People have inhabited and traded in the area that is now Kingston for thousands of years.

Paleo Indian Period (circa 7000 B.C.E.)

The first inhabitants of Ontario lived in small family-based groups, depending on plants and large game animals (moose, deer, caribou, elk) for their food. These nomadic peoples used stone, skin, antler bone, wood, and plant fibres to produce the tools and goods necessary for their survival.

Early Archaic Period (circa 5000 B.C.E.)

Early Archaic peoples produced a greater variety of items than their predecessors. Of particular importance were the dugout canoes and stone tools made by grinding rather than by flaking. The water craft allowed the Early Archaic peoples to travel greater distances, facilitating the exchange of new ideas and goods.

Middle Archaic Period (circa 3000 B.C.E.)

The Indians who inhabited Eastern Ontario during the Middle Archaic Period participated in a trade network that spanned the Great Lakes region. For example, copper obtained from the shores o Read More
People have inhabited and traded in the area that is now Kingston for thousands of years.

Paleo Indian Period (circa 7000 B.C.E.)

The first inhabitants of Ontario lived in small family-based groups, depending on plants and large game animals (moose, deer, caribou, elk) for their food. These nomadic peoples used stone, skin, antler bone, wood, and plant fibres to produce the tools and goods necessary for their survival.

Early Archaic Period (circa 5000 B.C.E.)

Early Archaic peoples produced a greater variety of items than their predecessors. Of particular importance were the dugout canoes and stone tools made by grinding rather than by flaking. The water craft allowed the Early Archaic peoples to travel greater distances, facilitating the exchange of new ideas and goods.

Middle Archaic Period (circa 3000 B.C.E.)

The Indians who inhabited Eastern Ontario during the Middle Archaic Period participated in a trade network that spanned the Great Lakes region. For example, copper obtained from the shores of Lake Superior was traded in Eastern Ontario, where it was made into awls, needles, knives, fish hooks, spear points, and bracelets.

Late Archaic Period (circa 700 B.C.E.)

Changes that characterised the Late Archaic Period include increased population size, distinction in social status, and new hunting techniques. Evidence of these changes are the inclusion of trade goods in the burial of selected individuals and tool kits consisting of a variety of projectile point types.

Early Woodland Period (circa 300 B.C.E.)

Peoples living in Eastern Ontario began to use pottery during the Early Woodland Period. Early pots were crudely made, with thick walls and a distinct cord-marked exterior surface. The practice of including grave goods with burials continued, influenced by the Adena Culture, centred in the Ohio River Valley, and the Middlesex tradition, which was focussed in New York State.

Middle Woodland Period (circa 900 C.E.)

During the Middle Woodland Period regionally distinct pottery styles developed, and trade networks began to disintegrate. Ceramic vessels were of a higher quality than previously, and appeared in a greater range of shapes and with a greater variety of decorations. The disintegration of trade networks toward the end of this period coincided with the decline of major cultural influences centred in Ohio and Illinois. Agriculture was introduced to Eastern Ontario towards the end of the Middle Woodland Period.

Late Woodland Period (circa 1600 C.E.)

Domesticated plants (corn, beans, and squash) increased in significance as supplements to the more traditional foods such as deer, fish, and wild plants during the Late Woodland Period. Agriculture allowed the Late Woodland Peoples to live in permanent villages. Increasing conflict between groups resulted in the construction of palisades around some of these villages.
Excerpted from the Cataraqui Archaeological Research Foundation website (http://www.carf.info/).
© 2007, Cataraqui Archaeological Research Foundation. All Rights Reserved.

In 1839 rumours began that Kingston was to become the capital of the United Provinces of Canada. Land speculators, subdividers, and builders responded quickly to the overnight rise in population, from 4200 in 1839 to over 6000 in 1842.

Work also continued on fortifications and in 1841 an advanced battery was built at Fort Henry. In 1843 new barracks were built in the Artillery Park behind St. Paul's Church. Two years later contracts were let for the construction of Martello Towers, supported by earthworks and flanking defenses, covering the Kingston waterfront from Cedar Island to Murney's Point. Plans were also made for a shore battery opposite the new City buildings. The presence of the military, and the intense building activity, pumped a lot of money into then local economy.

Lands around Kingston were subdivided and extended much further than they previously had, but settlement remained largely within the old boundaries of the town, between West and North Streets, and the previously subdivided areas of Charlesville, Picardville, and Williamsville. One exception was the construction of large villas along the waterfront west of town.

The selectio Read More
In 1839 rumours began that Kingston was to become the capital of the United Provinces of Canada. Land speculators, subdividers, and builders responded quickly to the overnight rise in population, from 4200 in 1839 to over 6000 in 1842.

Work also continued on fortifications and in 1841 an advanced battery was built at Fort Henry. In 1843 new barracks were built in the Artillery Park behind St. Paul's Church. Two years later contracts were let for the construction of Martello Towers, supported by earthworks and flanking defenses, covering the Kingston waterfront from Cedar Island to Murney's Point. Plans were also made for a shore battery opposite the new City buildings. The presence of the military, and the intense building activity, pumped a lot of money into then local economy.

Lands around Kingston were subdivided and extended much further than they previously had, but settlement remained largely within the old boundaries of the town, between West and North Streets, and the previously subdivided areas of Charlesville, Picardville, and Williamsville. One exception was the construction of large villas along the waterfront west of town.

The selection of Kingston as capital also stimulated building in Portsmouth. Before 1830 settlement in this area consisted of a few scattered farmsteads and a tannery, abandoned in 1828. Settlement grew up around the small inlet of Hatter's Bay, due to the construction of Kingston Penitentiary, which began in 1833. The presence of the construction workers attracted merchants who supplied dry goods and other provisions, which formed the foundations of village life.

The further development of Hatter's Bay as a harbour came as a result of the rapid expansion of the forwarding business in Kingston and the need for more wharfage, especially after the disastrous fire on Kingston's waterfront in 1840. With the building boom in Kingston underway, the quarries at Portsmouth were busy, as was the harbour as building material was unloaded at the wharves. Another fact which added to the growth of Portsmouth and area was the decision to use Alwington House as the Governors General's residence. There was a rush to buy land and property values consequently rose.

In 1842 the City Council showed interest in the area of the Engineer's Yard and wanted to extend streets through the Military Reserve to the Bay. This was the area bounded by present day Wellington, Barrack and Ontario Streets.

The newly subdivided property was located west of the city, with the exception of a small subdivision on Montreal Street, north of the town. The Reverend George O'Kill Stuart subdivided much of Farm Lot 24, and the land he claimed as part of Farm Lot 24 at the west end of the Clergy Reserve, which became known as Stuartville. From the 1840's on, the area west from Barrie Street between Johnson and Union Streets became heavily populate, largely by Irish Catholics, most of whom were refugees from the potato famine.

Architecture

A very noticeable trend, occurring between 1838 and 1860, was the exodus of merchants, professionals, and their families, from residences in the original city core to spacious country villas surrounded by extensive grounds, or to townhouses. A few Kingstonians had built rural homes west of town prior to the incorporation of the town, but this trend gained popularity in the forties and fifties. Architectural sophistication was brought to Kingston by the Government's Chief Architect, George Browne.
Excerpted from Kingston Archaeological Master Plan Study: Stage 1 Report published by the Cataraqui Archaeological Research Foundation.
© 2007, Cataraqui Archaeological Research Foundation. All Rights Reserved.

British Fort Frontenac, 70th Regiment, 1985 Excavation

British Fort Frontenac, 70th Regiment, 1985 Excavation

Cataraqui Archaeological Research Foundation
Hannah Roth

© 2007, Cataraqui Archaeological Research Foundation. All Rights Reserved.


Artifacts from the Ontario Health Insurance Program Building Excavation

Artifacts from the Ontario Health Insurance Program Building Excavation

Cataraqui Archaeological Research Foundation
Hannah Roth

© 2007, Cataraqui Archaeological Research Foundation. All Rights Reserved.


Maker's Stamp on an Artifact from the Ontario Health Insurance Program Building Excavation

Maker's Stamp on an Artifact from the Ontario Health Insurance Program Building Excavation

Cataraqui Archaeological Research Foundation
Hannah Roth

© 2007, Cataraqui Archaeological Research Foundation. All Rights Reserved.


Cataraqui Archaeological Research Foundation
Hannah Roth

© 2007, Cataraqui Archaeological Research Foundation. All Rights Reserved.


Original Townsite and Surrounding Area

Original Townsite and Surrounding Area. Access a larger version of this image.

Cataraqui Archaeological Research Foundation
Hannah Roth

© 2007, Cataraqui Archaeological Research Foundation. All Rights Reserved.


Cataraqui Archaeological Research Foundation
Hannah Roth

© 2007, Cataraqui Archaeological Research Foundation. All Rights Reserved.


Limits of Settlement, City of Kingston, 1850

Limits of Settlement, City of Kingston, 1850. Access a larger version of this image.

Cataraqui Archaeological Research Foundation
Hannah Roth

© 2007, Cataraqui Archaeological Research Foundation. All Rights Reserved.


Number of Houses in Kingston, 1785-1891

Number of Houses in Kingston, 1785-1891. Access a larger version of this image.

Cataraqui Archaeological Research Foundation
Hannah Roth

© 2007, Cataraqui Archaeological Research Foundation. All Rights Reserved.


Kingston Harbourfront Site Plans Depicting Four Periods of Occupation

Kingston Harbourfront Site Plans Depicting Four Periods of Occupation. Access a larger version of this image.

Cataraqui Archaeological Research Foundation
Hannah Roth

© 2007, Cataraqui Archaeological Research Foundation. All Rights Reserved.


Learning Objectives

  1. Learn about the changes in landscape and land use within the Kingston area in the mid-19th century.
  2. Learn about the changes in population both in numbers and ethnicity within the Kingston area in the mid-19th century.
  3. Examine the development of the Kingston landscape from woodlands to agricultural to urban land uses.

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Des gens habitent et font du commerce dans la région qu'on appelle maintenant Kingston depuis des milliers d'années.

La période paléoaméricaine (vers 7000 avant l'ère chrétienne)

Les premiers habitants de l'Ontario formaient de petits groupes familiaux et se nourrissaient de grands mammifères (orignaux, cerfs, caribous, wapitis). Ces nomades utilisaient des pierres, des fourrures, de l'anthlérite, des os, du bois et des fibres végétales pour produire des outils et d'autres biens nécessaires à leur survie.

Début de l'Antiquité (vers 5000 avant l'ère chrétienne)

Les populations de cette période produisaient une plus grande variété d'articles que leurs prédécesseurs. Les pirogues et les outils de pierre broyée (et non écaillée) étaient particulièrement importants. Les pirogues permettaient à ces gens de parcourir de grandes distances, ce qui a facilité l'é Pour en lire plus
Des gens habitent et font du commerce dans la région qu'on appelle maintenant Kingston depuis des milliers d'années.

La période paléoaméricaine (vers 7000 avant l'ère chrétienne)

Les premiers habitants de l'Ontario formaient de petits groupes familiaux et se nourrissaient de grands mammifères (orignaux, cerfs, caribous, wapitis). Ces nomades utilisaient des pierres, des fourrures, de l'anthlérite, des os, du bois et des fibres végétales pour produire des outils et d'autres biens nécessaires à leur survie.

Début de l'Antiquité (vers 5000 avant l'ère chrétienne)

Les populations de cette période produisaient une plus grande variété d'articles que leurs prédécesseurs. Les pirogues et les outils de pierre broyée (et non écaillée) étaient particulièrement importants. Les pirogues permettaient à ces gens de parcourir de grandes distances, ce qui a facilité l'échange d'idées et de biens.

Milieu de l'Antiquité (vers 3000 avant l'ère chrétienne)

Les Amérindiens qui habitaient l'est de l'Ontario durant cette période participaient à un réseau de troc qui couvrait la région des Grands Lacs. Par exemple, on échangeait du cuivre obtenu des rives du lac Supérieur pour en faire des alênes, des aiguilles, des couteaux, de hameçons, des pointes de lance et des bracelets.

Fin de l'Antiquité (vers 700 avant l'ère chrétienne)

Les changements qui ont caractérisé cette période incluent des populations plus denses, des distinctions de statut social, et de nouvelles techniques de chasse. L'inclusion d'articles lors de l'enterrement de certains individus et des trousses d’outils pointus variés constituent des preuves de ces changements.

Début de la période Woodland (vers 300 avant l'ère chrétienne)

Les populations de l'est de l'Ontario commencent à utiliser la poterie. Les premiers vases étaient rudimentaires et avaient des parois épaisses ainsi qu'une surface extérieure marquée par de la corde. La pratique consistant à enterrer les morts avec divers articles se poursuit et elle est influencée par la culture Adena de la vallée de la rivière Ohio, et par la tradition du Middlesex, qui était concentrée dans l'était de New York.

Milieu de la période Woodland (vers 900 de l'ère chrétienne)

Des styles distincts de poterie se développent et des réseaux d'échanges commencent à se désintégrer. Les ouvrages de céramique sont de plus grande qualité et présentent de nombreuses formes, leur décoration est aussi plus variée. La désintégration des réseaux d'échanges vers la fin de cette période a coïncidé avec le déclin d'influences culturelles importantes centrées en Ohio et en Illinois. C'est vers la fin de cette période que l'agriculture se développe dans l'est de l'Ontario.

Fin de la période Woodland (vers 1600 de l'ère chrétienne)

La domestication de plantes (maïs, fèves et courges) diversifie la nourriture traditionnelle (cerf, poisson et plantes sauvages). L'agriculture permet aux populations de s'installer dans des villages permanents. La construction de palissades autour de certains de ces villages crée des conflits entre les groupes.
Tiré de la site web de la Cataraqui Archaeological Research Foundation (http://www.carf.info/).
© 2007, Cataraqui Archaeological Research Foundation. Tous droits réservés.

En 1839, les rumeurs couraient que Kingston allait devenir la capitale des Provinces Unies du Canada. Les spéculateurs immobiliers, les subdiviseurs, les constructeurs répondirent rapidement à l’essor de la population, du jour au lendemain, de 4200 en 1839 jusqu’à plus de 6000 en 1842.

Les travaux continuèrent de même sur les fortifications, et en 1841, on construisit une batterie avancée à Fort Henry. En 1843, on construisit de nouvelles casernes dans Artillery Park en arrière de l’église St. Paul. Deux ans plus tard, on permit des contrats de construction des Tours Martello, soutenues par des travaux de terrassement et flanquées de défenses couvrant le front du lac, à Kingston, de l’Île Cedar à Murney’s Point. Des plans furent également dessinés pour une batterie sur le littoral à l’opposé de nouveaux bâtiments de la ville. La présence militaire, et la construction intense de bâtiments, injecta beaucoup d’argent dans l’économie locale d’alors.

Les te Pour en lire plus
En 1839, les rumeurs couraient que Kingston allait devenir la capitale des Provinces Unies du Canada. Les spéculateurs immobiliers, les subdiviseurs, les constructeurs répondirent rapidement à l’essor de la population, du jour au lendemain, de 4200 en 1839 jusqu’à plus de 6000 en 1842.

Les travaux continuèrent de même sur les fortifications, et en 1841, on construisit une batterie avancée à Fort Henry. En 1843, on construisit de nouvelles casernes dans Artillery Park en arrière de l’église St. Paul. Deux ans plus tard, on permit des contrats de construction des Tours Martello, soutenues par des travaux de terrassement et flanquées de défenses couvrant le front du lac, à Kingston, de l’Île Cedar à Murney’s Point. Des plans furent également dessinés pour une batterie sur le littoral à l’opposé de nouveaux bâtiments de la ville. La présence militaire, et la construction intense de bâtiments, injecta beaucoup d’argent dans l’économie locale d’alors.

Les terres autour de Kingston étaient subdivisées et s’étendaient plus loin qu’auparavant, mais le village demeurait largement à l’intérieur des vieilles limites du village, entre les rues Ouest et Nord, et les régions subdivisées précédentes de Charlesville, Picardville, et Williamsville. Avec une exception qui était la construction de grandes villas le long de la rive à l’ouest de Kingston.

La sélection de Kingston comme capitale stimula aussi la construction à Portsmouth. Avant 1830, le village dans cette région consistait en quelques fermes dispersées et une tannerie, abandonnée en 1828. La colonisation se développa autour du bras de rivière de Hatter’s Bay, due à la construction du Pénitencier de Kingston, qui commença en 1833. La présence de travailleurs de la construction attira les marchands qui fournissaient des marchandises sèches et d’autres provisions qui formèrent les fondations de la vie du village.

Le développement ultérieur de Hatter’s Bay, comme port, est venu comme résultat d’une expansion rapide des affaires d’expédition à Kingston, et le besoin de plus de droits de quai, surtout après l’incendie désastreux sur les quais de Kingston en 1840. Avec la reprise de la construction, les carrières à Portsmouth étaient affairées, de même que le port, car les matériaux de construction étaient déchargés sur les quais. Un autre fait dont bénéficia la croissance de Portsmouth et de ses environs fut la décision d’utiliser Alwington House comme résidence du Gouverneur Général. Il y eut une précipitation pour acheter de la propriété ce qui eut pour conséquence l’augmentation de la valeur immobilière.

En 1842, le Conseil Municipal montra de l’intérêt pour l’aire du Chantier de l’Ingénieur, et voulut prolonger les rues, de la Réserve Militaire à la Baie. Ceci était l’endroit borné de nos jours, par les rues Wellington, Barrack et Ontario.

La nouvelle propriété nouvellement subdivisée était localisée à l’ouest de la ville, à l’exception d’une petite subdivision sur la rue Montréal, au nord de la ville. Le Révérend George O’Kill Stuart subdivisa de beaucoup la Ferme lot 24, et les terres qu’il réclamait comme faisant partie de la Ferme lot 24 à la fin ouest de la Réserve Clergy, seront connues comme Stuartville. Dès 1840, le quartier entre les rues Johnson et Union, devint très peuplé, largement par des Irlandais Catholiques, dont la plupart étaient des réfugiés de la famine de la pomme de terre.

Architecture

Un courant très remarqué se produisant entre 1838 et 1860, fut l’exode des marchands, professionnels et de leurs familles du cœur originel de la ville vers de spacieuses maisons de campagne entourées de grandes propriétés, ou vers des maisons de ville. Quelques Kingstoniens avaient construit des maisons de campagne à l’ouest de la ville avant l’incorporation à la ville, mais ce courant gagna de la popularité dans les années quarante et cinquante. La sophistication architecturale fut apportée à Kingston par l’Architecte en Chef du Gouvernement, George Browne.
Tiré de Kingston Archaeological Master Plan Study: Stage I Report publié par la Cataraqui Archaeological Research Foundation.
© 2007, Cataraqui Archaeological Research Foundation. Tous droits réservés.

Fort Frontenac britannique, 70e Régiment, fouille de 1985

Fort Frontenac britannique, 70e Régiment, fouille de 1985

Cataraqui Archaeological Research Foundation
Hannah Roth, Jocelyn Gagnon, Kingston Language Services

© 2007, Cataraqui Archaeological Research Foundation. Tous droits réservés.


Fouille d'artefacts du bâtiment de l'Assurance-santé de l'Ontario

Fouille d'artefacts du bâtiment de l'Assurance-santé de l'Ontario

Cataraqui Archaeological Research Foundation
Hannah Roth, Jocelyn Gagnon, Kingston Language Services

© 2007, Cataraqui Archaeological Research Foundation. Tous droits réservés.


Marque du créateur sur un artefact du bâtiment de l'Assurance-santé de l'Ontario

Marque du créateur sur un artefact du bâtiment de l'Assurance-santé de l'Ontario

Cataraqui Archaeological Research Foundation
Hannah Roth, Jocelyn Gagnon, Kingston Language Services

© 2007, Cataraqui Archaeological Research Foundation. Tous droits réservés.


Cataraqui Archaeological Research Foundation
Hannah Roth, Jocelyn Gagnon, Kingston Language Services

© 2007, Cataraqui Archaeological Research Foundation. Tous droits réservés.


Site originel de la ville et ses environs

Site originel de la ville et ses environs. Accéder à une plus grande version de cette image.

Cataraqui Archaeological Research Foundation
Hannah Roth, Jocelyn Gagnon, Kingston Language Services

© 2007, Cataraqui Archaeological Research Foundation. Tous droits réservés.


Cataraqui Archaeological Research Foundation
Hannah Roth, Jocelyn Gagnon, Kingston Language Services

© 2007, Cataraqui Archaeological Research Foundation. Tous droits réservés.


Limites du village de Kingston, 1850

Limites du village de Kingston, 1850. Accéder à une plus grande version de cette image.

Cataraqui Archaeological Research Foundation
Hannah Roth, Jocelyn Gagnon, Kingston Language Services

© 2007, Cataraqui Archaeological Research Foundation. Tous droits réservés.


Nombre d'habitations à Kingston, 1785 - 1891

Nombre d'habitations à Kingston, 1785 - 1891. Accéder à une plus grande version de cette image.

Cataraqui Archaeological Research Foundation
Hannah Roth, Jocelyn Gagnon, Kingston Language Services

© 2007, Cataraqui Archaeological Research Foundation. Tous droits réservés.


Les plans du site du Front de port de Kingston représentant quatre périodes d'occupation

Les plans du site du Front de port de Kingston représentant quatre périodes d'occupation. Accéder à une plus grande version de cette image.

Cataraqui Archaeological Research Foundation
Hannah Roth, Jocelyn Gagnon, Kingston Language Services

© 2007, Cataraqui Archaeological Research Foundation. Tous droits réservés.


Objectifs d'apprentissage

  1. Apprendre sur les changements de paysages et l’usage des terres à l’intérieur de la région de Kingston, au milieu du 19e siècle.
  2. Apprendre sur les changements de populations, à la fois en nombre et en ethnies à l’intérieur de la région de Kingston, au milieu du 19 e siècle.
  3. Examiner le développement du paysage de Kingston à partir des régions boisées, aux terres utilisées, à l’agriculture, à l’urbanisme.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons