Prehistoric Inuit discovered that fleas and lice could be attracted to animal fur.  A tuft of fur on a stick could be handled and probed into clothing and bedding, attracting insects.  In addition to being a public health "tool", the tuft of fur with a loop attached becomes an artistic ornament.  Polar bear hair makes a beautiful artistic object, but other animal furs can be used.
Prehistoric Inuit discovered that fleas and lice could be attracted to animal fur.  A tuft of fur on a stick could be handled and probed into clothing and bedding, attracting insects.  In addition to being a public health "tool", the tuft of fur with a loop attached becomes an artistic ornament.  Polar bear hair makes a beautiful artistic object, but other animal furs can be used.

© 2008, Najuqsivik Community Museum. All Rights Reserved.

A tuft of polar bear hair on a stick

Kumak is the Inuktitut name for fleas or lice. The tuft of hair on a stick is easy to handle and rub inside clothing. A kumak stick was an excellent invention by prehistoric Inuit to attract these insects.

John Jamieson,
Caroline Iqaluk

© 2008, Najuqsivik Community Museum. All Rights Reserved.


A small piece of fur is required

Our activity uses tanned polar bear hair which is soft and relatively easy to sew. Rabbit fur is a great substitute.

John Jamieson, Mary Kavik, Caroline Iqaluk

© 2008, Najuqsivik Community Museum. All Rights Reserved.


Cut out a circular pattern

A circle approximately 3 to 4 inches in diameter is cut out of paper and traced on the back of the fur. An ulu or utility knife can be used to cut the hide. Have some bandages ready. It might be advantageous to have a light pair of gloves to protect from the blade.

John Jamieson, Mary Kavik, Caroline Iqaluk

© 2008 Najuqsivik Community Museum. All Rights Reserved.


The first stitch starts from the inside.

A leather needle and waxed sinew works well for this sewing. Place a knot at the end of the thread. Waxed sinew should be split to make it easier to sew. Start from the inside of the pattern.

John Jamieson, Mary Kavik, Caroline Iqaluk

© 2008 Najuqsivik Community Museum. All Rights Reserved.


Continuing sewing around the hide.

Continue the sewing, using a spacing of approximately 1/4 to 1/2 inch, between the stitches, depending on the thickness of the hide. In some cases it is best to thin a thick hide to make it easier to 'pucker'. Some sewers also dampen or wet the hide.

John Jamieson, Mary Kavik, Caroline Iqaluk

© 2008 Najuqsivik Community Museum. All Rights Reserved.


Roll a ball of hollowfill or cloth

Hollowfill, an insulating material used in parkas or pieces of rag cloth can be rolled up and used as the fill in the sphere of the hide.

John Jamieson, Mary Kavik, Caroline Iqaluk
John Jamieson, Mary Kavik, Caroline Iqaluk

© 2008 Najuqsivik Community Museum. All Rights Reserved.


Stuff the filling material into the ball

Stuff the hollowfill or cloth into the ball. Add more material if needed as you pull the stitches closer together. It is often easier to wrap the sinew thread around a pencil or other tool to assist in pulling on the thread.

John Jamieson, Mary Kavik, Caroline Iqaluk

© 2008 Najuqsivik Community Museum. All Rights Reserved.


A loop allows the 'nanook flake' to be hung.

Nanook is Inuktitut for polar bear. This activities recreates the making of a public health tool used in the past. But our final product makes a 'flake' that can be used to hang from various locations, such as a Christmas tree. We found that putting the fur ball on a freshly caught fox does indeed attract fleas.

John Jamieson, Caroline Meeko, Mary Kavik

© 2008 Najuqsivik Community Museum. All Rights Reserved.


Learning Objectives

Fleas and lice have been a problem for all cultures. Inuit devised a unique way to attract these insects from clothing and bedding. A sphere of polar bear hair was attached to a short stick and inserted into clothing. Fleas jumped to the hair and the stick could be placed in the cold to remove the fleas or the fleas could be crushed in the person’s teeth. This activity will make a ’nanook flake’ with a loop that can be hung as a decoration. Other fur, such as rabbit could also be used.

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Dans la préhistoire Inuit, on a découvert que les puces et les poux pouvaient être attirés par la fourrure animale. Une touffe de fourrure fixée sur un bâton pouvait être utilisée et mise en contact avec des vêtements et de la literie attirant ainsi les insectes. En plus être reconnue comme objet de santé publique, la touffe de poils attachée avec une boucle est aussi une décoration artistique. Les poils d’ours polaire en font un bel objet d’art mais on peut aussi utiliser d’autres fourrures animales.
Dans la préhistoire Inuit, on a découvert que les puces et les poux pouvaient être attirés par la fourrure animale. Une touffe de fourrure fixée sur un bâton pouvait être utilisée et mise en contact avec des vêtements et de la literie attirant ainsi les insectes. En plus être reconnue comme objet de santé publique, la touffe de poils attachée avec une boucle est aussi une décoration artistique. Les poils d’ours polaire en font un bel objet d’art mais on peut aussi utiliser d’autres fourrures animales.

© 2008, Najuqsivik Community Museum. Tous droits réservés.

La touffe de poils (d'un ours polaire) au bout d'un bâton

Kumak est le nom Inuktitut qui veut dire puces ou poux. La touffe de poils au bout d’un bâton est facile à manipuler et à frotter sur les vêtements. Dans la préhistoire inuit, le bâton kumak est une excellente invention pour attirer ces insectes.

MaryJane McCrea. Sophie Delaporte
MaryJane McCrea, Sophie Delaporte

© 2008, Najuqsivik Community Museum. Tous droits réservés.


On a besion d'un petit morceau de fourrure

On utilise de la peau d’ours polaire tannée qui est souple et relativement facile à coudre. La peau de lapin est un excellent substitut.

MaryJane McCrea. Sophie Delaporte
MaryJane McCrea, Sophie Delaporte

© 2008, Najuqsivik Community Museum. Tous droits réservés.


Découper un patron circulaire

On découpe un cercle d’environ 3 à 4 pouces de diamètre qu’on trace au dos de la fourrure. Un ulu ou petit couteau de femme peut être utilisé pour découper la peau. Ayez des pansements à proximité. Il serait avantageux d’avoir une paire de gants légers pour se protéger de la lame.

John Jamieson, Mary Kavik, Caroline Iqaluk

© 2008 Najuqsivik Community Museum. Tous droits réservés.


Le premier point de couture commence par l'intérieur.

Une aiguille pour cuir et un ligament ciré est idéal pour la couture. Faire un nœud au bout du fil. On devrait séparer en deux le ligament ciré pour rendre la couture plus facile. Commencer par l’intérieur du patron.

John Jamieson, Mary Kavik, Caroline Iqaluk

© 2008 Najuqsivik Community Museum. Tous droits réservés.


Continuer la couture autour de la peau

Continuer la couture en espaçant les points d’environ ¼ à ½ pouces, en fonction de l’épaisseur de la peau. Dans certains cas, il est bon de gratter les peaux plus épaisses pour les aider à plisser plus facilement. Certains couturiers humidifient ou mouillent la peau.

John Jamieson, Mary Kavik, Caroline Iqaluk

© 2008 Najuqsivik Community Museum. Tous droits réservés.


Former une boule d'oléfine ou du chiffon

De la bourre oléfine, un matériau isolant utilisé pour les parkas, ou des morceaux de chiffons peuvent être enroulés pour bourrer l’intérieur de la peau cousue.

John Jamieson, Mary Kavik, Caroline Iqaluk
MaryJane McCrea, Sophie Delaporte

© 2008 Najuqsivik Community Museum. Tous droits réservés.


Bourrer le matériel à l'intérieur de la boule

Bourrer l’oléfine ou les chiffons à l’intérieur de la boule. En ajouter si nécessaire à mesure que vous reserrez les points de couture. Il est souvent plus facile d’enrouler le ligament autour d’un crayon ou autre instrument pour aider à tirer le fil.

John Jamieson, Mary Kavik, Caroline Iqaluk

© 2008 Najuqsivik Community Museum. Tous droits réservés.


Une boucle permettra le "flocon Nanook" d'être suspendu

Nanook est le mot Inuktitut qui veut dire ours polaire. Cette activité reproduit la fabrication d’un outil de santé publique utilisé dans le passé. Cependant notre produit est en forme de flocon qui peut être accroché dans différents endroits, tel qu’un arbre de Noël. Nous avons découvert en plaçant la boule de fourrure sur des renards récemment attrapés ou congelés que les puces sont en effet attirées.

John Jamieson, Mary Kavik, Caroline Iqaluk

© 2008 Najuqsivik Community Museum. Tous droits réservés.


Objectifs d'apprentissage

Les puces et les poux sont un problème dans toutes les cultures. Les Inuits ont découvert un moyen unique d’attirer ces insectes à l’écart des vêtements et de la literie. Une boule de poil d’ours polaire a été attachée à un petit bâton et placé au milieu de vêtements. Les puces ont sauté sur les poils et le bâton a pu être placé au froid pour retirer les puces, ou les puces ont pu être écrasées par les dents de la personne. Cette activité créera un « Flocon Nanook » avec une boucle qui pourra être accrochée comme décoration. D’autres fourrures comme celle de lapin peut aussi être utilisée.


Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons