The Kingston area was first settled by Europeans in 1673 with the founding of Fort Frontenac, by the French. As it passed from French control in to British control and finally moved to sovereignty in 1867, Kingston continued to expand and thrive. With an ideal location on Lake Ontario to defend against the United States, and as a shipping port, Kingston continued to move forward despite lulls in industry and political prominence.

In this activity you will examine the role of industry and commercial activity on Kingston's development as a city. There are three secctions to this activity that examine different aspect's of Kingston's growth and development.

Part 1: Mapping Kingston's Land Settlement Patterns

Create two maps that show settlement patterns and land use development in the Kingston area during the 19th century. A basic map of Kingston has been provided for for you to download in the digital assets. Use the maps and informational resources to determine where to locate important elements.

Required Elements

Read More
The Kingston area was first settled by Europeans in 1673 with the founding of Fort Frontenac, by the French. As it passed from French control in to British control and finally moved to sovereignty in 1867, Kingston continued to expand and thrive. With an ideal location on Lake Ontario to defend against the United States, and as a shipping port, Kingston continued to move forward despite lulls in industry and political prominence.

In this activity you will examine the role of industry and commercial activity on Kingston's development as a city. There are three secctions to this activity that examine different aspect's of Kingston's growth and development.

Part 1: Mapping Kingston's Land Settlement Patterns

Create two maps that show settlement patterns and land use development in the Kingston area during the 19th century. A basic map of Kingston has been provided for for you to download in the digital assets. Use the maps and informational resources to determine where to locate important elements.

Required Elements

  • Government buildings
  • Industrial or commercial buildings/centres
  • Houses
  • A legend

Part 2: Drawing Connections: Kingston's Interconnected Political, Economical, and Social History

Kingston was incorporated in 1838 and chosen as the capital of Canada in 1843. During this time, spurred on by Kingston's new status, there was a boom in industry and commercial activity in the area. Land settlement patterns changed at this time as well.

Research Kingston's economic, political and commercial status at this time. In a short essay, analyze how the increase in commercial activity and the further development of industry affected population and settlement patterns in the Kingston area. In your answer consider the factors that contributed to the growth of industry and where this industry was focused in terms of type of industry and location.

Part 3: Voicing your Opinion: The Lasting Effects of Kingston's Industrial Past

Due to industry that existed in the Kingston area during the 19th century, there is environmental damage that affects further development in downtown Kingston today. Create an opinion piece about the environmental concerns surrounding sites in downtown Kingston: focus on Frontenac Village, the OHIP building, or another site approved by your teacher.
 .
Use the following guidelines to aid your research and final work:

Investigational Guidelines

  1. Outline the concern.
  2. Outline the cause of the problem and its historical beginning.
  3. What steps have been taken to remedy the situation?
  4. How has awareness of the environmental impact changed from when the buildings were built and now?
  5. Was enough done to deal with the environmental concerns when the building was built?
  6. Were the developers acting appropriately in disclosing enough information to clients?
  7. Should developers be held responsibly if full information not disclosed to potential clients?
  8. Are/were laws suitably strict?
  9. Who should be held responsible for the ill health effects of people working/living in buildings?
  10. What adverse health affects have been recorded?
  11. How have they been responded to?

© 2007, Cataraqui Archaeological Research Foundation. All Rights Reserved.

Learning Objectives

  1. Learn about the changes in landscape and land use within the Kingston area in the mid-19th century.
  2. Learn about the changes in population both in numbers and ethnicity within the Kingston area in the mid-19th century.
  3. Examine the development of the Kingston landscape from woodlands to agricultural to urban land uses.

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

La région de Kingston fut d’abord colonisée par des Européens en 1673 avec la fondation de Fort Frontenac par les Français. Comme elle passa du contrôle Français au contrôle Britannique, et finalement à la souveraineté en 1867, Kingston continua à s’étendre et à prospérer. Avec un site idéal au bord du lac Ontario pour se défendre contre les Etats-Unis, et comme port naval, Kingston continua d’aller de l’avant en dépit de pauses industrielles et de l’importance politique.

De cette activité, vous examinerez le rôle de l’industrie et de l’activité commerciale sur le développement de Kingston comme ville. Il y a trois sections à cette activité qui examinent les différents aspects de l’accroissement de Kingston et de son développement.

Partie I : Établir les Grandes Lignes des Modèles de Colonisation de la Région de Kingston

Créer deux cartes qui démontrent des mod&egra Pour en lire plus
La région de Kingston fut d’abord colonisée par des Européens en 1673 avec la fondation de Fort Frontenac par les Français. Comme elle passa du contrôle Français au contrôle Britannique, et finalement à la souveraineté en 1867, Kingston continua à s’étendre et à prospérer. Avec un site idéal au bord du lac Ontario pour se défendre contre les Etats-Unis, et comme port naval, Kingston continua d’aller de l’avant en dépit de pauses industrielles et de l’importance politique.

De cette activité, vous examinerez le rôle de l’industrie et de l’activité commerciale sur le développement de Kingston comme ville. Il y a trois sections à cette activité qui examinent les différents aspects de l’accroissement de Kingston et de son développement.

Partie I : Établir les Grandes Lignes des Modèles de Colonisation de la Région de Kingston

Créer deux cartes qui démontrent des modèles de colonisation et le développement d’usage des terres de la région de Kingston durant 19 e siècle. Une carte de base de Kingston vous a été fournie pour télé-décharger dans les ressources numériques. Utiliser les cartes et les ressources numériques pour déterminer où localiser des éléments importants.

Éléments requis

  • Édifices gouvernementaux
  • Édifices industriels ou commerciaux / centres
  • Maisons
  • Une légende

Partie 2 : Établir les Connexions : les Interconnexions de la Politique, de l’Économie et de l’Histoire Sociale, à Kingston

Kingston fut incorporée en 1838 et choisie comme capitale du Canada en 1843. Pendant ce temps, stimulée par le nouveau statut de Kingston, il y eut un essor industriel et de l’activité commerciale dans la région. Les modèles de configuration de la colonisation des sols changèrent aussi.

Rechercher le statut économique, politique et commercial de Kingston de ce temps là. Dans une brève dissertation, analysez comment l’augmentation de l’activité commerciale et le développement ultérieur de l’industrie affectait la population et les modèles de village dans la région de Kingston. Dans votre réponse, considérez les facteurs qui ont contribués à la croissance industrielle et où cette industrie se situait en termes de type d’industrie et sa localisation.

Partie 3 : Exprimer votre Opinion : Les Effets Durables du Passé Industriel de Kingston

À cause de l’industrie qui existait dans la région de Kingston pendant le 19 e siècle, il y a des dommages environnementaux qui affectent le développement futur du centre-ville du Kingston d’aujourd’hui. Créer une opinion sur les préoccupations environnementales autour des sites au centre-ville de Kingston : diriger votre attention sur Frontenac Village, l’édifice OHIP, ou un autre site approuvé par votre enseignant.

Utilisez les directives suivantes pour aider votre recherche et votre travail final.

Lignes Directrices d’Investigation

  1. Expliquer dans les grandes lignes ce qu’était la préoccupation.
  2. Expliquer dans les grandes lignes la cause du problème et son début historique.
  3. Quelles mesures a-t-on prises pour remédier à la situation.
  4. Comment est-ce que la conscientisation de l’impact environnemental a changé lors de la construction des bâtiments d’avec maintenant?
  5. A-t-on fait suffisamment pour s’occuper des préoccupations environnementales lorsqu’on édifia les bâtiments?
  6. Est-ce que les promoteurs immobiliers organisaient de façon appropriée en divulguant suffisamment d’information aux clients?
  7. Est-ce que les promoteurs devraient être tenus responsables si l’information complète n’avait pas été dévoilée aux clients potentiels?
  8. Est-ce que les lois étaient adéquatement strictes?
  9. Qui doit être tenu responsable pour les effets de mauvaise santé des travailleurs/résidents de ces édifices?
  10. Quels effets défavorables ont été enregistrés?
  11. Comment y a-t-on répondu?

© 2007, Cataraqui Archaeological Research Foundation. Tous droits réservés.

Objectifs d'apprentissage

  1. Apprendre sur les changements de paysages et l'usage des terres à l'intérieur de la région de Kingston au milieu du 19e siècle.
  2. Apprendre sur les changements de populations, tous deux en nombre et en ethnies à l'intérieur de la région de Kingston au milieu du 19 e siècle.
  3. Examiner le développement du paysage de Kingston à partir des régions boisées aux terres utilisées à l'agriculture à l'urbanisme.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons