Emily Carr found that by verbally describing her subject before she began painting or drawing, she could heighten her visual acuity, and thereby expand her painter's vocabulary. Ask students to begin by choosing a subject for their artwork, and then to initiate their investigations by describing or "wording" what they see using the richest language possible; this will not be read by anyone else, and can be very personal. Students might want to ask themselves, as Emily Carr did, “What attracted you to this particular subject?” and “What do you want to express with it?”1 This freely written description then becomes additional material for their artwork, either stimulating media applications or used as linguistic devices in conjunction with visual symbols; finished work includes any material students feel is appropriate.
Emily Carr found that by verbally describing her subject before she began painting or drawing, she could heighten her visual acuity, and thereby expand her painter's vocabulary. Ask students to begin by choosing a subject for their artwork, and then to initiate their investigations by describing or "wording" what they see using the richest language possible; this will not be read by anyone else, and can be very personal. Students might want to ask themselves, as Emily Carr did, “What attracted you to this particular subject?” and “What do you want to express with it?”1 This freely written description then becomes additional material for their artwork, either stimulating media applications or used as linguistic devices in conjunction with visual symbols; finished work includes any material students feel is appropriate.
1Maria Tippet, Emily Carr: A Biography, (Toronto: Oxford University Press, 1979), 186.
© 2007, Art Gallery of Greater Victoria. All Rights Reserved.

"Trying to find equivalents for things in words helps me find equivalents in painting. That is the reason for this journal. Everything is all connected up. Different paths lead to the great "it", the thing we try to get at …"1

"Trying to find equivalents for things in words helps me find equivalents in painting. That is the reason for this journal. Everything is all connected up. Different paths lead to the great "it", the thing we try to get at …"1

1Emily Carr, Hundreds and Thousands, (Vancouver: Douglas & McIntyre, 2006), 46.


© 2006, Douglas & McIntyre. All Rights Reserved;

"I want the ferocious, strangled lonesomeness of that place, creepy, nervy, forsaken, dank, dirty, dilapidated, the rank smell of nettles and rotting wood, the lush greens of the rank sea grass and the overgrown bushes, and the great dense forest behind full of unseen things and great silence, and on the sea the sun beating down …"1
"I want the ferocious, strangled lonesomeness of that place, creepy, nervy, forsaken, dank, dirty, dilapidated, the rank smell of nettles and rotting wood, the lush greens of the rank sea grass and the overgrown bushes, and the great dense forest behind full of unseen things and great silence, and on the sea the sun beating down …"1
1Emily Carr, The Complete Writings of Emily Carr with Introduction by Doris Shadbolt, (Vancouver: Douglas & McIntyre, 1997), 672.
© 1993, Douglas & McIntyre. All Rights Reserved.

Learning Objectives

Curriculum Link (BC) – English Language Arts; Social Studies; Visual Arts; Art Foundations; Information Technology 9/10

Learning Objectives: 
· After reading various quotes from Carr’s novels and journals students will compare the themes, purposes, and appeal of different communications – biography, autobiography, journal, story etc.
· After reading the various quotes from Carr’s writings students will identify connections between their own ideas, experiences, and knowledge and a variety of literary and mass media works created by classroom, local, British Columbian, and international authors and developers from various cultural communities.
· Students will use their senses to perceive the world and respond to images and the ways in which they reflect the personal, social, cultural, and historical contexts in which they were created.
· Students will experience and analyze how the physical qualities of visual elements and principles of art and design are used to create effects and mood in representational and non-representational images.
· Students will examine the relationship between the use of particular image-development strategies and intended mood and message.
· Students will be able to describe the contributions that Emily Carr has made to the arts in Canada.
· This learning object will allow students to demonstrate their ability to use the Internet to access, capture, and store information.
· Students will use information technology tools to gather and organize information and produce documents.
· By interacting with this object students will demonstrate an awareness of the impact of electronic resources on education, careers, and recreation.

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Emily Carr s’est rendu compte qu’en décrivant verbalement son sujet avant de commencer à peindre ou dessiner, elle pouvait augmenter son acuité visuelle et donc élargir son vocabulaire de peintre. Demandez aux élèves de commencer en choisissant un sujet pour leur travail d’art et puis de lancer leurs enquêtes en décrivant ou « formulant » ce qu’ils voient en utilisant la langue la plus riche possible. Personne d’autre ne le lira et ce peut donc être très personnel. Les élèves peuvent se poser les questions, comme l’a fait Emily Carr, « Qu’est-ce qui vous a attiré à ce sujet particulier ? » et « Que voulez-vous exprimer avec ?».1 Cette description écrite librement devient par la suite du matériel supplémentaire pour leur travail d’art, soit en stimulant les applications médiatiques ou en les utilisant comme appareils linguistiques conjointement avec des symboles visuels. Le travail fini comprend tout matériel jugé convenable par les élèves Pour en lire plus
Emily Carr s’est rendu compte qu’en décrivant verbalement son sujet avant de commencer à peindre ou dessiner, elle pouvait augmenter son acuité visuelle et donc élargir son vocabulaire de peintre. Demandez aux élèves de commencer en choisissant un sujet pour leur travail d’art et puis de lancer leurs enquêtes en décrivant ou « formulant » ce qu’ils voient en utilisant la langue la plus riche possible. Personne d’autre ne le lira et ce peut donc être très personnel. Les élèves peuvent se poser les questions, comme l’a fait Emily Carr, « Qu’est-ce qui vous a attiré à ce sujet particulier ? » et « Que voulez-vous exprimer avec ?».1 Cette description écrite librement devient par la suite du matériel supplémentaire pour leur travail d’art, soit en stimulant les applications médiatiques ou en les utilisant comme appareils linguistiques conjointement avec des symboles visuels. Le travail fini comprend tout matériel jugé convenable par les élèves.
1Maria Tippet, Emily Carr: A Biography, (Toronto: Oxford University Press, 1979), 186.
© 2007, Art Gallery of Greater Victoria. Tous droits réservés.

« Essayer de trouver les équivalents de choses en mots m’aide à trouver des équivalents en peinture. C’est la raison de ce journal intime. Tout est relié. Différentes voies mènent à la grande « chose », la chose que nous essayons d’atteindre… »1
« Essayer de trouver les équivalents de choses en mots m’aide à trouver des équivalents en peinture. C’est la raison de ce journal intime. Tout est relié. Différentes voies mènent à la grande « chose », la chose que nous essayons d’atteindre… »1
1Emily Carr, Hundreds and Thousands, (Vancouver: Douglas & McIntyre, 2006), 46.
© 2006, Douglas & McIntyreictoria. Tous droits réservés.

« Je veux la solitude féroce et étranglée de cette place, affreuse, énervante, abandonnée, humide, dilapidée, l’odeur fétide de l’ortie et du bois pourri, les verts luxuriants de la mousse de mer fétide et les gros buissons, et la grande forêt dense derrière plein de choses jamais vues et le grand silence, et sur la mer le soleil frappait… »1
« Je veux la solitude féroce et étranglée de cette place, affreuse, énervante, abandonnée, humide, dilapidée, l’odeur fétide de l’ortie et du bois pourri, les verts luxuriants de la mousse de mer fétide et les gros buissons, et la grande forêt dense derrière plein de choses jamais vues et le grand silence, et sur la mer le soleil frappait… »1
1Emily Carr, The Complete Writings of Emily Carr with Introduction by Doris Shadbolt, (Vancouver: Douglas & McIntyre, 1997), 672.
© 1993, Douglas & McIntyre. Tous droits réservés.

Objectifs d'apprentissage

Lien au programme (C.-B.) – Arts de la langue anglaise ; Sciences humaines; Arts visuels; Fondation de l’art; Technologie de l’information 9/10

Objectifs d’apprentissage :
· Après avoir lu diverses citations des romans et des journaux intimes de Carr, les élèves compareront les thèmes, les buts et l’attrait des différentes communications – bibliographie, autobiographie, journal intime, récit, etc.
· Après avoir lu diverses citations des écrits de Carr, les élèves identifieront les liens entre leurs propres idées, expériences et connaissances et une variété de travaux littéraires et de média de masse créés par des auteurs et des promoteurs scolaires, locaux, britanno-colombiens et internationaux provenant de diverses communautés culturelles.
· Les élèves utiliseront leurs sens pour percevoir le monde et réagir à des images. Ils percevront également les façons par lesquelles elles reflètent le contexte personnel, social, culturel et historique dans lequel elles ont été créées.
· Les élèves analyseront comment les qualités physiques des éléments visuels et des principes de l’art sont utilisées pour créer des effets et des atmosphères dans des images représentationnelles et non représentationnelles.
· Les élèves examineront la relation entre l’utilisation de stratégies de développement d’images particulières, ainsi que l’atmosphère et le message prévus.
· Les élèves pourront décrire la contribution d’Emily Carr à l’art au Canada.
· Cet exercice d’apprentissage permettra aux élèves de démontrer leur habilité à utiliser Internet pour obtenir, saisir et entreposer de l’information.
· Les élèves utiliseront les outils des technologies de l’information pour recueillir et organiser de l’information et produire des documents.
· En interagissant avec cet objet, les élèves feront preuve d’une sensibilisation envers l’impact des ressources électroniques sur l’éducation, les carriers et les loisirs.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons