Portrait of Sa Ga Yeath Qua Pieth Tow

Christianized ‘Brant’, this young man died shortly after returning to North America. His dodem is the Bear. The artist (John Verelst) was obviously intrigued by his tattoos, which he painted in great detail. Brant was the grandfather of Joseph Brant (Thayendanegea), the famous Mohawk leader and general who assisted the British in the American Revolution and in their continuing struggles with France.

John Verelst (ca. 1648-1734)
c. 1710
C-092419
© Library and Archives Canada / Portrait Gallery of Canada


Portrait of Ho Nee Yeath Taw No Row.  Image includes painting and frame.

Also of the Wolf clan, he was Christianized ‘John’. He holds a bow in his hand. While in England, the four men apparently volunteered to stalk deer on the royal hunting preserve and kill one with their bare hands.

John Verelst (circa 1648-1734)
c. 1710
C-092417
© Library and Archives Canada / Portrait Gallery of Canada


Portrait of Etow Oh Koam. Image includes painting and frame.

Christianized ‘Nicholas’, his dodem is the tortoise. He carries a club in his hand and a sword at his waist. There is very little information about what happened to Etow Oh Koam after he returned to North America.

John Verelst (circa 1648-1734)
c. 1710
C-092421
© Library and Archives Canada / Portrait Gallery of Canada


Portrait of Tee Yee Neen Ho Ga Row. Image includes painting and frame.

His name was Christianized to ‘Hendrick’. He is shown with his dodem, the Wolf. Of the four, he looks the most European: short hair, black clothing, European-style shoes and a lack of visible tattoos. He holds a wampum belt in his hand, which symbolizes the official transactions between his people and the British Crown. After this visit to London, Hendrick continued to be an ambassador for the Mohawk people.

John Verelst (circa 1648-1734)
c. 1710
C-092415
© Library and Archives Canada / Portrait Gallery of Canada


Learning Objectives

These images encourage students to learn more about Canadian history during the period that the four kings visited England (1710), and to understand the complex and changing relationship between North America and the prevailing European superpowers of the day, specifically England and France.

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Portrait de Sa Ga Yeath Qua Pieth Tow

Christianisé à « Brant », ce jeune homme est mort peu de temps après être revenu en Amérique du Nord. Son dodem est l'ours. L'artiste (John Verelst) était de toute évidence fasciné par ses tatouages, qu'il a dépeint avec force détails. Brant était le grand-père de Joseph Brant (Thayendanegea), le fameux leader et général mohawk qui a aidé les Britanniques lors de la Révolution américaine et dans leurs luttes continues avec la France.

John Verelst (vers 1648-1734)
vers 1710
C-092419
© Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / Musée du portrait du Canada


Portrait de Ho Nee Yeath Taw No Row. L’image comprend l’œuvre et le cadre.

Également du clan du loup, il a été christianisé à «John». Il tient un arc dans sa main. Pendant leur séjour en Angleterre, les quatre hommes ont semble-t-il volontairement signifié leur désir de traquer le cerf sur la réserve de chasse royale et d'en tuer un à mains nues.

John Verelst (vers 1648-1734)
vers 1710
C-092417
© Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / Musée du portrait du Canada


Portrait de Etow Oh Koam. L’image comprend l’œuvre et le cadre.

Christianisé à « Nicholas », son dodem est la tortue. Il transporte un bâton dans la main et une épée à la taille. On possède très peu de renseignements sur ce qu'il est advenu d'Etow Oh Koam après son retour en Amérique du Nord.

John Verelst (vers 1648-1734)
vers 1710
C-092421
© Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / Musée du portrait du Canada


Portrait de Tee Yee Neen Ho Ga Row. L’image comprend l’œuvre et le cadre.

Son nom a été christianisé à « Hendrick ». Il est connu pour son dodem, le loup. Des quatre rois, il a l'allure la plus européenne : cheveux courts, vêtements noirs, chaussures de style européen et absence de tatouages visibles. Il tient une ceinture wampum dans sa main, symbole des transactions officielles entre son peuple et la Couronne britannique. Après cette visite à Londres, Hendrick demeure l'un des ambassadeurs du peuple Mohawk.

John Verelst (vers 1648-1734)
vers 1710
C-092415
© Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / Musée du portrait du Canada


Objectifs d'apprentissage

Les images encouragent les élèves à en apprendre davantage sur l'histoire du Canada durant la période où les quatre rois ont visité l'Angleterre (1710), et à comprendre le lien complexe et évolutif entre l'Amérique du Nord et les superpuissances européennes dominantes à l'époque, plus particulièrement l'Angleterre et la France.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons