Hyman pacemaker (reproduction)

Operated by a hand crank, spring motor and magneto, the machine would produce electricity to be introduced into the heart by plunging a needle through the chest wall, causing the heart to beat.

Photo courtesy of North American Society of Pacing and Electrophysiology.

© CHIN 2001


The development of the artificial pacemaker began in the early 20th century. In France, M. Marmorstein first stimulated the sinoatrial node and the right and left ventricles in dogs in 1927. An Australian physician, Mark Lidwill, along with physicist Edgar Booth, built a portable pacemaking unit in 1931.

At the same time, Albert Hyman in New York was developing a similar device. In 1932, Hyman resuscitated several patients using periodic voltage impulses. He called his device an artificial pacemaker, the name in common use today.

Another milestone was reached in 1950 when Wilfred Bigelow and John Callaghan from the University of Toronto, and John Hopps of the National Research Council jointly published their work on heart stimulation in animals.

In 1952, Paul Zoll, a cardiologist in Boston, made the first practical external pacemaker. He used the basic circuitry from the NRC machine, but instead of having the electrodes attached to the heart itself, the electrodes were attached to the chest of the patient. He treated two patients with this device, but it wasn’t suitable for long-term use because it could only be used while the patient was h Read More
The development of the artificial pacemaker began in the early 20th century. In France, M. Marmorstein first stimulated the sinoatrial node and the right and left ventricles in dogs in 1927. An Australian physician, Mark Lidwill, along with physicist Edgar Booth, built a portable pacemaking unit in 1931.

At the same time, Albert Hyman in New York was developing a similar device. In 1932, Hyman resuscitated several patients using periodic voltage impulses. He called his device an artificial pacemaker, the name in common use today.

Another milestone was reached in 1950 when Wilfred Bigelow and John Callaghan from the University of Toronto, and John Hopps of the National Research Council jointly published their work on heart stimulation in animals.

In 1952, Paul Zoll, a cardiologist in Boston, made the first practical external pacemaker. He used the basic circuitry from the NRC machine, but instead of having the electrodes attached to the heart itself, the electrodes were attached to the chest of the patient. He treated two patients with this device, but it wasn’t suitable for long-term use because it could only be used while the patient was hospitalized and confined to bed. Further, electric shocks to the skin of the chest involved a considerable amount of discomfort.

Transvenous catheter pacing was introduced by S. Furman in 1958. Transvenous pacing, in which the electrode is passed down a vein to the interior of the heart, permitted the development of intracardiac diagnosis of arrythmias. This was an important step towards the implantable pacemaker.

In 1957, Earl Bakken, at the request of an American heart surgeon, Walton Lillehei, developed the first wearable transistorized pacemaker. This pacemaker was a prototype, and intended only for laboratory use; Dr. Lillehei liked it so much he used it on a number of patients.

In 1958, prompted by Swedish doctor Åke Sennings, Rune Elmqvist designed the first rechargeable, implantable pacemaker. Dr. Senning implanted myocardial electrodes and a pulse generator with a rechargeable nickel-cadmium battery in a 40-year old patient.

© CHIN 2001

Bigelow pacemaker

First artificial pacemaker using intravenous catheters to deliver stimulus to the sino-auricular node and capable of starting stopped hearts and controlling irregular heart rates.

Radio and Electric Laboratories, NRC, Ottawa, and Toronto General Hospital, Toronto
University Health Network Artifact Collection
c. 1951
1994.1.28
© CHIN 2001


Zoll pacemaker

A patient with a Zoll pacemaker in place, allowing for stimulation of the heart across the closed chest.

Photo courtesy of North American Society of Pacing and Electrophysiology.

© CHIN 2001


Bakken external pacemaker

This prototype wearable pacemaker was a significant step in the evolution to fully implantable units.

Photo courtesy of Bakken Library and Museum, Minneapolis, USA.

© CHIN 2001


Elmqvist internal pacemaker

The first pacemaker to be implanted under the skin, 1959.

Photo courtesy of University Health Network Artifact Collection.

© CHIN 2001


The "natural" pacemaker of the heart is called the sinoatrial (S.A.) node or sinus node. It is a small mass of specialized cells in the top of the right atrium or chamber of the heart. It produces the electrical impulses that cause your heart to beat.

The natural pacemaker may be defective, causing the heartbeat to be too fast, too slow or irregularly. There may also be a blockage of the heart’s electrical pathways. When this system ceases to work properly, the solution may be a pacemaker.

The pacemaker has two parts--the pulse generator, which produces the pacing impulses, and the lead or leads, which deliver these impulses to the heart. The silver-dollar-size generator, which has an effective life of seven to twelve years, is implanted just beneath the skin below the collarbone. The leads are threaded into position through veins leading back to the heart. By reading these signals, the pulse generator is able to monitor the heart’s activity and respond appropriately. The entire implantation procedure requires only a local anaesthetic, and takes about an hour.
The "natural" pacemaker of the heart is called the sinoatrial (S.A.) node or sinus node. It is a small mass of specialized cells in the top of the right atrium or chamber of the heart. It produces the electrical impulses that cause your heart to beat.

The natural pacemaker may be defective, causing the heartbeat to be too fast, too slow or irregularly. There may also be a blockage of the heart’s electrical pathways. When this system ceases to work properly, the solution may be a pacemaker.

The pacemaker has two parts--the pulse generator, which produces the pacing impulses, and the lead or leads, which deliver these impulses to the heart. The silver-dollar-size generator, which has an effective life of seven to twelve years, is implanted just beneath the skin below the collarbone. The leads are threaded into position through veins leading back to the heart. By reading these signals, the pulse generator is able to monitor the heart’s activity and respond appropriately. The entire implantation procedure requires only a local anaesthetic, and takes about an hour.

© CHIN 2001

How the heart works

The heart is stimulated by nodal tissue, which is composed of specialized muscle cells. This tissue is found in the sinoatrial (SA) node and the atrioventricular (AV) node, both located in the right atrium. In the SA node, the electric impulses are generated for cardiac contraction (70-80 beats a minute). These impulses pass to and stimulate the AV node. This stimulation is propagated to the two ventricles through the bundle of His and the Purkinje fibres.

Photo courtesy of Parramon Ediciones, Spain
© CHIN 2001

© 2008, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.


Implantation of a pacemaker

Illustration of a transvenous implantation of a ventricular pacemaker.

Photo courtesy of CIBA

© CHIN 2001


Learning Objectives

The learner will:

  • Identify and appreciate the way history and culture shape a society’s science and technology
  • Provide examples of how science and technology have influenced the diagnosis and treatment of human illness, and have made medical technology an integral part of our lives
  • Describe scientific and technological developments, past and present, and appreciate their impact on individuals and societies
  • Describe how Canadians have contributed to science and technology on the global stage

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Stimulateur cardiaque de Hyman (reproduction)

Fonctionnant avec une manivelle à main, un moteur à ressort et une magnéto, la machine produisait de l´électricité que l´on amenait au cœur en enfonçant une aiguille à travers la paroi thoracique.

Photo gracieuseté de la North American Society of Pacing and Electrophysiology.

© RCIP 2001


Le développement du stimulateur cardiaque artificiel a commencé au début du XXe siècle. En France, M. Marmorstein a d’abord stimulé le nœud sino-auriculaire ainsi que les ventricules droit et gauche de chiens en 1927. Un médecin australien, Mark Lidwill, et le physicien Edgar Booth construisirent un stimulateur cardiaque portatif en 1931.

À la même époque, Albert Hyman travaillait à New York à la mise au point d’un appareil similaire. En 1932, Hyman réanima plusieurs patients à l’aide d’impulsions électriques périodiques. Il appela son appareil un pacemaker artificiel, nom couramment employé en anglais de nos jours.

Une autre étape fut franchie en 1950 lorsque Wilfred Bigelow et John Callaghan, de l’Université de Toronto, et John Hopps, du Conseil national de recherches du Canada, publièrent ensemble leurs travaux sur la stimulation cardiaque chez les animaux.

En 1952, Paul Zoll, cardiologue de Boston, fabriqua le premier stimulateur cardiaque externe pratique. Il se servit des circ Pour en lire plus
Le développement du stimulateur cardiaque artificiel a commencé au début du XXe siècle. En France, M. Marmorstein a d’abord stimulé le nœud sino-auriculaire ainsi que les ventricules droit et gauche de chiens en 1927. Un médecin australien, Mark Lidwill, et le physicien Edgar Booth construisirent un stimulateur cardiaque portatif en 1931.

À la même époque, Albert Hyman travaillait à New York à la mise au point d’un appareil similaire. En 1932, Hyman réanima plusieurs patients à l’aide d’impulsions électriques périodiques. Il appela son appareil un pacemaker artificiel, nom couramment employé en anglais de nos jours.

Une autre étape fut franchie en 1950 lorsque Wilfred Bigelow et John Callaghan, de l’Université de Toronto, et John Hopps, du Conseil national de recherches du Canada, publièrent ensemble leurs travaux sur la stimulation cardiaque chez les animaux.

En 1952, Paul Zoll, cardiologue de Boston, fabriqua le premier stimulateur cardiaque externe pratique. Il se servit des circuits de base de la machine du CNRC, mais au lieu de fixer les électrodes directement sur le cœur, il les installa sur la poitrine du patient. Il traita deux patients avec cet appareil, mais celui-ci ne convenait pas à un usage prolongé parce que le patient devait rester hospitalisé et au lit. De plus, les chocs électriques sur la peau de la poitrine rendaient cette installation très inconfortable pour le patient.

La stimulation cardiaque par cathéter transveineux fut introduite par S. Furman en 1958. La stimulation cardiaque transveineuse, dans laquelle l’électrode passe par une veine pour atteindre l’intérieur du cœur, permit le développement du diagnostic intracardiaque de l’arythmie. Elle constitua une étape importante du développement d’un stimulateur implantable.

En 1957, Earl Bakken mit au point le premier stimulateur cardiaque transistorisé portatif, à la demande du chirurgien américain Walton Lillehei. Ce n’était qu’un prototype destiné à un usage en laboratoire, mais le Dr Lillehei l’appréciait au point qu’il l’utilisa sur un certain nombre de patients.

En 1958, à la demande du médecin suédois Åke Sennings, Rune Elmqvist conçut le premier stimulateur cardiaque rechargeable et implantable. Le Dr Senning implanta des électrodes myocardiques et un générateur d’impulsions avec une batterie rechargeable au nickel-cadmium chez un patient âgé de 40 ans.

© RCIP 2001

Stimulateur cardiaque de Bigelow

Premier stimulateur cardiaque artificiel utilisant des cathéters intraveineux pour amener des stimuli au nœud sino-auriculaire. Il pouvait faire démarrer un cœur arrêté et contrôler des battements cardiaques irréguliers.

Laboratoires de radio et d´électricité, CNRC, Ottawa, et Hôpital général de Toronto
Collection d´objets du University Health Network
vers 1951
1994.1.28
© RCIP 2001


Stimulateur cardiaque de Zoll

Patient avec un stimulateur cardiaque de Zoll, qui permettait de stimuler le cœur sans ouvrir le thorax.

Photo gracieuseté de la North American Society of Pacing and Electrophysiology.

© RCIP 2001


Stimulateur cardiaque externe de Bakken

Ce prototype de stimulateur cardiaque portatif constitua une étape importante de la mise au point d´appareils implantables.

Photo gracieuseté de la Bibliothèque et du Musée Bakken, Minneapolis, États-Unis.

© RCIP 2001


Stimulateur cardiaque interne d´Elmqvist

Premier stimulateur cardiaque a avoir été implanté sous la peau, en 1959.

Photo gracieuseté de la Collection d´objets du University Health Network.

© RCIP 2001


Le centre d’automatisme cardiaque, ou « stimulateur naturel » du cœur, est le nœud sino-auriculaire ou nœud sinusal. C’est une petite masse de cellules spécialisées situées au sommet de l’auriculaire droit du cœur. Il produit les impulsions électriques qui entraînent les battements du cœur.

Si le centre d’automatisme cardiaque est défectueux, le cœur peut battre trop vite, trop lentement ou de façon irrégulière. Il peut également y avoir un blocage des circuits électriques du cœur. Si ce système cesse de fonctionner correctement, un stimulateur cardiaque peut constituer une solution.

Le stimulateur cardiaque comprend deux parties : le générateur des impulsions destinées à stimuler le cœur, et une ou plusieurs électrodes, qui amènent ces impulsions au cœur. Le générateur, de la taille d’un dollar en argent, a une vie utile de sept à douze ans et est implanté immédiatement sous la peau, en dessous de la clavi Pour en lire plus
Le centre d’automatisme cardiaque, ou « stimulateur naturel » du cœur, est le nœud sino-auriculaire ou nœud sinusal. C’est une petite masse de cellules spécialisées situées au sommet de l’auriculaire droit du cœur. Il produit les impulsions électriques qui entraînent les battements du cœur.

Si le centre d’automatisme cardiaque est défectueux, le cœur peut battre trop vite, trop lentement ou de façon irrégulière. Il peut également y avoir un blocage des circuits électriques du cœur. Si ce système cesse de fonctionner correctement, un stimulateur cardiaque peut constituer une solution.

Le stimulateur cardiaque comprend deux parties : le générateur des impulsions destinées à stimuler le cœur, et une ou plusieurs électrodes, qui amènent ces impulsions au cœur. Le générateur, de la taille d’un dollar en argent, a une vie utile de sept à douze ans et est implanté immédiatement sous la peau, en dessous de la clavicule. Les électrodes sont enfilées dans des veines qui remontent jusqu’au cœur. En lisant les signaux transmis par ces électrodes, le générateur d’impulsions peut surveiller l’activité cardiaque et réagir de manière appropriée. L’ensemble de la procédure d’implantation ne requiert qu’une anesthésie locale et dure environ une heure.

© RCIP 2001

Fonctionnement du cœur

Le cœur est stimulé par un tissu nodal formé de cellules musculaires spécialisées. Ce tissu est présent dans le nœud sino-auriculaire et le nœud auriculoventriculaire, tous deux situés dans l´oreillette droite. Dans le nœud sino-auriculaire, des impulsions électriques sont produites en vue de la contraction cardiaque (70-80 battements/min). Ces impulsions stimulent le nœud auriculoventriculaire. Cette stimulation est propagée aux deux ventricules par le faisceau de His et les fibres de Purkinje.

Photo gracieuseté de Parramon Ediciones, Espagne.
© RCIP 2001

© 2008, CHIN. Tous droits réservés.


Implantation d´un stimulateur cardiaque

Transvenous endocardiac electrodes with implanted pacemaker = Électrodes intracardiaques transveineuses et stimulateur cardiaque implanté. Veine jugulaire interne; Veine jugulaire externe; Autre trajet du cathéter; Veine subclavière; Veine axillaire; Veine céphalique; Stimulateur cardiaque; Veine brachiale. Illustration d´une implantation transveineuse d´un stimulateur cardiaque ventriculaire.

Photo gracieuseté de CIBA.

© RCIP 2001


Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant :

  • identifiera et appréciera la manière dont l’histoire et la culture façonnent les sciences et la technologie d’une société;
  • donnera des exemples de la manière dont les sciences et la technologie ont influencé le diagnostic et le traitement des maladies humaines et ont fait de la technologie médicale une partie intégrante de notre vie;
  • décrira les progrès scientifiques et technologiques passés et présents, puis présentera et appréciera leurs effets sur les individus et les sociétés;
  • décrira la manière dont les Canadiens ont participé aux sciences et à la technologie à l’échelle mondiale.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons