across the thick ice to access the mainland during the winter. In 1953, icebreakers began to clear the passage for ships throughout the winter and the ice bridges could no longer be built. Feeling isolated, most of the islanders left Île de Grâce. Today, the island is only accessible by boat and is mainly used by cottagers.
On the western end of Île de Grâce stand a farmhouse and its outbuildings, which were once home to Henri Letendre. Considered the last of the islanders, he spent most of his life in the home where he grew up. Many people once lived year-round on this island, and there was even a little school where Henri’s mother and aunts taught the local children. In 1947, some 50 families called the island home. The islanders would beat paths across the thick ice to access the mainland during the winter. In 1953, icebreakers began to clear the passage for ships throughout the winter and the ice bridges could no longer be built. Feeling isolated, most of the islanders left Île de Grâce. Today, the island is only accessible by boat and is mainly used by cottagers.

© 2013, Biophare. All Rights Reserved.

Aerial colour photograph of the house and farm buildings on Île de Grâce owned by Henri Letendre (1921-2003)

We see here the house and the farm buildings owned by Henri Letendre at Île de Grâce.

Philippe Manning
2005-10-22
© 2013, Biophare. All Rights Reserved.


Grey wooden cabin on stilts

Many cabins are heated by a wood oven, which is also used to cook food.

Mario Cloutier
2012-08-04
© 2013, Biophare. All Rights Reserved.


Cabin with three chimneys and various water reservoirs

Some people come up with inventive ways to improve the comfort of their cabins. The owner of this cabin has placed containers full of water on the roof to obtain a reserve of warm water.

Mario Cloutier
2012-08-04
© 2013, Biophare. All Rights Reserved.


Cabin equipped with a wind turbine

Cabins may even be equipped with a wind turbine to generate electricity.

Mario Cloutier
2012-08-04
© 2013, Biophare. All Rights Reserved.


Cabin on stilts on Île Plate

This cabin produces its own electricity by means of a wind turbine and solar panels.

Mario Cloutier
2012-08-04
© 2013, Biophare. All Rights Reserved.


The hay harvested on the islands of the Lake Saint-Pierre archipelago is very rich, thanks to the nutrients brought in by the spring floods. In the early 20th century, many of the islands would flood at least once every two years, naturally fertilizing the soil. All the locals has to do was harvest the hay. The fields would only need to be renovated every 15-20 years.

The rich soil of the islands is also used to grow pasture for animals and to cultivate cereals.
The hay harvested on the islands of the Lake Saint-Pierre archipelago is very rich, thanks to the nutrients brought in by the spring floods. In the early 20th century, many of the islands would flood at least once every two years, naturally fertilizing the soil. All the locals has to do was harvest the hay. The fields would only need to be renovated every 15-20 years.

The rich soil of the islands is also used to grow pasture for animals and to cultivate cereals.

© 2013, Biophare. All Rights Reserved.

The numerous marshes in the archipelago and around Lake Saint-Pierre are home to large numbers of ducks. Hunting is therefore a very popular activity in the region. In the fall, many blinds can be seen, carefully camouflaged among the wetland vegetation. Some hunters use their boat as a blind, covering it with wetland plants to pass unobserved. This type of boat blind is known locally as a "caboche."
The numerous marshes in the archipelago and around Lake Saint-Pierre are home to large numbers of ducks. Hunting is therefore a very popular activity in the region. In the fall, many blinds can be seen, carefully camouflaged among the wetland vegetation. Some hunters use their boat as a blind, covering it with wetland plants to pass unobserved. This type of boat blind is known locally as a "caboche."

© 2013, Biophare. All Rights Reserved.

The channels of the archipelago teem with fish, making the region a great fishing destination.

Nearly 80 species of fish inhabit the waters of the Lake Saint-Pierre biosphere reserve.

The Société d’aménagement de la baie Lavallière (SABL) monitors fish populations in the bay. A total of 27 species have been observed, including Bullhead, Yellow Perch, Northern Pike, Pumpkinseed, Black Crappie, White Sucker, Central Mudminnow, German Carp, Golden Shiner and Bridle Shiner. The bay is an important breeding ground for early-spawning fish such as the Northern Pike and Yellow Perch.

Once abundant in the Lake Saint-Pierre region, Yellow Perch stocks have declined dramatically due to a variety of factors, from habitat degradation to the introduction of the Round Goby, an invasive exotic species that competes with juvenile Yellow Perch for food. The Round Goby, which is native to the Black Sea, was transported to Lake Saint-Pierre in ocean vessel ballast water. In 2012, a five-year moratorium was placed on Yellow Perch fishing in the archipelago, the lake and its main tributaries to protect the remaining stocks. Read More
The channels of the archipelago teem with fish, making the region a great fishing destination.

Nearly 80 species of fish inhabit the waters of the Lake Saint-Pierre biosphere reserve.

The Société d’aménagement de la baie Lavallière (SABL) monitors fish populations in the bay. A total of 27 species have been observed, including Bullhead, Yellow Perch, Northern Pike, Pumpkinseed, Black Crappie, White Sucker, Central Mudminnow, German Carp, Golden Shiner and Bridle Shiner. The bay is an important breeding ground for early-spawning fish such as the Northern Pike and Yellow Perch.

Once abundant in the Lake Saint-Pierre region, Yellow Perch stocks have declined dramatically due to a variety of factors, from habitat degradation to the introduction of the Round Goby, an invasive exotic species that competes with juvenile Yellow Perch for food. The Round Goby, which is native to the Black Sea, was transported to Lake Saint-Pierre in ocean vessel ballast water. In 2012, a five-year moratorium was placed on Yellow Perch fishing in the archipelago, the lake and its main tributaries to protect the remaining stocks. Major changes will need to be implemented in various agricultural and industrial activities to improve water quality and restore Yellow Perch stocks to their former abundance in Lake Saint-Pierre.

© 2013, Biophare. All Rights Reserved.

Young girl ice fishing with her father.

Fishing is practised in all seasons. Winter is the season for ice fishing. The fisherman bores a hole in the ice and lowers a baited hook through it. The line is held in place by a tip-up, which moves when a fish bites the hook. The main species targeted are Northern Pike and Walleye.

Philippe Manning
2013-02-23
© 2013, Biophare. All Rights Reserved.


Fishing cabins on the ice of Chenal du Moine

On the frozen channel, you can see many people busying themselves around their colourful cabins and trailers. While the adults set up their ice fishing rigs, the children sled down the banks of Île du Moine. The festive ambiance seems to warm the chill winter air.

Philippe Manning
2013-02-23
© 2013, Biophare. All Rights Reserved.


Net used by commercial fishermen.

Commercial fishermen use a hoop net, known locally as a "varveau."

Philippe Manning
2005-08-26
© 2013, Biophare. All Rights Reserved.


Commercial fisherman in front of his smoker

Mr. Desmarais, a commercial fisherman, prepares sturgeon fillets in his smoker at Notre-Dame-de-Pierreville.

Philippe Manning
2008-09-10
© 2013, Biophare. All Rights Reserved.


Red and blue wooden cabin decorated with colourful fish silhouettes

In Notre-Dame-de-Pierreville, visitors can buy various kinds of fish from Lake Saint-Pierre, which are smoked on site.

Philippe Manning
2008-09-10
© 2013, Biophare. All Rights Reserved.


Learning Objectives

Educational objectives

  1. Become familiar with the region and its features.
  2. Better understand the various ways humans have adapted to the special features of the Lake Saint-Pierre region.

Curricular connections

Connections will be established between the virtual exhibit The Human Side of Lake Saint-Pierre and the contents of educational programs: rational resource use for an equitable distribution of wealth; awareness of interdependence between the environment and the organization of a society in its territory.

Learning outcomes

Draw up an overview of the region: physical features and human activities.

Measures taken to create a lesson plan based on the collection of learning objects

A student notebook, provided in the virtual exhibition, allows teams of students to note information on the physical features of Lake Saint-Pierre and its archipelago and the human activities that are practised there.

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

En avril 1865, un embâcle important se produisit entre Trois-Rivières et Québec, ce qui occasionna une montée du niveau de l’eau de plus de cinq mètres. Les îles de l’archipel étaient presque complètement submergées. On ne voyait, pour ainsi dire, que de l’eau. Cette terrible inondation entraîna la mort d’une trentaine de personnes dont dix-neuf à l’Île de Grâce. Quinze des dix-huit maisons de cette île furent emportées. Quelques années après cette catastrophe, presque toutes les habitations ont été reconstruites sur cette île.
En avril 1865, un embâcle important se produisit entre Trois-Rivières et Québec, ce qui occasionna une montée du niveau de l’eau de plus de cinq mètres. Les îles de l’archipel étaient presque complètement submergées. On ne voyait, pour ainsi dire, que de l’eau. Cette terrible inondation entraîna la mort d’une trentaine de personnes dont dix-neuf à l’Île de Grâce. Quinze des dix-huit maisons de cette île furent emportées. Quelques années après cette catastrophe, presque toutes les habitations ont été reconstruites sur cette île.

© 2013, Biophare. Tous droits réservés.

Chalet blanc et gris sur pilotis lors d'une inondation printanière

Afin d'éviter les dommages causés par les inondations printanières, les chalets bâtis près des chenaux sont élevés sur pilotis.

Philippe Manning
2008 05 02
© 2013, Biophare. Tous droits réservés.


Chalet sur pilotis sur l'Île Plate

Les chalets sur l'Île Plate sont juchés très haut au sommet de longs pilots afin d'éviter d'être endommagés lors des inondations printanières car cette île est très basse.

Mario Cloutier
2012 08 04
© 2013, Biophare. Tous droits réservés.


Vieux bâtiment à deux étages à l'Île d'Embarras

Des animaux étaient gardés dans ce bâtiment. Lors des inondations printanières, on montait les animaux au deuxième étage.

Philippe Manning

© 2013, Biophare. Tous droits réservés.


À l’extrémité ouest de l’Île de Grâce se trouvent la maison et les bâtiments ayant appartenu à Henri Letendre. Il demeura dans la maison de ses parents presque toute sa vie. Il était considéré comme le dernier des insulaires. Autrefois, plusieurs personnes résidaient sur cette île en permanence. Il y avait même une petite école où la mère et les tantes d’Henri enseignaient. En 1947, on comptait une cinquantaine de familles. L’hiver, on balisait des chemins où la glace avait été épaissie. Les gens circulaient sur ces ponts de glace pour accéder à la terre ferme. À partir de 1953, les ponts de glace disparurent car le travail des brise-glaces permit la circulation des navires sur le fleuve pendant toute la saison hivernale. Se sentant ainsi isolés, la plupart des insulaires quittèrent l’Île de Grâce. Aujourd’hui, on observe surtout des chalets sur cette île qui n’est accessible qu’en bateau.
À l’extrémité ouest de l’Île de Grâce se trouvent la maison et les bâtiments ayant appartenu à Henri Letendre. Il demeura dans la maison de ses parents presque toute sa vie. Il était considéré comme le dernier des insulaires. Autrefois, plusieurs personnes résidaient sur cette île en permanence. Il y avait même une petite école où la mère et les tantes d’Henri enseignaient. En 1947, on comptait une cinquantaine de familles. L’hiver, on balisait des chemins où la glace avait été épaissie. Les gens circulaient sur ces ponts de glace pour accéder à la terre ferme. À partir de 1953, les ponts de glace disparurent car le travail des brise-glaces permit la circulation des navires sur le fleuve pendant toute la saison hivernale. Se sentant ainsi isolés, la plupart des insulaires quittèrent l’Île de Grâce. Aujourd’hui, on observe surtout des chalets sur cette île qui n’est accessible qu’en bateau.

© 2013, Biophare. Tous droits réservés.

Vue aérienne en couleur de la maison et des bâtiments d'Henri Letendre (1921-2003) à l'Île de Grâce

On voit ici la maison et les bâtiments ayant appartenus à Henri Letendre sur l'Île de Grâce.

Philippe Manning
2005 10 22
© 2013, Biophare. Tous droits réservés.


Chalet en bois gris sur pilotis

Plusieurs propriétaires de chalets utilisent un poêle à bois pour cuisiner et se réchauffer.

Mario Cloutier
2012 08 04
© 2013, Biophare. Tous droits réservés.


Chalet muni de trois cheminées et de réservoirs pour l'eau

Des chalets sont dotés de moyens ingénieux pour améliorer le confort des occupants. En effet, le propriétaire de ce chalet a placé des contenants remplis d'eau sur le toit afin d'avoir une réserve d'eau chaude.

Mario Cloutier
2012 08 04
© 2013, Biophare. Tous droits réservés.


Chalet équipé d'une éolienne

Certaines personnes équipent leur chalet d'une éolienne qui leur fournit de l'électricité.

Mario Cloutier
2012 08 04
© 2013, Biophare. Tous droits réservés.


Chalet sur pilotis sur l'Île Plate

En plus d'une éolienne, ce chalet est équipé de panneaux solaires pour se procurer de l'énergie.

Mario Cloutier
2012 08 04
© 2013, Biophare. Tous droits réservés.


Le foin récolté sur les îles de l’archipel du lac Saint-Pierre est très riche grâce aux apports d’éléments nutritifs provenant des crues printanières. Au début du XXe siècle, plusieurs îles étaient inondées au moins tous les deux ans. Les insulaires tiraient donc avantage de cet enrichissement naturel. Ils n’avaient qu’à récolter le foin. Cette culture ne devait être renouvelée qu’à tous les 15 à 20 ans.

Les terres retrouvées sur les îles servent aussi de pâturage. On y sème également des céréales.
Le foin récolté sur les îles de l’archipel du lac Saint-Pierre est très riche grâce aux apports d’éléments nutritifs provenant des crues printanières. Au début du XXe siècle, plusieurs îles étaient inondées au moins tous les deux ans. Les insulaires tiraient donc avantage de cet enrichissement naturel. Ils n’avaient qu’à récolter le foin. Cette culture ne devait être renouvelée qu’à tous les 15 à 20 ans.

Les terres retrouvées sur les îles servent aussi de pâturage. On y sème également des céréales.

© 2013, Biophare. Tous droits réservés.

Les marais abondants dans l’archipel et autour du lac Saint-Pierre accueillent un grand nombre de canards. La chasse est donc une activité très importante sur ce territoire. À l’automne, on observe plusieurs caches bien camouflées parmi les plantes aquatiques. Certains chasseurs utilisent leur chaloupe comme cache en y ajoutant des plantes pour pouvoir passer inaperçus. On nomme ce type d’embarcation pour la chasse une « caboche ».
Les marais abondants dans l’archipel et autour du lac Saint-Pierre accueillent un grand nombre de canards. La chasse est donc une activité très importante sur ce territoire. À l’automne, on observe plusieurs caches bien camouflées parmi les plantes aquatiques. Certains chasseurs utilisent leur chaloupe comme cache en y ajoutant des plantes pour pouvoir passer inaperçus. On nomme ce type d’embarcation pour la chasse une « caboche ».

© 2013, Biophare. Tous droits réservés.

Les chenaux de l’archipel constituent un lieu de prédilection pour les pêcheurs car les poissons s’y trouvent en abondance.

La réserve de la biosphère du Lac-Saint-Pierre abrite une faune ichtyologique variée comptant près de quatre-vingt espèces.

La Société d’aménagement de la baie Lavallière (SABL) effectue le suivi des poissons retrouvés dans cette baie. On y dénombre 27 espèces de poissons dont la barbotte brune, la perchaude, le grand brochet, le crapet-soleil, la marigane noire, le meunier noir, l’umbre de vase, la carpe allemande, le méné jaune et le méné d’herbe. Pour la faune ichtyologique se reproduisant tôt en saison, comme le grand brochet et la perchaude, la Baie de Lavallière représente une frayère intéressante.

Autrefois abondante dans la région du lac Saint-Pierre, la perchaude a connu une baisse de population dramatique probablement à cause de multiples facteurs tels que la dégradation de l’habitat et l’introduction du gobie à taches noires, une espèce exotique envahissante utilisant la même nourriture que les jeunes perchaudes. Cette espèce de poisson provient de la mer Noire. Elle a fait Pour en lire plus
Les chenaux de l’archipel constituent un lieu de prédilection pour les pêcheurs car les poissons s’y trouvent en abondance.

La réserve de la biosphère du Lac-Saint-Pierre abrite une faune ichtyologique variée comptant près de quatre-vingt espèces.

La Société d’aménagement de la baie Lavallière (SABL) effectue le suivi des poissons retrouvés dans cette baie. On y dénombre 27 espèces de poissons dont la barbotte brune, la perchaude, le grand brochet, le crapet-soleil, la marigane noire, le meunier noir, l’umbre de vase, la carpe allemande, le méné jaune et le méné d’herbe. Pour la faune ichtyologique se reproduisant tôt en saison, comme le grand brochet et la perchaude, la Baie de Lavallière représente une frayère intéressante.

Autrefois abondante dans la région du lac Saint-Pierre, la perchaude a connu une baisse de population dramatique probablement à cause de multiples facteurs tels que la dégradation de l’habitat et l’introduction du gobie à taches noires, une espèce exotique envahissante utilisant la même nourriture que les jeunes perchaudes. Cette espèce de poisson provient de la mer Noire. Elle a fait son entrée au lac Saint-Pierre en étant transportée par les eaux de ballast des navires transocéaniques. Afin d’assurer la pérennité de la perchaude au lac Saint-Pierre, on a dû, en 2012, se résoudre à interdire la pêche à la perchaude pendant cinq ans dans l’archipel, le lac et ses principaux tributaires. Il faudra cependant apporter des changements importants dans la pratique de différentes activités dans les secteurs agricole et industriel pour améliorer la qualité de l’eau afin que le stock de perchaudes atteigne le même niveau d’abondance qu’autrefois au lac Saint-Pierre.

© 2013, Biophare. Tous droits réservés.

Fillette avec son père faisant de la pêche sur la glace.

La pêche se pratique à toutes les saisons. L'hiver, on parle de la pêche blanche. On perce un trou dans la glace afin de mettre à l'eau la ligne portant un hameçon appâté. La ligne est maintenue en place grâce à un système de balancier, la brimbale. Celle-ci se met à bouger lorsqu'un poisson mord à l'hameçon. Les principales espèces pêchées sont le grand brochet et le doré jaune.

Philippe Manning
2013 02 23
© 2013, Biophare. Tous droits réservés.


Cabanes de pêcheurs sur la glace du Chenal du Moine

Sur la glace du chenal plusieurs personnes s'activent autour de leurs cabanes multicolores ou de leurs roulottes. Pendant que les adultes s'installent pour la pêche, les enfants s'amusent à glisser en traîneau sur la berge de l'Île du Moine. Cette ambiance festive apporte un peu de chaleur durant la saison froide.

Philippe Manning
2013 02 23
© 2013, Biophare. Tous droits réservés.


Filet utilisé par les pêcheurs commerciaux.

Les pêcheurs commerciaux utilisent un filet, un verveux, que les gens nomment communément un « varveau ».

Philippe Manning
2005 08 26
© 2013, Biophare. Tous droits réservés.


Pêcheur commercial devant son fumoir à poissons

M. Desmarais, un pêcheur commercial, fume les filets d'esturgeon dans son fumoir à Notre-Dame-de-Pierreville.

Philippe Manning
2008 09 10
© 2013, Biophare. Tous droits réservés.


Cabane en bois rouge et bleue décorée de silhouettes de poissons multicolores

À Notre-Dame-de-Pierreville, on peut se procurer différentes espèces de poissons pêchés au lac Saint-Pierre et fumés sur place.

Philippe Manning
2008 09 10
© 2013, Biophare. Tous droits réservés.


Objectifs d'apprentissage

Objectifs pédagogiques

  1. Être capable de se représenter le territoire et ses caractéristiques.
  2. Approfondir sa connaissance des différents moyens utilisés par les humains pour s’adapter aux particularités de l’environnement de la région du lac Saint-Pierre.

Liens pédagogiques

Ils seront établis entre le contenu de l’exposition virtuelle L’humain au coeur du lac Saint-Pierre et les différents contenus des programmes de formation : l’utilisation responsable des ressources pour un partage équitable des richesses; la reconnaissance de l’interdépendance entre l’environnement et l’organisation d’une société sur son territoire.

Résultats pédagogiques

Dresser un portrait global de ce qui se passe sur le territoire : caractéristiques physiques et activités humaines.

Mesures prises pour créer le plan de cours à partir de la collection d’objets d’apprentissage

Un carnet d’observation, fourni dans l’exposition virtuelle, permettra aux élèves de noter en équipes les informations sur les caractéristiques physiques de l’archipel et du lac Saint-Pierre ainsi que les activités humaines qui y sont pratiquées.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons