Being able to screen print on garments requires initial purchasing of equipment, but  this cost is recovered with various designs that can be produced and sold.  Designs on the garments can reinforce cultural concepts, such as aboriginal personal names or Dorset and Thule artifacts. 
Being able to screen print on garments requires initial purchasing of equipment, but  this cost is recovered with various designs that can be produced and sold.  Designs on the garments can reinforce cultural concepts, such as aboriginal personal names or Dorset and Thule artifacts. 

© 2008, Najuqsivik Community Museum. All Rights Reserved.

Cutting frame on table saw

A table saw can quickly produce the sides of the frame. You must use an antikickback pushdown. A 2x 6 board can be ripped into 3 pieces. (The safety guard lifted for this picture.) Use safety glasses.

John Jamieson, Caroline Meeko, Mary Kavik

© 2008 Najuqsivik Community Museum. All Rights Reserved.


Make a 45 degree angle cut at end of frame

There are various ways to mitre cut the ends, including a mitre box, mitre saw or a chopsaw. This project uses a double bladed chopsaw to quickly cut two 45 angles at the same time.

John Jamieson, Caroline Meeko, Mary Kavik

© 2008 Najuqsivik Community Museum. All Rights Reserved.


Gluing and nailing the frame.

Glue is applied at the corners and the unit is bound with a clamp. Use screws or a brad nailer to reinforce the corners.

John Jamieson, Caroline Meeko, Mary Kavik

© 2008 Najuqsivik Community Museum. All Rights Reserved.


Nailing the frame

To reinforce the corners, it is best to use a brad nailer, or simply nail or screw the corners together. This will give longer life to the screen, since in our process the frame will become wet and the glue may weaken.

John Jamieson, Caroline Meeko, Mary Kavik

© 2008 Najuqsivik Community Museum. All Rights Reserved.


Cutting staple tape

Commercial staple tape can be obtained, but we use a thick cloth cut into 1 inch wide strips. Tyvek housewrap also works well. This is necessary to staple the screen onto the frame.

John Jamieson, Caroline Meeko, Mary Kavik

© 2008 Najuqsivik Community Museum. All Rights Reserved.


Staple 4 corners first

Lay the screen material on the frame, but make sure that 2 sides of the screen material extend about 1 inch beyond the frame. This will be necessary to tighten the screen. The other 2 sides will be even with the edge of the frame. Put a staple in each corner. Try to keep some tension on the screen material as the 4 staples are put in.

John Jamieson, Caroline Meeko, Mary Kavik

© 2008 Najuqsivik Community Museum. All Rights Reserved.


Staple 2 edges

Staple through the tape on the 2 sides of the frame that have the screen material even with the edges. If you happen to forget and staple the edges with the 1 inch excess screen material over the edge of the frame, you will not be able to tighten the material. (not that it has ever happened to us!)

John Jamieson, Caroline Meeko,

© 2008 Najuqsivik Community Museum. All Rights Reserved.


Tighten and staple last 2 sides

Use a screen clamp, which is basically a vise grip with a wide mouth. You can fashion two pieces of wood and a C clamp if necessary. Apply tension and staple one side, then repeat on the last side. Trim off the excess screen material when finished.

John Jamieson, Caroline Meeko, Mary Kavik

© 2008 Najuqsivik Community Museum. All Rights Reserved.


Photoemulsion

A design can be hand cut into a film material or a photoexposure system can be used in a special machine, a photoexposure unit, that uses ultraviolet radiation to expose the screen. We will describe using Capillex 35 to create an image.

John Jamieson, Caroline Meeko, Mary Kavik

© 2008 Najuqsivik Community Museum. All Rights Reserved.


Cut emulsion film

Capillex 35 is sensitive to UV radiation. You can not leave it out for extended periods-since it will gradually be exposed to uv light. Lay it on the frame and cut out the size you require and then put the remaining film back into the container.

John Jamieson, Caroline Meeko, Mary Kavik

© 2008 Najuqsivik Community Museum. All Rights Reserved.


Weights help to make film contact the screen

Water is going to be applied to the top of the screen. The film will become soft and some pressure is needed to 'push' the film into the screen. The frame is elevated above the table and weights help to keep close contact.

John Jamieson, Caroline Meeko, Mary Kavik

© 2008 Najuqsivik Community Museum. All Rights Reserved.


Wet the surface with warm water.

Quickly apply warm water with a paper towel. Use several pieces of paper towel to soak up the excess water. After about 1 minute, use some pressure on another piece of toweling to 'push' the film into the screen. A hair dryer can be used to speed up the drying ( by pushing the drying it should be ready in about 1/2 hour). Or, after several minutes put the screen into a warm, dark location and let it dry. If you leave the unexposed screen out in the light it will become destroyed.

John Jamieson, Caroline Meeko, Mary Kavik

© 2008 Najuqsivik Community Museum. All Rights Reserved.


Placing image on attached film

The film was wet, attached to the screen and placed in a dark area to dry. It is removed. Remove the plastic backing on the emulsion. The image to be printed is placed on the bottom of the screen. Use 1 piece of masking tape to hold the image in place. It is ready to be placed into photoexposure unit. The image to be duplicated should be very black and the paper it is on should be white.

John Jamieson, Caroline Meeko, Mary Kavik

© 2008 Najuqsivik Community Museum. All Rights Reserved.


Placing frame in photoexposure unit.

The frame with the image to be duplicated attached to the bottom, with a piece of masking tape, is placed in the photoexposure unit. The light tubes emit ultraviolet rays. Light will pass through white paper, causing the emulsion to harden in the screen fabric. But any dark area, such as the print will stop the light and this area will wash out with water after the frame is removed from the unit.

John Jamieson, Caroline Meeko, Mary Kavik

© 2008 Najuqsivik Community Museum. All Rights Reserved.


Washing exposed screen

After the screen is removed from the photoexposure unit it is taken to the sink and both sides are washed with warm water. Let it sit for a few minutes and continue the washing. The black areas of the image will wash out since the uv light was unable to penetrate it. A spray bottle will assist in removing the emusion. Holding the screen horizontal and pouring the water vertically works very well. Place the completely finished frame in a warm location and let it dry before attempting to use it to print.

John Jamieson, Caroline Meeko, Mary Kavik

© 2008 Najuqsivik Community Museum. All Rights Reserved.


Making the cultural connection

There has been lots of hands-on activity and technology up to this point. But the real benefit is to highlight a cultural connection. One example is making Inuit personal names more known to the students. After researching the names in their family, the names were put into the computer and printed off. A screen was prepared and the names were printed on t-shirts and sweatshirts. Each family member received a copy of all the personal names in their family. Students were able to see other families.

John Jamieson, Caroline Meeko, Mary Kavik

© 2008, Najuqsivik Community Museum. All Rights Reserved.


Promotions are a source of sustainable income.

Screen printing supports and advertises community cultural concepts. In addition there are many community organizations and visiting groups that have funds for generating t-shirts and sweatshirts. Approach them and set up contracts for production.

John Jamieson, Caroline Meeko, Mary Kavik

© 2008, Najuqsivik Community Museum. All Rights Reserved.


Learning Objectives

In-house production of designs on t-shirts is a great way to encourage the development of cultural concepts and to produce pride in the community. Although some equipment is necessary, if the process is properly managed, an income can be produced which will pay for the equipment and produce a profit for the community. All stages in the process will be described, from making the frame through to processing the t-shirt on a conveyor heater.

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

La sérigraphie sur vêtements demande un achat initial de matériel, mais ce coût est compensé par divers motifs qu’on peut reproduire et vendre. Les motifs sur les vêtements peuvent renforcer des concepts culturels, tels que des noms personnels aborigènes ou des objets Dorsets et Thuléens.
La sérigraphie sur vêtements demande un achat initial de matériel, mais ce coût est compensé par divers motifs qu’on peut reproduire et vendre. Les motifs sur les vêtements peuvent renforcer des concepts culturels, tels que des noms personnels aborigènes ou des objets Dorsets et Thuléens.

© 2008, Najuqsivik Community Museum. Tous droits réservés.

Découper le cadre avec une scie circulaire

On peut rapidement découper les côtés du cadre à la scie circulaire. Vous devez utiliser un guide de coupe. Une planche de 2x 6 peut être divisée en trois morceaux (l’instrument de sécurité est soulevé sur la photo) Utiliser des lunettes de protection.


© 2008 Najuqsivik Community Museum. Tous droits réservés.


Couper un angle à 45 degrés au bout du cadre

Il y a plusieurs façons de tailler les extrémités en onglet, comme en utilisant une boîte à onglet, une scie à onglet ou une scie sauteuse. Ce projet demande une scie sauteuse à double lames pour découper rapidement deux angles à 45 degrés à la fois.

John Jamieson, Caroline Meeko, Mary Kavik

© 2008 Najuqsivik Community Museum. Tous droits réservés.


Coller et utiliser un pistolet à clous

De la colle est appliquée aux coins et le cadre est relié avec un serre-joints. Utilisez un pistolet à clous ou des vis pour renforcer les coins.

John Jamieson, Caroline Meeko, Mary Kavik

© 2008 Najuqsivik Community Museum. Tous droits réservés.


Clouer le cadre

Pour renforcer les coins, il vaut mieux utiliser un pistolet à clous, ou simplement un clou ou une vis. Ceci rallongera la durée de vie du cadre puisque, durant notre processus, il sera mouillé et la colle perdra de son efficacité.

John Jamieson, Caroline Meeko, Mary Kavik

© 2008 Najuqsivik Community Museum. Tous droits réservés.


Couper le ruban à agrafer

On pourrait utiliser du ruban à agrafer vendu dans le commerce, mais on utilise un tissu épais coupé en bande de 1 pouce de large. Une enveloppe plastifiée Tyvek peut aussi convenir. Ceci est nécessaire pour agrafer un écran sur le cadre.

John Jamieson, Caroline Meeko, Mary Kavik

© 2008 Najuqsivik Community Museum. Tous droits réservés.


D'abord, agrafer les 4 coins

Placer le tissu de l’écran sur le cadre, et s’assurer que les 2 côtés dépassent du cadre d’environ 1 pouce. Ceci sera nécessaire pour tendre le tissu de l’écran. Les deux autres côtés du tissu seront alignés sur le bord du cadre. Agrafer chaque coin, en essayant de maintenir la tension sur le tissu de l’écran.

John Jamieson, Caroline Meeko, Mary Kavik

© 2008 Najuqsivik Community Museum. Tous droits réservés.


Agrafer les 2 côtés

Agrafer avec la bande à agrafer les 2 côtés du cadre où le tissu est placé le long des bords. Si vous oubliez et que vous agrafez les bords où vous avez laissé un 1 pouce de marge dépasser du cadre, vous ne pourrez pas tendre votre tissu. (Ceci ne nous est jamais arrivé, bien sûr!)

John Jamieson, Caroline Meeko, Mary Kavik
MaryJane McCrea, Sophie DeLaporte

© 2008 Najuqsivik Community Museum. Tous droits réservés.


Tendre et agrafer les derniers 2 côtés

Utiliser un serre-joint à écran, qui est en fait une pince-étau à large ouverture. Vous pouvez aussi mettre en place deux morceaux de bois et un serre-joint si nécessaire. Tendre et agrafer un côté et faire la même chose sur le dernier côté. Une fois terminé, égaliser en coupant le tissu de l’écran qui dépasse.

John Jamieson, Caroline Meeko, Mary Kavik

© 2008 Najuqsivik Community Museum. Tous droits réservés.


Emulsion photosensible

Un patron peut être soit découpé à la main dans un film, soit un système de photo-exposition peut être préparé dans une machine spéciale, un appareil de photo-exposition qui utilise les rayons ultraviolets pour préparer l’écran. On expliquera ce processus en utilisant du Capillex 35 pour créer une image.

John Jamieson, Caroline Meeko, Mary Kavik
MaryJane McCrea, Sophie DeLaporte

© 2008 Najuqsivik Community Museum. Tous droits réservés.


Découper le film photosensible

Le Capillex 35 est sensible aux rayons ultraviolets. Vous ne pouvez pas le laisser exposé à la lumière très longtemps, puisqu’il sera graduellement exposé aux ultraviolets. L’étendre sur le cadre, le découper à la taille requise et remettre ensuite le film dans son conditionnement.

John Jamieson, Caroline Meeko, Mary Kavik

© 2008 Najuqsivik Community Museum. Tous droits réservés.


Des poids aident à maintenir le film en contact.

On va appliquer de l’eau sur le dessus de l’écran. Le film se ramollira et on devra appliquer une pression pour faire pénétrer le film dans l’écran. On surélève le cadre au-dessus de la table et des poids aident à maintenir le film en contact.

John Jamieson, Caroline Meeko, Mary Kavik

© 2008 Najuqsivik Community Museum. Tous droits réservés.


Mouiller la surface avec de l'eau

Appliquer rapidement de l’eau chaude avec une serviette mouillée. Utiliser plusieurs feuilles d’essuie-tout pour absorber l’eau en trop. Après environ 1 minute, faire pression avec une autre feuille d’essuie-tout pour permettre au film de s’imprégner dans l’écran. On peut utiliser un sèche-cheveux pour accélérer le séchage (en accélérant le séchage la surface devrait être prête en une demi-heure). Autrement, après quelques minutes mettre l’écran dans un endroit chaud et sombre pour qu’il sèche. Si vous laissez l’écran à la lumière il sera inutilisable.


© 200i Najuqsvik Community Museum. Tous droits réservés.


Placer l’image sur le film

Le film a été mouillé, enduit sur l’écran et placé dans un endroit sombre et sec. On le retire et l’image à imprimer est placée sous l’écran. Utiliser un morceau de ruban à maroufler pour maintenir l’image en place. Le voici prêt à être placé dans l’appareil à photo-exposition. L’image à dupliquer devrait être très noire et le papier sur lequel elle est dessinée devrait être blanc.

John Jamieson, Caroline Meeko, Mary Kavik

© 2008 Najuqsivik Community Museum. Tous droits réservés.


Placer le cadre dans photo-exposition

Le cadre avec l’image à dupliquer attachée en-dessous de l’écran avec un morceau de ruban à maroufler est placé dans l’appareil à photo-exposition. Les tubes de lumière émettent des rayons ultraviolets. La lumière passera à travers le papier blanc occasionnant le durcissement de l’émulsion du film sur le tissu de l’écran. Mais la partie noire de l’image empêchera la lumière de passer et cette partie sera rincée à l’eau après que le cadre ait été retiré de l’appareil.

John Jamieson, Caroline Meeko, Mary Kavik

© 2008 Najuqsivik Community Museum. Tous droits réservés.


Nettoyer l’écran exposé

Après avoir retiré l’écran de l’appareil à photo-exposition, on l’amène à l’évier pour laver les côtés à l’eau chaude. Le laisser quelques minutes et continuer le lavage. La partie noire de l’image sera lavée puisque les rayons UV n’ont pas pu la pénétrer. Un vaporisateur aidera à retirer l’émulsion. Il est recommandé de tenir l’écran horizontalement et verser l’eau verticalement. Placer le cadre entièrement fini dans un endroit chaud et le laisser sécher avant de faire un essai d’utilisation pour l’impression.

John Jamieson, Caroline Meeko, Mary Kavik

© 2008 Najuqsivik Community Museum. Tous droits réservés.


Faire une connexion culturelle

Jusqu’ici il y a eu beaucoup d’activités pratiques et de technologie. Mais le vrai bénéfice de cette activité est de mettre en valeur une connexion culturelle. Un bon exemple est de faire connaître aux élèves des noms Inuit personnels. Après avoir recherché des noms dans leur famille, les noms ont été rentrés dans l’ordinateur et imprimés. Un écran a été préparé et les noms imprimés sur des t-shirts ou chandails. Chaque membre de la famille a reçu une copie de leurs noms respectifs. Les élèves ont eu l’occasion découvrir d’autres familles.

John Jamieson, Caroline Meeko, Mary Kavik

© 2008, Najuqsivik Community Museum. Tous droits réservés.


Établissez des contrats de production avec des groupes en visite.

La sérigraphie encourage et fait connaître les concepts culturels d’une communauté. De plus de nombreuses organisations communautaires et de groupes en visite ont les fonds pour produire des t-shirt et sweat-shirts. Approchez-les et établissez des contrats de production.

John Jamieson, Caroline Meeko, Mary Kavik
MaryJane McCrea, Sophie DeLaporte

© 2008, Najuqsivik Community Museum. Tous droits réservés.


Objectifs d'apprentissage

La fabrication maison de motifs sur t-shirts est une très bonne façon d’encourager le développement de concepts culturels et de générer une fierté au sein de la communauté. Bien qu’un certain matériel soit nécessaire, si le processus est bien géré, on peut en tirer des revenus qui paieront pour l’équipement et apporteront des profits à la communauté. Toutes les étapes du processus seront décrites, de la fabrication du cadre jusqu’à la production finale du t-shirt.


Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons