Students are directed to record their dreams (just after waking) for a week in a small note/ sketchbook kept by their bed. They then choose one of these to develop into a finished work using any materials they feel are appropriate.
Students are directed to record their dreams (just after waking) for a week in a small note/ sketchbook kept by their bed. They then choose one of these to develop into a finished work using any materials they feel are appropriate.

© 2007, Art Gallery of Greater Victoria. All Rights Reserved.

A watercolour painting of a scene from one of Emily Carr’s dreams.

A watercolour painting of a scene from one of Emily Carr’s dreams.

Emily Carr
Flora Hamilton Burns Bequest
c. 1924
Victoria, British Columbia, CANADA
AGGV 1989.037.002
© 2007, Art Gallery of Greater Victoria. All Rights Reserved.


"One thing I pay strict heed to, if you get a hunch about a work in a dream, try to follow it up."1

"Dream. The sky and the earth are one. The light pours down, is lapped up by the greatest sea and absorbed by the receptive earth. All runs through, all the same to express the oneness and allness. Moving, living, being together, to surround everything with atmosphere, to show the direction of its thought and growth, to show that thing coming and going, breathing thorough the object's life, to become part of it yourself and feel its life and growth as your own life and growth, and the sunshine and the night passing through you also, and the lift and lilt of praise pouring through, filtering and rising up again like a mist."2

"One thing I pay strict heed to, if you get a hunch about a work in a dream, try to follow it up."1

"Dream. The sky and the earth are one. The light pours down, is lapped up by the greatest sea and absorbed by the receptive earth. All runs through, all the same to express the oneness and allness. Moving, living, being together, to surround everything with atmosphere, to show the direction of its thought and growth, to show that thing coming and going, breathing thorough the object's life, to become part of it yourself and feel its life and growth as your own life and growth, and the sunshine and the night passing through you also, and the lift and lilt of praise pouring through, filtering and rising up again like a mist."2

1Susan Crean (ed.), Opposite Contraries – The Unknown Journals of Emily Carr and Other Writings, (Vancouver: Douglas & McIntyre, 2003), 70.

2Susan Crean (ed.), Opposite Contraries – The Unknown Journals of Emily Carr and Other Writings, (Vancouver: Douglas & McIntyre, 2003), 78.


© 2003, Douglas & McIntyre. All Rights Reserved.

Learning Objectives

Curriculum Link (BC) – English Language Arts; Social Studies; Visual Arts; Art Foundations; Information Technology 9/10

Learning Objectives:
· After reading various quotes from Carr’s novels and journals students will compare the themes, purposes, and appeal of different communications – biography, autobiography, journal, story etc.
· After reading the various quotes from Carr’s writings students will identify connections between their own ideas, experiences, and knowledge and a variety of literary and mass media works created by classroom, local, British Columbian, and international authors and developers from various cultural communities.
· Students will use their senses to perceive the world and respond to images and the ways in which they reflect the personal, social, cultural, and historical contexts in which they were created.
· Students will experience and analyze how the physical qualities of visual elements and principles of art and design are used to create effects and mood in representational and non-representational images.
· Students will examine the relationship between the use of particular image-development strategies and intended mood and message.
· Students will be able to describe the contributions that Emily Carr has made to the arts in Canada.
· This learning object will allow students to demonstrate their ability to use the Internet to access, capture, and store information.
· Students will use information technology tools to gather and organize information and produce documents.
· By interacting with this object students will demonstrate an awareness of the impact of electronic resources on education, careers, and recreation.

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

On demandera aux élèves de noter leurs rêves (juste après le réveil) pendant une semaine dans un petit calepin placé à côté de leur lit. Puis, ils en choisiront un pour le développer dans une oeuvre finie en utilisant tout le matériel qu’ils jugent approprié.
On demandera aux élèves de noter leurs rêves (juste après le réveil) pendant une semaine dans un petit calepin placé à côté de leur lit. Puis, ils en choisiront un pour le développer dans une oeuvre finie en utilisant tout le matériel qu’ils jugent approprié.

© 2007, Art Gallery of Greater Victoria. Tous droits réservés.

Une aquarelle d’une scène d’un des rêves d’Emily Carr.

Une aquarelle d’une scène d’un des rêves d’Emily Carr.

Emily Carr
Legs Flora Hamilton Burns
vers 1924
Victoria, Colombie-Britannique, CANADA
AGGV 1989.037.002
© 2007, Art Gallery of Greater Victoria. Tous droits réservés.


« Une chose dont je tiens strictement compte, si vous avez une inspiration à propos d’une oeuvre dans un rêve, essayez de la suivre ».1

« Rêve. Le ciel et la terre ne sont qu’un. La lumière tombait, elle est avalée par la plus grande mer et absorbée par la terre réceptive. Tout passe au travers, tous pareils pour exprimer l’unité et le tout. Bougeant, vivant, être ensemble, pour entourer tout avec l’atmosphère, pour montrer la direction de sa pensée et de sa croissance, pour montrer cette chose qui vient et qui va, respirant à travers la vie de l’objet, pour en faire partie et ressentir sa vie et sa croissance comme votre propre vie et croissance, et le soleil et la nuit qui passent également à travers de vous, et la levée de louanges qui traverse, filtrant et montant comme un brouillard ».2

« Une chose dont je tiens strictement compte, si vous avez une inspiration à propos d’une oeuvre dans un rêve, essayez de la suivre ».1

« Rêve. Le ciel et la terre ne sont qu’un. La lumière tombait, elle est avalée par la plus grande mer et absorbée par la terre réceptive. Tout passe au travers, tous pareils pour exprimer l’unité et le tout. Bougeant, vivant, être ensemble, pour entourer tout avec l’atmosphère, pour montrer la direction de sa pensée et de sa croissance, pour montrer cette chose qui vient et qui va, respirant à travers la vie de l’objet, pour en faire partie et ressentir sa vie et sa croissance comme votre propre vie et croissance, et le soleil et la nuit qui passent également à travers de vous, et la levée de louanges qui traverse, filtrant et montant comme un brouillard ».2
1Susan Crean (ed.), Opposite Contraries – The Unknown Journals of Emily Carr and Other Writings, (Vancouver: Douglas & McIntyre, 2003), 70.

2Susan Crean (ed.), Opposite Contraries – The Unknown Journals of Emily Carr and Other Writings, (Vancouver: Douglas & McIntyre, 2003), 78.

© 2003, Douglas & McIntyre. Tous droits réservés.

Objectifs d'apprentissage

Lien au programme (C.-B.) – Arts de la langue anglaise ; Sciences humaines; Arts visuels; Fondation de l’art; Technologie de l’information 9/10

Objectifs d’apprentissage :
· Après avoir lu diverses citations des romans et des journaux intimes de Carr, les élèves compareront les thèmes, les buts et l’attrait des différentes communications – bibliographie, autobiographie, journal intime, récit, etc.
· Après avoir lu diverses citations des écrits de Carr, les élèves identifieront les liens entre leurs propres idées, expériences et connaissances et une variété de travaux littéraires et de média de masse créés par des auteurs et des promoteurs scolaires, locaux, britanno-colombiens et internationaux provenant de diverses communautés culturelles.
· Les élèves utiliseront leurs sens pour percevoir le monde et réagir à des images. Ils percevront également les façons par lesquelles elles reflètent le contexte personnel, social, culturel et historique dans lequel elles ont été créées.
· Les élèves analyseront comment les qualités physiques des éléments visuels et des principes de l’art sont utilisées pour créer des effets et des atmosphères dans des images représentationnelles et non représentationnelles.
· Les élèves examineront la relation entre l’utilisation de stratégies de développement d’images particulières, ainsi que l’atmosphère et le message prévus.
· Les élèves pourront décrire la contribution d’Emily Carr à l’art au Canada.
· Cet exercice d’apprentissage permettra aux élèves de démontrer leur habilité à utiliser Internet pour obtenir, saisir et entreposer de l’information.
· Les élèves utiliseront les outils des technologies de l’information pour recueillir et organiser de l’information et produire des documents.
· En interagissant avec cet objet, les élèves feront preuve d’une sensibilisation envers l’impact des ressources électroniques sur l’éducation, les carriers et les loisirs.


Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons