The Visit
In 1710, four young Iroquois men from North America made an extraordinary voyage. As Ambassadors for their people and their nations, the men made a long and dangerous ocean voyage to Great Britain. There they were presented to the recently widowed Queen and her court as “kings.” None of the Iroquois spoke directly to her and a speech was read on their behalf. In the speech, they asked for military help for themselves and their allies against England’s enemy, France. The speech also asked for missionaries so that the Iroquois people could find out more about the Protestant religion.

They signed the speech with their ‘dodems’, symbols of the animals that represented their families.

These Iroquois men astonished the English: they were very tall compared to the average Englishman, had dark skin and eyes, and displayed fantastic tattoos. Everywhere they went, people stopped to look. When they attended a play, the play was interrupted because the audience was more interested in the four young ambassadors than the play itself.

Their visit sparked the English imagination. Read More
The Visit
In 1710, four young Iroquois men from North America made an extraordinary voyage. As Ambassadors for their people and their nations, the men made a long and dangerous ocean voyage to Great Britain. There they were presented to the recently widowed Queen and her court as “kings.” None of the Iroquois spoke directly to her and a speech was read on their behalf. In the speech, they asked for military help for themselves and their allies against England’s enemy, France. The speech also asked for missionaries so that the Iroquois people could find out more about the Protestant religion.

They signed the speech with their ‘dodems’, symbols of the animals that represented their families.

These Iroquois men astonished the English: they were very tall compared to the average Englishman, had dark skin and eyes, and displayed fantastic tattoos. Everywhere they went, people stopped to look. When they attended a play, the play was interrupted because the audience was more interested in the four young ambassadors than the play itself.

Their visit sparked the English imagination. Writers produced plays about the ‘kings’; there were poems and songs, and of course, people high and low wanted to have pictures of the men. Long before photography was invented, the Kings’ faces were recorded in portraiture.

The Portraits

Queen Anne commissioned four portraits of the ‘kings’. These were done with oil paints and were full-length – showing not just their heads, but their full bodies, a mark of respect usually reserved for royalty and military leaders. The artist, John Verelst, who had never been to North America, used his imagination to create the landscapes in the background. Verelst knew that the ‘dodems' of the men were important, and so he included them in the portrait as well, even though he’d probably never seen a bear or a wolf or a tortoise. In the background of the paintings, the weapons the kings are holding are shown in use – arrows killing a deer, a club used in warfare. The hatchet on the ground represents the friendly intentions of the four ambassadors.

The Iroquois men probably only met the artist and ‘sat’ for their portrait once or twice. The artist had to fill in all the details from his memory and sketches. Verelst had to use his imagination and creativity to finish the portraits long after the men sailed home. The four men never saw the finished portraits.

These paintings stayed in England for hundreds of years. Finally, in 1977, they were acquired by the Library and Archives Canada. Queen Elizabeth II, visiting Canada as part of her Silver Jubilee celebrations, officiated at the portraits’ unveiling in Ottawa.

In 2007, the portraits made another trip across the Atlantic. They are part of a special exhibition at the National Portrait Gallery in London, where the four Iroquois men from North America will again cause a sensation.










© Library and Archives Canada / Portrait Gallery of Canada

Learning Objectives

Encourages students to learn more about Canadian history during the period that the four kings visited England (1710), and to understand the complex and changing relationship between North America and the prevailing European superpowers of the day, specifically England and France.

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

La visite
En 1710, quatre jeunes hommes iroquois venant d'Amérique du Nord ont effectué un périple extraordinaire. Ambassadeurs de leur peuple et de leurs nations, ces hommes ont réalisé un voyage long et périlleux jusqu'en Grande-Bretagne. Là, présentés en tant que « rois », ils font la rencontre officielle de la reine récemment devenue veuve et de sa cour. Aucun des Iroquois ne lui adressèrent directement la parole et on lut un discours en leur nom. Dans le discours, ils demandaient de l'aide militaire pour eux et leurs alliés contre l'ennemi de l'Angleterre : la France. Le discours demandait également des missionnaires pour que le peuple Iroquois puisse en apprendre davantage sur la religion protestante.

Ils ont signé le discours de leurs « dodems », symboles des animaux qui représentaient leurs familles.

Ces hommes Iroquois ont ébahi les Anglais : ils étaient très grands comparativement à l'Anglais moyen, avaient la peau et les yeux foncés et arborai Pour en lire plus
La visite
En 1710, quatre jeunes hommes iroquois venant d'Amérique du Nord ont effectué un périple extraordinaire. Ambassadeurs de leur peuple et de leurs nations, ces hommes ont réalisé un voyage long et périlleux jusqu'en Grande-Bretagne. Là, présentés en tant que « rois », ils font la rencontre officielle de la reine récemment devenue veuve et de sa cour. Aucun des Iroquois ne lui adressèrent directement la parole et on lut un discours en leur nom. Dans le discours, ils demandaient de l'aide militaire pour eux et leurs alliés contre l'ennemi de l'Angleterre : la France. Le discours demandait également des missionnaires pour que le peuple Iroquois puisse en apprendre davantage sur la religion protestante.

Ils ont signé le discours de leurs « dodems », symboles des animaux qui représentaient leurs familles.

Ces hommes Iroquois ont ébahi les Anglais : ils étaient très grands comparativement à l'Anglais moyen, avaient la peau et les yeux foncés et arboraient des tatouages fantastiques. Partout où ils allaient, les gens interrompaient leurs activités pour les regarder. Lorsqu'ils ont assisté à une pièce de théâtre, on a dû interrompre la pièce parce que l'auditoire était davantage intéressé par les quatre jeunes ambassadeurs que par la pièce même.

Leur visite stimulait l'imaginaire des Anglais. Des écrivains ont produit des pièces sur les « rois »; il y a aussi eu des poèmes et des chansons et, évidemment, les gens de tous rangs voulaient des tableaux de ces hommes. Bien avant que la photographie ne fut inventée, les visages des rois ont été consignés sous forme de portraits.

Les portraits
La reine Anne a commandé quatre portraits des « rois ». Ces portraits ont été réalisés avec des peintures à l'huile et en pied – montrant non seulement leurs têtes, mais aussi leurs corps entiers, une marque de respect habituellement réservée pour la royauté et les leaders militaires. L'artiste, John Verelst, qui n'avait jamais mis les pieds en Amérique du Nord, a usé de son imagination pour créer les paysages en arrière-plan. Verelst savait que les « dodems » des hommes étaient importants, et c'est pourquoi il les a inclus dans le portrait aussi, même s'il n'avait sans doute jamais aperçu un ours ou un loup ou une tortue. En arrière-plan des toiles, les armes que les rois tiennent dans leurs mains sont illustrés en mode utilisation – les flèches qui tuent un cerf, un bâton utilisé comme arme de guerre. La hachette sur le sol représente les intentions amicales des quatre ambassadeurs.

Les hommes iroquois n'ont probablement rencontré l'artiste et pris place assis pour leur portrait qu'une ou deux fois. L'artiste devait remplir les détails à partir de sa mémoire et de ses esquisses. Verelst devait faire montre d'imagination et de créativité pour achever les portraits bien après que les hommes se sont embarqués pour le voyage de retour chez eux. Les quatre hommes n'ont jamais vu les portraits achevés.

Ces toiles sont demeurés en Angleterre pendant des centaines d'années. Finalement, en 1977, ils ont été acquis par Bibliothèque et Archives Canada. La reine Elizabeth II, qui visitait le Canada dans le cadre des célébrations entourant son jubilé d'argent, a assisté en sa capacité officielle au dévoilement des portraits à Ottawa.

En 2007, les portraits ont effectué un autre voyage au-delà de l'Atlantique. Ils font partie d'une exposition spéciale de la National Portrait Gallery de Londres, où les quatre hommes iroquois d'Amérique du Nord feront à nouveau sensation.










© Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / Musée du portrait du Canada

Objectifs d'apprentissage

L'histoire encourage les élèves à en apprendre davantage sur l'histoire du Canada durant la période où les quatre rois ont visité l'Angleterre (1710), et à comprendre le lien complexe et évolutif entre l'Amérique du Nord et les superpuissances européennes dominantes à l'époque, plus particulièrement l'Angleterre et la France.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons