The type of radio used to hear folk music in the mid-twentieth century.

When Louis Manny broadcast her folk song programs in the 1950s, radio receivers like this were tuned in all over the province.

Unknown
Musée régional Restigouche Regional Museum
c. 1950
New Brunswick, CANADA
© 2007, Musée régional Restigouche Regional Museum. All Rights Reserved.


Letter from Louise Manny to Lord Beaverbrook (March 27th, 1950) describing her collection and promotion of folk songs.

Newcastle, New Brunswick, Canada, March 27th, 1950. Dear Lord Beaverbrook: I go to Halifax April 2nd, to give a talk for the C.B.C., a sort of dialogue with Helen Creighton, the Nova Scotia Folksong specialist, on the Folksongs of the Maritimes. I hope it will be a success. I have many letters from local people, appreciating the Folksong programs. It is the first time that many of these people have ever heard the songs they loved treated with respect. About the records – I suppose we have somewhere a set of Master Records? From these pressings are made, at a low cost. The original lot you gave me are pretty well worn. I always played them carefully with a “thorn needle”, but some have been on the local radio a good deal, and are getting worn. You also sent me the lot which you had, and I think some of those are a bit worn, too. I thought it would be nice to have a fresh lot of the better songs made, to use for further broadcasts, and lectures. I would like very much to get a further lot this Spring – my idea is to hold a sort of festival in the Town Hall, and record everyone who comes – on a tape recorder. Then we can weed out and discard. You never know until you bring them in, just how a man’s song is going to turn out. Should we stick to New Brunswick songs? After all, the WEXFORD LASS was one of our biggest successes, and we took it by mistake. I’ll write you a longer letter on this subject later on. I would like to get all the songs I possibly can, before the Library of Congress gets wind of our gold-mine, and sends someone down to record the songs. I am very pleased with the reception the historical talks are getting. Schools which have radios are listening. The children especially like to hear about localities they know of.... Kindest regards, Sincerely, (Signed) Louise Manny

Louise Manny
Beaverbrook Canadian Correspondence (MG H 156), Archives & Special Collections, Harriet Irving Library, University of New Brunswick
1950-03-27
CANADA Atlantic Provinces, Atlantic Provinces, CANADA
12245
© 2007, Archives & Special Collections, Harriet Irving Library, UNB. All Rights Reserved.


Letter from Louise Manny to Lord Beaverbrook (May 5th, 1950) explaining the success of her local radio program on folk music.

Newcastle, New Brunswick, Canada, May 5th, 1950. Dear Lord Beaverbrook: I have meant for some time to write about the Folksongs, and now I suppose my letter will pursue you hither and yon, for we all hope you are on your way to North American and New Brunswick. What I would like to do is to have a sort of recording festival in June (when our singers won’t have colds), get all the people that we can to come in to Newcastle and Chatham, and record all the songs we can. There are many of great interest we haven’t got so far. I am strongly of the opinion that we should record what “traditional songs” we can get. We have some old Scottish, English and Irish ballads of great antiquity, brought here by our early settlers, which are still being sung. These may have been recorded elsewhere but we may find interesting variants. Also the collection of the local folksongs gives us a view of our local folk-culture, a background to our Miramichi life and thinking. I don’t wish to record songs people have imported recently but those which have lived in Miramichi for a hundred years. Since last October, I have given two folksong programs a week (free, gratis) on the local Radio. I discuss the folksong in general, tell the story and play one. You would be surprised at the interest which is taken by all classes. The people in the country districts, of course, are simply delighted to hear what they call “our own Songs” on the radio. I am pleased at the interest taken by more sophisticated people, to whom, at first, the songs sounded uncouth. As you know, our songs are sung on a 5-tone scale, in the “rubato parlando” or declamatory style, and they sound odd at first hearing to musical people. They have, however, an artistic entity of their own, and are really an important musical form. I am glad to say our recordings are mechanically superb – much better than the Nova Scotia ones, and better than most I have heard from the Library of Congress collection. I think I told you I collaborated in 4 programs for the CBC. These consisted of conversations between Miss Helen Creighton of Nova Scotia, and myself, illustrated by bits of our songs. Hers were mostly “traditional”, mine the woods songs of Miramichi. These have not yet broadcast yet, but they are recorded on tape ready for broadcasting…. (Signed) Sincerely, Louise Manny

Louise Manny
Beaverbrook Canadian Correspondence (MG H 156), Archives & Special Collections, Harriet Irving Library, University of New Brunswick
1950-05-05
CANADA Atlantic Provinces, Atlantic Provinces, CANADA
12269
© 2007, Archives & Special Collections, Harriet Irving Library, UNB. All Rights Reserved.


Oh! The Jones Boys, they built a mill
On the side of a hill,
And they worked all night, and they worked all day,
But they couldn’t make the gosh-darned saw mill pay.


It seems to have been a Miramichi custom in the 1880s and 1890s to make up satiric songs about the Jones Boys and their mills. Lord Beaverbrook remembered with delight the above fragment which he had heard sung on the Newcastle streets when he was a boy. He himself often sang it on convivial occasions, claiming it was his wife’s favourite song. When he gave the quarter-hour chimes to the University of New Brunswick in the late 1940s, he arranged for them to play his tune of The Jones Boys.

During World War II, His Lordship used the Miramichi song as a sort of ice-breaker at international meetings. It is said he taught it to all the diplomats he knew, from Churchill to Molotov, and that many a tense meeting on which the fate of nations depended, was eased by the rousing song of the Miramichi boys and their unlucky saw-mill. [It was suggested] that when Molotov joined in the song with gusto, it was because he thought it celebrated the downfall of th Read More

Oh! The Jones Boys, they built a mill
On the side of a hill,
And they worked all night, and they worked all day,
But they couldn’t make the gosh-darned saw mill pay.


It seems to have been a Miramichi custom in the 1880s and 1890s to make up satiric songs about the Jones Boys and their mills. Lord Beaverbrook remembered with delight the above fragment which he had heard sung on the Newcastle streets when he was a boy. He himself often sang it on convivial occasions, claiming it was his wife’s favourite song. When he gave the quarter-hour chimes to the University of New Brunswick in the late 1940s, he arranged for them to play his tune of The Jones Boys.

During World War II, His Lordship used the Miramichi song as a sort of ice-breaker at international meetings. It is said he taught it to all the diplomats he knew, from Churchill to Molotov, and that many a tense meeting on which the fate of nations depended, was eased by the rousing song of the Miramichi boys and their unlucky saw-mill. [It was suggested] that when Molotov joined in the song with gusto, it was because he thought it celebrated the downfall of the capitalist system.

John Jones, father of the Jones boys, came out from Camborne, Cornwall, in 1840, when he was 34 years old. He settled first in Chatham, where his son James was born in 1844. Shortly afterwards, the Jones family moved up to a brook flowing into the Nor’West Miramichi, which then took the name of Jones’s Brook. There John Jones built a grist mill to serve the community, and raised a family of ten children.

John Senior died in 1866, and his sons, James and John Junior took over the business, James managing the grist mill, and John a sawmill near by. Both the mills were run by water power from the brook. When a section of the Intercolonial Railway was built across the Jones property about 1870, the name of the locality became Jones’s Crossing, which it still bears.

John Jones, Junior, died in 1940, aged 96, at his home at Jones’s Crossing. He was the last surviving member of the family of ten. 


Louise Manny, Songs of Miramichi,  pp. 124-5


© 1968, Brunswick Press. All Rights Reserved.

Nick Underhill performs The Jones Boys

Oh! The Jones Boys, they built a mill
On the side of a hill,
And they worked all night, and they worked all day,
But they couldn’t make the gosh-darned saw mill pay.

Unknown
Nick Underhill
c. 1959
CANADA Northern New Brunswick, New Brunswick, Northern New Brunswick, CANADA
© 1962, Folkway Records. All Rights Reserved.


Important collection of records and recording machines.

The Acadian Museum of the University of Moncton presents a new exhibit relating to the theme of music. The goal of this inhouse exhibit is to provide the interested public with the unique opportunity to see all of the Museums artifacts related to the delightful world of music.

Musée acadien, University of Moncton
c. 1997
CANADA Atlantic Provinces, Atlantic Provinces, CANADA
© 2007, Musée acadien, Université de Moncton. All Rights Reserved.


Learning Objectives

Learners will understand how New Brunswick folk music became available to the masses.

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Type de poste de radio utilisé pour écouter de la musique folklorique au milieu du 20e siècle.

Quand Louise Manny présentait ses émissions de chansons folkloriques dans les années 1950, on l'écoutait dans différentes régions de la province grâce à des postes de radio comme celui-là.

Unknown
Musée régional Restigouche Regional Museum
vers 1950
Nouveau-Brunswick, CANADA
© 2007, Musée régional Restigouche Regional Museum. Tous droits réservés.


Manny à Beaverbrook (le 27 mars 1950) dans laquelle elle décrit sa collection et la promotion de chansons folkloriques.

Newcastle, Nouveau-Brunswick, Canada Le 27 mars 1950 Cher Lord Beaverbrook, Je vais à Halifax le 2 avril, pour une émission de la CBC qui sera un genre de dialogue avec Helen Creighton, spécialiste des chansons folkloriques de la Nouvelle Écosse, pour discuter des chansons folkloriques des Maritimes. J'espère que l'émission sera couronnée de succès. J'ai reçu de nombreuses lettres des personnes de la région qui aiment les émissions sur les chansons folkloriques. C'est la première fois qu'un grand nombre de ces personnes entendent les chansons qu'elles aiment traiter avec respect. À propos des disques, j'espère que l'original existe quelque part. Le tirage est fait à bas prix à partir de l'original. Les disques que vous m'avez donnés sont assez usés. Je les fait toujours tourner avec soin en utilisant « l'aiguille à épine », mais la station de radio locale les a souvent fait jouer et ils commencent à être usés. Vous m'avez aussi envoyé ceux que vous aviez et ils commencent à être usés. J'ai pensé qu'il serait bon d'en reproduire une nouvelle série avec les meilleures chansons pour leur utilisation à la radio ou pour des conférences. J'aimerais bien obtenir d'autres enregistrements ce printemps. J'ai pensé à organiser un genre de festival à l'hôtel de ville. Je pourrais enregistrer les chanteurs à partir d' un magnétophone. Nous pourrions alors choisir les meilleures chansons. Il est difficile de prévoir comment tournera une chanson avant de l'avoir entendue. Est-ce qu'on devrait se limiter aux chansons du Nouveau-Brunswick? Après tout, WEXFORD LASS a été l'une de nos plus grandes réussites et nous l'avions acceptée par erreur. Je vous enverrai plus tard une plus longue lettre à ce sujet. J'aimerais recueillir le plus grand nombre de chansons possible avant que la Bibliothèque du Congrès entende parler de notre grande richesse et envoie quelqu'un ici pour enregistrer nos chansons. Je suis contente de l'accueil favorable réservé aux discussions historiques. Les écoles qui ont des postes de radio les écoutent. Les enfants aiment bien entendre parler de personnages locaux qu'ils connaissent. Je vous prie d'agréer, cher Lord Beaverbrook, mes sincères salutations. Louise Manny

Louise Manny
Beaverbrook Canadian Correspondence (MG H 156), Archives & Special Collections, Harriet Irving Library, University of New Brunswick
1950-03-27
CANADA Provinces de l'Atlantique, Provinces de l'Atlantique, CANADA
12245
© 2007, Archives & Special Collections, Harriet Irving Library, UNB. Tous droits réservés.


Manny à Beaverbrook (le 5 mai 1950) décrivant le succès de son émission de radio locale sur les chansons folkloriques.

Newcastle, Nouveau-Brunswick, Canada Le 5 mai 1950 Cher Lord Beaverbrook, Je voulais vous écrire depuis un certain temps à propos des chansons folkloriques. J'espère que ma lettre se rendra jusqu'à vous, car nous espérons tous que vous êtes en route pour revenir en Amérique du Nord et au Nouveau-Brunswick. Ce que j'aimerais faire c'est d'organiser une sorte de festival en juin (quand nos chanteurs n'auront plus le rhume) afin d'enregistrer toutes les chansons des personnes qui voudront bien venir à Newcastle et à Chatham. Il y a beaucoup de chansons intéressantes que nous n'avons pas encore enregistrées. Je suis réellement d'avis que nous devrions enregistrer toutes les chansons traditionnelles possibles. Il y a de vieilles ballades écossaises, anglaises et irlandaises que les premiers colons ont apportées ici et qui sont encore chantées. Elles ont peut-être été enregistrées ailleurs, mais nous trouverons peut-être des variantes intéressantes. Aussi, la collection de chansons folkloriques locales nous donne un aperçu de la culture locale et de la façon de vivre et de penser à Miramichi. Je ne veux pas enregistrer de chansons importées récemment, mais plutôt celles qui sont chantées dans la région de Miramichi depuis une centaine d'années. Depuis octobre dernier, j'ai enregistré deux émissions radiophoniques par semaine (gratuitement) sur les chansons folkloriques. Je parle de la chanson folklorique en général, je racoute son histoire puis je la fais jouer. Vous seriez surpris de voir à quel point cela intéresse toutes sortes de gens. Ceux dans les régions rurales évidemment sont contents d'entendre « leurs » chansons à la radio. Je suis heureuse de constater aussi l'intérêt des personnes plus sophistiquées qui considéraient auparavant ces chansons un peu rustres. Comme vous le savez, nos chansons sont chantées sur une échelle de 5 tons dans le style déclamatoire ou « rubato parlando ». Au premier abord, elles semblent bizarres aux personnes dans le domaine de la musique. Toutefois, elles présentent une qualité musicale unique et représentent une forme de musique importante. Je suis heureuse de vous signaler que la qualité de nos enregistrements est superbe – meilleure que celle des enregistrements de la Nouvelle-Écosse et, pour la plupart, meilleure que ce que j'ai entendu de la collection de la Bibliothèque du Congrès. Je crois vous avoir déjà mentionné que j'ai participé à 4 émissions pour la CBC. Il s'agissait de conversations avec Helen Creighton de la Nouvelle-Écosse illustrées par l'écoute de parties de nos chansons. Ses chansons étaient surtout des chansons traditionnelles tandis que les miennes portaient sur les bûcherons et l'exploitation forestière dans la région de Miramichi. Ces émissions n'ont pas encore été diffusées, mais elles ont été enregistrées et sont prêtes pour la diffusion... Je vous prie d'agréer, cher Lord Beaverbrook, mes sincères salutations. Louise Manny

Louise Manny
Beaverbrook Canadian Correspondence (MG H 156), Archives & Special Collections, Harriet Irving Library, University of New Brunswick
1950-05-05
CANADA Provinces de l'Atlantique, Provinces de l'Atlantique, CANADA
12269
© 2007, Archives & Special Collections, Harriet Irving Library, UNB. Tous droits réservés.


(Oh! Les frères Jones ont construit un moulin
Sur le versant d'une colline
Et ils ont travaillé tous les jours et toutes les nuits
Mais le moulin n'a jamais été une réussite.)


Il semble avoir été de coutume à Miramichi dans les années 1880 et 1890 d'écrire des chansons satiriques à propos des frères Jones et de leurs moulins. Lord Beaverbrook se rappelle avec joie le refrain ci-dessus qu'il avait entendu sur les rues de Newcastle quand il était enfant. Il le chantait souvent quand il se trouvait en bonne compagnie en disant que c'était la chanson préférée de sa femme. Vers la fin des années 1940, lorsqu'il a donné à l'Université du Nouveau-Brunswick des cloches sonnant au quart d'heure, il s'est organisé pour que les cloches imitent l'air de cette chanson.

Durant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, Lord Beaverbrook chantait cette chanson pour briser la glace à des rencontres internationales. On dit qu'il l'a enseignée à tous les diplomates qu'il connaissait, de Churc Pour en lire plus

(Oh! Les frères Jones ont construit un moulin
Sur le versant d'une colline
Et ils ont travaillé tous les jours et toutes les nuits
Mais le moulin n'a jamais été une réussite.)


Il semble avoir été de coutume à Miramichi dans les années 1880 et 1890 d'écrire des chansons satiriques à propos des frères Jones et de leurs moulins. Lord Beaverbrook se rappelle avec joie le refrain ci-dessus qu'il avait entendu sur les rues de Newcastle quand il était enfant. Il le chantait souvent quand il se trouvait en bonne compagnie en disant que c'était la chanson préférée de sa femme. Vers la fin des années 1940, lorsqu'il a donné à l'Université du Nouveau-Brunswick des cloches sonnant au quart d'heure, il s'est organisé pour que les cloches imitent l'air de cette chanson.

Durant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, Lord Beaverbrook chantait cette chanson pour briser la glace à des rencontres internationales. On dit qu'il l'a enseignée à tous les diplomates qu'il connaissait, de Churchill à Molotov. À de nombreuses réunions sur lesquelles reposait le sort de différentes nations, il a détendu l'atmosphère en chantant la chanson des frères Jones et de leur moulin. Quand Molotov a chanté avec lui cette chanson, on croit que c'est peut-être parce qu'il pensait que la chanson célébrait le déclin du système capitaliste.

John Jones, le père des frères Jones, est venu de Camborne, dans Cornwall, en 1840 à l'âge de 34 ans. Il s'est établi au départ à Chatham, où son fils James est né en 1844. Peu après, la famille Jones a déménagé près d'un ruisseau se déversant dans la rivière Nor'West Miramichi et ce ruisseau a ensuite été nommé Jone’s Brook. À cet endroit, John Jones a bâti un moulin à grains pour offrir ses services à la communauté et il a élevé une famille de dix enfants.

John père est mort en 1866. Ses fils, James et John, ont assumé la direction de l'entreprise. James s'occupait du moulin à grains tandis que John gérait la scierie près de là. Le ruisseau servait de force motrice aux deux moulins. Quand une section du chemin de fer Intercolonial a été construite sur les terres des Jones aux environs de 1870, le nom de la localité est devenu Jones’s Crossing tel qu'on l'appelle encore aujourd'hui.

John Jones fils est mort en 1940 à l'âge de 96 ans à sa demeure de Jones’s Crossing. Il était le dernier membre survivant de cette famille de dix enfants. 




Traduction d'un extrait de l'ouvrage Songs of Miramichi par Louise Manny, (pages 124 et 125)

 


© 1968, Brunswick Press. Tous droits réservés.

Nick Underhill interprète la chanson Les frères Jones « The Jones Boys »

Oh! Les frères Jones ont construit un moulin
Sur le versant d'une colline
Et ils ont travaillé tous les jours et toutes les nuits
Mais le moulin n'a jamais été une réussite.

Inconnu
Nick Underhill
vers 1959
CANADA Nord du Nouveau-Brunswick, Nouveau-Brunswick, Nord du Nouveau-Brunswick, CANADA
© 1962, Folkway Records. Tous droits réservés.


Collection importante d'enregistrements et d'appareils à enregistrer.

Le Musée acadien de l’Université de Moncton a présenté une exposition ayant pour thème la musique. Cette exposition, organisée et montée par le Musée acadien, se donnait pour but de fournir au public intéressé l’unique occasion de voir l’ensemble complet des artefacts de sa collection d’objets liés au monde merveilleux de la musique.

Musée acadien, Université de Moncton
vers 1997
CANADA Provinces de l'Atlantique, Provinces de l'Atlantique, CANADA
© 2007, Musée acadien, Université de Moncton. Tous droits réservés.


Objectifs d'apprentissage

Les apprenants comprendront comment la musique folklorique est devenue accessible pour la population générale du Nouveau-Brunswick.


Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons