In the 1830s German scientist Alexander von Humboldt approached London’s Royal Society advocating a network of observatories to measure variations in the Earth’s magnetic field and to identify links between it, the aurora, and weather changes. The British government became involved since facilities in their colonies could form a network girdling the globe, for example in Capetown, St. Helen and Tasmania. The Royal Artillery was tasked with establishing the facility in Canada.

Initially the Toronto instruments were placed near Fort York but magnetism from guns affected the results and a better site was sought. The new campus of the University of Toronto was chosen before it even opened to students. Regular observations began 1 January 1840 at the Fort, but moved to a primitive log cabin on the campus in September 1840. These represent the earliest continuous meteorological records in Canada.

Instruments sent to Toronto included magnetometers, survey instruments and meteorological instruments. Of these only a mercury barometer survives. Researchers measured the direction and intensity of magnetic fields, observed weather patterns, and made astronom Read More
In the 1830s German scientist Alexander von Humboldt approached London’s Royal Society advocating a network of observatories to measure variations in the Earth’s magnetic field and to identify links between it, the aurora, and weather changes. The British government became involved since facilities in their colonies could form a network girdling the globe, for example in Capetown, St. Helen and Tasmania. The Royal Artillery was tasked with establishing the facility in Canada.

Initially the Toronto instruments were placed near Fort York but magnetism from guns affected the results and a better site was sought. The new campus of the University of Toronto was chosen before it even opened to students. Regular observations began 1 January 1840 at the Fort, but moved to a primitive log cabin on the campus in September 1840. These represent the earliest continuous meteorological records in Canada.

Instruments sent to Toronto included magnetometers, survey instruments and meteorological instruments. Of these only a mercury barometer survives. Researchers measured the direction and intensity of magnetic fields, observed weather patterns, and made astronomical observations for time calibrations. The observatory team used extremely sensitive instruments that were made of completely non-magnetic materials, such as brass. Their observations helped expose the relationship between sunspots and irregular magnetic variations on Earth.

Intended to be a three-year project, the observatory was still functioning in 1850 when Upper Canada began to assume some of the costs. The colony’s government assumed financial responsibility but turned over the operation and administration to the University. With £2000 worth of new instruments, a permanent observatory was established in 1854/55 which was later to become headquarters of the Meteorological Service of Canada (MSC) founded under Univ. of Toronto professor, George Kingston.

The observatory dome, holding a 6-inch refractor from 1882-1984, provided the first facilities for the University’s Astronomy Department. In the 1880s the observatory participated in the world-wide observations on the transit of Venus and aided in Sir Sanford Fleming’s drive to standardize international time. By the 1890s electrification of Toronto’s street cars interfered with the delicate magnetic observations. The observatory’s equipment was disassembled in 1907.

© 2001, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Meteorological Observatory, Toronto

First Magnetic and Meteorological Observatory in Toronto, 1840-55

Unknown
Canadian Heritage Information Network, Canada Museum of Science and Technology, Musée de la civilisation, Stewart Museum, Canadian Medical Hall of Fame, Museum of Health Care at Kingston, University Health Network Artifact Collection, University of Toronto Museum of Scientific Instruments, University of Toronto Museum Studies Program, Suzanne Board, Dr. Randall C. Brooks, Sylvie Toupin, Ana-Laura Baz, Jean-François Gauvin, Betsy Little, Paola Poletto, Dr. James Low, David Kasserra, Kathryn Rumbold, David Pantalony, Dr. Thierry Ruddel, Kim Svendsen
1840 - 1855
© 2008, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.


Fortin barometer

Measures air pressure using a mercury column. Newman´s Fortin-type barometer is the only surviving instrument from the first Magnetic and Meteorological Observatory. Canada Science and Technology Museum

John Newman, London, England
Canadian Heritage Information Network, Canada Museum of Science and Technology, Musée de la civilisation, Stewart Museum, Canadian Medical Hall of Fame, Museum of Health Care at Kingston, University Health Network Artifact Collection, University of Toronto Museum of Scientific Instruments, University of Toronto Museum Studies Program, Suzanne Board, Dr. Randall C. Brooks, Sylvie Toupin, Ana-Laura Baz, Jean-François Gauvin, Betsy Little, Paola Poletto, Dr. James Low, David Kasserra, Kathryn Rumbold, David Pantalony, Dr. Thierry Ruddel, Kim Svendsen
1839
870512
© 2008, Canada Science and Technology Museum. All Rights Reserved.


Scale-reading telescope

Used to read scale of magnetometer from a distance to avoid disturbances. Université de Toronto

Manufacturer uncertain
Canadian Heritage Information Network, Canada Museum of Science and Technology, Musée de la civilisation, Stewart Museum, Canadian Medical Hall of Fame, Museum of Health Care at Kingston, University Health Network Artifact Collection, University of Toronto Museum of Scientific Instruments, University of Toronto Museum Studies Program, Suzanne Board, Dr. Randall C. Brooks, Sylvie Toupin, Ana-Laura Baz, Jean-François Gauvin, Betsy Little, Paola Poletto, Dr. James Low, David Kasserra, Kathryn Rumbold, David Pantalony, Dr. Thierry Ruddel, Kim Svendsen
c. 1870
© 2008, University of Toronto Museum of Scientific Instruments. All Rights Reserved.


In the early 19th century, mariners were still at the mercy of weather. Telegraphs allowed warnings of storms to be passed from town to town in the 1830s and gradually an informal network of observers formed. Researchers began to discover some of the fundamental principles of meteorology, for example, the relation between winds and the boundary between high and low pressure areas. George Kingston (University of Toronto) proposed the establishment of a network of observers to provide weather information to mariners. The Meteorological Service (MSC) was founded in 1870 and has grown in importance for all segments of the population--fishermen, farmers, pilots, truckers and you.

Kingston was an inventive fellow who worked with Toronto instrument maker James Foster to design several new instruments. One, a long-shaft anemometer, determined and recorded wind speed and direction. The MSC’s staff maintained this innovative spirit and fifty years later John Patterson designed what has become the world standard anemometer.

In 1931 G.M.B. Dobson described an instrument to measure the atmospheric spectral lines created by ozone (O3) in the atmosphere. By the 1960s Read More
In the early 19th century, mariners were still at the mercy of weather. Telegraphs allowed warnings of storms to be passed from town to town in the 1830s and gradually an informal network of observers formed. Researchers began to discover some of the fundamental principles of meteorology, for example, the relation between winds and the boundary between high and low pressure areas. George Kingston (University of Toronto) proposed the establishment of a network of observers to provide weather information to mariners. The Meteorological Service (MSC) was founded in 1870 and has grown in importance for all segments of the population--fishermen, farmers, pilots, truckers and you.

Kingston was an inventive fellow who worked with Toronto instrument maker James Foster to design several new instruments. One, a long-shaft anemometer, determined and recorded wind speed and direction. The MSC’s staff maintained this innovative spirit and fifty years later John Patterson designed what has become the world standard anemometer.

In 1931 G.M.B. Dobson described an instrument to measure the atmospheric spectral lines created by ozone (O3) in the atmosphere. By the 1960s, advances in optical design and electronics suggested a better way. Research was undertaken by A.W. Brewer at the University of Toronto and the Brewer ozone spectrometer significantly improved on Dobson’s design by allowing virtually simultaneous observations of Sun and sky.

SED Systems of Saskatoon developed a travelling ozone spectrometer in 1979. This travelled throughout the world to obtain measurements for comparison with observations made with the Dobson units. Today there are approximately 140 Brewer units worldwide with 20 in Canada. MSC is the world calibration centre for all ozone-observing equipment and has three in continuous operation as the standards.

© 2001, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

long-shaft anemometer

Used to continuously display wind speed and direction in a remote room. Kingston´s long-shaft anemometer was used to measure the wind´s speed and direction. Canada Science and Technology Museum

Meteorological Service of Canada
Canadian Heritage Information Network, Canada Museum of Science and Technology, Musée de la civilisation, Stewart Museum, Canadian Medical Hall of Fame, Museum of Health Care at Kingston, University Health Network Artifact Collection, University of Toronto Museum of Scientific Instruments, University of Toronto Museum Studies Program, Suzanne Board, Dr. Randall C. Brooks, Sylvie Toupin, Ana-Laura Baz, Jean-François Gauvin, Betsy Little, Paola Poletto, Dr. James Low, David Kasserra, Kathryn Rumbold, David Pantalony, Dr. Thierry Ruddel, Kim Svendsen

870508
© 2008, Canada Science and Technology Museum. All Rights Reserved.


Patterson´s three-cup anemometer

Function: To determine wind speed and direction and to send the data electronically to recording apparatus. Patterson´s three-cup anemometer has become the standard throughout the World since he developed it in the 1930s. Canada Science and Technology Museum

Meteorological Service of Canada
Canadian Heritage Information Network, Canada Museum of Science and Technology, Musée de la civilisation, Stewart Museum, Canadian Medical Hall of Fame, Museum of Health Care at Kingston, University Health Network Artifact Collection, University of Toronto Museum of Scientific Instruments, University of Toronto Museum Studies Program, Suzanne Board, Dr. Randall C. Brooks, Sylvie Toupin, Ana-Laura Baz, Jean-François Gauvin, Betsy Little, Paola Poletto, Dr. James Low, David Kasserra, Kathryn Rumbold, David Pantalony, Dr. Thierry Ruddel, Kim Svendsen
c. Early 1930s
870501
© 2008, Canada Science and Technology Museum. All Rights Reserved.


Ozone Spectrometer

Function: Measures (O3) content in the upper atmosphere by comparing spectral lines in sunlight and in the sky. The prototype spectrophotometer developed by Brewer and others at the University of Toronto to measure ozone (O3) content in the upper atmosphere. Canada Science and Technology Museum

A.W. Brewer, University of Toronto
Canadian Heritage Information Network, Canada Museum of Science and Technology, Musée de la civilisation, Stewart Museum, Canadian Medical Hall of Fame, Museum of Health Care at Kingston, University Health Network Artifact Collection, University of Toronto Museum of Scientific Instruments, University of Toronto Museum Studies Program, Suzanne Board, Dr. Randall C. Brooks, Sylvie Toupin, Ana-Laura Baz, Jean-François Gauvin, Betsy Little, Paola Poletto, Dr. James Low, David Kasserra, Kathryn Rumbold, David Pantalony, Dr. Thierry Ruddel, Kim Svendsen
1967 - 1973
20000003
© 2008, Canada Science and Technology Museum. All Rights Reserved.


Brewer Spectrometer

Function: Measures O3 content in the upper atmosphere by comparing spectral lines in sunlight and in the sky. The second generation Brewer spectrophotometer includes the measuring unit (top) and the data acquisition unit. The black extension of the spectrophotometer holds the mirror to reflect light from the Sun and daytime sky into the detector. Canada Science and Technology Museum

SED Systems Ltd, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Canadian Heritage Information Network, Canada Museum of Science and Technology, Musée de la civilisation, Stewart Museum, Canadian Medical Hall of Fame, Museum of Health Care at Kingston, University Health Network Artifact Collection, University of Toronto Museum of Scientific Instruments, University of Toronto Museum Studies Program, Suzanne Board, Dr. Randall C. Brooks, Sylvie Toupin, Ana-Laura Baz, Jean-François Gauvin, Betsy Little, Paola Poletto, Dr. James Low, David Kasserra, Kathryn Rumbold, David Pantalony, Dr. Thierry Ruddel, Kim Svendsen
c. 1975
20000004
© 2008, Canada Science and Technology Museum. All Rights Reserved.


Learning Objectives

The learner will:

  • Identify and appreciate the way history and culture shape a society’s science and technology
  • Describe scientific and technological developments, past and present, and appreciate their impact on individuals and societies
  • Appreciate the contribution of Canadians to the field of meteorology on the global stage

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Dans les années 1830, le scientifique allemand Alexander von Humboldt approcha la Société Royale à Londres pour plaider en faveur d’un réseau d’observatoires afin de mesurer les variations du champ magnétique de la Terre et d’établir des liens entre ce champ magnétique, les aurores boréales et australes ainsi que les changements météorologiques. Le gouvernement britannique intervint puisque des installations situées dans ses colonies pouvaient former un réseau ceinturant le globe, par exemple au Cap, à Sainte-Hélène et en Tasmanie. L’Artillerie royale fut chargée de mettre sur pied une installation au Canada.

À l’origine, les instruments de mesure du champ magnétique étaient placés près du fort York, à Toronto, mais l’on rechercha un meilleur endroit parce que le métal des armes perturbait les résultats. L’emplacement du nouveau campus de l’Université de Toronto fut choisi en fonction de l’Observatoire avant même l’arriv&eacut Pour en lire plus
Dans les années 1830, le scientifique allemand Alexander von Humboldt approcha la Société Royale à Londres pour plaider en faveur d’un réseau d’observatoires afin de mesurer les variations du champ magnétique de la Terre et d’établir des liens entre ce champ magnétique, les aurores boréales et australes ainsi que les changements météorologiques. Le gouvernement britannique intervint puisque des installations situées dans ses colonies pouvaient former un réseau ceinturant le globe, par exemple au Cap, à Sainte-Hélène et en Tasmanie. L’Artillerie royale fut chargée de mettre sur pied une installation au Canada.

À l’origine, les instruments de mesure du champ magnétique étaient placés près du fort York, à Toronto, mais l’on rechercha un meilleur endroit parce que le métal des armes perturbait les résultats. L’emplacement du nouveau campus de l’Université de Toronto fut choisi en fonction de l’Observatoire avant même l’arrivée des premiers étudiants. Les observations régulières commencèrent le 1er janvier 1840 au fort mais furent déplacées en septembre 1840 dans une cabane primitive en bois rond située sur le campus de l’Université de Toronto. Ces observations constituent les premières archives météorologiques continues au Canada.

Les instruments expédiés à Toronto comprenaient des magnétomètres, des instruments servant aux levés topographiques ainsi que des instruments météorologiques. De ces instruments, seul un baromètre à mercure est parvenu jusqu’à nous. Des chercheurs mesuraient la direction et l’intensité des champs magnétiques, observaient les caractères du temps et faisaient des observations astronomiques pour des étalonnages chronologiques. L’équipe de l’observatoire employait des instruments extrêmement sensibles, entièrement faits de matériaux non magnétiques tels que le laiton. Leurs observations contribuèrent à révéler la relation entre les taches solaires et les variations irrégulières du champ magnétique terrestre.

Mis sur pied à l’origine pour un projet de trois ans, l’observatoire était toujours en fonction en 1850 lorsque le gouvernement du Haut-Canada commença à en assumer une partie des coûts. Le gouvernement avait la responsabilité financière de l’observatoire mais en céda l’exploitation et l’administration à l’université. Un observatoire permanent fut établi en 1854-1855 avec de nouveaux instruments d’une valeur totale de 2 000 £. Cet observatoire devait plus tard devenir le siège du Service météorologique du Canada mis sur pied sous la direction de George Kingston, professeur à l’Université de Toronto.

Le dôme de l’observatoire, qui renferma de 1892 à 1894 un télescope à réfraction de 6 pouces (15 cm), fournit les premières installations du Département d’astronomie de l’université. Dans les années 1880, l’observatoire participa aux observations mondiales des transits de Vénus et contribua aux efforts de Sir Sanford Fleming en vue de la normalisation du temps universel. Dès les années 1890, l’électrification des tramways de Toronto provoqua des interférences avec les fines observations magnétiques. L’équipement de l’observatoire fut démantelé en 1907.

© 2001, CHIN. Tous droits réservés.

Observatoire magnétique et météorologique à Toronto

Le premier observatoire magnétique et météorologique à Toronto, de 1840 à 1855

Inconnu
Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine, Musée des sciences et de la technologie du Canada, Musée de la civilisation, Musée Stewart, Temple de la renommée médicale canadienne, Museum of Health Care at Kingston, University Health Network Artifact Collection, University of Toronto Museum of Scientific Instruments, University of Toronto Museum Studies Program, Suzanne Board, Dr. Randall C. Brooks, Sylvie Toupin, Ana-Laura Baz, Jean-François Gauvin, Betsy Little, Paola Poletto, Dr. James Low, David Kasserra, Kathryn Rumbold, David Pantalony, Dr. Thierry Ruddel, Kim Svendsen
1840 - 1855
© 2008, CHIN. Tous droits réservés.


Baromètre Fortin

Mesure la pression atmosphérique à l´aide d´une colonne de mercure. Ce baromètre Fortin, de chez Newman, est le seul instrument du premier observatoire magnétique et météorologique qui est parvenu jusqu´à nous. Musée des sciences et de la technologie du Canada

John Newman, Londres, Angleterre
Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine, Musée des sciences et de la technologie du Canada, Musée de la civilisation, Musée Stewart, Temple de la renommée médicale canadienne, Museum of Health Care at Kingston, University Health Network Artifact Collection, University of Toronto Museum of Scientific Instruments, University of Toronto Museum Studies Program, Suzanne Board, Dr. Randall C. Brooks, Sylvie Toupin, Ana-Laura Baz, Jean-François Gauvin, Betsy Little, Paola Poletto, Dr. James Low, David Kasserra, Kathryn Rumbold, David Pantalony, Dr. Thierry Ruddel, Kim Svendsen
1839
870512
© 2008, Musée des sciences et de la technologie du Canada. Tous droits réservés.


Télescope lecteur d'échelle

Servait à lire à distance l´échelle d´un magnétomètre, afin d´éviter les perturbations. Université de Toronto

Fabricant incertain
Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine, Musée des sciences et de la technologie du Canada, Musée de la civilisation, Musée Stewart, Temple de la renommée médicale canadienne, Museum of Health Care at Kingston, University Health Network Artifact Collection, University of Toronto Museum of Scientific Instruments, University of Toronto Museum Studies Program, Suzanne Board, Dr. Randall C. Brooks, Sylvie Toupin, Ana-Laura Baz, Jean-François Gauvin, Betsy Little, Paola Poletto, Dr. James Low, David Kasserra, Kathryn Rumbold, David Pantalony, Dr. Thierry Ruddel, Kim Svendsen
vers 1870
© 2008, Musée d´instruments scientifiques de l´Université de Toronto. Tous droits réservés.


Alors que Logan et Bayfield amélioraient les cartes minéralogiques et marines, les marins étaient toujours à la merci des éléments. Dans les années 1830, le télégraphe permit de transmettre de ville en ville les avis de coupe de vent, et un réseau informel d’observateurs se développa petit à petit. Des chercheurs commencèrent à découvrir certains principes fondamentaux de la météorologie, par exemple la relation entre les vents et les limites entre les zones de haute pression et de dépression. George Kingston (de l’Université de Toronto) proposa la mise sur pied d’un réseau d’observateurs afin de fournir de l’information météorologique aux marins. Le Service météorologique du Canada (SMC) fut fondé en 1870 et a pris de plus en plus d’importance pour tous les segments de la population -- pêcheurs, agriculteurs, pilotes, chauffeurs routiers, grand public.

Kingston était un homme inventif et travailla avec le fabricant James Foster de Toronto à l Pour en lire plus
Alors que Logan et Bayfield amélioraient les cartes minéralogiques et marines, les marins étaient toujours à la merci des éléments. Dans les années 1830, le télégraphe permit de transmettre de ville en ville les avis de coupe de vent, et un réseau informel d’observateurs se développa petit à petit. Des chercheurs commencèrent à découvrir certains principes fondamentaux de la météorologie, par exemple la relation entre les vents et les limites entre les zones de haute pression et de dépression. George Kingston (de l’Université de Toronto) proposa la mise sur pied d’un réseau d’observateurs afin de fournir de l’information météorologique aux marins. Le Service météorologique du Canada (SMC) fut fondé en 1870 et a pris de plus en plus d’importance pour tous les segments de la population -- pêcheurs, agriculteurs, pilotes, chauffeurs routiers, grand public.

Kingston était un homme inventif et travailla avec le fabricant James Foster de Toronto à la conception de plusieurs nouveaux instruments. L’un de ces instruments, un anémomètre à long axe, déterminait et enregistrait la vitesse et la direction du vent. Le personnel du SMC a conservé cet esprit inventif et, cinquante ans plus tard, John Patterson conçut ce qui est devenu l’anémomètre standard dans le monde.

En 1931, G.M.B. Dobson décrivit un instrument de mesure des raies spectrales de l’ozone (O3) atmosphérique. Vers les années 1960, les progrès de l’optique et de l’électronique suggérèrent une meilleure méthode. A.W. Brewer entreprit des recherches à l’Université de Toronto, et la sonde électrochimique de Brewer-Mast constitua une amélioration significative par rapport au concept de Dobson en permettant des observations pratiquement simultanées du Soleil et du ciel.

SED Systems, de Saskatoon, mit au point une unité mobile (1979), qui voyagea partout dans le monde afin d’obtenir des mesures à comparer aux observations effectuées à l’aide des spectrophotomètres Dobson. À l’heure actuelle, il y a environ 140 sondes de Brewer-Mast dans le monde, dont 20 au Canada. Le SMC joue le rôle de centre mondial d’étalonnage pour tout l’équipement d’observation de l’ozone et possède trois appareils en fonctionnement continu qui déterminent la norme.

© 2001, CHIN. Tous droits réservés.

Anémomètre à long axe

Servait à afficher constamment dans une pièce voisine la vitesse et la direction du vent. Anémomètre à long axe de Kingston, employé pour mesurer la vitesse et la direction du vent. Musée des sciences et de la technologie du Canada

le Service météorologique du Canada
Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine, Musée des sciences et de la technologie du Canada, Musée de la civilisation, Musée Stewart, Temple de la renommée médicale canadienne, Museum of Health Care at Kingston, University Health Network Artifact Collection, University of Toronto Museum of Scientific Instruments, University of Toronto Museum Studies Program, Suzanne Board, Dr. Randall C. Brooks, Sylvie Toupin, Ana-Laura Baz, Jean-François Gauvin, Betsy Little, Paola Poletto, Dr. James Low, David Kasserra, Kathryn Rumbold, David Pantalony, Dr. Thierry Ruddel, Kim Svendsen

870508
© 2008, Musée des sciences et de la technologie du Canada. Tous droits réservés.


L´anémomètre à trois coupelles de Patterson

Détermine la vitesse et la direction du vent et envoie les données sous forme électronique à un appareil enregistreur. L´anémomètre à trois coupelles de Patterson est devenu la norme partout dans le monde depuis qu´il a été mis au point dans les années 1930. Musée des sciences et de la technologie du Canada

le Service météorologique du Canada
Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine, Musée des sciences et de la technologie du Canada, Musée de la civilisation, Musée Stewart, Temple de la renommée médicale canadienne, Museum of Health Care at Kingston, University Health Network Artifact Collection, University of Toronto Museum of Scientific Instruments, University of Toronto Museum Studies Program, Suzanne Board, Dr. Randall C. Brooks, Sylvie Toupin, Ana-Laura Baz, Jean-François Gauvin, Betsy Little, Paola Poletto, Dr. James Low, David Kasserra, Kathryn Rumbold, David Pantalony, Dr. Thierry Ruddel, Kim Svendsen
vers Début des années 1930
870501
© 2008, Musée des sciences et de la technologie du Canada. Tous droits réservés.


Spectromètre à ozone

Mesure la quantité d´ozone (O3) contenue dans la haute atmosphère en comparant les raies spectrales de la lumière solaire et du ciel. Spectrophotomètre prototype mis au point par Brewer et ses collaborateurs à l´Université de Toronto, afin de mesurer la quantité d´ozone (O3) contenue dans la haute atmosphère. Musée des sciences et de la technologie du Canada

A.W. Brewer, Université de Toronto
Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine, Musée des sciences et de la technologie du Canada, Musée de la civilisation, Musée Stewart, Temple de la renommée médicale canadienne, Museum of Health Care at Kingston, University Health Network Artifact Collection, University of Toronto Museum of Scientific Instruments, University of Toronto Museum Studies Program, Suzanne Board, Dr. Randall C. Brooks, Sylvie Toupin, Ana-Laura Baz, Jean-François Gauvin, Betsy Little, Paola Poletto, Dr. James Low, David Kasserra, Kathryn Rumbold, David Pantalony, Dr. Thierry Ruddel, Kim Svendsen
1967 - 1973
20000003
© 2008, Musée des sciences et de la technologie du Canada. Tous droits réservés.


Le spectrophotomètre de Brewer

Mesure la quantité d´ozone (O3) contenue dans la haute atmosphère en comparant les raies spectrales de la lumière solaire et du ciel. Le spectrophotomètre de Brewer de deuxième génération comprend un dispositif de mesure (image du haut) et un dispositif de saisie de données. Le prolongement noir du spectrophotomètre contient le miroir qui réfléchit dans le détecteur la lumière du Soleil et la lumière du ciel pendant le jour. Musée des sciences et de la technologie du Canada

SED Systems Ltd.,Saskatoon (Saskatchewan)
Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine, Musée des sciences et de la technologie du Canada, Musée de la civilisation, Musée Stewart, Temple de la renommée médicale canadienne, Museum of Health Care at Kingston, University Health Network Artifact Collection, University of Toronto Museum of Scientific Instruments, University of Toronto Museum Studies Program, Suzanne Board, Dr. Randall C. Brooks, Sylvie Toupin, Ana-Laura Baz, Jean-François Gauvin, Betsy Little, Paola Poletto, Dr. James Low, David Kasserra, Kathryn Rumbold, David Pantalony, Dr. Thierry Ruddel, Kim Svendsen
vers 1975
20000004
© 2008, Musée des sciences et de la technologie du Canada. Tous droits réservés.


Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant va :

  • identifier et apprécier la manière dont l’histoire et la culture façonnent les sciences et la technologie d’une société;
  • décrire les progrès scientifiques et technologiques, passés et présents, et évaluer leurs répercussions sur les individus et les sociétés;
  • évaluer la contribution des Canadiens à la météorologie, à l’échelle mondiale.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons