What cultural habits were shared between Natives and the British? What were some of the beneficial aspects of the cultural exchange for the Natives and the British, and what did each gain from the relationship? Use examples to support your answers. What were some of the negative effects for the Natives and the British? Use examples to support your answers. How did the nature of the relationship between the British and Natives affect the policies undertaken by the British. How did political affiliations between the Natives and the British affect the relationship between the French and the Natives? Between the Americans and Natives? How did Molly Brant's relationship with the two cultures, Native and British, engender positive interactions between the two communities?
  1. What cultural habits were shared between Natives and the British?
  2. What were some of the beneficial aspects of the cultural exchange for the Natives and the British, and what did each gain from the relationship? Use examples to support your answers.
  3. What were some of the negative effects for the Natives and the British? Use examples to support your answers.
  4. How did the nature of the relationship between the British and Natives affect the policies undertaken by the British.
  5. How did political affiliations between the Natives and the British affect the relationship between the French and the Natives? Between the Americans and Natives?
  6. How did Molly Brant's relationship with the two cultures, Native and British, engender positive interactions between the two communities?

© 2007, Cataraqui Archaeological Research Foundation. All Rights Reserved.

Many factors effect changing cultures within a society. To what extent the effects of the European-Native contact was negative or positive has long been debated in Canada and around the world. The Kingston area is rich with its own history of European-Native contact. The French settled in the area as early as 1673 when Fort Frontenac was established. Later European hositilities between the French and the British caused the control of the area to be handed over to the British with Loyalist refugees firmly established in the area by 1783.

In groups of three and four, research Kingston's Loyalist period. Debate the effect that contact had on the Native and European communities. Did the positive aspects of their contact outweigh the negative aspects? Did one side benefit more than the other side? Be sure to support you statements with evidence, and to keep your arguments to the time period on which the debate focuses. Remember to consider both sides of the argument when preparing your defense to ensure that you are well prepared to counter the opposing side's arguments.

Use research and information gleaned from documents provided, as well as further research at t Read More
Many factors effect changing cultures within a society. To what extent the effects of the European-Native contact was negative or positive has long been debated in Canada and around the world. The Kingston area is rich with its own history of European-Native contact. The French settled in the area as early as 1673 when Fort Frontenac was established. Later European hositilities between the French and the British caused the control of the area to be handed over to the British with Loyalist refugees firmly established in the area by 1783.

In groups of three and four, research Kingston's Loyalist period. Debate the effect that contact had on the Native and European communities. Did the positive aspects of their contact outweigh the negative aspects? Did one side benefit more than the other side? Be sure to support you statements with evidence, and to keep your arguments to the time period on which the debate focuses. Remember to consider both sides of the argument when preparing your defense to ensure that you are well prepared to counter the opposing side's arguments.

Use research and information gleaned from documents provided, as well as further research at the Cataraqui Archaeological Research Foundation website, the library, etc., to prepare your case.

© 2007, Cataraqui Archaeological Research Foundation. All Rights Reserved.

Learning Objectives

  1. Examine the changes in aboriginal culture after French and British contact within the Kingston context.
  2. Learn about the effect the fur trade had upon the economic organization of the Aboriginal communities, looking specifically at the role that Molly Brant played in the relationship between Native Canadian and British cultures.
  3. Research and consider the effect that contact with First Nations had on the development of Canadian culture and identity with reference to Kingston's evolution from a fur trading outpost to a thriving commercial and political centre for the country.

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Quelles habitudes culturelles les Amérindiens et les Européens avaient-ils en commun? Que furent les aspects positifs de cet échange culturel pour les Amérindiens et pour les Européens? Qu’est-ce que cette relation leur a respectivement apporté? Trouvez des exemples pour appuyer vos réponses. Que furent les impacts négatifs pour les Amérindiens et pour les Britanniques? Trouvez des exemples pour appuyer vos réponses. De quelle manière le caractère de la relation entre les Britanniques et les Amérindiens a-t-il influencé les politiques des Britanniques. De quelle manière les affiliations politiques entre les Amérindiens et les Britanniques ont-elles changé la relation entre les Français et les Amérindiens et la relation entre les Américains et les Amérindiens? De quelle manière la relation entre Molly Brant et ces deux cultures, celle des Amérindiens et celle des Britanniques, a-t-elle engendré des interactions positives entre ces deu Pour en lire plus
  1. Quelles habitudes culturelles les Amérindiens et les Européens avaient-ils en commun?
  2. Que furent les aspects positifs de cet échange culturel pour les Amérindiens et pour les Européens? Qu’est-ce que cette relation leur a respectivement apporté? Trouvez des exemples pour appuyer vos réponses.
  3. Que furent les impacts négatifs pour les Amérindiens et pour les Britanniques? Trouvez des exemples pour appuyer vos réponses.
  4. De quelle manière le caractère de la relation entre les Britanniques et les Amérindiens a-t-il influencé les politiques des Britanniques.
  5. De quelle manière les affiliations politiques entre les Amérindiens et les Britanniques ont-elles changé la relation entre les Français et les Amérindiens et la relation entre les Américains et les Amérindiens?
  6. De quelle manière la relation entre Molly Brant et ces deux cultures, celle des Amérindiens et celle des Britanniques, a-t-elle engendré des interactions positives entre ces deux communautés?

© 2007, Cataraqui Archaeological Research Foundation. Tous droits réservés.

Plusieurs facteurs contribuent à changer les différentes cultures au sein d’une société. Le débat, au Canada et à travers le monde, à savoir dans quelle mesure les impacts de la rencontre entre les Européens et les Amérindiens furent positifs ou négatifs existe depuis longtemps. La région de Kingston est riche en histoire en ce qui touche à la rencontre entre les Européens et les Amérindiens. Dès 1673, les Français s’étaient installés dans la région avec l’établissement du Fort Frontenac. Les hostilités entre les Français et les Britanniques ont abouti au contrôle de la région par les Britanniques. En 1783, les réfugiés loyalistes étaient bien installés.

En groupe de trois ou quatre, faites de la recherche sur la période loyaliste de Kingston. Étudiez les impacts de la rencontre entre la communauté européenne et la communauté autochtone. Les aspects positifs de leur rencontre sont-ils plus nombreux que les aspects négat Pour en lire plus
Plusieurs facteurs contribuent à changer les différentes cultures au sein d’une société. Le débat, au Canada et à travers le monde, à savoir dans quelle mesure les impacts de la rencontre entre les Européens et les Amérindiens furent positifs ou négatifs existe depuis longtemps. La région de Kingston est riche en histoire en ce qui touche à la rencontre entre les Européens et les Amérindiens. Dès 1673, les Français s’étaient installés dans la région avec l’établissement du Fort Frontenac. Les hostilités entre les Français et les Britanniques ont abouti au contrôle de la région par les Britanniques. En 1783, les réfugiés loyalistes étaient bien installés.

En groupe de trois ou quatre, faites de la recherche sur la période loyaliste de Kingston. Étudiez les impacts de la rencontre entre la communauté européenne et la communauté autochtone. Les aspects positifs de leur rencontre sont-ils plus nombreux que les aspects négatifs? Leur rencontre a-t-elle été plus avantageuse pour un groupe que pour l’autre? Vous devez être capable de justifier vos arguments, et ceux-ci doivent porter sur la période étudiée. N’oubliez pas d’examiner les deux côtés de la question lorsque vous vous préparerez à vous défendre afin d’être en mesure de contre-argumenter.

Pour vous préparer au débat, faites de la recherche et utiliser les documents fournis, visitez le site Internet de la Cataraqui Archaeological Research Foundation, la bibliothèque, etc.

© 2007, Cataraqui Archaeological Research Foundation. Tous droits réservés.

Objectifs d'apprentissage

  1. Analyser les changements dans la culture autochtone après la rencontre avec les Français et les Anglais dans la région de Kingston. 
  2. En apprendre davantage au sujet de l’impact du commerce des fourrures sur l’organisation économique des communautés autochtones, tout en examinant plus précisément le rôle joué par Molly Brant dans la relation entre les Amérindiens canadiens et les Britanniques.
  3. Étudier, en faisant de la recherche, l’impact de la rencontre avec les premières nations sur le développement de la culture et de l’identité canadienne en ce qui concerne l’évolution de Kingston, qui était un poste de fourrure et qui est devenu un centre politique et commercial prospère pour le pays.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons