The First World War dislocated massive populations, resulting in dramatic social change. Instead of living a comfortable life supported by paying boarders, which would allow her the time she needed to paint, Emily found herself unable to afford the help she needed to run her boardinghouse effectively, challenged to keep her tenants happy, and for the first time in her life, subject to the whims of strangers. Struggling alone, Emily's "landladying" days were challenging; she captured those experiences in her book "House of All Sorts". It would be 15 long years of trial before her artwork came to public notice and she began to paint in earnest again.
The First World War dislocated massive populations, resulting in dramatic social change. Instead of living a comfortable life supported by paying boarders, which would allow her the time she needed to paint, Emily found herself unable to afford the help she needed to run her boardinghouse effectively, challenged to keep her tenants happy, and for the first time in her life, subject to the whims of strangers. Struggling alone, Emily's "landladying" days were challenging; she captured those experiences in her book "House of All Sorts". It would be 15 long years of trial before her artwork came to public notice and she began to paint in earnest again.

© 2007, Art Gallery of Greater Victoria. All Rights Reserved.

"Victoria had boomed, now she slumped. We had not sold during the boom, now we were compelled to because of increased taxation. My father's acreage was divided into city lots and sold at a loss - each sister kept one lot for herself. Borrowing money, I built a four-suite apartment on mine. One suite had a fine studio. Here I intended to paint, subsisting on the rentals of the other three suites. No sooner was the house finished than the First World War came. Rentals sank, living rose. I could not afford help.
I must be owner, agent, landlady and janitor. I loathed landladying…. I tried in every way to augment my income. Small fruit, hens, rabbits, dogs - pottery … I never painted now - had neither time nor wanting. For about fifteen years I did not paint."1

"Victoria had boomed, now she slumped. We had not sold during the boom, now we were compelled to because of increased taxation. My father's acreage was divided into city lots and sold at a loss - each sister kept one lot for herself. Borrowing money, I built a four-suite apartment on mine. One suite had a fine studio. Here I intended to paint, subsisting on the rentals of the other three suites. No sooner was the house finished than the First World War came. Rentals sank, living rose. I could not afford help.
I must be owner, agent, landlady and janitor. I loathed landladying…. I tried in every way to augment my income. Small fruit, hens, rabbits, dogs - pottery … I never painted now - had neither time nor wanting. For about fifteen years I did not paint."1
1Emily Carr, Growing Pains – An Autobiography, (Toronto: Irwin Publishing, 1946), 230-232.
© 1946, Irwin Publishing. All Rights Reserved.

A small earthenware pot painted in a First Nation style and shaped to look like a bird.

A small earthenware pot painted in a First Nation style and shaped to look like a bird. Carr created such objects to be sold to tourists in order to boost her income during her lean years.

Emily Carr
Gift of Mr. & Mrs. Leonard Osborne in memory of Eryl Cianci
c. 1930
Victoria, British Columbia, CANADA
AGGV 1972.052.001
© 2007, Art Gallery of Greater Victoria. All Rights Reserved.


"Of course, nobody wanted to buy my pictures. I'd never tried to paint to please them anyway, so I did horrible things like taking boarders to make a living, and the very little time I had for painting I tried to paint in the despised, adorable joyous modern way. The last two years I have taken up … pottery, adapting and utilizing my Indian designs for it. A much pleasanter livelihood than catering to people's appetites."1

"Of course, nobody wanted to buy my pictures. I'd never tried to paint to please them anyway, so I did horrible things like taking boarders to make a living, and the very little time I had for painting I tried to paint in the despised, adorable joyous modern way. The last two years I have taken up … pottery, adapting and utilizing my Indian designs for it. A much pleasanter livelihood than catering to people's appetites."1

1Susan Crean (ed.), Opposite Contraries – The Unknown Journals of Emily Carr and Other Writings, (Vancouver: Douglas & McIntyre, 2003), 204-205.
© 2003, Douglas & McIntyre. All Rights Reserved.

Learning Objectives

Curriculum Link (BC) – Social Studies 10/11; History 12; Visual Arts 9/10/11/12; Art Foundations 11/12; (again relevant to the BC Ministry of Education document titled ‘Shared Learnings – Integrating Aboriginal Content K-12’); Information Technology 9/10

Learning Objectives:
· As students learn how Carr generated income for herself over her adult life (art instructor, artist, and landlady) they will identify the changing nature of families and women's roles in Canadian society.
· Students will understand how people in the workforce are affected by the economic cycle.
· These years during and after the First World War and leading up to the Depression were financially lean ones for many. Students will discover that the Carr family had to divide and sell much of their property at this time and that Emily had a house built wherein she could accept tenants as a source of income – this will enable students to describe the role of women in terms of social, political, and economic change in Canada.
· Students will evaluate the effects of the Great Depression on the industrialized world.
· After viewing the images of Carr’s pottery students will compare the use of materials, technologies and processes in 3-D art forms.
· Students will learn how Emily created pottery with First Nations themes to be sold across the country, and as this was not a traditional art form for BC’s Coastal First Nations students will see how Aboriginal art influences non-Aboriginal art.
· Students will analyze the use of materials, technologies, and processes in selected Aboriginal art forms in BC. As well, students will demonstrate awareness and analyze issues related to Aboriginal art forms in BC.
· As painted pottery was not a traditional Aboriginal art form in BC, students will analyze the ethical and legal considerations associated with the design of images.
· Students will analyze and justify a position on the ethical factors affecting the production of 2-D and 3-D images.
· Students will consider why Aboriginal peoples are concerned about Cultural appropriation.
· This learning object will allow students to demonstrate their ability to use the Internet to access, capture, and store information.
· Students will use information technology tools to gather and organize information and produce documents.
· By interacting with this object students will demonstrate an awareness of the impact of electronic resources on education, careers, and recreation.


Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

La Première Guerre mondiale a dispersé des populations massives, causant des changements sociaux dramatiques. Au lieu de vivre une vie confortable soutenue par le loyer des pensionnaires, ce qui lui aurait donné le temps voulu pour peindre, Emily s’est vue incapable de se permettre l’aide dont elle avait besoin pour diriger efficacement sa maison de pension et pour la première fois de sa vie, elle était assujettie aux caprices d’étrangers. Seule pour se débrouiller, Emily trouvait que ses jours comme locateur étaient éprouvants. Elle a capturé ces expériences dans son livre « House of all sorts ». Il a fallu quinze longues années éprouvantes avant que son travail soit reconnu publiquement et elle a recommencé à peindre avec ferveur.
La Première Guerre mondiale a dispersé des populations massives, causant des changements sociaux dramatiques. Au lieu de vivre une vie confortable soutenue par le loyer des pensionnaires, ce qui lui aurait donné le temps voulu pour peindre, Emily s’est vue incapable de se permettre l’aide dont elle avait besoin pour diriger efficacement sa maison de pension et pour la première fois de sa vie, elle était assujettie aux caprices d’étrangers. Seule pour se débrouiller, Emily trouvait que ses jours comme locateur étaient éprouvants. Elle a capturé ces expériences dans son livre « House of all sorts ». Il a fallu quinze longues années éprouvantes avant que son travail soit reconnu publiquement et elle a recommencé à peindre avec ferveur.

© 2007, Art Gallery of Greater Victoria. Tous droits réservés.

« Victoria avait prospéré, maintenant elle croulait. Nous n’avions pas vendu durant le boom, maintenant nous en étions obligés à cause de l’augmentation des taxes. Les acres de mon père ont été divisées en lots et vendues à perte – chaque sœur gardait un lot pour elle. Empruntant de l’argent, j’ai construit un appartement de quatre suites sur le mien. Une suite avait un studio convenable. Ici, j’avais l’intention de peindre, subsistant avec le loyer des trois autres suites. Aussitôt la maison terminée, la Première Guerre mondiale est arrivée. Les loyers ont chuté, le coût de la vie a augmenté. Je ne pouvais pas me permettre de l’aide.
Je dois être propriétaire, agente, locatrice et concierge. Je détestais être locateur… J’ai essayé de toutes les façons d’augmenter mes revenus. Petits fruits, poules, lapins, chiens – poterie… je ne peignais plus maintenant – je n’avais ni le temps ni le goût. Pendant environ quinz Pour en lire plus
« Victoria avait prospéré, maintenant elle croulait. Nous n’avions pas vendu durant le boom, maintenant nous en étions obligés à cause de l’augmentation des taxes. Les acres de mon père ont été divisées en lots et vendues à perte – chaque sœur gardait un lot pour elle. Empruntant de l’argent, j’ai construit un appartement de quatre suites sur le mien. Une suite avait un studio convenable. Ici, j’avais l’intention de peindre, subsistant avec le loyer des trois autres suites. Aussitôt la maison terminée, la Première Guerre mondiale est arrivée. Les loyers ont chuté, le coût de la vie a augmenté. Je ne pouvais pas me permettre de l’aide.
Je dois être propriétaire, agente, locatrice et concierge. Je détestais être locateur… J’ai essayé de toutes les façons d’augmenter mes revenus. Petits fruits, poules, lapins, chiens – poterie… je ne peignais plus maintenant – je n’avais ni le temps ni le goût. Pendant environ quinze ans, je n’ai pas peint ».1
1Emily Carr, Growing Pains – An Autobiography, (Toronto: Irwin Publishing, 1946), 230-232.
© 1946, Irwin Publishing. Tous droits réservés.

Un petit pot de faience peint selon le style des Premières nations et formé pour ressembler à un oiseau.

Un petit pot de faience peint selon le style des Premières nations et formé pour ressembler à un oiseau. Carr a créé de tels objets pour les vendre aux touristes afin d’augmenter ses revenus durant les années difficiles.

Emily Carr
Don de M. & Mme Leonard Osborne en mémoire d’Eryl Cianci
vers 1930
Victoria, Colombie-Britannique, CANADA
AGGV 1972.052.001
© 2007, Art Gallery of Greater Victoria. Tous droits réservés.


« Bien entendu, personne ne voulait acheter mes dessins. Je n’ai jamais essayé de peindre pour le plaire de toute façon, j’ai donc fait des choses horribles comme prendre des pensionnaires pour gagner ma vie, et le peu de temps que j’avais pour peindre, j’essayais de peindre de la façon moderne la plus méprisable, adorable et joyeuse. Une vie beaucoup plus plaisante que de satisfaire l’appétit des gens ».1
« Bien entendu, personne ne voulait acheter mes dessins. Je n’ai jamais essayé de peindre pour le plaire de toute façon, j’ai donc fait des choses horribles comme prendre des pensionnaires pour gagner ma vie, et le peu de temps que j’avais pour peindre, j’essayais de peindre de la façon moderne la plus méprisable, adorable et joyeuse. Une vie beaucoup plus plaisante que de satisfaire l’appétit des gens ».1
1Susan Crean (ed.), Opposite Contraries – The Unknown Journals of Emily Carr and Other Writings, (Vancouver: Douglas & McIntyre, 2003), 204-205.
© 2003, Douglas & McIntyre. Tous droits réservés.

Objectifs d'apprentissage

Lien au programme (C.-B.) – Sciences humaines 10/11; Histoire 12; Géographie 12; Arts visuels 9/10/11/12 (de nouveau, pertinent à un document du ministère de l’Éducation de la C.-B. intitulé Shared Learnings – Integrating Aboriginal Content K-12); Technologie de l’information 9/10

Objectifs d’apprentissage :
· À mesure que les élèves apprendront comment Carr a généré des revenus durant sa vie adulte (professeure d’art, artiste et locatrice), ils identifieront la nature changeante des familles et du rôle de la femme dans la société canadienne.
· Les élèves comprendront comment les personnes sur le marché du travail sont touchées par les cycles économiques.
· Les années avant et durant la Première Guerre mondiale et menant à la Dépression étaient financièrement éprouvantes pour plusieurs. Les élèves découvriront que la famille Carr a été obligée de diviser et de vendre la majorité de sa propriété et qu’Emily s’est fait construire une maison dans laquelle elle pourrait avoir des locataires pour gagner de l’argent. Cela permettra aux élèves de décrire le rôle de la femme en termes de changements sociaux, politiques et économiques au Canada.
· Les élèves évalueront les effets de la Grande Dépression sur le monde industrialisé.
· Après avoir vu les images de la poterie de Carr, les élèves compareront l’utilisation du matériel, des technologies et de processus dans l’art 3-D.
· Les élèves apprendront comment Emily a fait de la poterie avec de thèmes des Premières nations qui a été vendu partout au Canada. Comme ce n’était pas de l’art traditionnel pour les Premières nations du littoral de la Colombie-Britannique, les élèves verront comment l’art autochtone a influencé l’art non autochtone.
· Les élèves analyseront l’utilisation du matériel, des technologies et des processus dans des formes d’art autochtone choisies de la Colombie-Britannique. De plus, les élèves seront sensibilisés et ils analyseront des questions associées aux formes d’art autochtones en Colombie-Britannique.
· Étant donné que la poterie peinte n’était pas une forme d’art autochtone traditionnelle en Colombie-Britannique, les élèves analyseront les considérations éthiques et judiciaires associées à la conception des images.
· Les élèves analyseront et justifieront une position à propos de facteurs éthiques affectant la production d’images 2-D et 3-D.
· Les élèves prendront en considération pourquoi les Autochtones sont préoccupés par l’appropriation de leur culture.
· Cet exercice d’apprentissage permettra aux élèves de démontrer leur habilité à utiliser Internet pour obtenir, saisir et entreposer de l’information.
· Les élèves utiliseront les outils des technologies de l’information pour recueillir et organiser de l’information et produire des documents.
· En interagissant avec cet objet, les élèves feront preuve d’une sensibilisation envers l’impact des ressources électroniques sur l’éducation, les carriers et les loisirs.


Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons