Archaeology is a meticulous and exacting profession where extensive math skills are employed on a daily basis. As it is a destructive process in and of itself, information must be carefully recorded throughout the excavation to give context to artifacts and features uncovered, and to help archaeologists tell the complete story of their findings. Provenience is of the utmost importance Provenience refers to the context of an artifact; where it was found, what layer of soil, its proximity to features and otherr archaeologically significant cultural material. Not unlike area codes, Canada is divided into Borden numbers. Each time a site is excavated the corresponding borden number is associated with all documents and artifacts discovered at the site. The Borden number identifies the provenience of an artifact and site. Without provenience, significance of artifacts lost therefore information about soils, items found where in soils etc must be recorded along the way.

Once a historical assessment of a potential site is completed, archaeologists lay out a grid for the projected excavation site. A survey of the area is completed and as units are placed with the site arcaheolog Read More
Archaeology is a meticulous and exacting profession where extensive math skills are employed on a daily basis. As it is a destructive process in and of itself, information must be carefully recorded throughout the excavation to give context to artifacts and features uncovered, and to help archaeologists tell the complete story of their findings. Provenience is of the utmost importance Provenience refers to the context of an artifact; where it was found, what layer of soil, its proximity to features and otherr archaeologically significant cultural material. Not unlike area codes, Canada is divided into Borden numbers. Each time a site is excavated the corresponding borden number is associated with all documents and artifacts discovered at the site. The Borden number identifies the provenience of an artifact and site. Without provenience, significance of artifacts lost therefore information about soils, items found where in soils etc must be recorded along the way.

Once a historical assessment of a potential site is completed, archaeologists lay out a grid for the projected excavation site. A survey of the area is completed and as units are placed with the site arcaheologists usea variety of mathematical practices to to carefully record where each excavation unit is placed.

In 2005, the Cataraqui Archaeological Research Foundation completed the excavation of Market Square. Using the map and data provided, you will complete the necessary calcualtions to place three excavation units on the grid in market square.

Materials Needed:

  • Calculator with sin and cos buttons
  • Two tables of data
  • Diagrams of explanations with formulas
  • Printed copy of the Market Square map with grid overlay

Using data from the Cataraqui Archaeological Research Foundation's 2005 Market Square excavation, found in the digital assets, complete the following question:

Part 1

Calculate the distance for each of the four corners of the three excavation units using the formula provided.

Part 2

Using the distances calculated in part one and the data provided, calculate the coordinates for x and y using the formula’s provided.

Part 3

Place the x and y coordinates on the map of Market Square and connect the lines to create the excavation units.

© 2007, Cataraqui Archaeological Research Foundation. All Rights Reserved.

Cataraqui Archaeological Research Foundation
Jonas Fernandez, Jennifer Stanton, Hannah Roth

© 2007, Cataraqui Archaeological Research Foundation. All Rights Reserved.


Cataraqui Archaeological Research Foundation
Jonas Fernandez, Jennifer Stanton, Hannah Roth

© 2007, Cataraqui Archaeological Research Foundation. All Rights Reserved.


Learning Objectives

  1. Using data (fabricated, created for the purpose of the project) provided, students will triangulate the units to place at Market Square.

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

L’archéologie est une profession méticuleuse et exigeante où les habiletés en mathématiques sont employées extensivement sur une base quotidienne.  Comme c’est un processus destructeur dans et de lui-même, l’information doit être enregistrée prudemment tout au long des fouilles, de manière à donner un contexte aux artefacts et aux particularités découvertes, et d’aider les archéologues à raconter l’histoire complète de leurs trouvailles.  La provenance est d’importance capitale.  La provenance réfère au contexte des artefacts; où ce fut trouvé, quelle strate du sol, sa proximité aux particularités, et autres matériaux culturels significatifs d’archéologie.  Pas différemment des codes régionaux, le Canada est divisé en numéros Borden.  Chaque fois qu’un site est fouillé, le numéro Borden correspondant est associé avec tous les documents et artefacts découverts sur le site.  Le numé Pour en lire plus
L’archéologie est une profession méticuleuse et exigeante où les habiletés en mathématiques sont employées extensivement sur une base quotidienne.  Comme c’est un processus destructeur dans et de lui-même, l’information doit être enregistrée prudemment tout au long des fouilles, de manière à donner un contexte aux artefacts et aux particularités découvertes, et d’aider les archéologues à raconter l’histoire complète de leurs trouvailles.  La provenance est d’importance capitale.  La provenance réfère au contexte des artefacts; où ce fut trouvé, quelle strate du sol, sa proximité aux particularités, et autres matériaux culturels significatifs d’archéologie.  Pas différemment des codes régionaux, le Canada est divisé en numéros Borden.  Chaque fois qu’un site est fouillé, le numéro Borden correspondant est associé avec tous les documents et artefacts découverts sur le site.  Le numéro Borden identifie la provenance de l’artefact et du site.  Sans provenance, la signification des artefacts perdent, par conséquent, l’information sur les sols, les items trouvés desquels sols etc. doivent être enregistrés tout au long du parcours.

Une fois l’évaluation historique d’un site potentiel complété, les archéologues établissent une grille pour le site de fouilles projeté.  Un relevé d’un endroit est complété et comme les unités sont placées avec le site,  les mathématiciens utilisent une variété de pratiques mathématiques pour enregistrer attentivement où chaque unité de fouille est placée.

En 2005, La Cataraqui Archeological Foundation a complété les fouilles de la Place du Marché.  En utilisant la carte et des données fournies, vous complèterez les calculs nécessaires de façon à placer trois unités de fouilles sur la grille de la Place du Marché.

Matériel nécessaire :

  • Calculatrice avec les boutons sin et cos
  • Deux tables de données
  • Diagrammes d’explications avec les formules
  • Une copie imprimée de la Place du Marché avec une grille superposée.

En utilisant les données du Cataraqui Archeological Research Foundation de la fouille 2005 de la Place du Marché, trouvées dans les avoirs numériques, complétez la question suivante :

Partie I

Calculez la distance pour chacun de quatre coins des trois unités de fouilles en utilisant la formule fournie.

Partie 2

En utilisant les distances calculées dans la première partie et les données fournies, calculez les coordonnées pour X et Y en se servant de la formule fournie.

Partie 3

Placez les coordonnées X et Y sur la carte de la Place du Marché et connectez des lignes afin de créer les unités de fouilles.

© 2007, Cataraqui Archaeological Research Foundation. Tous droits réservés.

Cataraqui Archaeological Research Foundation
Jonas Fernandez, Jennifer Stanton, Hannah Roth, Jocelyn Gagnon, Kingston Language Services

© 2007, Cataraqui Archaeological Research Foundation. Tous droits réservés.


Cataraqui Archaeological Research Foundation
Jonas Fernandez, Jennifer Stanton, Hannah Roth, Jocelyn Gagnon, Kingston Language Services

© 2007, Cataraqui Archaeological Research Foundation. Tous droits réservés.


Objectifs d'apprentissage

  1. En utilisant les données fournies (fabriquées, créées pour le besoin du projet) les étudiants triangliseront les unités à placer sur la Place du Marché.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons