On August 10th 1907, Emily and her sister Alice sailed from Vancouver to Alaska, eventually arriving at Sitka, which had been a Russian trading post for many years before becoming a US naval base. The local Tlingit Nation were renowned for their carving tradition, particularly their totem poles. Without understanding the pole's spiritual function for the Tlingit people, Europeans displayed them as decorative objects. This seemingly benign action was indicative of the deep cultural divide between the two, which would eventually cause conflict.
On August 10th 1907, Emily and her sister Alice sailed from Vancouver to Alaska, eventually arriving at Sitka, which had been a Russian trading post for many years before becoming a US naval base. The local Tlingit Nation were renowned for their carving tradition, particularly their totem poles. Without understanding the pole's spiritual function for the Tlingit people, Europeans displayed them as decorative objects. This seemingly benign action was indicative of the deep cultural divide between the two, which would eventually cause conflict.

© 2007, Art Gallery of Greater Victoria. All Rights Reserved.

"…Totem-Pole Walk winding through the trees beside a stream named Indian River, named for the pleasing of tourists but really the farthest possible distance from the village of Indian shanties - a walk ornamented at advantageous spots with out-of-setting totem poles, transplanted from their rightful place in front of an Indian chief's house in his home village, poles now loaded with commercial paint to make curiosity for see-it-all tourists …"1
"…Totem-Pole Walk winding through the trees beside a stream named Indian River, named for the pleasing of tourists but really the farthest possible distance from the village of Indian shanties - a walk ornamented at advantageous spots with out-of-setting totem poles, transplanted from their rightful place in front of an Indian chief's house in his home village, poles now loaded with commercial paint to make curiosity for see-it-all tourists …"1
1Emily Carr, The Heart of a Peacock, ed. Ira Dilworth (Toronto: Irwin Publishing, 1986), 80.
© 1986, Irwin Publishing. All rights reserved.

Totem walk at Sitka National Historic Park where trees and brightly painted totem poles line the sides of a path.

This painting depicts the totem walk through Sitka National Historic Park in Alaska. The poles were carved by members of the Tlingit First Nation.

Emily Carr
The Thomas Gardiner Keir Bequest
c. 1907
Alaska, Sitka, UNITED STATES
AGGV 1994.055.004
© 2007, Art Gallery of Greater Victoria. All Rights Reserved.


"The Indian people and their art touched me deeply … By the time I reached home my mind was made up. I was going to picture totem poles in their own village settings as complete a collection of them as I could." 1
"The Indian people and their art touched me deeply … By the time I reached home my mind was made up. I was going to picture totem poles in their own village settings as complete a collection of them as I could." 1

1Emily Carr, Growing Pains – An Autobiography, (Toronto: Irwin Publishing, 1946), 211.


© 1946, Irwin Publishing. All rights reserved.

Learning Objectives

Curriculum Link (BC) – Social Studies 10/11; Geography 12; BC First Nations Studies 12; and English Language Arts 8/9/10; Social Studies 8/9/10; Visual Arts 9/10 (as outlined in a 2006 document from the BC Ministry of Education titled ‘Shared Learnings – Integrating Aboriginal Content K-12’); Information Technology 9/10

Learning Objectives:
· Students will describe how Canada’s growing autonomy influenced a national identity separate from Britain and distinct from the U.S. by referencing certain events - such as the Alaskan Dispute.
· After reading of Carr’s travels from Vancouver to Stika students will make connections among resource locations, economic activity, and settlement patterns in various regions of Canada etc., including BC (e.g., gold rush, logging, salmon fishery).
· Students will evaluate the impact of interactions between Aboriginal peoples and the European explorers and settlers in Canada from 1815-1914.
· Students will consider why Aboriginal peoples are concerned about Cultural appropriation.
· Students will understand and observe that Aboriginal peoples and individuals have been documented and portrayed in many ways in the media and in literature and visual art.
· Students will appreciate that Aboriginal social, cultural, and political issues are significant topics for creative writing, research and reporting.
· Students will recognize that Aboriginal peoples of BC have diverse values, beliefs, customs, traditions and lifestyles.
· Students will learn that Aboriginal cultures create art for ceremonial and functional purposes.
· After viewing the image ‘Totem Walk at Sitka’ students will explain how physical and human systems interact within an ecosystem.
· This learning object will allow students to demonstrate their ability to use the Internet to access, capture, and store information.
· Students will use information technology tools to gather and organize information and produce documents.
· By interacting with this object students will demonstrate an awareness of the impact of electronic resources on education, careers, and recreation.


Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Le 10 août 1907, Emily et sa sœur Alice ont navigué de Vancouver jusqu’en Alaska, arrivant éventuellement à Sitka, qui avait été un poste de traite russe pendant plusieurs années avant de devenir une base navale américaine. La nation locale des Tlingit était traditionnellement reconnue pour sa sculpture, en particulier les totems. Sans comprendre la fonction spirituelle des totems pour les Tlingit, les Européens les montraient comme des objets décoratifs. Ce geste apparemment bénin était une indication de la grande division culturelle entre les deux, ce qui allait éventuellement causer un conflit.
Le 10 août 1907, Emily et sa sœur Alice ont navigué de Vancouver jusqu’en Alaska, arrivant éventuellement à Sitka, qui avait été un poste de traite russe pendant plusieurs années avant de devenir une base navale américaine. La nation locale des Tlingit était traditionnellement reconnue pour sa sculpture, en particulier les totems. Sans comprendre la fonction spirituelle des totems pour les Tlingit, les Européens les montraient comme des objets décoratifs. Ce geste apparemment bénin était une indication de la grande division culturelle entre les deux, ce qui allait éventuellement causer un conflit.

© 2007, Art Gallery of Greater Victoria. Tous droits réservés.

« …La promenade des totems entre les arbres à côté d’un ruisseau nommé Indian River, nommé pour le plaisir des touristes, mais réellement le plus loin possible du village de cabanes indiennes – une promenade ornée à des endroits avantageux de totems hors cadre, transplantés de leur endroit légitime devant la maison d’un chef indien dans son village, des totems maintenant pleins de peinture commerciale pour attirer la curiosité des touristes qui veulent tout voir… »1
« …La promenade des totems entre les arbres à côté d’un ruisseau nommé Indian River, nommé pour le plaisir des touristes, mais réellement le plus loin possible du village de cabanes indiennes – une promenade ornée à des endroits avantageux de totems hors cadre, transplantés de leur endroit légitime devant la maison d’un chef indien dans son village, des totems maintenant pleins de peinture commerciale pour attirer la curiosité des touristes qui veulent tout voir… »1
1Emily Carr, The Heart of a Peacock, ed. Ira Dilworth (Toronto: Irwin Publishing, 1986), 80.
© 1986, Irwin Publishing. Tous droits réservés.

Promenade des totems au parc historique national Sitka, où des arbres et des totems aux couleurs vives le long du sentier.

Cette peinture dépeint la promenade autour des totems dans le parc historique national de Sitka, en Alaska. Les totems ont été sculptés par la Première nation Tlingit.

Emily Carr
Le legs Thomas Gardiner Keir
vers 1907
Alaska, Sitka, ÉTATS-UNIS
AGGV 1994.055.004
© 2007, Art Gallery of Greater Victoria. Tous droits réservés.


« Les peuples indiens et leur art me touchent profondément… Au moment où je suis arrivée à la maison, ma décision était prise. J’allais peindre des totems dans le cadre de leur village dans une collection aussi complète que possible ».1
« Les peuples indiens et leur art me touchent profondément… Au moment où je suis arrivée à la maison, ma décision était prise. J’allais peindre des totems dans le cadre de leur village dans une collection aussi complète que possible ».1
1Emily Carr, Growing Pains – An Autobiography, (Toronto: Irwin Publishing, 1946), 211.
© 1946, Irwin Publishing. Tous droits réservés.

Objectifs d'apprentissage

Lien au programme (C.-B.) – Sciences humaines 10/11; Géographie 12; Études des Premières nations 12; et Arts de la langue anglaise 8/9/10; Sciences humaines 8/9/10; Arts visuels 9/10 (tel que décrit dans un document de 2006 du ministère de l’Éducation de la C.-B. intitulé Shared Learnings – Integrating Aboriginal Content K-12); Technologie de l’information 9/10

Objectifs d’apprentissage :
· Les élèves décriront comment l’autonomie croissante du Canada a influencé la formation d’une identité nationale différente de celle de la Grande-Bretagne et distincte de celle des États-Unis en faisant référence à certains événements tels que la dispute de la frontière de l’Alaska.
· Après avoir lu les récits des voyages d’Emily Carr de Vancouver jusqu’à Sitka, les élèves feront le lien parmi les endroits ressources, l’activité économique et les types de colonisation dans diverses régions du Canada, y compris la Colombie-Britannique (ruée vers l’or, exploitation forestière, pêche au saumon).
· Les élèves évalueront l’impact des interactions entre les peuples autochtones et les explorateurs et colons européens au Canada de 1815 à 1914.
· Les élèves prendront en considération pourquoi les Autochtones sont préoccupés par l’appropriation de leur culture.
· Les élèves comprendront et observeront que les peuples et les personnes autochtones ont été documentés et dépeints de plusieurs façons dans les médias, la littérature et l’art visuel.
· Les élèves se rendront compte que les problèmes sociaux, culturels et politiques des Autochtones sont des sujets sérieux pour la création littéraire, la recherche et le journalisme.
· Les élèves reconnaîtront que les peuples autochtones de la Colombie-Britannique ont d’autres valeurs, croyances, coutumes, traditions et styles de vie.
· Les élèves apprendront que les cultures autochtones créent de l'art à des fins cérémoniales et fonctionnelles.
· Après avoir vu l’image « Totem Walk at Sitka », les élèves expliqueront comment les systèmes physiques et humains interagissent au sein d’un écosystème.
· Cet exercice d’apprentissage permettra aux élèves de démontrer leur habilité à utiliser Internet pour obtenir, saisir et entreposer de l’information.
· Les élèves utiliseront les outils des technologies de l’information pour recueillir et organiser de l’information et produire des documents.
· En interagissant avec cet objet, les élèves feront preuve d’une sensibilisation envers l’impact des ressources électroniques sur l’éducation, les carriers et les loisirs.


Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons