The process of working outdoors, or 'en plein air’ has been around for centuries, although never more fully embraced than by the Barbizon school of French Realism at the turn of the 19th century. Emily Carr shared in that tradition by working directly from nature, from the First Nations villages of her youth (usually painted in watercolour), to the local Victoria landscapes of her mature work (oil paint thinned with gasoline).
Invite students to take their sketchbooks and favourite drawing tools and find a particular aspect of the exterior landscape that appeals to them. They will then complete a finished work in a single sitting; the vitality captured through the spontaneity of such work will illustrate the value of not over-working.

The process of working outdoors, or 'en plein air’ has been around for centuries, although never more fully embraced than by the Barbizon school of French Realism at the turn of the 19th century. Emily Carr shared in that tradition by working directly from nature, from the First Nations villages of her youth (usually painted in watercolour), to the local Victoria landscapes of her mature work (oil paint thinned with gasoline).
Invite students to take their sketchbooks and favourite drawing tools and find a particular aspect of the exterior landscape that appeals to them. They will then complete a finished work in a single sitting; the vitality captured through the spontaneity of such work will illustrate the value of not over-working.

© 2007, Art Gallery of Greater Victoria. All Rights Reserved.

"Outdoor study was as different from studio study as eating is from drinking … Sketching outdoors was a fluid process, half looking, half dreaming, awaiting invitation from the spirit of the subject to 'come meet me half way'. Outdoor sketching was as much longing as labour. "1
"Outdoor study was as different from studio study as eating is from drinking … Sketching outdoors was a fluid process, half looking, half dreaming, awaiting invitation from the spirit of the subject to 'come meet me half way'. Outdoor sketching was as much longing as labour. "1
1Emily Carr, The Complete Writings of Emily Carr with Introduction by Doris Shadbolt, (Vancouver: Douglas & McIntyre, 1997), 315.
© 1997, Douglas & McIntyre. All Rights Reserved.

Learning Objectives

Curriculum Link (BC) – English Language Arts; Social Studies; Visual Arts; Art Foundations; Information Technology 9/10

Learning Objectives:
· After reading various quotes from Carr’s novels and journals students will compare the themes, purposes, and appeal of different communications – biography, autobiography, journal, story etc.
· After reading the various quotes from Carr’s writings students will identify connections between their own ideas, experiences, and knowledge and a variety of literary and mass media works created by classroom, local, British Columbian, and international authors and developers from various cultural communities.
· Students will use their senses to perceive the world and respond to images and the ways in which they reflect the personal, social, cultural, and historical contexts in which they were created.
· Students will experience and analyze how the physical qualities of visual elements and principles of art and design are used to create effects and mood in representational and non-representational images.
· Students will examine the relationship between the use of particular image-development strategies and intended mood and message.
· Students will be able to describe the contributions that Emily Carr has made to the arts in Canada.
· This learning object will allow students to demonstrate their ability to use the Internet to access, capture, and store information.
· Students will use information technology tools to gather and organize information and produce documents.
· By interacting with this object students will demonstrate an awareness of the impact of electronic resources on education, careers, and recreation.

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Le processus de travailler en plein air existe depuis des siècles, mais jamais aussi adopté que par l’École Barbizon du réalisme français au début du 19e siècle. Emily Carr a partagé cette tradition en travaillant directement dans la nature, à partir des villages des Premières nations de sa jeunesse (habituellement des aquarelles) jusqu’aux paysages locaux de Victoria de sa maturité (peinture à l’huile diluée avec de l’essence).
Demandez aux étudiants de prendre leur tablette à croquis et leurs outils de dessin favoris et de trouver un aspect particulier d’un paysage extérieur qui leur plaît. Puis, ils termineront une œuvre finie dans une seule séance. La vitalité captée par la spontanéité d’un tel travail illustrera la valeur du sous-travail.

Le processus de travailler en plein air existe depuis des siècles, mais jamais aussi adopté que par l’École Barbizon du réalisme français au début du 19e siècle. Emily Carr a partagé cette tradition en travaillant directement dans la nature, à partir des villages des Premières nations de sa jeunesse (habituellement des aquarelles) jusqu’aux paysages locaux de Victoria de sa maturité (peinture à l’huile diluée avec de l’essence).
Demandez aux étudiants de prendre leur tablette à croquis et leurs outils de dessin favoris et de trouver un aspect particulier d’un paysage extérieur qui leur plaît. Puis, ils termineront une œuvre finie dans une seule séance. La vitalité captée par la spontanéité d’un tel travail illustrera la valeur du sous-travail.

© 2007, Art Gallery of Greater Victoria. Tous droits réservés.

« L’étude en plein air est aussi différente de l’étude en studio que le sont manger et boire… Faire des croquis en plein air était un processus fluide, regardant à moitié, rêvant à moitié, en attendant l’invitation de l’esprit du sujet de « me rencontrer à mi-chemin ». Les croquis en plein air sont aussi exigeants que le travail ».1
« L’étude en plein air est aussi différente de l’étude en studio que le sont manger et boire… Faire des croquis en plein air était un processus fluide, regardant à moitié, rêvant à moitié, en attendant l’invitation de l’esprit du sujet de « me rencontrer à mi-chemin ». Les croquis en plein air sont aussi exigeants que le travail ».1
1Emily Carr, The Complete Writings of Emily Carr with Introduction by Doris Shadbolt, (Vancouver: Douglas & McIntyre, 1997), 315.
© 1997, Douglas & McIntyre. Tous droits réservés.

Objectifs d'apprentissage

Lien au programme (C.-B.) – Arts de la langue anglaise ; Sciences humaines; Arts visuels; Fondation de l’art; Technologie de l’information 9/10

Objectifs d’apprentissage :
· Après avoir lu diverses citations des romans et des journaux intimes de Carr, les élèves compareront les thèmes, les buts et l’attrait des différentes communications – bibliographie, autobiographie, journal intime, récit, etc.
· Après avoir lu diverses citations des écrits de Carr, les élèves identifieront les liens entre leurs propres idées, expériences et connaissances et une variété de travaux littéraires et de média de masse créés par des auteurs et des promoteurs scolaires, locaux, britanno-colombiens et internationaux provenant de diverses communautés culturelles.
· Les élèves utiliseront leurs sens pour percevoir le monde et réagir à des images. Ils percevront également les façons par lesquelles elles reflètent le contexte personnel, social, culturel et historique dans lequel elles ont été créées.
· Les élèves analyseront comment les qualités physiques des éléments visuels et des principes de l’art sont utilisées pour créer des effets et des atmosphères dans des images représentationnelles et non représentationnelles.
· Les élèves examineront la relation entre l’utilisation de stratégies de développement d’images particulières, ainsi que l’atmosphère et le message prévus.
· Les élèves pourront décrire la contribution d’Emily Carr à l’art au Canada.
· Cet exercice d’apprentissage permettra aux élèves de démontrer leur habilité à utiliser Internet pour obtenir, saisir et entreposer de l’information.
· Les élèves utiliseront les outils des technologies de l’information pour recueillir et organiser de l’information et produire des documents.
· En interagissant avec cet objet, les élèves feront preuve d’une sensibilisation envers l’impact des ressources électroniques sur l’éducation, les carriers et les loisirs.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons