During this activity, students will create a memory game featuring the Arctic and, more particularly, the Arctic hare.

Links with Other Subjects
Language Art
Duration
the game: 10 minutes the lesson: 40 to 50 minutes
Preparation

Before conducting this activity in the classroom, you will need to:
visit the Web site Ukaliq: The Arctic hare (http://nature.ca/ukaliq), read the sections relating to the organisms mentioned in the game (Characteristics, Eat and Be Eaten, Breeding Behaviour, Life Cycle, Traditional Use) and print examples of pictures of organisms to draw. The cards depict: Arctic fox Arctic hare (adult in winter) Arctic hare (baby in spring) Arctic willow Inuit hunter purple saxifrage familiarize yourself with memory games (see Memory Game Rules below) print the six play Read More
During this activity, students will create a memory game featuring the Arctic and, more particularly, the Arctic hare.

Links with Other Subjects
  • Language
  • Art
Duration
  • the game: 10 minutes
  • the lesson: 40 to 50 minutes
Preparation

Before conducting this activity in the classroom, you will need to:
  • visit the Web site Ukaliq: The Arctic hare (http://nature.ca/ukaliq), read the sections relating to the organisms mentioned in the game (Characteristics, Eat and Be Eaten, Breeding Behaviour, Life Cycle, Traditional Use) and print examples of pictures of organisms to draw. The cards depict:
  1. Arctic fox
  2. Arctic hare (adult in winter)
  3. Arctic hare (baby in spring)
  4. Arctic willow
  5. Inuit hunter
  6. purple saxifrage
  • familiarize yourself with memory games (see Memory Game Rules below)
  • print the six playing-card templates (download the template 185 Kb PDF) and photocopy them so that each student or team of two students has a set of 12 cards
  • do the activity yourself so you can show the students.
Required Materials
  • computer with Internet access
  • copies of the card templates
  • coloured pencils
  • scissors
  • glu

© 2008, Canadian Museum of Nature. All Rights Reserved.

Ask the students to talk to you about the animals that live in the cold regions of Canada. Ask them to list what these animals need to live (e.g. water, food, shelter and territory). Display the pictures or photos of the organisms in order to give them an idea of what they are to draw. Continue the discussion of these cold-climate-dwelling organisms.
Ask the students to talk to you about the animals that live in the cold regions of Canada. Ask them to list what these animals need to live (e.g. water, food, shelter and territory). Display the pictures or photos of the organisms in order to give them an idea of what they are to draw. Continue the discussion of these cold-climate-dwelling organisms.

© 2008, Canadian Museum of Nature. All Rights Reserved.

Ask the students questions in order to find out whether they know how to play a memory game. Show them an example of a game to give them an idea of the final result. If you prefer, divide the class into teams of two student each. Give a set of 12 card templates (2 x 6 cards) to each student or team. Explain the instructions:
step 1: cut out the cards step 2: fold on the dotted line and glue step 3: draw and colour the organisms in the box above their name step 4: play the game
Ask the students questions in order to find out whether they know how to play a memory game. Show them an example of a game to give them an idea of the final result. If you prefer, divide the class into teams of two student each. Give a set of 12 card templates (2 x 6 cards) to each student or team. Explain the instructions:
  • step 1: cut out the cards
  • step 2: fold on the dotted line and glue
  • step 3: draw and colour the organisms in the box above their name
  • step 4: play the game

© 2008, Canadian Museum of Nature. All Rights Reserved.

Cards for the memory game

During this activity, students will create a memory game featuring the Arctic and, more particularly, the Arctic hare.


© 2008, Canadian Museum of Nature. All Rights Reserved.


For one or more players. The objective of the game is to find matching pairs of cards. If more than one player plays, the objective is to find the most pairs. Place the cards face-down in an array front of the players. The first player turns two cards over. If they are a pair (e.g. two Arctic foxes), the player removes and keeps the cards, and goes again until he or she does not find a pair. If they are not a pair, the player replaces them, face down. If one player is playing, play again. If more than one player is playing, it is then the next player’s turn. Continue until all the cards are out of the game. Because this is a memory game, the trick is to remember where the cards are placed in order to find the pairs.

Note: If you like, you can have races to see who is the fastest. You can also add cards in order to make the game a little more difficult; choose other organisms, then change the names and remove the text from the templates for the additions
For one or more players. The objective of the game is to find matching pairs of cards. If more than one player plays, the objective is to find the most pairs. Place the cards face-down in an array front of the players. The first player turns two cards over. If they are a pair (e.g. two Arctic foxes), the player removes and keeps the cards, and goes again until he or she does not find a pair. If they are not a pair, the player replaces them, face down. If one player is playing, play again. If more than one player is playing, it is then the next player’s turn. Continue until all the cards are out of the game. Because this is a memory game, the trick is to remember where the cards are placed in order to find the pairs.

Note: If you like, you can have races to see who is the fastest. You can also add cards in order to make the game a little more difficult; choose other organisms, then change the names and remove the text from the templates for the additions

© 2008, Canadian Museum of Nature. All Rights Reserved.

Ask students to look at a few pictures on the site in order to get an idea of the Arctic landscape and the activities of the Arctic hare.
Ask students to look at a few pictures on the site in order to get an idea of the Arctic landscape and the activities of the Arctic hare.

© 2008, Canadian Museum of Nature. All Rights Reserved.

Memory Game

During this activity, students will create a memory game featuring the Arctic and, more particularly, the Arctic hare.


© 2008, Canadian Museum of Nature. All Rights Reserved.


Learning Objectives

Students will:
  • discuss certain Arctic-dwelling animals
  • draw Arctic animals and plants
  • make a memory game.

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Lors de cette activité, les élèves seront amenés à produire un jeu de mémoire mettant en vedette l’Arctique, et plus particulièrement le lièvre arctique.

Liens avec d’autres sujets
Langue Art
Durée
10 minutes, le jeu seulement 40-50 minutes, toute la leçon
Préparation

Avant d’entreprendre cette activité en classe, vous devez suivre les étapes suivantes :
visiter le site Ukaliq le lièvre arctique (http://nature.ca/ukaliq)et lire les sections en relation avec les organismes mentionnés dans le jeu (Caractéristiques, Manger et se faire manger, Reproduction, Cycle de vie et Usages traditionnels); imprimer des photos des organismes à dessiner à titre d’exemple. Les cartes présentent : un renard arctique un lièvre arctiq Pour en lire plus
Lors de cette activité, les élèves seront amenés à produire un jeu de mémoire mettant en vedette l’Arctique, et plus particulièrement le lièvre arctique.

Liens avec d’autres sujets
  • Langue
  • Art
Durée
  • 10 minutes, le jeu seulement
  • 40-50 minutes, toute la leçon
Préparation

Avant d’entreprendre cette activité en classe, vous devez suivre les étapes suivantes :
  • visiter le site Ukaliq le lièvre arctique (http://nature.ca/ukaliq)et lire les sections en relation avec les organismes mentionnés dans le jeu (Caractéristiques, Manger et se faire manger, Reproduction, Cycle de vie et Usages traditionnels); imprimer des photos des organismes à dessiner à titre d’exemple. Les cartes présentent :
  1. un renard arctique
  2. un lièvre arctique (adulte en hiver)
  3. un lièvre arctique (levraut au printemps)
  4. un saule arctique
  5. un chasseur inuit
  6. une saxifrage à feuilles opposées,
  • vous familiariser avec les jeux de mémoire (voir Règles du jeu de mémoire),
  • imprimer les six cartes du jeu (Téléchargez les modèles de cartes, 500 Ko PDF) et les Photocopier afin que chaque élève ou chaque équipe de deux élèves ait un jeu de 12 cartes,
  • faire vous-même l’activité afin d’en montrer un exemple aux élèves.
  • Ordinateur avec accès Internet
Matériel requis
  • Ordinateur avec accès Internet
  • Copies des modèles de cartes
  • Nécessaire à dessin
  • Ciseaux
  • Colle

© 2008, Canadian Museum of Nature. Tous droits réservés.

Demandez aux élèves de vous parler des animaux qui habitent les régions froides du Canada. Demandez-leur de vous énumérer ce dont ces animaux ont besoin pour vivre : eau, nourriture, abri, territoire. Affichez les images ou les photos des organismes en question pour leur donner une idée de ce qu’ils doivent dessiner. Discutez encore un peu de ces organismes qui vivent dans des conditions de froid extrême.
Demandez aux élèves de vous parler des animaux qui habitent les régions froides du Canada. Demandez-leur de vous énumérer ce dont ces animaux ont besoin pour vivre : eau, nourriture, abri, territoire. Affichez les images ou les photos des organismes en question pour leur donner une idée de ce qu’ils doivent dessiner. Discutez encore un peu de ces organismes qui vivent dans des conditions de froid extrême.

© 2008, Canadian Museum of Nature. Tous droits réservés.

Questionnez les élèves pour savoir s’ils connaissent le principe du jeu de mémoire. Montrez-leur votre exemple de jeu afin qu’ils aient une idée du résultat final. Si vous le désirez, vous pouvez former des équipes de deux élèves chacune. Donnez un jeu de 12 cartes (2 x 6 cartes) à chacun de vos élèves ou à chaque équipe, selon votre choix, et expliquez-leur les consignes suivantes :
Premièrement, découper les cartes. Deuxièmement, plier sur la ligne pointillée et coller avec de la colle en bâton. Troisièmement, dessiner les organismes mentionnés dans la case délimitée au dessus du nom. Quatrièmement, jouer.

Questionnez les élèves pour savoir s’ils connaissent le principe du jeu de mémoire. Montrez-leur votre exemple de jeu afin qu’ils aient une idée du résultat final. Si vous le désirez, vous pouvez former des équipes de deux élèves chacune. Donnez un jeu de 12 cartes (2 x 6 cartes) à chacun de vos élèves ou à chaque équipe, selon votre choix, et expliquez-leur les consignes suivantes :
  • Premièrement, découper les cartes.
  • Deuxièmement, plier sur la ligne pointillée et coller avec de la colle en bâton.
  • Troisièmement, dessiner les organismes mentionnés dans la case délimitée au dessus du nom.
  • Quatrièmement, jouer.

© 2008, Canadian Museum of Nature. Tous droits réservés.

Les cartes pour le jeu de mémoire

Lors de cette activité, les élèves seront amenés à produire un jeu de mémoire mettant en vedette l’Arctique, et plus particulièrement le lièvre arctique.


© 2008, Canadian Museum of Nature. Tous droits réservés.


Pour un ou plusieurs joueurs. Le but du jeu est de trouver les paires de cartes identiques. S’il y a plus d’un joueur, le gagnant est celui qui a trouvé le plus grand nombre de paires. Placer les cartes en rangées, les illustrations cachées, devant le ou les joueurs. Le premier joueur retourne deux cartes. Si elles forment une paire (deux renards arctiques, par exemple), il les enlève et les garde, puis il joue à nouveau. Si les cartes ne forment pas une paire, le joueur les replace à l’envers et son tour est terminé. C’est le tour du joueur suivant, à moins que l’on joue seul. La partie est terminée lorsque toutes les cartes ont été appariées et enlevées du jeu. Comme il s’agit d’un jeu de mémoire, le truc est de se rappeler l’emplacement des cartes pour que l’appariement se fasse le plus vite possible.

Note : Si vous le voulez, vous pouvez faire des concours de vitesse et même ajouter des cartes (changer les noms et enlever le texte) pour rendre le jeu un peu plus difficile
Pour un ou plusieurs joueurs. Le but du jeu est de trouver les paires de cartes identiques. S’il y a plus d’un joueur, le gagnant est celui qui a trouvé le plus grand nombre de paires. Placer les cartes en rangées, les illustrations cachées, devant le ou les joueurs. Le premier joueur retourne deux cartes. Si elles forment une paire (deux renards arctiques, par exemple), il les enlève et les garde, puis il joue à nouveau. Si les cartes ne forment pas une paire, le joueur les replace à l’envers et son tour est terminé. C’est le tour du joueur suivant, à moins que l’on joue seul. La partie est terminée lorsque toutes les cartes ont été appariées et enlevées du jeu. Comme il s’agit d’un jeu de mémoire, le truc est de se rappeler l’emplacement des cartes pour que l’appariement se fasse le plus vite possible.

Note : Si vous le voulez, vous pouvez faire des concours de vitesse et même ajouter des cartes (changer les noms et enlever le texte) pour rendre le jeu un peu plus difficile

© 2008, Canadian Museum of Nature. Tous droits réservés.

Demandez aux élèves de regarder quelques photos se trouvant sur le site afin d’avoir une bonne idée du paysage arctique et des activités du lièvre arctique.
Demandez aux élèves de regarder quelques photos se trouvant sur le site afin d’avoir une bonne idée du paysage arctique et des activités du lièvre arctique.

© 2008, Canadian Museum of Nature. Tous droits réservés.

Jeu de mémoire

Lors de cette activité, les élèves seront amenés à produire un jeu de mémoire mettant en vedette l’Arctique, et plus particulièrement le lièvre arctique.


© 2008, Canadian Museum of Nature. Tous droits réservés.


Objectifs d'apprentissage

Les élèves
  • discuteront de certains animaux qui vivent dans l’Arctique,
  • dessineront des animaux et des plantes de l’Arctique,
  • fabriqueront un jeu de mémoire.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons