Archaeological artifacts have special significance when they can be held, touched and studied.  Originals are locked safely away in museums, but duplicates can be made with similar experiential results.  The process of making reproductions requires molds to be made.   A 2 part epoxy fills the molds making a cast artifact.  This activity is within reach of high school students.
Archaeological artifacts have special significance when they can be held, touched and studied.  Originals are locked safely away in museums, but duplicates can be made with similar experiential results.  The process of making reproductions requires molds to be made.   A 2 part epoxy fills the molds making a cast artifact.  This activity is within reach of high school students.

© 2008, Najuqsivik Community Museum. All Rights Reserved.

Example of Dorset face in silicone mold

Original archaeological artifacts are locked away in secure museums, available only through pictures. But, some artifacts can as obtained as reproductions, which in turn can be reproduced after molds are made. Thus significant artifacts can be studied up close.

John Jamieson
Aibilee Amitook

© 2008 Najuqsivik Community Museum. All Rights Reserved.


RTV3110 Dow Corning Silicone

RTV3110 is the material of choice to make exact reproductions in molds. It requires a catalyst and takes approximately 24 hours to set up. The cost is approximately $300 per gallon and it makes many molds.

John Jamieson
Aibilee Amitook.

© 2008 Najuqsivik Community Museum. All Rights Reserved.


Wax can be heated on a hot plate

Paraffin wax will be used as the substrate to hold the artifact. It can be recycled and easily cleaned up.

John Jamieson
Aibilee Amitook.

© 2008 Najuqsivik Community Museum. All Rights Reserved.


Establish a base of wax and add artifact

After a base of wax is established, approximately 1/2 inch thick, the artifact is placed and wax is added to surround the artifact about half way up the side. The mold will consists of 2 halves. Thus there will be a parting line where the two molds meet. Carefully select where you want the wax to extend on the artifact, since it will establish the location of the parting line, which will be called the 'flashing'.

John Jamieson
Aibilee Amitook

© 2008 Najuqsivik Community Museum. All Rights Reserved.


Trim the wax platform

Trim the wax leaving about 3/4 inch to 1 inch around the outside of the artifact.

John Jamieson
Aibilee Amitook

© 2008 Najuqsivik Community Museum. All Rights Reserved.


Locking and overflow channels

Two channels must be carved into the wax. The first channel, about 1/8" wide and 1/8" deep will be about 1/4" from the artifact. This channel will act as the overflow for the epoxy which will be added later. The second channel on the outside of the overflow channel is the same size, but it will be used as a locking channel to allow the 2 halves to exactly fit together at the correct location.

John Jamieson
Aibilee Amitook

© 2008, Najuqsivik Community Museum. All Rights Reserved.


Build a dam around the wax.

It is necessary to contain the liquid silicone and this is accomplished by a plastic dam around the wax. Use liquid paraffin to seal the bottom of the dam. Use masking tape to secure the end of the plastic dam. If any leaks are found after adding the silicone, liquid wax can be quickly added to plug it.

John Jamieson
Aibilee Amitook

© 2008, Najuqsivik Community Museum. All Rights Reserved.


Silicone and catalyst mix 10:1

Wear rubber gloves. Mix coloured catalyst fully into the silicone. It sets up overnight. Silicone sticks to itself, so have vaseline handy when pouring the second half of the mold, to act as a mold release.

John Jamieson
Aibilee Amitook

© 2008, Najuqsivik Community Museum. All Rights Reserved.


Mixing catalyst into silicone

Use a plastic container to hold the silicone. Add the catalyst in 10:1. For faster curing add more catalyst. Some catalysts 'kick' fast, but S for slow catalyst works fine. Mix thoroughly to a uniform colour.

John Jamieson
Aibilee Amitook

© 2008, Najuqsivik Community Museum. All Rights Reserved.


A vacuum assures no air bubbles on artifact.

A vacuum will draw out air entrapped during mixing. The process can work without a vacuum pump, but you must be careful to make sure bubbles do not accumulate on the artifact. Small amounts of air are not a major problem for most artifacts.

John Jamieson
Aibilee Amitook

© 2008, Najuqsivik Community Museum. All Rights Reserved.


Slowly pour silicone over artifact

Start at one end of the wax and slowly pour the silicone. Let the silicone roll forward on its own. This allows air to be pushed away from artifact. Once the artifact is covered you can quickly spoon the silicone over the surface. Set it aside overnight, or longer if you like.

John Jamieson
Aibilee Amitook

© 2008, Najuqsivik Community Museum. All Rights Reserved.


Remove wax to prepare for next pouring

If the silicone has cured and is hard, flip it over gently and pry off the wax. Be careful and do NOT allow the artifact to move out of the wax, OR ELSE YOU MUST START THE ENTIRE OPERATION AGAIN! Gently remove the wax, exposing half of the artifact and the silicone.

John Jamieson
Aibilee Amitook

© 2008, Najuqsivik Community Museum. All Rights Reserved.


Apply a thin layer of liquid vaseline on the silicone mold.

Before pouring the other half of the mold, warm some vaseline and coat the silicone with a thin layer. Do not apply the vaseline to the artifact. Vaseline prevents the silicone from sticking to itself. The silicone is applied as before and allowed to cure overnight. Open the mold and remove the artifact the next day.

John Jamieson
Aibilee Amitook

© 2008, Najuqsivik Community Museum. All Rights Reserved.


Add Electrical Resin #5 to a plastic container

Scotchcast Electrical Resin #5 comes in Part A and B. They are mixed in a ratio of 2:1. Add Part A to a plastic container. Use plastic gloves. Part A is very thick. Record the tare weight of the container.

John Jamieson
Aibilee Amitook

© 2008, Najuqsivik Community Museum. All Rights Reserved.


epoxy, Electrical Resin

Part B is very liquid and should be added to Part A in a fume hood. There are ammonia fumes that are released. One part of B to 2 parts of A. Fumes are eliminated after stirring the solutions together.

John Jamieson
Aibilee Amitook

© 2008, Najuqsivik Community Museum. All Rights Reserved.


Fumed silica thickens the epoxy

After mixing Part A and B, it is necessary to thicken the mixture to prevent running when added to the mold. Add fumed silica powder. To simulate old ivory, some white oil paint and Naples Yellow oil paint are added to the mix. Other colours can be added now, or added when the artifact has hardened. Use a fume hood.

John Jamieson
Aibilee Amitook

© 2008, Najuqsivik Community Museum. All Rights Reserved.


epoxy, mold,

Once the epoxy has been mixed it is added to the 2 halves of the molds. Use a stick to push the epoxy. Try to avoid trapping air. Don't fill too much, since it will be pushed out of the artifact area and form a thick flashing around the artifact.

John Jamieson
Aibilee Amitook

© 2008, Najuqsivik Community Museum. All Rights Reserved.


Align the 2 halves and press together

The mold has 2 channels. A groove must be cut in the protruding groove to create a 'V'. This will allow excess epoxy that is squeezed out of the mold to go into the space and become part of the flashing. Apply pressure to the mold after it is put together. Usually several books are sufficient.

John Jamieson
Aibilee Amitook

© 2008, Najuqsivik Community Museum. All Rights Reserved.


Open mold gently

After sitting overnight, gently pry the 2 halves apart and twist the mold to release the artifact. Remove overflow from the channels. When the mold becomes very old, it is useful to spray in some mold release to keep the silicone from becoming too dry and sticking to the artifact. Professionals use the mold only about 10 times before replacing. You can expect about 40-60 reproductions before replacing when used for small museums.

John Jamieson
Aibilee Amitook

© 2008, Najuqsivik Community Museum. All Rights Reserved.


Cut away flashing

A thin layer of hardened epoxy will be formed at the meeting of the two molds. Cut it away before painting.

John Jamieson
Aibilee Amitook

© 2008, Najuqsivik Community Museum. All Rights Reserved.


Oil paints for artifact

Oil paints and paint thinner are used to colour artifacts. Burnt Umber is the main colour to simulate old ivory. Apply the oil and briefly wait before rubbing off. Paint thinner can remove the colour if incorrect. After drying, a spray lacquer can be used to seal in the colour. A Borden number specifying an archaeological artifact should be added if required.

John Jamieson
Aibilee Amitook

© 2008, Najuqsivik Community Museum. All Rights Reserved.


Learning Objectives

Mold making is a skill used in many trades, from dentistry, the automotive industry to archaeological reproductions. Two main methods are vulcanization with rubber using heat and pressure and the second is done at room temperature using silicone. This activity will use silicone and epoxy to make the artifact.

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Les petits objets d’art archéologiques ont une importance particulière quand on peut les manipuler, les toucher et les étudier. Les originaux sont bien à l’ abri dans des musées, mais on peut fabriquer des reproductions qui donneront des résultats semblables. Le processus de fabrication de reproduction demande un moule en 2 parties préalablement fabriqué où l’on versera un époxy pour fabriquer un moulage de l’objet. Cette activité est à la portée d’élèves d’école secondaire.
Les petits objets d’art archéologiques ont une importance particulière quand on peut les manipuler, les toucher et les étudier. Les originaux sont bien à l’ abri dans des musées, mais on peut fabriquer des reproductions qui donneront des résultats semblables. Le processus de fabrication de reproduction demande un moule en 2 parties préalablement fabriqué où l’on versera un époxy pour fabriquer un moulage de l’objet. Cette activité est à la portée d’élèves d’école secondaire.

© 2008, Najuqsivik Community Museum. Tous droits réservés.

Echantillon de "Dorset Face" dans un moule du silicone

Les petits objets archéologiques authentiques sont enfermés à l’abri dans des musées et ne sont accessibles que par photos. Cependant, certains objets sont obtenus par reproductions qui peuvent être à leur tour reproduites après en avoir fabriqué un moule. Ainsi, on pourra étudier de plus près des objets d’importance.

John Jamieson
Aibilee Amitook

© 2008 Najuqsivik Community Museum. Tous droits réservés.


Le RTV3110 est le matériau de choix pour faire des reproductions exactes dans des moules. Ceci requiert un catalyseur et demande une préparation de 24 heures. Le coût est de 300 dollars par gallon et permet de fabriquer de nombreux moules.

John Jamieson
Aibilee Amitook

© 2008 Najuqsivik Community Museum. Tous droits réservés.


On peut chauffer la cire sur une plaque chauffante

La cire de paraffine sera utilisée comme substrat pour tenir l’objet. Elle est réutilisable et se nettoie facilement.

John Jamieson
Aibilee Amitook

© 2008 Najuqsivik Community Museum. Tous droits réservés.


Etablir une base de cire et ajouter l'objet

Après avoir établi une base de cire d’environ un demi pouce d’épaisseur, on place l’objet et on ajoute de la cire pour enrober l’objet jusqu’à sa moitié. Le moule est fait de deux moitiés. Ainsi il y aura une ligne de partage qui délimitera les deux moules. Choisir soigneusement jusqu’où ira la cire, puisque ceci déterminera l’endroit où les moules se rencontrent. Cette ligne s’appellera ligne de "débordement" ("bavure").

John Jamieson
MaryJane McCrea, Sophie Delaporte

© 2008 Najuqsivik Community Museuml. Tous droits réservés.


Retirer le surplus de cire

Retirer le surplus de cire en laissant une épaisseur de ¾ pouce à 1 pouce sur l’objet.

John Jamieson
Aibilee Amitook

© 2008 Najuqsivik Community Museum. Tous droits réservés.


Conduits de verrouillage et de débordement

Deux petits conduits doivent être creusés dans la cire. Le premier conduit, environ 1/8″ de large de profondeur sera à un ¼″ de l’objet. Ce petit conduit servira au débordement de l’époxy qui sera ajouté plus tard. Le second petit conduit à l’extérieur du conduit de débordement est de la même taille, mais sera utilisé comme conduit de verrouillage pour permettre aux deux moitiés de s’emboiter exactement au bon endroit.

John Jamieson
Aibilee Amitook

© 2008, Najuqsivik Community Museum. Tous droits réservés.


 Fabriquer un barrage autour de la cire

Il est nécessaire de contenir le liquide de silicone. On y parvient en utilisant un barrage en plastique que l’on applique autour de la cire. Utiliser de la paraffine liquide pour sceller le fond du barrage. Utiliser du ruban à maroufler pour sceller le bout du barrage en plastique. Si on trouve une fuite après avoir ajouté le silicone, on peut rapidement ajouter de la cire liquide pour la boucher.

John Jamieson
Aibilee Amitook

© 2008, Najuqsivik Community Museum. Tous droits réservés.


Silicone et catalyseur - Mélanger 10:1

Porter des gants de caoutchouc. Mélanger complètement le catalyseur dans le silicone. Le silicone se colle à lui-même, ayez donc de la vaseline à proximité qui servira à démouler lorsque vous verserez la deuxième moitié du moule.

John Jamieson
MaryJane McCrea, Sophie DeLaPorte

© 2008, Najuqsivik Community Museum. Tous droits réservés.


Mélanger le silicone et le catalyseur

Utiliser un récipient en plastique pour contenir le silicone. Ajouter le catalyseur 10:1. Pour un séchage plus rapide ajouter plus de catalyseur. Certains catalyseur agissent très vite, mais les catalyseurs S (S pour «slow» ou a prise lente) conviennent bien aussi. Mélanger avec soin pour uniformiser la couleur.

John Jamieson
Aibilee Amitook

© 2008, Najuqsivik Community Museum. Tous droits réservés.


Utiliser un aspirateur pour que des bulles ne s’accumulent pas sur le petit objet.

Un aspirateur aspirera l’air emprisonné durant l’opération de mélange. Le processus peut fonctionner sans pompe aspirante mais faites bien attention que des bulles ne s’accumulent pas sur le petit objet. Une petite quantité d’air n’est pas un problème majeur pour la plupart des objets.

John Jamieson
Aibilee Amitook

© 2008, Najuqsivik Community Museum. Tous droits réservés.


Verser doucement le silicone sur le petit objet

Commencer d’un coté de la cire et verser doucement le silicone. Laisser le silicone rouler de lui-même. Ceci permet d’évacuer l’air de l’objet. Une fois l’objet recouvert vous pouvez rapidement ajouter le silicone à la cuillère sur la surface. Laisser reposer durant la nuit ou plus longtemps si désiré.

John Jamieson
Aibilee Amitook

© 2008, Najuqsivik Community Museum. Tous droits réservés.


Retirer délicatement la cire

Si le silicone a séché et est dur, renverser doucement le moule en faisant levier sous la cire. Faites attention de ne pas laisser l’objet bouger sous la cire, AUTREMENT VOUS DEVEZ RECOMMENCER L’OPERATION A ZERO ! Retirer délicatement la cire en exposant la moitié de l’objet et du silicone.

John Jamieson
Aibilee Amitook

© 2008, Najuqsivik Community Museum. Tous droits réservés.


Réchauffer de la vaseline et enduire le silicone d’une couche fine

Avant de verser l’autre moitié du moule, réchauffer de la vaseline et enduire le silicone d’une couche fine. Ne pas mettre la vaseline sur l’objet. La vaseline empêche au silicone de coller à lui-même. Le silicone est appliqué comme précédemment et mis à sécher pendant la nuit. Ouvrir le moule et retirer le petit objet le jour suivant.

John Jamieson
Aibilee Amitook

© 2008, Najuqsivik Community Museum. Tous droits réservés.


Ajouter la résine Scotchcast Electrical #5 dans un récipient plastique

La résine Scotchcast Electrical #5 vient en deux parties A et B et est mélangée à un ratio de 2:1. Ajouter la partie A à un récipient déjà pesé. Utiliser des gants. La partie A est très épaisse.

John Jamieson
Aibilee Amitook

© 2008, Najuqsivik Community Museum. Tous droits réservés.


L'epoxy, La résine Scotchcast Electrical

La partie B est très liquide et devrait être ajoutée à la partie B dans une hotte de laboratoire. Des émanations d’ammoniaque se dégagent. On mélange une portion de B à deux portions de A. Les émanations disparaissent après avoir mélangé.

John Jamieson
Aibilee Amitook

© 2008, Najuqsivik Community Museum. Tous droits réservés.


Dioxyde de Silicone épaissira l'epoxy

Après avoir mélangé la partie A et B, il est nécessaire de faire épaissir le mélange pour éviter des dégoulinages lorsqu’on le versera dans le moule. Pour imiter le vieil ivoire on ajoute de la peinture à l’huile blanche et Jaune Naples à la mixture. D’autres couleurs peuvent maintenant être ajoutées. On peut aussi ajouter les couleurs quand l’objet a durci. Utiliser une hotte de laboratoire.

John Jamieson
Aibilee Amitook

© 2008, Najuqsivik Community Museum. Tous droits réservés.


L'epoxy, Le moule

Une fois que l’époxy a été mélangé, il est ajouté aux deux moitiés du moule. Utiliser un bâton de popsicle pour pousser l’époxy. Eviter de faire des bulles d’air. Ne pas trop remplir, car il débordera de l’objet et formera une bavure autour de l’objet.

John Jamieson
Aibilee Amitook

© 2008, Najuqsivik Community Museum. Tous droits réservés.


Aligner les deux parties et faire pression

Le moule a deux petits conduits. On doit faire une rainure dans la fente qui dépasse pour créer un V. Ceci permettra que l’excès d’époxy soit pressé vers l’extérieur du moule dans l’espace adéquat faisant alors partie de la bavure. Faire pression sur le moule après l’avoir assemblé. En général, plusieurs livres sont suffisants.

John Jamieson
MaryJane McCrea, Sophie DeLaporte

© 2008, Najuqsivik Community Museum. Tous droits réservés.


Faire délicatement levier pour séparer les deux moitiés

Après avoir laissé reposer durant la nuit, faire délicatement levier pour séparer les deux moitiés et faire tourner le moule pour libérer l’objet. Retirer le surplus des conduits. Lorsque le moule est vieux, utiliser un spray moule anti-adhérant pour éviter que le silicone ne durcisse trop et se colle aux objets.

John Jamieson
Aibilee Amitook

© 2008, Najuqsivik Community Museum. Tous droits réservés.


Couper l’excès (la bavure)

Une mince épaisseur d’époxy durci se sera formé à la jointure des deux moules. Le couper avant de peindre.

John Jamieson
Aibilee Amitook

© 2008, Najuqsivik Community Museum. Tous droits réservés.


Des peintures à l’huile pour l'objet

Des peintures à l’huile et des dissolvants sont utilisés pour colorer les objets. Terre d’ombre brûlée est la couleur qu’on utilise pour imiter l’ivoire. Appliquer l’huile et attendre un instant avant de la retirer. Les dissolvants peuvent effacer la couleur si elles ne sont pas les bonnes couleurs. Après le séchage, on peut utiliser un spray à laquer pour sceller la couleur. Un numéro Borden précisant l’origine de l’objet archéologique devrait être ajouté si cela est requis.

John Jamieson
Aibilee Amitook

© 2008, Najuqsivik Community Museum. Tous droits réservés.


Objectifs d'apprentissage

La fabrication de moules est une compétence qu’on utilise dans de nombreux métiers, de la dentisterie, l’industrie automobile, jusqu’à la reproduction archéologique pour les présentations dans les musées. Les méthodes principales sont la vulcanisation avec caoutchouc utilisant la chaleur et la pression, et la seconde méthode est faite à température ambiante en utilisant du silicone. Cette activité utilise du silicone et de l’epoxy.


Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons