“We are just in time!”

More than fifty years has passed since Lord Beaverbrook financed the recording of traditional folk songs on the Miramichi, and many of these recordings can only be found in Archives today - although there are a few tapes and records in existence.

As a major assignment, your History teacher, in collaboration with the Music teacher, has asked all students to develop a plan for recording and preserving as many of the older folk songs as possible. Students are to work in groups of three or four to develop their Preservation Plan, and will be evaluated on how thorough, realistic, and useful the Plan will be to implement.


“We are just in time!”

More than fifty years has passed since Lord Beaverbrook financed the recording of traditional folk songs on the Miramichi, and many of these recordings can only be found in Archives today - although there are a few tapes and records in existence.

As a major assignment, your History teacher, in collaboration with the Music teacher, has asked all students to develop a plan for recording and preserving as many of the older folk songs as possible. Students are to work in groups of three or four to develop their Preservation Plan, and will be evaluated on how thorough, realistic, and useful the Plan will be to implement.


© 2007, Heritage Branch, Province of New Brunswick. All Rights Reserved.

Learning Objectives

Learners will apply their knowledge of preservation techniques by the development of a Plan to preserve traditional folk music for the enjoyment of future generations.

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

« On arrive juste à temps! »

Déjà, une cinquantaine d'années se sont écoulées depuis que Lord Beaverbrook a financé l'enregistrement de chansons folkloriques dans la région de Miramichi. Aujourd'hui, la plupart de ces enregistrements se trouvent dans les Archives provinciales, bien qu'il existe encore quelques disques et cassettes.

Votre enseignant d'histoire, en collaboration avec votre enseignante de musique, vous a confié le grand projet d'enregistrer et de préserver le plus grand nombre possible de vieilles chansons folkloriques. Tous les élèves doivent travailler en groupes de trois ou quatre pour élaborer leur plan de conservation qui sera évalué pour son réalisme, son caractère exhaustif et son utilité pour la mise en oeuvre.

« On arrive juste à temps! »

Déjà, une cinquantaine d'années se sont écoulées depuis que Lord Beaverbrook a financé l'enregistrement de chansons folkloriques dans la région de Miramichi. Aujourd'hui, la plupart de ces enregistrements se trouvent dans les Archives provinciales, bien qu'il existe encore quelques disques et cassettes.

Votre enseignant d'histoire, en collaboration avec votre enseignante de musique, vous a confié le grand projet d'enregistrer et de préserver le plus grand nombre possible de vieilles chansons folkloriques. Tous les élèves doivent travailler en groupes de trois ou quatre pour élaborer leur plan de conservation qui sera évalué pour son réalisme, son caractère exhaustif et son utilité pour la mise en oeuvre.

© 2007, Direction du patrimoine, province du Nouveau-Brunswick. Tous droits réservés.

Objectifs d'apprentissage

Les apprenants pourront appliquer leurs connaissances des techniques de préservation en élaborant un plan pour la conservation de pièces de musique traditionnelle à l'intention des générations futures.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons