Portrait of William Osler

William Osler was a pathologist, clinical professor, essayist and historian. He is often called the "doctor's doctor," due to his influence on medical education. Many features of medical education today, including laboratory instruction, bedside teaching, and the system of interns and residents at hospitals, were innovations championed by Osler at the turn of the century.

Irma Coucill
From the permanent Collection of The Canadian Medical Hall of Fame

© CHIN 2001


Osler’s interest in science can be traced back to his childhood, at Bond Head, near Lake Simcoe, Ontario. As a child, in the 1850s and 60s, Osler’s hobbies included collecting frogs, fish, insects and other specimens from nearby forests and ponds to examine under the microscope, a popular Victorian pastime.
He was fortunate enough to have access to a microscope and a collection of slide specimens, a novelty then, and soon became skilled at dissecting, examining, mounting, and cataloguing what he found as well. He expanded his collection through the years. By the time he was nineteen, and settled on studying medicine, Osler was spending countless long hours dissecting human cadavers, and would continue this important research for many years to follow.
Following his undergraduate work (at the University of Toronto), Osler completed his clinical studies in Montreal, graduating at McGill University in 1872.
After graduating, Osler travelled through Europe, gaining valuable laboratory experience along the way. He returned to Canada in 1874 and took a position as lecturer in McGill University at age twenty-five. During the next ten years at Montreal he did Read More
Osler’s interest in science can be traced back to his childhood, at Bond Head, near Lake Simcoe, Ontario. As a child, in the 1850s and 60s, Osler’s hobbies included collecting frogs, fish, insects and other specimens from nearby forests and ponds to examine under the microscope, a popular Victorian pastime.
He was fortunate enough to have access to a microscope and a collection of slide specimens, a novelty then, and soon became skilled at dissecting, examining, mounting, and cataloguing what he found as well. He expanded his collection through the years. By the time he was nineteen, and settled on studying medicine, Osler was spending countless long hours dissecting human cadavers, and would continue this important research for many years to follow.
Following his undergraduate work (at the University of Toronto), Osler completed his clinical studies in Montreal, graduating at McGill University in 1872.
After graduating, Osler travelled through Europe, gaining valuable laboratory experience along the way. He returned to Canada in 1874 and took a position as lecturer in McGill University at age twenty-five. During the next ten years at Montreal he did original work in pathology (the branch of medicine concerned with the cause, origin, and nature of disease), biology, and clinical work. Osler’s interest in direct discovery prompted him as a young instructor at McGill University to spend his own money to buy microscopes for all his students. Osler’s acquisition of fifteen microscopes from France led to the first physiological laboratory in Canada.

© CHIN 2001

Microscope slide

An insect mounted on a microscope slide

Manufacturer uncertain
University Health Network Artifact Collection
19 Century
1921.3.1
© CHIN 2001


Microscope slide

Human specimen mounted on microscope slide

Manufacturer uncertain
University Health Network Artifact Collection
19 Century
1921.3.1
© CHIN 2001


Microscope slide cabinet

This is the microscope cabinet that was used by Osler.

Manufacturer uncertain
University Health Network Artifact Collection
19 Century
1921.3.1
© CHIN 2001


Potter no. 2 microscope

This is a microscope used by Osler as a student. It was made by A.J. Potter, an instrument maker in Toronto.

Made by A.J. Potter, Toronto
University Health Network Artifact Collection
c. 1861
1921.3.3
© CHIN 2001


Osler’s professional ideas and discoveries became so well known that in 1884 he was invited to accept the Chair of Clinical Medicine in the University of Pennsylvania. With reluctance, he left his Canadian homeland for Philadelphia. There he continued his then unconventional approach to teaching at the bedside rather than in the lecture-room. He taught that the job of the physician was to "generalize the disease and individualize the patient."

In 1889, Osler became Physician-in-Chief at the new Johns Hopkins Hospital, Baltimore, where for the next sixteen years he would shape a new medical school. During the first few years of this prestigious post, Osler was able to carve out enough time from his strict schedule to produce his greatest and most significant written work, The Principles and Practices of Medicine (D. Appleton and Company, 1892).

The book drew from the knowledge he had acquired at the bedside of his patients, in the labs, in the post-mortem room, from medical literature, and through his professional friendships. This book was adopted internationally, and still serves as an example of excellent medical writing.

Osler w Read More
Osler’s professional ideas and discoveries became so well known that in 1884 he was invited to accept the Chair of Clinical Medicine in the University of Pennsylvania. With reluctance, he left his Canadian homeland for Philadelphia. There he continued his then unconventional approach to teaching at the bedside rather than in the lecture-room. He taught that the job of the physician was to "generalize the disease and individualize the patient."

In 1889, Osler became Physician-in-Chief at the new Johns Hopkins Hospital, Baltimore, where for the next sixteen years he would shape a new medical school. During the first few years of this prestigious post, Osler was able to carve out enough time from his strict schedule to produce his greatest and most significant written work, The Principles and Practices of Medicine (D. Appleton and Company, 1892).

The book drew from the knowledge he had acquired at the bedside of his patients, in the labs, in the post-mortem room, from medical literature, and through his professional friendships. This book was adopted internationally, and still serves as an example of excellent medical writing.

Osler was an astute and prolific writer, and was well versed in all the humanities. In fact, he was such a lover of books that he compelled his students to start their own personal libraries. Osler’s own library, consisting of scientific and medical journals, is housed at the McGill Medical Library, and is known as the Bibliotheca Osleriana. This collection is also known to include the cremated remains of the doctor himself.

At Johns Hopkins, Osler was responsible for shaping and designing the hospital on a German model, in which physicians were responsible for particular sections and reported to a chief physician. It included a system of long-term and short-term interns. Well-equipped laboratories were dedicated to research, forming an integral part of both the medical school and the hospital itself. And, for the first time, a school of nursing was introduced as a component of the modern hospital.

Osler believed his professional success was a result of a strict self-imposed regimen. He believed in keeping a list of his long-range, intermediate and short-term goals. Among Osler’s best advice has been "to plan the day, then live in the present."

© CHIN 2001

The Principles and Practices of Medicine

During the first few years of this prestigious post, Osler was able to carve out enough time from his strict schedule to produce his greatest and most significant written work, The Principles and Practices of Medicine (D. Appleton and Company, 1892).

William Osler (D. Appleton and Company, 1892)
From the private collection of A.H. Little
c. 1892
© CHIN 2001


Video clip illustrating some of Osler´s ideas

This is a video clip illustrating some of Osler´s ideas about teaching and learning medicine.

"In today’s terms, Osler would have been described as a ’people person,’ just having him walk into the ward would start a small commotion because he sincerely believed that the best place to learn medicine was at the bedside of the afflicted and not in a textbook"

The Canadian Medical Hall of Fame.

© CHIN 2001


Osler spent the last five years of his professional career at the prestigious Oxford School as Chair of Regius Professor of Medicine, retiring at age 60. During the First World War, he used his time, influence and popularity to ensure that soldiers were properly protected against disease and that unfit men were not enlisted. As he had done throughout his career, he tried his best to turn a sickroom into a bright, cheerful room of rest, even under the worst of circumstances. He would continue this work to his death in 1919.
William Osler is among the first doctors to be inducted into The Canadian Medical Hall of Fame.
Osler spent the last five years of his professional career at the prestigious Oxford School as Chair of Regius Professor of Medicine, retiring at age 60. During the First World War, he used his time, influence and popularity to ensure that soldiers were properly protected against disease and that unfit men were not enlisted. As he had done throughout his career, he tried his best to turn a sickroom into a bright, cheerful room of rest, even under the worst of circumstances. He would continue this work to his death in 1919.
William Osler is among the first doctors to be inducted into The Canadian Medical Hall of Fame.

© CHIN 2001

Learning Objectives

The learner will:

  • Identify and appreciate the way history and culture shape a society’s science and technology
  • Describe scientific and technological developments, past and present, and appreciate their impact on individuals and societies
  • Describe how Canadians have contributed to science and technology on the global stage

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

William Osler

William Osler était pathologiste, professeur clinicien, essayiste et historien. Il fit autorité à cause de son influence sur l’enseignement de la médecine. Plusieurs caractéristiques de la formation médicale moderne, dont l’enseignement en laboratoire et au chevet des patients, ainsi que le système d’internes et de résidents dans les hôpitaux, étaient autant d’innovations dont Osler se fit le champion à l’aube du XXe siècle.

Irma Coucill
De la collection permanente du Temple de la renommée médicale canadienne

© RCIP 2001


L’intérêt d’Osler pour les sciences remonte à son enfance, qu’il passa à Bond Head, près du lac Simcœ, en Ontario. Dans les années 1850 et 1860, Osler s’intéressait notamment aux grenouilles, poissons, insectes et autres espèces vivantes des forêts et étangs environnants. Il examinait au microscope les spécimens recueillis, ce qui était un passe-temps populaire à l’époque victorienne.

Osler eut la chance d’avoir accès à un microscope et à une collection de spécimens montés sur lamelle, une nouveauté à l’époque. Il devint rapidement habile à disséquer, examiner, monter et cataloguer tout ce qu’il trouvait. Avec les années, sa collection prit de l’importance. Avant même l’âge de dix-neuf ans, Osler décida d’entreprendre des études de médecine. Il passait de longues heures à disséquer des cadavres humains et poursuivit ces importantes recherches pendant de nombreuses années. Pour en lire plus
L’intérêt d’Osler pour les sciences remonte à son enfance, qu’il passa à Bond Head, près du lac Simcœ, en Ontario. Dans les années 1850 et 1860, Osler s’intéressait notamment aux grenouilles, poissons, insectes et autres espèces vivantes des forêts et étangs environnants. Il examinait au microscope les spécimens recueillis, ce qui était un passe-temps populaire à l’époque victorienne.

Osler eut la chance d’avoir accès à un microscope et à une collection de spécimens montés sur lamelle, une nouveauté à l’époque. Il devint rapidement habile à disséquer, examiner, monter et cataloguer tout ce qu’il trouvait. Avec les années, sa collection prit de l’importance. Avant même l’âge de dix-neuf ans, Osler décida d’entreprendre des études de médecine. Il passait de longues heures à disséquer des cadavres humains et poursuivit ces importantes recherches pendant de nombreuses années.

Après ses études de premier cycle à l’Université de Toronto, Osler compléta ses études cliniques à Montréal et obtint son diplôme de l’Université McGill en 1872.

Osler voyagea ensuite en Europe et en profita pour acquérir une précieuse expérience de laboratoire. De retour au Canada en 1874, il devint chargé de cours à l’Université McGill. Il avait vingt-cinq ans. Au cours des dix années suivantes, il fit à Montréal des recherches originales en pathologie (branche de la médecine qui s’intéresse aux causes, à l’origine et à la nature des maladies), en biologie et dans le domaine clinique.

Jeune professeur à l’Université McGill, Osler était tellement intéressé par la découverte directe qu’il acheta avec ses propres deniers des microscopes pour tous ses étudiants. L’achat par Osler de quinze microscopes importés de France amorça la création du premier laboratoire de physiologie au Canada.

© RCIP 2001

Lamelle de microscope

Spécimen d’insecte monté sur une lamelle de microscope

Fabricant incertain
Collection d\’objets du University Health Network
XIX siècle
1921.3.1
© RCIP 2001


Lamelle de microscope

Spécimen humain monté sur une lamelle de microscope

Fabricant incertain
Collection d\’objets du University Health Network
XIX siècle
1921.3.1
© RCIP 2001


Meuble de rangement du matériel de microscopie

Armoire à microscopie utilisée par Osler.

Fabricant incertain
Collection d’objets du University Health Network
XIX siècle
1921.3.1
© RCIP 2001


Microscope no 2 de Potter

Microscope fabriqué par A.J. Potter, de Toronto, et utilisé par Osler alors qu´il était étudiant

Fabriqué par A.J. Potter, Toronto
Collection d\'objets du University Health Network
vers 1861
1921.3.3
© RCIP 2001


Les idées professionnelles et les découvertes d’Osler devinrent si connues qu’il fut invité en 1884 à devenir titulaire de la chaire de médecine clinique à l’Université de Pennsylvanie. Il quitta non sans réticence son Canada natal pour s’établir à Philadelphie, où il poursuivit son enseignement non traditionnel au chevet des malades plutôt que dans une salle de cours. Il était d’avis que le travail du médecin consistait à « généraliser la maladie et à individualiser le patient ».

En 1889, Osler devint médecin-chef du nouvel hôpital Johns-Hopkins à Baltimore où, pendant les seize années suivantes, il donna forme à une nouvelle école de médecine. Pendant ses premières années à ce poste prestigieux, Osler parvint à trouver suffisamment de temps dans son horaire chargé pour produire son ouvrage le plus célèbre et le plus important, intitulé The Principles and Practices of Medicine [Principes et prat Pour en lire plus
Les idées professionnelles et les découvertes d’Osler devinrent si connues qu’il fut invité en 1884 à devenir titulaire de la chaire de médecine clinique à l’Université de Pennsylvanie. Il quitta non sans réticence son Canada natal pour s’établir à Philadelphie, où il poursuivit son enseignement non traditionnel au chevet des malades plutôt que dans une salle de cours. Il était d’avis que le travail du médecin consistait à « généraliser la maladie et à individualiser le patient ».

En 1889, Osler devint médecin-chef du nouvel hôpital Johns-Hopkins à Baltimore où, pendant les seize années suivantes, il donna forme à une nouvelle école de médecine. Pendant ses premières années à ce poste prestigieux, Osler parvint à trouver suffisamment de temps dans son horaire chargé pour produire son ouvrage le plus célèbre et le plus important, intitulé The Principles and Practices of Medicine [Principes et pratiques de la médecine], publié chez D. Appleton and Company en 1892.

Il rassembla dans ce livre les connaissances qu’il avait acquises au chevet de ses patients, au laboratoire, dans la salle d’autopsie, dans les publications médicales et par ses contacts professionnels. Ce livre fut adopté dans de nombreux pays et sert encore aujourd’hui d’exemple d’un excellent ouvrage médical.

Osler était un auteur brillant et prolifique, très versé dans toutes les sciences humaines. Il aimait tellement les livres qu’il obligeait ses étudiants à se constituer une bibliothèque personnelle. Sa propre bibliothèque, qui contient des revues scientifiques et médicales, fait partie de la Bibliothèque de médecine de l’Université McGill, sous le nom de Bibliotheca Osleriana. Cette collection est également connue pour contenir les cendres du médecin lui-même.

À Johns-Hopkins, Osler fut responsable de la conception de l’hôpital selon un modèle allemand, dans lequel des médecins étaient en charge de sections données et se rapportaient à un médecin-chef. L’hôpital disposait d’un réseau d’internes à court terme et pour des périodes prolongées. Des laboratoires bien pourvus étaient consacrés à la recherche et faisaient partie intégrante de l’école de médecine et de l’hôpital lui-même. En outre, pour la première fois, une école de sciences infirmières fut mise sur pied en tant que composante d’un hôpital moderne.

Osler était d’avis que sa réussite professionnelle résultait du régime de vie strict qu’il s’imposait. Il croyait en la tenue de listes d’objectifs à long, moyen et court terme. L’un de ses meilleurs conseils était de « planifier la journée, puis vivre le moment présent ».

© RCIP 2001

The Principles and Practices of Medicine

Pendant ses premières années à ce poste prestigieux, Osler parvint à trouver suffisamment de temps dans son horaire chargé pour produire son ouvrage le plus célèbre et le plus important, intitulé The Principles and Practices of Medicine [Principes et pratiques de la médecine], publié chez D. Appleton and Company en 1892.

William Osler (publié chez D. Appleton and Company en 1892)
De la collection privée de A.H. Little
vers 1892
© RCIP 2001


Vidéo sur les méthodes d´Osler

Ce vidéo, gracieuseté du Temple de la renommée médicale canadienne, illustre quelques-unes des idées d´Osler à propos de l´enseignement et de l´apprentissage de la médecine.

« Aujourd’hui, on dirait qu’Osler était un homme du peuple. Le seul fait de le voir entrer dans la salle d’hôpital créait une commotion. Il croyait sincèrement que le meilleur endroit pour apprendre la médecine était au chevet des patients et non dans les livres. »

Gracieuseté du Temple de la renommée médicale canadienne

© RCIP 2001


Osler a passé les cinq dernières années de sa carrière à la prestigieuse Oxford School, à titre de professeur titulaire de médecine, et prit sa retraite à l’âge de 60 ans. Pendant la Première Guerre mondiale, il usa de son temps, de son influence et de sa popularité afin que les soldats soient correctement protégés contre la maladie et que les hommes inaptes ne soient pas enrôlés. Comme pendant toute sa carrière, il fit de son mieux pour transformer une infirmerie en un lieu clair et attrayant de repos, même dans les pires circonstances. Il poursuivit son œuvre jusqu’à sa mort en 1919.
William Osler fut parmi les premiers médecins à être élu au Temple de la renommée médicale canadienne.
Osler a passé les cinq dernières années de sa carrière à la prestigieuse Oxford School, à titre de professeur titulaire de médecine, et prit sa retraite à l’âge de 60 ans. Pendant la Première Guerre mondiale, il usa de son temps, de son influence et de sa popularité afin que les soldats soient correctement protégés contre la maladie et que les hommes inaptes ne soient pas enrôlés. Comme pendant toute sa carrière, il fit de son mieux pour transformer une infirmerie en un lieu clair et attrayant de repos, même dans les pires circonstances. Il poursuivit son œuvre jusqu’à sa mort en 1919.
William Osler fut parmi les premiers médecins à être élu au Temple de la renommée médicale canadienne.

© RCIP 2001

Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant :

  • identifiera et appréciera la manière dont l’histoire et la culture façonnent les sciences et la technologie d’une société;
  • décrira les progrès scientifiques et technologiques passés et présents, puis présentera et appréciera leurs effets sur les individus et les sociétés;
  • décrira la manière dont les Canadiens ont participé aux sciences et à la technologie à l’échelle mondiale.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons