McLennan

Sir J.C. McLennan (1867-1935)

University of Toronto Museum of Scientific Instruments

© 2001, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.


Sir J.C. McLennan of Ingersoll, Ontario, was one of the leading experimentalists of his time. He began his studies at Toronto under James Loudon, became physics demonstrator in 1892, worked under J.J. Thompson at the Cavendish Laboratory at Cambridge in 1898-1899, and obtained the first Ph.D. in physics at Toronto in 1900. In 1905 he became chair of the Physical Laboratories, replacing James Loudon. He created an international reputation through his discoveries in radioactivity, low-temperature physics, and spectroscopy.

McLennan commissioned the Adam Hilger Company to make this Quartz Lummer plate for his studies of the Mercury Green Line. This plate was capable of showing the finer lines of the ultraviolet spectra. The original investigations derived from a desire to understand the green line in the spectrum of the Aurora Borealis. With this instrument, McLennan became the first to study these mysterious phenomena in the controlled setting of the laboratory. The physicist Raman wrote to McLennan, "Your work on the green line of the Aurora is one of the most sensational achievements in modern physics."

Sir J.C. McLennan of Ingersoll, Ontario, was one of the leading experimentalists of his time. He began his studies at Toronto under James Loudon, became physics demonstrator in 1892, worked under J.J. Thompson at the Cavendish Laboratory at Cambridge in 1898-1899, and obtained the first Ph.D. in physics at Toronto in 1900. In 1905 he became chair of the Physical Laboratories, replacing James Loudon. He created an international reputation through his discoveries in radioactivity, low-temperature physics, and spectroscopy.

McLennan commissioned the Adam Hilger Company to make this Quartz Lummer plate for his studies of the Mercury Green Line. This plate was capable of showing the finer lines of the ultraviolet spectra. The original investigations derived from a desire to understand the green line in the spectrum of the Aurora Borealis. With this instrument, McLennan became the first to study these mysterious phenomena in the controlled setting of the laboratory. The physicist Raman wrote to McLennan, "Your work on the green line of the Aurora is one of the most sensational achievements in modern physics."


© 2001, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

LummerPlate

Quartz Lummer plate 1915 Department of Physics, University of Toronto

University of Toronto Museum of Scientific Instruments
c. 1915
© 2001, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.


Learning Objectives

The learner will:
  • Identify and appreciate the way history and culture shape a society’s science and technology
  • Describe scientific and technological developments, past and present, and appreciate their impact on individuals and societies
  • Describe how Canadians have contributed to science and technology on the global stage
  • Understand how technology and science interact

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

McLennan

Sir J.C. McLennan (1867-1935)

Musée d'instruments scientifiques de l'Université de Toronto

© 2001, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.


Sir J.C. McLennan, d’Ingersoll, en Ontario, fut l’un des expérimentateurs les plus remarquables de son époque. Il commença ses études à Toronto sous la direction de James Loudon, devint moniteur de physique en 1892, travailla sous la direction de J.J. Thompson au laboratoire Cavendish de Cambridge en 1898-1899, et obtint en 1900 le premier doctorat en physique décerné à Toronto. En 1905, il remplaça James Loudon à la tête des laboratoires de physique. Il acquit une notoriété internationale grâce à ses découvertes sur la radioactivité, la physique des basses températures et la spectroscopie.

McLennan commanda à la société Adam Hilger la fabrication de cette lame de Lummer à quartz pour ses recherches sur la raie verte du spectre du mercure. Cet interféromètre arrivait à mettre en évidence les raies plus fines du spectre dans l’ultraviolet. À l’origine, ces recherches étaient motivées par le désir de comprendre la raie verte du spectre des aur Pour en lire plus
Sir J.C. McLennan, d’Ingersoll, en Ontario, fut l’un des expérimentateurs les plus remarquables de son époque. Il commença ses études à Toronto sous la direction de James Loudon, devint moniteur de physique en 1892, travailla sous la direction de J.J. Thompson au laboratoire Cavendish de Cambridge en 1898-1899, et obtint en 1900 le premier doctorat en physique décerné à Toronto. En 1905, il remplaça James Loudon à la tête des laboratoires de physique. Il acquit une notoriété internationale grâce à ses découvertes sur la radioactivité, la physique des basses températures et la spectroscopie.

McLennan commanda à la société Adam Hilger la fabrication de cette lame de Lummer à quartz pour ses recherches sur la raie verte du spectre du mercure. Cet interféromètre arrivait à mettre en évidence les raies plus fines du spectre dans l’ultraviolet. À l’origine, ces recherches étaient motivées par le désir de comprendre la raie verte du spectre des aurores boréales. Avec cet instrument, McLennan fut le premier à étudier ce phénomène mystérieux dans l’environnement contrôlé d’un laboratoire. Le physicien Raman écrivit à McLennan : « Vos travaux sur la raie verte de l’aurore boréale constituent l’une des réalisations les plus sensationnelles de la physique moderne. »

© 2001, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

LameDeLummer

Lame de Lummer à quartz 1915 Département de physique, Université de Toronto

Musée d'instruments scientifiques de l'Université de Toronto
vers 1915
© 2001, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.


Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant va :

  • reconnaître et comprendre l’influence que l’histoire et la culture exercent sur la science et la technologie au sein d’une société;
  • décrire les progrès scientifiques et technologiques du passé et du présent et comprendre leur incidence sur les individus et les sociétés;
  • expliquer la contribution des Canadiens à l’échelle internationale en ce qui concerne la science et la technologie;
  • comprendre les interactions entre la technologie et la science.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons