HarrietBrooks

Harriet Brooks' graduation portrait from McGill University, 1898

Photo courtesy of the McCord Museum of Canadian History, Montreal
c. 1898
© 2001, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.


When Harriet Brooks entered McGill, in 1894, women had been welcome at McGill for less than a decade, and it was still unconventional for a woman to pursue a university education. To pursue graduate studies in physics, as Brooks did following her undergraduate degree in 1898, was even more unconventional. In 1901 Brooks earned the first masters degree in physics awarded to a woman at McGill.

During her graduate studies, she worked as a research assistant to Ernest Rutherford, and produced research that Rutherford used (giving due credit to Brooks) in his work that earned a Nobel Prize in 1908. In 1902 she spent a year working with J.J. Thompson at the Cavendish Laboratory in Cambridge. In 1906, she worked with Marie Curie in Paris. She is quite possibly the only person to have worked with all three of these Nobel laureates.

Working with Rutherford, Brooks set out to characterize an "emanation" from thorium that was quite different from the alpha- and beta-rays commonly observed, in that it could be deviated by a current of air. Brooks concluded that it was a radioactive gas with a molecular weight significantly lower than the molecular weight of the Read More
When Harriet Brooks entered McGill, in 1894, women had been welcome at McGill for less than a decade, and it was still unconventional for a woman to pursue a university education. To pursue graduate studies in physics, as Brooks did following her undergraduate degree in 1898, was even more unconventional. In 1901 Brooks earned the first masters degree in physics awarded to a woman at McGill.

During her graduate studies, she worked as a research assistant to Ernest Rutherford, and produced research that Rutherford used (giving due credit to Brooks) in his work that earned a Nobel Prize in 1908. In 1902 she spent a year working with J.J. Thompson at the Cavendish Laboratory in Cambridge. In 1906, she worked with Marie Curie in Paris. She is quite possibly the only person to have worked with all three of these Nobel laureates.

Working with Rutherford, Brooks set out to characterize an "emanation" from thorium that was quite different from the alpha- and beta-rays commonly observed, in that it could be deviated by a current of air. Brooks concluded that it was a radioactive gas with a molecular weight significantly lower than the molecular weight of the parent-element, thorium. This result led to Rutherford and Soddy's hypothesis that radioactivity involved a transmutation of one element to another.

Brooks made other significant observations that contributed to the rapidly-developing field of radioactivity, but Brooks was compelled by convention to leave her research career when she married in 1907. She raised her family and lived the rest of her life in Montreal, dying at age 56, of an illness likely related to her exposure to radioactive materials.

© 2001, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

DiffusionApparatus

Diffusion apparatus for thorium emanation

Made by Ernest Rutherford, McGill University, Montreal
Rutherford Museum
c. 1900
© 2001, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.


Diagram

Diagram of the apparatus to estimate the molecular weight of thorium emanation. The long cylindrical chamber was divided in two by a sliding metal gate. With the gate closed, thorium emanation filled the left chamber. Then the gate was opened. The time it took for the emanation to diffuse through the chamber (given the kinetic theory of gases) was used to calculate (roughly) the molecular weight of the emanation.

McGill University
http://www.virtualmuseum.ca/Exhibitions/Heirs/index.html

© 2008, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.


Learning Objectives

The learner will:
  • Identify and appreciate the way history and culture shape a society’s science and technology
  • Describe scientific and technological developments, past and present, and appreciate their impact on individuals and societies
  • Describe how Canadians have contributed to science and technology on the global stage

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

HarrietBrooks

Portrait de Harriet Brooks lors de l'obtention de son diplôme à l'Université McGill, en 1898.

photo offerte par le Musée McCord d'histoire canadienne, Montréal.
vers 1898
© 2001, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.


Lorsque Harriet Brooks entra à l'Université McGill, en 1894, les femmes y étaient admises depuis moins de dix ans, et il était encore inhabituel pour une femme de faire des études universitaires. Il était encore plus rare qu'une femme fasse des études supérieures en physique, comme le fit Brooks après avoir obtenu son diplôme de 1er cycle en 1898. En 1901, Brooks obtint la première maîtrise en physique décernée à une femme par l'Université McGill.

Pendant ses études supérieures, elle travailla comme assistante d'Ernest Rutherford et fit des recherches dont Rutherford se servit (en donnant comme il se doit crédit à Brooks) pour ses travaux qui lui valurent un prix Nobel en 1908. En 1902, elle collabora pendant un an avec J.J. Thompson au laboratoire Cavendish de Cambridge. En 1906, elle travailla avec Marie Curie à Paris. Elle est fort probablement la seule personne à avoir collaboré avec ces trois lauréats de prix Nobel.

Avec Rutherford, Brooks travailla à caractériser une « & Pour en lire plus
Lorsque Harriet Brooks entra à l'Université McGill, en 1894, les femmes y étaient admises depuis moins de dix ans, et il était encore inhabituel pour une femme de faire des études universitaires. Il était encore plus rare qu'une femme fasse des études supérieures en physique, comme le fit Brooks après avoir obtenu son diplôme de 1er cycle en 1898. En 1901, Brooks obtint la première maîtrise en physique décernée à une femme par l'Université McGill.

Pendant ses études supérieures, elle travailla comme assistante d'Ernest Rutherford et fit des recherches dont Rutherford se servit (en donnant comme il se doit crédit à Brooks) pour ses travaux qui lui valurent un prix Nobel en 1908. En 1902, elle collabora pendant un an avec J.J. Thompson au laboratoire Cavendish de Cambridge. En 1906, elle travailla avec Marie Curie à Paris. Elle est fort probablement la seule personne à avoir collaboré avec ces trois lauréats de prix Nobel.

Avec Rutherford, Brooks travailla à caractériser une « émanation » du thorium qui était très différente des rayons alpha et bêta communément observés, puisqu'elle pouvait être déviée par un courant d'air. Brooks conclut qu'il s'agissait d'un gaz radioactif d'un poids moléculaire sensiblement inférieur à celui du thorium dont il était issu. Ce résultat conduisit à l'hypothèse de Rutherford et de Soddy selon laquelle la radioactivité fait intervenir une transmutation d'un élément en un autre.

Brooks fit d'autres observations importantes qui contribuèrent au domaine en rapide évolution de la radioactivité, mais elle dut selon l'usage abandonner sa carrière en recherche lorsqu'elle se maria en 1907. Elle éleva sa famille et passa le reste de sa vie à Montréal. Elle mourut à l'âge de 56 ans d'une maladie probablement liée à son exposition à des matières radioactives.

© 2001, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

DispositifDeDiffusion

Dispositif probablement utilisé par Brooks dans ses recherches sur une émanation du thorium.

Fabriqué par Ernest Rutherford, Université McGill, Montréal
Musée Rutherford
vers 1900
© 2001, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.


Schéma

Le long compartiment cylindrique était divisé en deux par une barrière métallique coulissante. Lorsque la barrière était fermée, l'émanation du thorium remplissait le compartiment de gauche. Lorsque l'on ouvrait la barrière, on se servait du temps requis par l'émanation pour se répandre dans le compartiment (en vertu de la théorie cinétique des gaz) pour calculer (approximativement) le poids moléculaire de l'émanation.

Université McGill
http://www.virtualmuseum.ca/Exhibitions/Heirs/index.html

© 2008, CHIN. Tous droits réservés.


Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant va :

  • reconnaître et comprendre l’influence que l’histoire et la culture exercent sur la science et la technologie au sein d’une société;
  • décrire les progrès scientifiques et technologiques du passé et du présent et comprendre leur incidence sur les individus et les sociétés;
  • expliquer la contribution des Canadiens à l’échelle internationale en ce qui concerne la science et la technologie.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons